WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Chronicle 2" Script Attempts Something Different, Fox Hates It

Posted: October 11th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Chronicle 2" Script Attempts Something Different, Fox Hates ItSubmit Comment
Back in March, "Chronicle" writer Max Landis agreed to provide a screenplay for a sequel, which he recently turned in to 20th Century Fox. But according to his father, director John Landis (Spies Like Us, Trading Places), the studio isn't happy with it.

"He wrote a sequel and it's amazing," said John. "And the studio read it and said, 'We want 'Chronicle' again.' And he said, 'No, this is the sequel, it's the evolution.' And they said 'No, we want that movie again.' So it's difficult, we're dealing with a difficult business.'"

Back in April, Max spoke about where he wants to take the sequel. "That edited footage [in the first movie] is a thing," he explained. "You can't deny cars being thrown in the air in Seattle. You saw all those helicopters. The world changed. That's the end of 'Chronicle.' And things are going to be different now. They can't possibly cover up what happened."

Max added that Matt (Alex Russell) will return. "I'm putting him through hell in 'Chronicle 2,'" he said, adding that the sequel will be about "the world's first supervillain."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RickPeters writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 6:54:22 AM

"Chronicle 2 Script Attempts Something Different, Fox Hates It"

Of course they do.
pornfly writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 7:15:17 AM

He shouldv made it animated with lots of gay singing
Avirex writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 8:01:30 AM

This, just like nearly every movie Hollywood releases lately, is completely unneeded.
_JB_ writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 8:17:19 AM

I hated the first one it was terrible.
Stapes writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 8:25:59 AM

Wasn't this kind of a rip off of Akira already, or am I the only one who saw the striking similarities?
lebowski writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 8:37:17 AM

it was,it was a rip off akira but i didnt mind,didnt find it great either,no more found footage sh*t if they make a sequel though
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 9:39:17 AM

Of course it sucked!! The no talent hacks of the suits want the same-old, same-old to be able to receive the same or more BO profit...

Consider this: M. Landis' sequel will be a gamble because he's taking it in another direction, uncharted territory, but as I recall, the original was made on the cheap...keep the same budget & they're gonna see profit on the fame of it's brand name alone. No matter what, they'll see profits.

Now as potential for a 3rd? There's the gamble...
Dre-EL writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 10:09:15 AM

Chronicle has been sitting on my computer for months and I cant get around to watching it.
McQueen writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 10:22:24 AM

^ ^ You're not missing anything; it's slow and very boring. Quite futile!
Ryanlawson writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 10:26:01 AM

you guys are crazy, chronicle is one of the only found footage movies done right... everything about it worked perfectly. Its a result of so many bad found footage movies.... and figuring out the right and wrong way to tackle one.. The writers loved akira and drew inspiration from it... Its a great movie i think.
nawtnt writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 11:41:28 AM

Chronicle was a great movie.

The trailer really impressed me.

I think the movie is more aimed at teenagers than adults.

Also I agreed too that Chronicle 2 should be something different and shouldn't repeat the same thing all over again.

Maybe have Matt return and try to solve unanswered questions like what was that thing in the cave or something else.

Chronicle was one of the only best found footage movie ever.

I hope Chronicle 2 turns out to be great than the first movie.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 12:12:20 PM

I'm a huge fan of Chronicle, not just because I also think its one of the few found footage movies I like, but because it did take its time to build the characters unlike most modern superhero films. What some call slow, I call characterization. We needed to see Andrew go through all that bullsh*t to not hate him in the end (just like in Arika which is well over 2hrs long). Without that he just looks like another supervillain. Its also important to the dynamic between the 3 main characters' bound that gets developed through the heart of the film. They could have sat back and gone Hwood just focusing on special effects as they developed and used their powers, but instead they tried to deliver a real film with a message and not just popcorn entertainment. In the long run we got kind of a depressing (but well done) film about the effects of bullying and the consequences of others not taking action to stop it.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 12:30:07 PM

If FOX hates it and John Landis loves it, it has to be GREAT!!!
nawtnt writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 12:46:28 PM

SACdaddy, I couldn't agree more.

Chronicle takes it's time to connect with the three main characters and how Andrew goes from being a shy and bullied kid to a supervillian.

I just hope Chronicle 2 turns out to be a great idea.
Syman404 writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 12:56:17 PM

I thought Chronicle was the first movie to do anything with found footage that actually kept me in my seat, other than Project X (although that was just a fun film, not smart or anything). I would love to see a sequel that doesn't repeat the formula. Fox are a bunch of idiots. They ruined their Marvel properties, and now they want to ruin everything else.
Dekead writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 4:35:12 PM

Sequels can't be rehashes of the original and these dumbasses need to learn it
minkowski writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 5:38:49 PM

I too enjoyed Chronicle and yes, it's a little like Akira and yet it's also like ahundred other sources involving teenagers struggling with sexual maturation, aka the butterfly from the chrysalis, aka Spiderman aka tons of other sh*t throughout the ages, and if you see only Akira as an inspiration for Chronicle, you're not paying attention.

Having said that, if FOX doesn't like the script, it either sucks bad enough even they can't like it, or it's too good for their meager and limited appreciation.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 12th, 2012 at 2:47:49 AM

I'd watch a sequel! i really enjoyed the first lol, i thought it was very original and very well done... but that's just me..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved