WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are Crazy

Posted: September 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Billy Connolly Says JRR Tolkien is Unreadable and "The Hobbit" Fans are CrazySubmit Comment
NY Mag had a chance to speak to Billy Connolly, who said that he still has to shoot some of the battle scenes for "The Hobbit" trilogy. He then added that he's not a fan of the JRR Tolkien novels that the films are based on.

"I've never read 'The Hobbit.' Never. Never read 'Lord of the Rings.' I could never read Tolkien. I always found him unreadable," he said. "I didn't read [the books], and I normally don't like people who have. The people who love it, they're kind of scary. They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."

"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" is set to hit theaters on December 14th.

Source: Vulture


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Skywalker121289 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:23:28 PM

Screw you Bill.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:43:40 PM

hahaha! Billy is the sh*t!
Dirt writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:21:58 PM

It's true, LOTR fans are the new Star Wars geeks. Plus dragons are gay..
boogiel writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 10:57:46 PM

They talk all this [nonsense] and they think of it as the Holy Grail."


Indeed sir. It's truly a gobbledygook.
cress writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:04:36 PM

Billy Connolly read the script for X-Files 2 and said, "Wow, this is great. I gotta be in this!" So who's crazy now, f*cker?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:17:26 PM

Such a hack Bill.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:42:31 PM

@cress

He also did the same for the piece of sh*t Boondock Saints II: Boon Harder.
billofill writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:44:18 PM

He's f*cking taking a Piss, he's a Comedian after all.
Ranger writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:44:47 AM

Ummm...

How did he find Tolkien 'unreadable' if he's never read the material?!

Don't need Matlock for this one.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:18:26 AM

Unreadable Tolkien? What about the script from The X Files 2!!!!!! Worst movie from that year, pal!
Electro Rock writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:30:15 AM

Once you appear in a Muppets film you can never be taken seriously again. Ever.

No disrespect to Paul Williams.
Rambo writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:56:56 AM

I agree with him
Stapes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:11:29 AM

I concur.
pornfly writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:20:16 AM

Most books are unreadable
and even more than most people are crazy

So i say,ditto
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:28:50 AM

cress/deaftone

He never read the script for either of those movies, He just read his bank balance instead.
trailertrash writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 2:30:12 AM

Anyone whos motorboard Pamela Stephenson, Can say what ever the f*ck he likes about LOTR fans and books IMO.
Mudders writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:58:11 AM

sometimes reading the book can destroy the movie and sometimes watching the movie will destroy what you thought of the book

either way making movies based on books is a fine line...

ive just realised i dont know where im going with this...lack of sleep is doing me in
Venom1970 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 4:43:23 AM

Not showing intellect disability here but I don't honestly like reading books. Much prefer movies, not that I have anything against books or reading.

I used to read all of Clive Barker's material it went too out there for me, but his first 10 or so really pulled me in.

Lord of the Rings films : Love em,
Star Wars (Both Trilogies) love em

So I guess I am a geek. Not one that many would f*ck with though ;)
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 6:01:23 AM

I read all the books...and yeah they were written badly.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:04:11 AM

He's got the latter of the headline right. Only retards or the mentally compromised would be willing to sit through 6 hours of filler in what should have been one 3-hour movie.
Kurskij writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 8:48:35 AM

Oh, Billy!

You and your drugs...
McQueen writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 10:16:32 AM

What Ranger said. How can you comment if you never read the bloody book?
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 11:42:14 AM

I love this guy! Bill tells it like it is.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 12:00:26 PM

Currently reading 'A Fly for the Prosecution: How Insect Evidence Helps Solve Crimes'. Now THAT'S an unreadable book.


Anyway, I think it's pretty clear what Bill meant.

He says he hasn't read the books because the books are unreadable, as in, he tried to read them and said "f*ck this sh*t", which is precisely my thought.

In fact, if he HAD read the books and still said they were unreadable, we'd all agree he's batsh*t insane.

HTH.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:42:29 PM

I would love to see Connolly say the same thing during some future Comic Con when he is sitting in a panel trying to promote The Hobbit. Might as well tell Tolkien fans to get a f*cking life. Hopefully some diehard Tolkien fan won't drive an medieval axe thru Connolly's head for his offhanded remarks. I agree Tolkien is not as literary accessible as say A Game of Thrones. But gotta love Connolly for having the f*cking balls to speak against the source material. Interesting that he could land a role and not be required to have any interest or knowledge of Tolkienís works nor the genre. Further demonstrates the ďI donít give a sh*tĒ or "just a paycheck" attitude that some actors can get away with in the film world.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 3:28:47 PM

maaaa whio the f*ck is this mr blonde faggot? no one gives a damn about u nigga and ur bullsh*tty posts bitch. stop talking. say something useful. suck a d*ck. rangers d*ck. u know how it is bitch.
Future writes:
on October 1st, 2012 at 1:29:05 AM

I agree. Billy played it pretty smart. He got paid and then trash the man.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved