WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are Crazy

Posted: September 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are CrazySubmit Comment
NY Mag had a chance to speak to Billy Connolly, who said that he still has to shoot some of the battle scenes for "The Hobbit" trilogy. He then added that he's not a fan of the JRR Tolkien novels that the films are based on.

"I've never read 'The Hobbit.' Never. Never read 'Lord of the Rings.' I could never read Tolkien. I always found him unreadable," he said. "I didn't read [the books], and I normally don't like people who have. The people who love it, they're kind of scary. They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."

"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" is set to hit theaters on December 14th.

Source: Vulture


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:23:28 PM

Screw you Bill.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:43:40 PM

hahaha! Billy is the sh*t!
Dirt writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:21:58 PM

It's true, LOTR fans are the new Star Wars geeks. Plus dragons are gay..
boogiel writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:57:46 PM

They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."


Indeed sir. It's truly a gobbledygook.
cress writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:04:36 PM

Billy Connolly read the script for X-Files 2 and said, "Wow, this is great. I gotta be in this!" So who's crazy now, f*cker?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:17:26 PM

Such a hack Bill.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:42:31 PM

@cress

He also did the same for the piece of sh*t Boondock Saints II: Boon Harder.
billofill writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:44:18 PM

He's f*cking taking a Piss, he's a Comedian after all.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:44:47 AM

Ummm...

How did he find Tolkien 'unreadable' if he's never read the material?!

Don't need Matlock for this one.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:18:26 AM

Unreadable Tolkien? What about the script from The X Files 2!!!!!! Worst movie from that year, pal!
Electro Rock writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

Once you appear in a Muppets film you can never be taken seriously again. Ever.

No disrespect to Paul Williams.
Rambo writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:56:56 AM

I agree with him
Stapes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:11:29 AM

I concur.
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:20:16 AM

Most books are unreadable
and even more than most people are crazy

So i say,ditto
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:28:50 AM

cress/deaftone

He never read the script for either of those movies, He just read his bank balance instead.
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:30:12 AM

Anyone whos motorboard Pamela Stephenson, Can say what ever the f*ck he likes about LOTR fans and books IMO.
Mudders writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:58:11 AM

sometimes reading the book can destroy the movie and sometimes watching the movie will destroy what you thought of the book

either way making movies based on books is a fine line...

ive just realised i dont know where im going with this...lack of sleep is doing me in
Venom1970 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 4:43:23 AM

Not showing intellect disability here but I don't honestly like reading books. Much prefer movies, not that I have anything against books or reading.

I used to read all of Clive Barker's material it went too out there for me, but his first 10 or so really pulled me in.

Lord of the Rings films : Love em,
Star Wars (Both Trilogies) love em

So I guess I am a geek. Not one that many would f*ck with though ;)
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 6:01:23 AM

I read all the books...and yeah they were written badly.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:04:11 AM

He's got the latter of the headline right. Only retards or the mentally compromised would be willing to sit through 6 hours of filler in what should have been one 3-hour movie.
Kurskij writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:48:35 AM

Oh, Billy!

You and your drugs...
McQueen writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:16:32 AM

What Ranger said. How can you comment if you never read the bloody book?
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:42:14 AM

I love this guy! Bill tells it like it is.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:00:26 PM

Currently reading 'A Fly for the Prosecution: How Insect Evidence Helps Solve Crimes'. Now THAT'S an unreadable book.


Anyway, I think it's pretty clear what Bill meant.

He says he hasn't read the books because the books are unreadable, as in, he tried to read them and said "f*ck this sh*t", which is precisely my thought.

In fact, if he HAD read the books and still said they were unreadable, we'd all agree he's batsh*t insane.

HTH.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:42:29 PM

I would love to see Connolly say the same thing during some future Comic Con when he is sitting in a panel trying to promote The Hobbit. Might as well tell Tolkien fans to get a f*cking life. Hopefully some diehard Tolkien fan won't drive an medieval axe thru Connolly's head for his offhanded remarks. I agree Tolkien is not as literary accessible as say A Game of Thrones. But gotta love Connolly for having the f*cking balls to speak against the source material. Interesting that he could land a role and not be required to have any interest or knowledge of Tolkienís works nor the genre. Further demonstrates the ďI donít give a sh*tĒ or "just a paycheck" attitude that some actors can get away with in the film world.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:28:47 PM

maaaa whio the f*ck is this mr blonde faggot? no one gives a damn about u nigga and ur bullsh*tty posts bitch. stop talking. say something useful. suck a d*ck. rangers d*ck. u know how it is bitch.
Future writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 1:29:05 AM

I agree. Billy played it pretty smart. He got paid and then trash the man.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved