WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men: First Class" Sequel May Merge with Original "X-Men" Trilogy

Posted: September 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men: First Class" Sequel May Merge with Original "X-Men" TrilogySubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has been hinting that a follow-up to the original "X-Men" trilogy will happen, despite the fact that the studio has already made "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" and "X-Men: First Class."

Now, during the 2012 Montreal Comic Convention, a fan asked Patrick Stewart if he'll ever return to the series. "I think there is every possibility," he said. "Yes, I'll be reprising [the role of Professor X]."

Many are assuming that instead of making "X-Men 4," the studio will attempt to merge the original trilogy with the new prequels. "X-Men: Days of Future Past," which is a sequel to "X-Men: First Class," has Kitty Pryde send her mind back to her younger self in order to warn the X-Men that Senator Robert Kelly's assassination will result in a future where Sentinels rule the United States and mutants live in internment camps.

CHUD suggests that it's possible that Professor X will travel through time, rather than Kitty Pryde. And if that happens, there will be an opportunity to have both James McAvoy and Stewart play the younger and older versions of the same character.

"X-Men: Days of Future Past" is set to hit theaters on July 18th, 2014.

Source: Newsarama, CHUD

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 8:57:31 PM

If there is a scene where Patrick Stewart shaves James McAvoys' head, it will worth the price of admission.
vincere01 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 9:01:27 PM

Now this sounds interesting. Stewert always brings class to anything he does(except for one unfortunate awards speech, alast he was drunk). Curious to see how this develops
blumpkin4 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 9:01:37 PM

or at least shave his balls
Dirt writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 9:14:39 PM

Who ever is running this site is a genius.. All you have to do is wait for comicbookmovie to release some news, re-write and steal their original source than sit make and make your money off advertising..

If only I wasn't so sh*t with computers.
Dirt writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 9:16:15 PM

Should be 're-write it' and 'then sit back and make'
f*ck me..
Dirt writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 9:16:43 PM

You don't even have to give people an edit button..
Avirex writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 9:42:39 PM


Most movie news sites have been doing that for YEARS. In fact, most general news sites based on anything do it everyday. One site breaks the news and 300 other sites leech off them and make a few dollars.
pornfly writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 9:53:41 PM

Dirt writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 10:00:10 PM

^^ No doubt. I'm sure most people come here to read the comments though.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 10:09:42 PM

This is Doomed. Gonna suck balls with style.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 11:15:56 PM

I dunno about this movie anymore!!
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 11:34:11 PM

I still say it'd be better to put the franchise back in Singer's hands or co-director.

But...the guy hasn't pushed out a single hit since X-MEN 2. The only thing he's been pushing out recently is...(insert gay joke here). I'd want to see JACK & THE GIANT KILLER first to see if the 'ol chap still got it, though.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 11:53:31 PM

Terrible idea dude. Singer sux!
boogiel writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 12:28:31 AM

Enough with X-men! So much dogsh*t...this franchise is ass!

CelluloidMan writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 1:17:13 AM

Know what you mean Kc*ck...

Singer hasn't been pushing good flicks recently but at the same time he has been the only one that has had the most success from the X-Men franchise.

X-Men was a good movie, good intro. X-Men 2, but the opinions of many, the sequel that topped the first...no easy task.

It is Singer that made Jackman and household name and the ability to do a cheap ass origin story and a solid prequel...just form Singer's efforts.

I think the secret for Singer is that he focused on the characters and emphasized it with great action...

Off the top of my head (apart the exception of Whedon), I really don't know who could put X-Men back on the map like Singer did. M Vaughn was a solid try, but no in the league of Singer...not as profitable. I give credit where credit is due. If I were the suits, I'd keep Singer around and involved.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 2:21:48 AM

could be good, i wasn't much of a fan of X-Men, Watched all the movies except the wolverine origins one.

lol funny, not much of a fan but I've seen em all :P anywho, First class was a really good movie, I'll Definitely Be up for the Sequel :)
KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 3:06:53 AM

I've said this before but Singer is a man who comes up with good to brilliant ideas but his execution of those ideas and how and where he ultimately ends up taking those ideas are what his problems are. Keeping him on as a producer is smart but having him direct is stupid. He needs to give his ideas to someone with vision like Rian Johnson or Boyle, Fincher or anybody with the talent and creativity of making an ensemble X-men movie work.

Vaughn's First Class was impressive for the time and budget he had to work with but if he got to do it his way completely, it could've been something fantastic. He had a better handle on the characters that he was given as well as the action.

I mean these are a group of people battling each other with mutant Powers, The action should be amazing and creative but in Singer's movies they are so blah! His best action scene was in X2 with Nightcrawler's attempt at the presidents life. If he did at least half of his action scenes as ambitious and bad ass as that one, then I might agree with you. Singer is awesome at wasting a great opportunities doh. Vaughn Did great with what he had and understood that he could do really cool things in terms of action with those characters and did the best he could.

Singer's Success with the X-men also had to do with the timing of its release. People wanted to see it and he took the franchise and made good decisions with the message that the movies focused on; Which was what its like to be different and he had a good handle on that angle. Now its time to elevate or improve on what he did wrong, Especially in terms in how much he f*cked up all the characters. He butchered them all except for Xavier and Magneto. I like what he did with Pyro doh even though I think it would've been better if he used Colossus in the role that Pyro played in the story but I guess the whole Fire vs. Ice thing was a brilliant route to go in Singer's mind.

As for Jackman, Ya singer made him a household name but personally i'm not a fan of his acting and I hate how he plays Wolverine even though I admire his dedication. He is not Wolverine to me and not even close and I really don't understand how people can say he's perfect or good in the role. Jackman doesn't have what it takes to play a convincing Wolverine and its because he's not a great actor on his own on camera. He is great when given good direction by good directors Ex. The Fountain and the Prestige but other than that he's pretty horrible in front of the camera but he is extremely likeable and he has that going for him and he knows it.

Now I was careful to mention his acting on camera because I hear great things about him on stage but have never seen it myself and I don't wanna get into that sh*t.

But it is really sad that people lack the imagination to picture how many actors could do the character justice and refuse to picture anyone else but Jackman playing Wolverine.

Singer's biggest mistake was making Jackman Wolverine and making people think he owns the role, and now that he produces those films the character is doomed and gets worst with each movie. Its incredibly disappointing.

Rian Johnson would do amazing things with this franchise but he likes to do original work and I feel bittersweet about it. Something i've also said before.
Avirex writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 4:15:42 AM


That pretty much sums up my thoughts on the whole franchise, althought maybe a little too kind.

Not single one of these films has even touched on the potential these films may have had. Perhaps an interesting moment here and there at best. I mean has anyone ever actually given a f*ck whether any of the characters lived or died in any of the films? The characters are so half assed I doubt even the most emotionally vulnerable blinked twice. As a film that's the worst thing you can do, especially an ensemble picture.

Even the f*cking cartoon from the 90's had more character depth, developed plots and action.
Rambo writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 4:36:30 AM


KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 5:15:37 AM

@ Avirex

I think i'm kind about it because I consider myself a movie buff first and a fan of the material second.

If I wasn't a fan of the source or grew up watching the cartoons, I imagine I'd probably enjoy The X-films as much as the average movie goer. I simply wouldn't know better nor have any expectations of the potential of these films, so I am aware of that and try to look at the films with a separate mind sort of speak.

As a movie buff, I think the movies are entertaining and are good to watch for what they are even though I don't think highly about most of the cast and how they portray their characters but in the end I blame Singer for that. Singer took a good idea/plot and nearly destroyed by making Wolverine the main focal point with Jackman's sh*tty and corny acting. I think when it comes to the way he was characterized in these films; the Less is more rule would've been best for him.

As a Fan, I think these movies are terrible adaptations that handled the theme of what the X-men represent rather well and that alone makes them worth watching for me. Still I cringe and get upset when I do doh. Almost like a dirty guilty pleasure for me when I view them in this state of mind.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 5:50:54 AM


you obviously are a huge fan of the X-Men Franchise, Comic book or otherwise. I understand what you're saying, but you can't exactly be so harsh on the films, they were in no way as bad as you make them out to be..

Also you have to take into consideration the CGI Technologies that Advanced over the last 10 years.

A 75M Budget for a movie in the year 2000 (X-Men), Will look NOTHING like a 75M Budgeted movie for the year 2011 (first class)

(i know First class had a bigger budget, I'm just lowering it to 75 to compare)

I'm sure they're were thing's that Singer would have wanted to do with the first Two X-Men films, But couldn't have done well enough because of the Technologies on the limited Budget..
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 5:52:19 AM

I'm sure he did the best he could with the resources that he had, And personally i think he did a damn fine job. ;)
EarOne writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 7:18:19 AM

nope. i wanna see stewart's older X gettin it on with mcavoy's younger x. talkin bout lovin yo self too much..
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 8:16:26 AM

Jackman is a terrible Wolverine. I hate reboots, but Xmen need it bad. The only good ones were the second and First Class... And Kc*ck is right Singer f*cked up all the characters...
Avirex writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 8:38:43 AM


That's a reasonable balanced way of viewing it.

As films they are no worse or better than the average summer commercial flick. (Obviously that isn't saying much at all though).

As adapted material they not only miss the target, they don't even aim to begin with. Unfortunately its the same case with plenty of other adapted films present and past. Sad thing is major studio productions will very rarely allow a gifted director to craft something worthwhile without placing their misguided greedy hands all over it, like Ranger at a porn convention. (Okay, okay that goes for me too).

Fortunately independent digital filmmaking is becoming increasingly more practical so maybe someday soon someone will at least produce an inspired well made short film based on some of the material.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:39:42 AM

@ Tanman

I think I'm completely fair with the X-films and not harsh at all. Just because he did the best he could with what he had still doesn't make an excuse for the dumb choices he made.

Explain Superman Returns if you don't think Singer is a retarded hack. Singer Easily had the resources to make a modern day epic superhero film and instead made an extremely pathetic movie and version of Superman. He wasted all his funding on the look of the film and wasted the opportunity at making something awesome while at the sametime f*cking up the X-franchise even more so by not being around to stop Ratner from making X3. I think Ratner Was better with the action doh even if some of it was just like WTF? He didn't forget that its a comic book film.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:42:13 AM

hahaha! Ranger at a porn convention. Sounds like the greatest superhero movie un-filmed
Mudders writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:26:41 AM

lets be honest...it all went down hill the moment ratner took on x3:the last stand..the story,the continuity went all out the window

origin:wolverine...didnt help resolve that at all..poor cgi as in first class

speaking of first class that was just terrible,f*cked the entire thing up...not sure why it rated anywhere...the only good thing in that was fassbender as magneto...esp in the bar in switzerland (i think it was there)where he shot the 2 guys

i love x-men...i think the best were the first 2...probably because it was time to see something like that

now its like a..."lets just make it for the sake of making it" kinda feel

and someone here stated they felt more compassion for the cartoon...same here,totally agree

mckellen,fassbender as magneto
jackman as wolverine
stewart as xavier
and schreiber as victor/sabretooth(love this guy)
are my picks for best castings

ive rambled on enough...im tired

minkowski writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 1:58:13 PM

Yawn. Just use whatever you need to reboot past the Singer-Ratner fubar. Get it right this time and lock a good director into more than two f*cking films.
tolgaboy writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 4:09:50 PM

Skywalker121289 writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 9:08:05 PM

I would certainly watch this.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 28th, 2012 at 1:52:16 AM

True enough i guess killer lol True enough..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved