WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are Crazy

Posted: September 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are CrazySubmit Comment
NY Mag had a chance to speak to Billy Connolly, who said that he still has to shoot some of the battle scenes for "The Hobbit" trilogy. He then added that he's not a fan of the JRR Tolkien novels that the films are based on.

"I've never read 'The Hobbit.' Never. Never read 'Lord of the Rings.' I could never read Tolkien. I always found him unreadable," he said. "I didn't read [the books], and I normally don't like people who have. The people who love it, they're kind of scary. They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."

"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" is set to hit theaters on December 14th.

Source: Vulture


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:23:28 PM

Screw you Bill.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:43:40 PM

hahaha! Billy is the sh*t!
Dirt writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:21:58 PM

It's true, LOTR fans are the new Star Wars geeks. Plus dragons are gay..
boogiel writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:57:46 PM

They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."


Indeed sir. It's truly a gobbledygook.
cress writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:04:36 PM

Billy Connolly read the script for X-Files 2 and said, "Wow, this is great. I gotta be in this!" So who's crazy now, f*cker?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:17:26 PM

Such a hack Bill.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:42:31 PM

@cress

He also did the same for the piece of sh*t Boondock Saints II: Boon Harder.
billofill writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:44:18 PM

He's f*cking taking a Piss, he's a Comedian after all.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:44:47 AM

Ummm...

How did he find Tolkien 'unreadable' if he's never read the material?!

Don't need Matlock for this one.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:18:26 AM

Unreadable Tolkien? What about the script from The X Files 2!!!!!! Worst movie from that year, pal!
Electro Rock writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

Once you appear in a Muppets film you can never be taken seriously again. Ever.

No disrespect to Paul Williams.
Rambo writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:56:56 AM

I agree with him
Stapes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:11:29 AM

I concur.
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:20:16 AM

Most books are unreadable
and even more than most people are crazy

So i say,ditto
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:28:50 AM

cress/deaftone

He never read the script for either of those movies, He just read his bank balance instead.
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:30:12 AM

Anyone whos motorboard Pamela Stephenson, Can say what ever the f*ck he likes about LOTR fans and books IMO.
Mudders writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:58:11 AM

sometimes reading the book can destroy the movie and sometimes watching the movie will destroy what you thought of the book

either way making movies based on books is a fine line...

ive just realised i dont know where im going with this...lack of sleep is doing me in
Venom1970 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 4:43:23 AM

Not showing intellect disability here but I don't honestly like reading books. Much prefer movies, not that I have anything against books or reading.

I used to read all of Clive Barker's material it went too out there for me, but his first 10 or so really pulled me in.

Lord of the Rings films : Love em,
Star Wars (Both Trilogies) love em

So I guess I am a geek. Not one that many would f*ck with though ;)
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 6:01:23 AM

I read all the books...and yeah they were written badly.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:04:11 AM

He's got the latter of the headline right. Only retards or the mentally compromised would be willing to sit through 6 hours of filler in what should have been one 3-hour movie.
Kurskij writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:48:35 AM

Oh, Billy!

You and your drugs...
McQueen writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:16:32 AM

What Ranger said. How can you comment if you never read the bloody book?
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:42:14 AM

I love this guy! Bill tells it like it is.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:00:26 PM

Currently reading 'A Fly for the Prosecution: How Insect Evidence Helps Solve Crimes'. Now THAT'S an unreadable book.


Anyway, I think it's pretty clear what Bill meant.

He says he hasn't read the books because the books are unreadable, as in, he tried to read them and said "f*ck this sh*t", which is precisely my thought.

In fact, if he HAD read the books and still said they were unreadable, we'd all agree he's batsh*t insane.

HTH.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:42:29 PM

I would love to see Connolly say the same thing during some future Comic Con when he is sitting in a panel trying to promote The Hobbit. Might as well tell Tolkien fans to get a f*cking life. Hopefully some diehard Tolkien fan won't drive an medieval axe thru Connolly's head for his offhanded remarks. I agree Tolkien is not as literary accessible as say A Game of Thrones. But gotta love Connolly for having the f*cking balls to speak against the source material. Interesting that he could land a role and not be required to have any interest or knowledge of Tolkienís works nor the genre. Further demonstrates the ďI donít give a sh*tĒ or "just a paycheck" attitude that some actors can get away with in the film world.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:28:47 PM

maaaa whio the f*ck is this mr blonde faggot? no one gives a damn about u nigga and ur bullsh*tty posts bitch. stop talking. say something useful. suck a d*ck. rangers d*ck. u know how it is bitch.
Future writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 1:29:05 AM

I agree. Billy played it pretty smart. He got paid and then trash the man.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved