WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Original "Prometheus" Writer Reveals Details of His Script

Posted: October 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Original "Prometheus" Writer Reveals Details of His ScriptSubmit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with Jon Spaihts to discuss his original "Prometheus" script, before Damon Lindelof was brought on to re-write it. According to Spaihts, his version would have had a lot more facehuggers and xenomorphs.

Medpod Sequence: One of the things I realized was that we hadn't seen anyone survive a classic Alien chest bursting. And I was really intrigued by the notion that a character might be infected by the parasite and know that it was coming, know they had a timeframe of a few hours, and that we would have set up previously a nearly omnipotent medical device, designed to extend life for explorers in foreign places. Our heroine would have a short time to get to the machine and extract the thing inside her. It was a very gory sequence and it plays out very much like the sequence in the film. The main difference is in choreography. At the end of the sequence as I first conceived it, the heroine manages to get the creature extracted from her and it is expelled from the pod and she's sealed inside, whereas in the final film it goes the other way.

Then she lapses in and out of consciousness for a number of hours as the machine puts her back together. As she comes back to consciousness, she sees the thing growing in the cabin outside and even killing people. So by the time she emerges from the pod eight hours later, the thing is abroad in the ship and big enough to be a huge danger.

Facehuggers and David: I did have facehuggers in my original draft. David, as he began to get fascinated by the science of the Engineers, doesn't deliberately contaminate Holloway with a drop of black liquid. Instead, Holloway hubristically removes his helmet in the chamber, is knocked unconscious, facehugged and wakes up not knowing what had been done to him, and stumbles back into the ship. In my draft, he returns to his cabin, is embraced by Shaw, who is delighted to see him having feared that he had died, and the two of them make love. And it's while they're making love that he bursts and dies. So that lovemaking sequence echoed my original lovemaking sequence where he explodes! It was messy.

Subsequently, David, fascinated by these creatures, begins delaying the mission and going off the reservation on his own, essentially because he thinks he really belongs with the Engineers. They're smart enough and sophisticated enough, great enough, to be his peers. He's harboring a deep-seated contempt for his human makers. So at one point Shaw goes to stop him and David ties her up and deliberately exposes her to a facehugger. He caresses an egg open and out comes a facehugger. David doesn't smell like a person - his breath isn't moist - so he can handle the thing like a kitten. It doesn't want him; it's not interested. But then he exposes it to her and it goes for her like a shot. He toys with her for a bit and then lets it take her. That, in my draft, was how Shaw was implanted with the parasite that she had to remove with the medpod sequence.

Potential Trilogy: My vision of the trilogy would have involved the arrival of the Yutani Company and a couple of other major plays around the Engineers themselves: the revelation of an additional grand Engineer design, and the possibility of seeking an Engineer homeworld. That shot of the ship flying at the end offers a lot of creative ways to play with this. But it feels like it brackets you into the search for the Engineer homeworld and home civilization. That's an interesting challenge.

Click here to read our "Prometheus" review.

Source: Empire

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on October 8th, 2012 at 9:32:20 PM

i still like this movie. analyze it all u want.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 8th, 2012 at 9:32:52 PM

Meh, I'm just shocked that people still care about this movie enough to seek answers lol
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on October 8th, 2012 at 9:57:31 PM

prometheus pissed me off in so many ways but it has continued to stick with me....I actually like what this guy was going for originally
DexterMorgan writes:
on October 8th, 2012 at 10:03:55 PM

i thought prometheus was good,hate all you want i liked it
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 12:12:50 AM

even me!? :(

btw i also liked it very much lol
Damon242 writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 1:37:10 AM

I think the real problem is that they rewrote another script instead of just starting all over again, and that Ridley Scott obviously didn't bother to read either of them.
beepboop writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 1:43:53 AM

so that dude actually gave David a reason to do what he does and the creatures make sense?
actually sounds pretty good. why would you hire a terrible lost writer to destroy everything?!
Stapes writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 3:39:48 AM

I prefer this original treatment. Really starting to hate this Lindelof guy, but the senile Scott is ultimately to blame for the turd that Prometheus ended up as.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 4:13:50 AM

Lindelof ruins everything he touches...
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 4:45:58 AM

Except for LOST! That was a masterpiece!

Until the end... the end kinda sucked..
rocketman writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 5:08:11 AM

Bring this guy back to pen the sequle Ridley
Evil_Disco writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 11:57:45 AM

This actually sounds pretty good. I would've loved to see it. "Prometheus" wasn't bad, but I gotta admit that I was pretty disappointed.
I really, really hope that Jon Spaiths will get sole credit as a writer for the sequel and that it will just be simply called "Paradise" instead of "Prometheus: Paradise".
Anyway - I'm looking forward to the sequel! :)
minkowski writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 11:59:09 AM

Probably the first time I've seen a studio so unabashedly market a film's failures to make people more interested in a sequel.
TheFirstRule writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 1:14:51 PM

i would understand folk being miffed/pissed off if the movie had some variation of "alien" in the title, But it didn't.
why are people so pissed off? were you promised something we weren't? did ridley or the rest of the cast steal the movie from you?
or is explaining how it all began too much for some?
go figure.

SoftimusPrime writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 1:41:37 PM

Haters gonna hate. Prometheus was and IS badass.
jdl107 writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 3:15:28 PM

I'm so glad they never stayed with this script, I would have rolled my eyes if facehuggers and aliens started roaming around in this film. THEN I would have hated it. I dunno what everyones deal is, I mean, I didn't really like Prometheus the first time either. But after subsequent views the movie (IMO) started getting better.
jdl107 writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 3:36:05 PM

Well FirstRule I have to be honest, even though I really like the film after several views I won't lie that there are some inconsistencies and dumb characters in the script. Like the scene at the beginning where (Like idiots) they all start taking off their helmets, breathable air or not they treated that situation like a bunch of kids. And then you have Millburn and Fifield, keep in mind that these all are supposed to be seasoned professional "scientists", chosen by Weyland to discover the secrets of life in deep space, but these two (Especially) were childish and were actually pretty f*cking dumb. Just a pick of the litter of things that bothered me, I'm sure others could explain their reasons.

I have to say also, @mink, I never really got to see what you thought of this movie. Did you like it, or no? And if not how come? Just curious mate.
Brody writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 5:00:50 PM

My initial gut reaction was that it felt lacking and it left my unsatisfied and underwhelmed. But like so many of you i did watch it again and did find it was not nearly as bad as i thought. It had all the beats of classic Ridley, but conceptually it smacks of overkill. But I can't help thinking there is a better edit that would pace the film better, setting up more suspense where required and providing more motive.
jdl107 writes:
on October 9th, 2012 at 5:13:18 PM

One of the other major things that bothered me was Shaw going into that machine and having it cut an alien (In her womb, mind you) right out of her, and her getting up like it was nothing after. Let's not forget that when her stomach was open all of that foreign liquid and liquid from her body was falling into that hole, and no good or bad reaction from that? Nothing? Bullsh*t. One of the things that still bug me about the movie.
Venom1970 writes:
on October 10th, 2012 at 1:06:48 AM

I liked Prometheus and I do like the original ideas also. But that is like saying any film would have been better if .... and when ....

Can't go like that, I certainly would use his input in second film but happy with original just as it was.
MarsVendz writes:
on October 10th, 2012 at 11:22:03 AM

Lindelof saved this movie from being another sh*tty sequel .....and his plan for the movie worked cuz people are still talking about it debating whether the film was good or not.....i liked the movie and ill admit it does have some flaws but so does every film if your gonna knit pick...i find it funny how much hate this movies gotten meanwhile every movie besides the first 2 were horrendous and clearly not on any level near Prometheus ...so if you need unclever answers nicely gift wrapped for you this movies not for you just go watch a spielberg flick
Mr. Blonde writes:
on October 11th, 2012 at 1:02:00 PM

The great disappointment comes with the fact that Ridley Scott had directed some seminal science fiction films like Alien and Blade Runner. And knowing that Prometheus exists in the same world as Alien and precedes it in the timeline, audience expectations were very high for this prequel to succeed. Ridley has made some great movies since like Gladiator, Black Hawk Down etc. And everyone was waiting with tremendous anticipation for Ridley to return to his science fiction roots and hoping Prometheus delivered the same impact that Alien had in 1979. Prometheus suffered from deliberately not wanting to become another Alien movie and stand on its own two feet as its own science fiction story. That is about humanity's search for the truth about its own creation but rather being shocked at finding humanity was conceived as a engineering experiment from an advanced alien race. And that same race is ready to pull the plug. I can see reasons why Lindelof was brought in to rewrite and steer Prometheus away from alien vibe with the traditional use of facehuggers, chest busters etc. (as intriguing as Spaihts concepts are). For what its worth Prometheus had noble intentions but failed with poor execution eg. the two *sshole scientists Millburn and Fifield childish behavior just begging for death, fake plastic look to the Engineers (wanting too much to emulate Michelangelo's David - my take was WTF - the space jockey was one of the most mysterious sci-fi creatures ever conceived and it was such a huge disappointment to see a humanoid inside and the head was rather just a helmet), bad dialogue, poor character development etc. Prometheus almost had the same feel at times as AvP which is not a good thing. Overall I wished I liked Prometheus more but like other who have expressed their sentiments was really hoping for a masterpiece especially coming from Ridley and Lindelof. Here's hoping they don't screw the pooch with the Blade Runner sequel.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved