WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are Crazy

Posted: September 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are CrazySubmit Comment
NY Mag had a chance to speak to Billy Connolly, who said that he still has to shoot some of the battle scenes for "The Hobbit" trilogy. He then added that he's not a fan of the JRR Tolkien novels that the films are based on.

"I've never read 'The Hobbit.' Never. Never read 'Lord of the Rings.' I could never read Tolkien. I always found him unreadable," he said. "I didn't read [the books], and I normally don't like people who have. The people who love it, they're kind of scary. They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."

"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" is set to hit theaters on December 14th.

Source: Vulture


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:23:28 PM

Screw you Bill.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:43:40 PM

hahaha! Billy is the sh*t!
Dirt writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:21:58 PM

It's true, LOTR fans are the new Star Wars geeks. Plus dragons are gay..
boogiel writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:57:46 PM

They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."


Indeed sir. It's truly a gobbledygook.
cress writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:04:36 PM

Billy Connolly read the script for X-Files 2 and said, "Wow, this is great. I gotta be in this!" So who's crazy now, f*cker?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:17:26 PM

Such a hack Bill.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:42:31 PM

@cress

He also did the same for the piece of sh*t Boondock Saints II: Boon Harder.
billofill writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:44:18 PM

He's f*cking taking a Piss, he's a Comedian after all.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:44:47 AM

Ummm...

How did he find Tolkien 'unreadable' if he's never read the material?!

Don't need Matlock for this one.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:18:26 AM

Unreadable Tolkien? What about the script from The X Files 2!!!!!! Worst movie from that year, pal!
Electro Rock writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

Once you appear in a Muppets film you can never be taken seriously again. Ever.

No disrespect to Paul Williams.
Rambo writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:56:56 AM

I agree with him
Stapes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:11:29 AM

I concur.
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:20:16 AM

Most books are unreadable
and even more than most people are crazy

So i say,ditto
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:28:50 AM

cress/deaftone

He never read the script for either of those movies, He just read his bank balance instead.
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:30:12 AM

Anyone whos motorboard Pamela Stephenson, Can say what ever the f*ck he likes about LOTR fans and books IMO.
Mudders writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:58:11 AM

sometimes reading the book can destroy the movie and sometimes watching the movie will destroy what you thought of the book

either way making movies based on books is a fine line...

ive just realised i dont know where im going with this...lack of sleep is doing me in
Venom1970 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 4:43:23 AM

Not showing intellect disability here but I don't honestly like reading books. Much prefer movies, not that I have anything against books or reading.

I used to read all of Clive Barker's material it went too out there for me, but his first 10 or so really pulled me in.

Lord of the Rings films : Love em,
Star Wars (Both Trilogies) love em

So I guess I am a geek. Not one that many would f*ck with though ;)
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 6:01:23 AM

I read all the books...and yeah they were written badly.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:04:11 AM

He's got the latter of the headline right. Only retards or the mentally compromised would be willing to sit through 6 hours of filler in what should have been one 3-hour movie.
Kurskij writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:48:35 AM

Oh, Billy!

You and your drugs...
McQueen writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:16:32 AM

What Ranger said. How can you comment if you never read the bloody book?
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:42:14 AM

I love this guy! Bill tells it like it is.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:00:26 PM

Currently reading 'A Fly for the Prosecution: How Insect Evidence Helps Solve Crimes'. Now THAT'S an unreadable book.


Anyway, I think it's pretty clear what Bill meant.

He says he hasn't read the books because the books are unreadable, as in, he tried to read them and said "f*ck this sh*t", which is precisely my thought.

In fact, if he HAD read the books and still said they were unreadable, we'd all agree he's batsh*t insane.

HTH.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:42:29 PM

I would love to see Connolly say the same thing during some future Comic Con when he is sitting in a panel trying to promote The Hobbit. Might as well tell Tolkien fans to get a f*cking life. Hopefully some diehard Tolkien fan won't drive an medieval axe thru Connolly's head for his offhanded remarks. I agree Tolkien is not as literary accessible as say A Game of Thrones. But gotta love Connolly for having the f*cking balls to speak against the source material. Interesting that he could land a role and not be required to have any interest or knowledge of Tolkienís works nor the genre. Further demonstrates the ďI donít give a sh*tĒ or "just a paycheck" attitude that some actors can get away with in the film world.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:28:47 PM

maaaa whio the f*ck is this mr blonde faggot? no one gives a damn about u nigga and ur bullsh*tty posts bitch. stop talking. say something useful. suck a d*ck. rangers d*ck. u know how it is bitch.
Future writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 1:29:05 AM

I agree. Billy played it pretty smart. He got paid and then trash the man.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved