WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel vs DC Comics, Which is Winning at Box Office?

Posted: September 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel vs DC Comics, Which is Winning at Box Office?Submit Comment
Once in a while we hear about DC Comics movie like "The Dark Knight Rises" or "Green Lantern," but the news has been dominated by Marvel films, everything from "Iron Man" to "The Avengers." So which company has been more successful at the box office?

Today we have an infographic that takes a look at all the comic book movies released by the two companies since the 1966 "Batman: The Movie." It only looks at domestic results and adjusts for inflation. It's not perfect, but gives a good idea at how the films perform.

Overall, Marvel is dominating, but it has also made a lot more films. What's surprising to me is how close the per-movie average is. Check out the infographic below.

Image: (click to enlarge)


Source: FancyDressCostumes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 9:37:51 PM

REALLY??
bandolero999 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:03:41 PM

Really sick of these f*cking gay superhero movees.

Make more Viking and apocalypto type of movees.
vaodsi writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:07:04 PM

@bando

agreed
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:20:16 PM

Does anyone know if Looper is out yet?
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:29:11 PM

No sure. But their annoying as f*ck pop-up ad certainly is.
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:46:44 PM

I dont know what you mean
I dont get it
What are these ads and popups of which you speak,oh horny one?
Venom1970 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:22:44 PM

"Make more Viking and apocalypto type of movies."

Could'nt agree more Bando, Centurion was one of my favourite's from recent, I also loved the movie Pathfinder which was bagged from memory? But my personal favourite Viking style film was the 13th Warrior, It's one i can watch again every so often.

But I do love superhero films too.

30YoVirgin writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:24:40 PM

c*m on Alex, lighten the mood with some Lohan news, would you?
Venom1970 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:31:29 PM

Just looking at my too watch list and there are a few Viking movies in this list.. Here ya go

Hammer Of The Gods (2013)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2193418/

Vikings (2013) TV Series
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2306299/

These two I can't find any links

The Vanguard
Alexander Skarsgård, the Viking vampire Eric Northman from True Blood, is expected to play one of two brothers banished to North America trying to get back to Sweden during the Viking Age.

and ...

The untitled Viking Movie

Mel Gibson is working on a Viking movie on the scale of Braveheart or Apocalypto. Leonardo Di Caprio was involved at one point in its development. According to Gibson in April, 2012, the script was being written by Randall Wallace, the writer of Braveheart.

FBO writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:37:43 PM

In terms of popularity Batman and Superman > anything Marvel has
Electro Rock writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:57:46 PM

Erik the Viking is the best Viking film of all time. If you've never seen it....you should.

True berzerk
OneTime writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:05:34 AM

marvel
OneTime writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:05:35 AM

marvel
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 1:09:12 AM

Or more Samurai films lol
bandolero999 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 3:55:29 AM

Gotta check out centurion then
Venom1970 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 4:08:28 AM

Centurion starred Michael Fassbender quite a brutal and harsh film.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOZs2_i_cDE

Had to get it on bluray just a great film.
Venom1970 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 4:15:51 AM

"Erik the Viking is the best Viking film of all time. If you've never seen it....you should."

@ Elektro I honestly haven't only for the reason it is a comedy. That is what put me off, kinda like Yelowbeard a pirate film.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 5:13:36 AM

Centurion is on my netflix
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 7:01:37 AM

Centurion was a very good film...
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 12:25:23 PM

lol, better yet, just forecast where Marvel and DC will be in ten years, accoring to the two company's road maps. Marvel is well on the way to circ*mnavigating the globe, cinematically, whereas DC is just trying to get the car started even though Nolan has pushed the motherf*cker down the interstate eight miles already.

And I say this as a person who leans towards DC, or I use to until Grant Morrisson started writing everything and DC rebooted their entire universe.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 5:38:08 PM

couldn't agree more! f*ck this site and that damned ad! lmao I've seen it like 40 times
Dirt writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 6:27:14 PM

What about Constantine and V for Vendetta? Weren't they DC? V for Vendetta is one of the better comic films.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 11:36:22 PM

Superman and The Dark Knight are imo the top 2 superhero movies ever made, with Iron Man being 3rd place.

Green Lantern and Jonah Hex are the absolute worst ones.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 11:38:44 PM

What I cant't f*cking stand is when I go on here on my phone and that goddamn banner ad goes across the page and when I click the red X it doesn't register but instead opens another site for the f*cking ad!

Alex, please stop doing that or create a mobile worstpreviews site so that bullsh*t doesn't happen. It's really obnoxious!
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 12:41:13 PM

couldn't Agree More^

A mobile app would be sick! i'd deff get that on my iPhone lol
japaninmotion writes:
on September 30th, 2012 at 7:56:25 PM

but to be fair 99% of dc movies were made by warner brothers. marvel whored out all their big names to other companies before Disney bought them...marvel movies will kill the comic book film because fox and others would rather turn out sub par movies in the next few years then to have the rights revert back to marvel
Future writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 1:36:58 AM

I'm with DC on this one.
Future writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 1:39:42 AM

Top 6:
1. Batman
2. Superman
3. Spiderman
4. Wolverine
5. Iron Man
6. Blankman
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 8:39:29 AM

wasnt Steel that f*cking movie with Shaq?! lol
seveltoto writes:
on November 1st, 2017 at 10:52:41 AM

aleale writes:
on November 15th, 2017 at 2:18:24 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 17th, 2017 at 5:24:07 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 24th, 2017 at 10:24:00 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved