WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Pearce May Return as Peter Weyland in "Blade Runner" Sequel

Posted: October 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Pearce May Return as Peter Weyland in "Blade Runner" SequelSubmit Comment
"Prometheus" is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on October 9th, and will come with lots of bonus material and featurettes that promise to answer lots of questions that fans had about the story.

Now comes word that one of those featurettes, called "Merging Ridleyverses," reveals that director Ridley Scott initially planned to merge the "Alien" universe with "Blade Runner" in "Prometheus."

In the featurette, concept artist Ben Proctor says: "There's one idea that I'm very sad that we didn't do. Ridley, one day, came in and said, 'You know, I'm thinking what if it's the Weyland-Tyrell Corporation? Is that cool? Maybe the bodyguards that come out with Weyland, maybe one of them says Batty on his uniform.' And we're like 'Awesome! Do it, do it!'"

Since Weyland Corporation builds robots and Tyrell Corporation (from "Blade Runner") develops androids, there's a clear connection there. In fact, a UK "Prometheus" Blu-ray contains a letter from Weyland (see below), explaining that Eldon Tyrell was his mentor and competitor. Since "Prometheus" takes place in 2090, that means that Peter Weyland (Guy Pearce) was still a young man in 2019, which is when "Blade Runner" took place.

One of the questions about "Prometheus" was why an actor like Pearce was cast to play the elderly Weyland. Apparently Scott always had bigger plans for Pearce and the Weyland character. And since Scott is set to direct a "Blade Runner" sequel, we may just see Pearce reprise his role.

Letter: (click to enlarge)


Source: Reddit, Screencrush


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 7:12:37 AM

just keep that promethus writer away and maybe it will be a good movie
Cannon writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 7:36:02 AM

What Rambo said. f*ck Lindelof. His mediocrity is what dragged down Prometheus.

boogiel writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 7:41:49 AM

Leave Blade runner alone. I don't think it's a good idea to link those two franchises unless Scott would like to become the next george lucas.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 8:36:59 AM

That's all kind of f*cked now that we know the world of 2019 is nowhere close to the world Ridley created back in the day. Flying cars, megacities, and genetic mutants are still concepts we're nowhere close to achieving in the next 6-7 years. Just leave it alone Ridley. Isn't ruining one franchise enough for you? If I were the producers I would have booted you the minute I heard you wanted the new lead in the BR sequel to be a woman. f*ck off and stop telling us what should or could have happened with Prometheus. You dropped the ball BIGTIME, just admit it and move on.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 9:16:25 AM

No, f*ck off Ridley, keep Blade Runner out of Alien, and vice versa. You've already poisoned Alien, no wonder your brother killed himself.
pornfly writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 9:59:08 AM

Cross contamination?
No thanku
_JB_ writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 10:06:13 AM

That's great news but blade runner was a sh*t film I can't see remake being any better.
hellsingfan writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 11:20:02 AM

spookycupcakes that was a bit far dude i'm sorry you dont like the movie but saying it why someones brother killed himself is a bit harsh
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 1:02:29 PM

Sweet let's cross Indiana Jones and Star Wars next.







I'll f*cking kill Lucas if he does that.
_JB_ writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 1:28:38 PM

^ ^ I don't see how it is any of your business!?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 2:04:34 PM

don't get mad at me, get mad at Ridley for making Prometheus!
Stapes writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 2:26:17 PM

That is probably the stupidest f*cking thing I've read since that last Radcliffe thread saying they were going to take a "sci fi" spin on Frankenstein. If I ever pass Ridley on the street I'm going to punch him right in his stupid stupid senile mouth.
Damon242 writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 2:44:12 PM

Oh sure, blame Lindelof. This comes, despite the fact that Lindelof was only brought in to edit Jon Spaihts' script (not start from scratch), and the entire thing was headed by and approved by the master-of-the-mythology himself, Ridley Scott.

So how is it that Jon Spaihts and, above all, Ridley Scott, get a free pass and Damon Lindelof doesn't?
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 2:49:00 PM

Probably sounded better on paper...

GTFO with that BLADERUNNER / ALIEN crap!!
Rambo writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 3:21:32 PM

Taken 2 50m weekend box office...

BadChadB33 writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 4:08:49 PM

JB- and it's none of your f*cking business to care about what I write on you here you f*cking hack!
OneTime writes:
on October 7th, 2012 at 4:10:16 PM

cool
Sev writes:
on October 8th, 2012 at 5:58:17 AM

Was watching the making of Prometheus and as soon as Lindelof came on board the whole thing went to sh*t. So bad! Was nice to see so many sets and very little green screen in the BTS feature though, but so much CG was used even when it didn't need to be :/
minkowski writes:
on October 8th, 2012 at 1:44:22 PM

This would be a GREAT f*cking idea, if only they havdn't f*cked up Prometheus. Certainly one of history's greatest What If's, right up there with what if Muslims had taken Vienna, what if Hitler had succeeeded, and what if Heath ledger hadn't killed himself...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved