WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Looper" - What Did You Think?

Posted: September 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Looper" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Rian Johnson's sci-fi movie "Looper," starring Bruce Willis and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes "Looper" has an excellent 93% fresh rating, with many critics agreeing that the film is well-made, and is smart and complicated, loaded with twists that don't leave you disappointed.

The new movie cost $30 million to make, but unfortunately, it will likely struggle to gross $20 million this weekend. It will also likely lose to another Sony film, the animated Adam Sandler comedy "Transylvania."

Click here to read our "Looper" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 78 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 7:52:13 AM

Looks pretty f*cking good for 30 million.It's a win win then.
I could of sword the budget would be about 60 mil and up.

Take notes Len Wiseman and paul Anderson.
Dark8 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 8:36:31 AM

bando its clear that no one here cares about your opinion

idiot
bandolero999 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:06:36 AM

Callate la Boca hijo de la gran puta.voy a contratar unos cocolos para k le metan pinga a todas la mujeres perras de tu singada familia.mama huevo tu madre te cago.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:16:12 AM

Dark your mammy sh*t you from her ass,instead of queefing ya
McQueen writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:17:17 AM

^ ^ LOL!
McQueen writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:19:09 AM

@Bando: Me gusto mucho el segundo comentar
bandolero999 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:26:33 AM

Gracias. darks mum is the towns bicycle
_JB_ writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:31:10 AM

There u are mr PISS hiding in other threads afraid of ME!
_JB_ writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:39:29 AM

I found a very interesting article about Steve McQueen's homosexual relationships, apparently not publicly known or doc*mented?

Re looper have not seen it yet Alex my dear friend but intend too very soon and will let u know.

We the people of worstpreviews swear to be loyal and kind to our illustrious leader !!!
McQueen writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:42:13 AM

JB Shut the f*ck up you sheep shagger!!
_JB_ writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:50:54 AM

Bullit u are the most predictable gay person I've ever encounterd. Do u save your masturbation sperm for a light snack during a movie? Freeze it or just line s fresh handful when the moods right? Don't get the c*m mixed up with piss!
_JB_ writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:53:46 AM

Oh and don't get too excited with my new avatar I took it just for u!
McQueen writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:54:47 AM

Nobody is interested to know with your sexual sick life. Keep it for yourself and f*ck Off!

Wanker!
_JB_ writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 9:58:40 AM

^^jealous old fart!!! Hahaha LOL
rocketman writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 10:53:58 AM

Go see DREDD instead looper is khgfjfdcd*




*Looks cool,not actually seen it,might get it on BluRay.


Go see Dredd,I'll let you have a a do on my Mum.
Ranger writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 10:59:12 AM

Only if she waxes this time!
McQueen writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 11:05:37 AM

@Rocket: Lol. I intend to watch it since you and Sac said it was worth it but unfortunately, Dredd won't be out for few weeks. Same thing for Looper which I'm really looking forward.
Cannon writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 11:06:47 AM


I thought it was a bit too talky and in love with how "indie-cred-clever" it was; too much script, not enough movie. It wasnít bad but it wasnít great either. And, Iím sorry, but Iím just not a fan of Joseph Gordon-Levitt, no matter how much BW makeup they hide him under. He should stick to character roles. Heís not a leading man.

Dredd 3D was better.
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 11:46:55 AM

Goddamn it. Talk about Looper you f*cking worthless stooges!

f*ck. I came to this thread to see what people had to say about the movie in question, and here are Dork and BJ bloviating, and of course the same simpleminded fools are feeding into their endless sh*t.

Talk about the f*cking MOVIE idiots! Can you DO THAT? Or is simply discussing a pop-cultural event like Looper just too far above your IQ?

Motherf*cking simpleton idiots.

Anyway, I hope Looper is good. Didn't care for Source Code by way of comparison to be honest, but I thought Brick was impressive as f*ck. Hope this is as good, but I somehow doubt it.

And thanks to Cannon for not being one the regular thread-f*cking buffoons.
Dr Fate writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 11:59:56 AM

Lmao@bandolero
blumpkin4 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:02:47 PM

I saw looper last night and it was pretty sick actually. If you liked brick then i think youll like this; it reminded me of brick at times, just with a bigger budget. Gorden levitt was pretty good at being a young bruce willis. and bruce willis was pretty cool. kind of like a combination of butch from pulp fiction and mclean from die hard! well at least i thought so anyway.

To that dredd guy, dredd was pretty awesome also, but for completely different reasons!!!! the 3d made it a pretty wicked movie to watch.

JB, go f*ck yourslef.

minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:19:07 PM

Brick is one of the best modern films I've ever seen, that's all I can really say, and it reminds me of Donnie Dark on the sense that they're both not typical films, each with cult followings, although Darko isn't as nearly as re-watchable as Brick, and in fact Darko gets tiresome and more inspid with each viewing.

Damned film doesn't even make any real sense tbh.

Haven't seen Dredd, but the way everyone is carrying on, guess I will. One day. Hopefully it's more than a bunch of slo-mo executions that do little more than get the fan-boy's virgin heart a-thumping.
blumpkin4 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:26:44 PM

ya hopefully lol
Rambo writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:27:27 PM

thanks for the tip mink,I will watch Brick soon...never seen it,I think...Will watch Looper and Dredd 3D as well in the next days and report my reviews.
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:29:55 PM

^^Brick's no action film, not really, so don't expect that.
Rambo writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:39:13 PM

neither was donnie darko but I really enjoyed it :-)
Danger-Lips writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:56:34 PM

Looper was amazing! If you liked Brick you'll Definately like Looper... I haven't seen a movie put together like looper in a long time!
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:56:54 PM

I did too, the first, the second and perhaps the third time but thereafter I started to ask myself just what the f*ck was I enjoying.

A giant rabbit? That CGI thing from The Abyss? Baby universes? Basically it was Richard Kelly's The Matrix, his swan song (except neither Kelly or the Wachowski...siblings died, I'm saddened to say) in that Donnie Darko said everything Kelly had to say, ever apparently, and none of it made any really good sense whatsoever.

I can also say I saw the director's cut first, and couldn't even watch the theatrical version thereafter.
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:05:24 PM

"neither was donnie darko but I really enjoyed it :-)"

Meh. I downloaded Donnie Darko back in 2005. Liked it at first because of the Stephen King sh*t, you know his mother was reading IT I think and the 80s music, like INXS, and my brother loved it. Knew a guy at work who had a tattoo of Donnie Darko. Total fag and loser.

"Looper was amazing! If you liked Brick you'll Definately like Looper... I haven't seen a movie put together like looper in a long time!"

And you're not Blumpkin, huh? Do you guys bunk together or something? Just saying is all. Sounds strange.

Brick was outstandingingly cool. Loved the music, the edge, the retro-noir look and feel. Lovitt isn't a leading man that's for sure but he carried that movie no doubt. Of course people said the same thing about DiCaprio. Remember that? No leading man. Even made fun of him in Titanic because he looked like a boy. And now? One of the highest paid leading men in Hollywood. It could happen for Lovitt but he'd have to take better roles. Better him than that guy from the Hangover.
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:09:28 PM

So I guess Dark/JB is going to start copying and pasting sh*t I said two years ago, huh?

Faggot.^^
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:11:43 PM

tee hee hee hahah! luzer
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:19:51 PM

I actually think Willis gets the best movie offers because of his star power. But I can actually say he has risked the most as well. No other high power actor has had as many varied roles, with tbe exception of T. Cruise, as Willis AND be successful.

I think, he's too busy with all the work he's getting that he's either getting jaded, tired or both. The calling in performances really need to be in check, but had done anything because his movies bring in the dough. Who's going to correct what's not broken? Only a director about the craft like Scorsese or Fincher.

My favorite of his include:
SIXTH SENSE
ARMAGEDDON
DIE HARD (1&3)
UNBREAKABLE
LAST BOY SCOUT
12 MONKEYS
PULP FICTION &
THE 5TH ELEMENT

These are mostly action films, but has dramas as well. The guy varies roles.

The most I have the most anticipation now is LOOPER, a time caper with Joseph Gordon Levitt by Rian Johnson, guy who did BRICK.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:20:25 PM

When's the last time Bruce made a really good movie anyway? And don't say RED, that movie blew donkey d*ck...imo :)

I want to see him do something different like star in the Evil Dead remake or something f*cking crazy like that. Blind Date was f*cking nuts, so I know he has it in him. He just needs a reason to care again. I think that crackhead whore of a wife sucked the soul completely out of him after she divorced him and shacked up with Kelso. He hasn't been the same since.

Frankly its amazing I even care about Bruce's career anymore. I said it before, but I actually met the guy when he was filming Sin City here in Austin. He was a total DOUCHE! Pulled the full Hwood treatment, you know "No one's allowed to look or talk to me" bullsh*t. Austin is supposed to be an escape for Hwood actors and most of them know that. They're able to hangout here without being harrassed by the media and the fans because we really don't give a sh*t. He obiviously didn't get the memo.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:23:44 PM

Could be good. The concept is a little stale and Willis doesn't deliver anything these days but cart after cart of sh*t, but Gordon-Levitt is a solid, reliable actor, and time-travel always has something to offer if done with a modic*m of intelligence, so I'll check this out eventually for sure.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:24:21 PM

The story is good, the cast is okay and JGL looks awesome in those pictures.

At least, Looper will be better than Setup with 50 Cent and Bruce Willis in it, that movie was Willis's big mistake.

Well G.I Joe 2 and The Expendables 2 is coming out this year so there will be plenty of fans who will forgive him for Setup.
Danger-Lips writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:34:53 PM

Expendables 2 came out before Looper and I am willing to bet GI Joe 2 is going to be terrible... Looper is the best movie Willis has been in in a long while.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:36:06 PM

This looks like GI JOE
Dark8 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:36:51 PM

mink its obvious no one cares about what you have to say so just leave faggot
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:37:15 PM

PFFT WHAT A PIECE OF sh*t NEWS!

ANYONE REALLY CARE? ITS NEWS ABOUT A MOVIE THAT NOBODY GIVES A sh*t ABOUT, WHY POST IT?

I f*ckING HATE NEWS ABOUT MOVIES!
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:38:23 PM

theres my bud dark was up budd? long tme no see yeah?
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:43:50 PM

@Mink im not a juggalo never even said i was
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 2:08:49 PM

@Mink

Dredd is much better than a bunch of slo-mo deaths. I assumed they would abuse the sh*t out of it but they really only used it for that a couple times. Not as awesome as The Raid but its up there.

As for Looper, I havent seen Brick so I cant compare but I thought it was very well put together. It doesnt think you're stupid and hold your hand through the movie. JGL was good, and Willis finally looked like he put some effort into a role. I dont think you'll love it but its definitely worth checking out. I give it a 9/10
Danger-Lips writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 2:13:10 PM

Dredd was awesome too! I did like Looper better... Karl Urbin did have a pretty darn good Dredd face haha
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 2:26:14 PM

^^Never seen The Raid. My understanding is that it isn;t in English, and I'm not entirely parochial, but I have a hard time with films where I have to read to understand what's going on, especially action. Drama maybe, because it's slow, but fast-paced action with interwined action is hurt by subtitles.

Anyway, accoring to the RT rerviews, basically Dredd3D is hardcore hardgore action, which doesn't bother me per se, but I'm from an older crowd, and to me, Terminator 2 and Die Hard and True Lies are action. Merging old-school action with horror gore, gratuitous violence and slow-motion action just seems like a betryal and subversion of the genre.
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 2:27:14 PM

"Karl Urbin did have a pretty darn good Dredd face"

So did Stallone, and methinks Urban took a big cue from Sly, obviously.
DexterMorgan writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 2:52:47 PM

seeing next tuesday,looks f*cking good!
mink is right get on topic people
so dark and jb shut the f*ck up
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 2:55:00 PM

with interwined..something, just not action. Don't even remember what I was verbally excreting.

So yes, Dangerlips, some of us DO need a f*cking edit button.
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 3:07:35 PM

I wonder how long before even the news here is ad-related, like you know, Avengers-themed underwear 'news' complete with a Fruit of the Loom commercial, with another commercial for Jiffy Pop popcorn in front of that, or 'news' for Crest's (not 'Cress', in case you're confused) Bradley Cooper flavored toothpaste, for the gay people, because the way things are going, I don't see any other possibility.

I say this only in response to the HUMONGOUS ad on the WP front page.
Rambo writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 3:17:04 PM

Nooooooooooooo!!!!

Sinclair from Babylon 5 died at 60

http://www.ontheredcarpet.com/Michael-OHare--Babylon-5-star--dead-at-60/8829626
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 3:55:48 PM

I've been away from this site for quite some time, but I don't mind swinging-by to recommend the greatness that is Looper.

First, while I loved everything about Brick and Looper, I wouldn't necessarily recommend Looper based on how much a person liked/disliked Brick and vice versa. I probably haven' seen Brick enough times, but I wouldn't be surprised if people sat through both films (without seeing the credits of course) and missed the fact that both were written/directed by Rian Johnson. The biggest difference between the two is that the noir backdrop that Brick's story and characters operate within is completely missing from Looper (protagonist voice-over narrative is one of the only connections). In my opinion, Johnson shows that he has the potential to be a great writer/director because he doesn't seem to be caught up in creating a ridiculous style for himself to distinguish his work as most writer/directors seem to do. Instead, the link between his works seem to stem from the natural ability to exude cool. At the same time, though, the personalities/decisions of his characters and the developments they undergo as the plot thickens don't seem to be forced or hollow. Despite the low budget, JGL, Bruce Willis, Emily Blunt, Jeff Daniels (!!!), and Paul Dano are all on their A-acting game. As one poster said above, I haven't seen Willis this hungry/great in a while. I shouldn't need to say anything about JGL who has quietly had one of, if no the most, consistently good careers for an actor who has been on the big screen all of his life. Independent films don't make for great films because of their status compared to big budget films, but they usually take more heart, determination, and investment. JGL's career is filled with great independent film choices that sadly, haven't been seen by many, but they paint the picture of an actor who works because he believes in the material and is going to try his damnedest to make the picture succeed. His ability to channel a young Willis by mannerisms and voice is great as it never falls into parody or just plain copying. JGL also brings his own brand of intensity and cool-under pressure that Willis also used to make a name for himself decades ago. All of this falters, though, without the knowing hand of a talented director/writer. Johnson brings out the best from his actors and expertly showcase the dual nature of Joe (JGL and Willis' character) and creates an intriguing arc of character development that might not present itself to the audience until the film is over and has been digested. Also, Johnson doesn't just depend on his two head men to run the show as other actors are given scenes that are sometimes more shocking and memorable than the ones including Willis or JGL. Out of context, the "Rainmaker" is an alias that won't make any sense to you, but once you see a certain scene in Looper...holy $#^* that name sticks with you.

I don't want to give away anything about Looper because it appears that many of you haven't had enough time to see it yet (obvious because it has only been out for a day), but please make an effort to see it if you think that you might enjoy a futuristic fugitive-type action flick with elements of sci-fi, a great plot, awesome acting, fantastic music (Johnson employs great music producers), and top notch cinematography/editing without the overblown budget...and please make an effort to recommend the film to others if you like it. I would love to see this film, the cast, the crew, and especially Rian Johnson succeed.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 4:08:35 PM

@Minkowski

Dude, you should give the Raid a try. The story isn't hindered by a language barrier and was surprisingly written and directed by a Welsh director. The story kind of takes a back seat to the badass action scene but not in a bad way as it is a pretty simple concept. There are actually a few twists thrown into the Raid that make the story better as it becomes more than just an action flick.

Since, I seem to be recommending films today. I also, highly recommend the Master. I missed the thread on "What do You Think?" for that one and I won't go too far into it but say that despite the fact that I don't care for awards season for films, I believe that Joaquin Phoenix, Phillips Seymour Hoffman, Amy Adams, Jonny Greenwood, Mihai Malaimare Jr., and Paul Thomas Anderson deserve high praise for making a work of art.
Gates writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 4:16:52 PM

@Mink

I watched "The Raid" the other day and it was great. The entire movie is action-packed. The story isn't great, but you'll forget about after you see the action sequences. I'm usually not a huge of subtitle films but this was an exception.
arcademonkey writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 4:41:34 PM

saw it earlier...a clever , well made good film 8/10
Tebeck writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 6:29:05 PM

Who is writing these reviews??? The movie is mediocre at best! Its a tease! Its exciting and cleaver during the first 45 minutes, and then Joseph Gordon-Levitt makes it to a farm, and then it's over! That's it! The remaining 75 minutes are spent on a farm where almost literally nothing happens, and worse yet everything from that point on is completely predictable and totally unsurprising! Save your money on this one, just wait for it to come to DVD.
bigdaddy writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 7:21:23 PM

slow and boring fell asleep in the big dialogue scene between levitt and willis. Some parts were good, some parts very cheap looking, especially the sh*tty makeup and sh*tty prius cars and trucks roughly customized. Madmax was 32 years ago and looked better. Didn't care about either character so didn't work. Felt same with all this directors film- lots of ideas with no substance.
Venom1970 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 8:46:24 PM

If this is being compared to Brick I will defiantly see it then. It is not out here in Australia as of yet. As normal we are behind, Yet ahead in time lol

The Raid is a brilliant film, as stated story line is typical but in a film like this that is not it's strongest point. Subtitles easy to follow as action speaks louder that words and there is much more action that talking.
Venom1970 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 8:46:41 PM

*Than
Danger-Lips writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 10:38:26 PM

Well storywise it wasn't all that similar to Brick but the way it was filmed reminded me a lot of Brick, only a lot 'nicer'.
ItPutsTheLotionOnTheSkin writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 1:38:03 AM

Dredd was a good movie but i think the ending sucked..it was the difference for me on making it a really good movie compared to just a good one. Looper hopefully throw me through a loop. Ba dah bum!
velocityknown writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 3:09:35 AM

I just got in from seeing it and I will say it is not only one of the best films I've seen this year (after Moonrise Kingdom and The Master) it is probably one of the best sci-fi films I've seen in the past 10 years. Smart, great performances, no hand-holding, and a lovely, lovely ending. Cannot sing its praises highly enough.

Go see it, everyone.
velocityknown writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 3:20:03 AM

@Anonymous

Yes to everything you just said. I wouldn't rush to compare these two anymore than I would've rushed to compare The Brothers Bloom and Brick. Just because they're both Rian Johnson films doesn't mean they share anything beyond the noir backdrop that he seems to love oh so much.

Like you said, they're both great, just for different reasons, but I think if you liked Brick, you like the chances Rian Johnson takes so I could maybe recommend it based on that. I feel as if some of the negative reviews saw the trailer/heard the synopsis and went in forgetting that Rian Johnson was directing this and were expecting just a plain, old sci-fi action thriller.

No.

It's Rian Johnson, we're going to get tension-filled scenes driven by dialogue, we're going to get a slow build, and it's not going to be driven by special effects (which I thought were satisfactory), it's going to be driven by the characters and the strange worlds they inhabit.

Also, I'm sorry, if you weren't satisfied with every JGL/Bruce Willis scene in this film, then this film was never going to be for you. And I don't think you can discourage other people from seeing it because of that. Because the diner scene in particular was brilliant.
_JB_ writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 6:18:44 AM

Some excellent reviews there guys "I am impressed" this movie will be watched by ME
SACdaddy writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 8:49:39 AM

Now that I got Dredd out the way, Looper is definitely on the menu. Its just sad to see both films not getting the pop they should in the theaters. The studio beancounters wont appreciate the films for their quality only their profit margins. They'll glady throw money at the next superhero POS or some big budget CGI crap like Prometheus while they let heady artistic action films like Looper and DREDD got the way of the dinosaur. I still blame the marketing of these films for their lack of revenue. Even Looper didn't get much primetime TV advertisement here in the States. What a shame.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 9:06:00 AM

"Dredd was a good movie but i think the ending sucked..it was the difference for me on making it a really good movie compared to just a good one."

Sadly I have to somewhat agree with you there. It didn't suck for me but it was kind of anticlimactic.

SPOILER ALERT (seriously don't read if you plan on seeing the movie!):

When I saw the trailer for the first time I actually commented on this site that I hoped I just didn't see the end of the film. Turns out unfortunately I was right. If I hadn't seen that I would have liked it more. Still, I loved the idea of them not having some stupid finale fight with a female villain. Instead they just let Dredd do what you'd expect him to do if you read any of the comics, which I can appreciate. Guess all these years of watching the typical Hwood ending geared me up for something more. This was a better way to end it though.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 9:19:41 AM

Its realy nice to see all of these positve reviews for Looper and Dredd. I had all but given up on Bruce Willis with the string of crap he had putting out lately. It looked like he was going that Denzel route where he was just showing up for a huge paycheck and not scrutinizing his choices better. But now it sounds like he found his mojo again. Hope he doesn't lose again with the next RED and Die Hard installments.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 9:36:02 AM

Sorry Looper folks but....

Did anyone notice that Mama in DREDD is the queen in Game of Thrones? Halfway through the film I had one of those OH sh*t moments when it hit me. That chick really knows how to play a villain. She's quickly becoming one of my favorite actresses in Hwood. She always makes bad look really good kind of like Michelle Forbes (who I've always had a weird crush on).

Ok back to Looper :-)
velocityknown writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 10:25:05 AM

@Sac

I agree, I think if Looper had gotten more frequent primetime online advertising that it'd be much more a sure hit. However, with it's budget being $30 million and it being R-rated, it could make $20 million this weekend and continue to do well off strong work of mouth and become a very satisfying payday for the studio.

I think it's been a nice year for Bruce Willis, whenever it comes to DVD you should definitely check out Moonrise Kingdom if you haven't seen it already. I think I liked him a little more in that than I did in Looper. And that's not a slight against Looper, it's just a testament to how great Moonrise Kingdom was.
Stapes writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 10:48:25 AM

Loved Brick, I'll definitely see Looper when it comes out in my neck of the woods. Watched The Raid yesterday, great martial arts and brutal violence, and it's dubbed in english, I recommend.
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 12:24:03 PM

At Plastic Man:

"I actually think Willis gets the best movie offers because of his star power. But I can actually say he has risked the most as well. No other high power actor has had as many varied roles, with tbe exception of T. Cruise, as Willis AND be successful.

I think, he's too busy with all the work he's getting that he's either getting jaded, tired or both. The calling in performances really need to be in check, but had done anything because his movies bring in the dough. Who's going to correct what's not broken? Only a director about the craft like Scorsese or Fincher.

My favorite of his include:
SIXTH SENSE
ARMAGEDDON
DIE HARD (1&3)
UNBREAKABLE
LAST BOY SCOUT
12 MONKEYS
PULP FICTION &
THE 5TH ELEMENT

These are mostly action films, but has dramas as well. The guy varies roles.

The most I have the most anticipation now is LOOPER, a time caper with Joseph Gordon Levitt by Rian Johnson, guy who did BRICK."

WHAT ARE YOU BARKING ABOUT YOU PEANUT BUTTER c*ck-SUCKING MUTT?!!

I f*ckING WROTE THIS POST A LONG f*ckING TIME AGO!! NOT YOU, YOU MEDIOCRE, UNIMAGINATIVE NO GOOOD PIECE OF sh*t!!

I've met some worthless pieces of dog sh*t in my day, but congratulations, you dumb-f*ck, you win them all!

You are lacking of just a simple thought of a film that you have to steal other people's opinions?!! Nothing worthwhile or really important of just what someone thinks of something..you can't bring yourself to drum up an original opinion, you have to steal mine?!! WORD FOR WORD, you lazy c*cksucker!!

If actually you had half a brain, you'd actually paraphrase, or repeat the gist, but NOOOOOO that's just too much work for you!! Or just put it in quotations and just type, "Yeah, like CelluloidMan said...."

GET. AN. ORIGINAL. f*ckING. IDEA. YOU. SAD. SACK. CUUUUUNT!!

Tanman32123 writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 12:47:21 PM

@ Mink

"Anyway, I hope Looper is good. Didn't care for Source Code"

Source Code wasn't that bad, i enjoyed it. And Looper should be good, I'll be going shortly.. Tonight's Football and Dexter day :)
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 12:54:35 PM

@ Plastic

"My favorite of his include:
SIXTH SENSE
ARMAGEDDON
DIE HARD (1&3)
UNBREAKABLE
LAST BOY SCOUT
12 MONKEYS
PULP FICTION &
THE 5TH ELEMENT"

Good list, I'd say his best are:

Unbreakable
die Hard
Sixth Sense
Armageddon
Pulp Fiction
Those 5 are obviously in the list every time, but here's some other good ones as well:

Blind Date
Striking Distance
Mercury Rising
12 monkeys
Death becomes her
Alpha dog
Moon rise kingdom was pretty cool and i personally liked cop Out, obviously Expendables 1 and 2 were kick ass films.

All in all he's an awesome actor, he might be taking some stupid roles here and there, but he still Trumps everyone. Every time. word, yo.

sherv writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 5:29:10 PM

Just back from looper, great film but I'm a sucker for time travel movies and both levit and Willis are really good in it.
TonyO8134 writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 8:48:45 PM

I thought Looper was a really good movie. It also reminded of brick a bit with the language of the film. Looper also made me start to question some things about time travel in the end. People who have scene the movie might think the same with me with what happened does it then change the past again?

I loved brick I like it more than donnie darko just because of the language and how it transitioned so well and felt original. Donnie darko was a movie I had to watch a few times to fully be aware of everything that was going on but I also over analize things so it was most likely my fault.

The Raid was a great action martial arts movie that had great paceing and also had a story to it. Most foreign martial art films I watch are small on the story and big on action but this one had both. I recomend it to everyone who is a martial arts / action fan.

I am a huge jgl fan I think I have scene all his movies and he can grab onto any type of role and make it his own. Brick was great of coursse and looper and I also loved the one where he had amnesia (i am having it now as I can not remember the name). I also very much enjoyed the movie where he was a young street hustler trying to help a kid out finding out why he was how he was (forgot name as well). also I recomend going on youtube and looking at jgl's stuff he has some great things he does with just messing around with the camera and acting. He does some Fellini like acting parts in it as well.
SPENDERJGANT writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 11:25:10 PM

Haven't seen Looper but thought Dredd was a solid, if rough round the edges piece of work.

Urban's Dredd is the complete opposite to Stallone's corny slice of histrionic ham. A fitting performance that obviously can be put down to Urban actually 'getting' Dredd's Dirty Harryish riff; perfecting the character's intimidating physicality and persona as portrayed in 2000AD which for some reason Sly completely avoided or wasn't able to perceive correctly.

Urban is proving himself to be a rather decent character actor which is what Dredd needed.
rockkillers writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 12:08:56 AM

Looper was awesome. Best movie I've seen that is out right now....(haven't seen The Master yet) Great sci-fi violent, bloody action movie. Levitt and Bruce Willis were great. My gf and I both loved the movie and we didn't like Source Code very much.
rockkillers writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 12:11:31 AM

I will say that the Source Code wasn't bad...I just didn't find it half as entertaining as Looper.
YoungChris writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 2:10:52 AM

I saw it & I liked it 7/10 ...
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 8:32:50 AM

the name sounds stupid. the previews look confusing. bleeh dollar movies!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved