WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are Crazy

Posted: September 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are CrazySubmit Comment
NY Mag had a chance to speak to Billy Connolly, who said that he still has to shoot some of the battle scenes for "The Hobbit" trilogy. He then added that he's not a fan of the JRR Tolkien novels that the films are based on.

"I've never read 'The Hobbit.' Never. Never read 'Lord of the Rings.' I could never read Tolkien. I always found him unreadable," he said. "I didn't read [the books], and I normally don't like people who have. The people who love it, they're kind of scary. They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."

"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" is set to hit theaters on December 14th.

Source: Vulture


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:23:28 PM

Screw you Bill.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:43:40 PM

hahaha! Billy is the sh*t!
Dirt writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:21:58 PM

It's true, LOTR fans are the new Star Wars geeks. Plus dragons are gay..
boogiel writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:57:46 PM

They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."


Indeed sir. It's truly a gobbledygook.
cress writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:04:36 PM

Billy Connolly read the script for X-Files 2 and said, "Wow, this is great. I gotta be in this!" So who's crazy now, f*cker?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:17:26 PM

Such a hack Bill.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:42:31 PM

@cress

He also did the same for the piece of sh*t Boondock Saints II: Boon Harder.
billofill writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:44:18 PM

He's f*cking taking a Piss, he's a Comedian after all.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:44:47 AM

Ummm...

How did he find Tolkien 'unreadable' if he's never read the material?!

Don't need Matlock for this one.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:18:26 AM

Unreadable Tolkien? What about the script from The X Files 2!!!!!! Worst movie from that year, pal!
Electro Rock writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

Once you appear in a Muppets film you can never be taken seriously again. Ever.

No disrespect to Paul Williams.
Rambo writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:56:56 AM

I agree with him
Stapes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:11:29 AM

I concur.
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:20:16 AM

Most books are unreadable
and even more than most people are crazy

So i say,ditto
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:28:50 AM

cress/deaftone

He never read the script for either of those movies, He just read his bank balance instead.
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:30:12 AM

Anyone whos motorboard Pamela Stephenson, Can say what ever the f*ck he likes about LOTR fans and books IMO.
Mudders writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:58:11 AM

sometimes reading the book can destroy the movie and sometimes watching the movie will destroy what you thought of the book

either way making movies based on books is a fine line...

ive just realised i dont know where im going with this...lack of sleep is doing me in
Venom1970 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 4:43:23 AM

Not showing intellect disability here but I don't honestly like reading books. Much prefer movies, not that I have anything against books or reading.

I used to read all of Clive Barker's material it went too out there for me, but his first 10 or so really pulled me in.

Lord of the Rings films : Love em,
Star Wars (Both Trilogies) love em

So I guess I am a geek. Not one that many would f*ck with though ;)
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 6:01:23 AM

I read all the books...and yeah they were written badly.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:04:11 AM

He's got the latter of the headline right. Only retards or the mentally compromised would be willing to sit through 6 hours of filler in what should have been one 3-hour movie.
Kurskij writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:48:35 AM

Oh, Billy!

You and your drugs...
McQueen writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:16:32 AM

What Ranger said. How can you comment if you never read the bloody book?
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:42:14 AM

I love this guy! Bill tells it like it is.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:00:26 PM

Currently reading 'A Fly for the Prosecution: How Insect Evidence Helps Solve Crimes'. Now THAT'S an unreadable book.


Anyway, I think it's pretty clear what Bill meant.

He says he hasn't read the books because the books are unreadable, as in, he tried to read them and said "f*ck this sh*t", which is precisely my thought.

In fact, if he HAD read the books and still said they were unreadable, we'd all agree he's batsh*t insane.

HTH.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:42:29 PM

I would love to see Connolly say the same thing during some future Comic Con when he is sitting in a panel trying to promote The Hobbit. Might as well tell Tolkien fans to get a f*cking life. Hopefully some diehard Tolkien fan won't drive an medieval axe thru Connolly's head for his offhanded remarks. I agree Tolkien is not as literary accessible as say A Game of Thrones. But gotta love Connolly for having the f*cking balls to speak against the source material. Interesting that he could land a role and not be required to have any interest or knowledge of Tolkienís works nor the genre. Further demonstrates the ďI donít give a sh*tĒ or "just a paycheck" attitude that some actors can get away with in the film world.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:28:47 PM

maaaa whio the f*ck is this mr blonde faggot? no one gives a damn about u nigga and ur bullsh*tty posts bitch. stop talking. say something useful. suck a d*ck. rangers d*ck. u know how it is bitch.
Future writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 1:29:05 AM

I agree. Billy played it pretty smart. He got paid and then trash the man.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved