WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Stan Lee Wants to Cameo in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 13th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Loses Writer, is the Franchise in Trouble?
Jul 13th, 2014
First Look at Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Robert Zemeckis' "Man on Wire" Remake "The Walk"
Jul 13th, 2014
Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur
Jul 12th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Hellboy 3" Will NOT Happen
Jul 12th, 2014
"Better Call Saul" Unveils New Photos and Plot Details
Jul 12th, 2014
Tracy Morgan Sues Wal-Mart Over Deadly Crash
Jul 12th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" - What Did You Think?
Jul 11th, 2014
Sony Unveils Trailer for "Ghostbusters" Re-Release
Jul 11th, 2014
Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling Join "The Nice Guys," From "Iron Man 3" Director Shane Black
Jul 11th, 2014
Trailer for Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Jul 10th, 2014
New Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Jul 10th, 2014
Trailer for Reese Witherspoon's "Wild," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 10th, 2014
North Korea Files Complaint with UN to Stop Release of Seth Rogen's "The Interview"
Jul 10th, 2014
New Teaser Video For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Jul 10th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro to Make Small, Black and White Film Before "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 10th, 2014
First Look: Ian McKellen as Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Film
Jul 9th, 2014
Extended Clip From Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Action Thriller
Jul 9th, 2014
Alec Baldwin is Head of CIA in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Jul 9th, 2014
Gus Van Sant Replaces Shane Black as Director of "Death Note"
Jul 9th, 2014
Trailer for Christian Bale's "Exodus: Gods and Kings," Directed by Ridley Scott
Jul 9th, 2014
Disney Hires "Transformers" Writer for Live-Action "Dumbo" Movie
Jul 9th, 2014
Ridley Scott is Developing Another Biblical Film, About King David
Jul 9th, 2014
Extended Trailer for Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 8th, 2014
Mel Gibson Discusses a Return to Directing
Jul 8th, 2014
First Look: Don Cheadle is Miles Davis in "Miles Ahead" Biopic
Jul 8th, 2014
New Trailer for "Sharknado 2: The Second One"
Jul 8th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller is Here!
Jul 7th, 2014
"Superman Returns" Star Brandon Routh Joins "Arrow" as The Atom
Jul 7th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Jul 7th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" Still Dominating at Box Office
Jul 7th, 2014
Guy Pearce Explains Why He Initially Turned Down "Iron Man 3" Role
Jul 7th, 2014
Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Jul 7th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Punisher: War Zone" Developing a Cult Following?

Posted: September 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Punisher: War Zone" Developing a Cult Following?Submit Comment
Lionsgate released "Punisher: War Zone" back in 2008 hoping that the remake would give life to a film franchise. But the opposite happened, the movie grossed only $10 million globally on a $35 million budget, and currently has a lousy 26% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

On DVD, the movie took in another $11 million, which is not enough for Lionsgate to get its initial investment back. But it turns out that "War Zone" has a loyal following, which was proven when Patton Oswalt held a screening of the film at his Deeper into the Darkness film festival.

"After [the screening], a writer who was in the audience posted an article about the film being a perfect example of a studio failing to understand how to reach niche audiences," said "War Zone" director Lexi Alexander. "He mentioned that, based on the line around the block for tickets and the audience's enthusiastic reaction during Patton's screening, it was clear that had the right opinion-makers pre-screened the movie and spread the word, this could have been a phenomenal success. You read stuff like that and you can't help feeling disappointed."

Question: Was the movie terrible or did the studio just do a terrible job of marketing it?

Click here to read our "Punisher: War Zone" review.

Source: Paracinema, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:07:47 AM

it was terrible although the first 20 minutes were good.
Taco writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:08:38 AM

Answer: BOTH!
_JB_ writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:09:36 AM

It was ok nothing compared to dolph lundgrens version.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:09:47 AM

Read my review on wp.
Cannon writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:16:07 AM


It was worse than terrible. It was just mediocre and boring.

Dirt writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:23:01 AM

The Thomas Jane one was the best.
boogiel writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:26:25 AM

Cult following? They must be out of their mind. And to answer your question alex, the answer is as taco said. Both of them are terrible.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:29:55 AM

I bought this movie for 5 bucks or less,can't remember
ethanred writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:30:29 AM

Punisher war zone a cult following hey alex! Do u want us to join it and anyway both the films are too sh*tty to mention or even forget .
bandolero999 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:31:12 AM

And the cast was completely unknown,as well as the director.
ethanred writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:31:56 AM

Hey jb nice pic but don't try to humiiliate zeus man he really can't stand it
McQueen writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:38:48 AM

The most boring action film ever and of course there should be another one.
pornfly writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:40:28 AM

Bring back Dolph but WarZone kicked ballz compared to Jane shackin up with a building full of homos at The Losers Place Apts and Travolta with his Jerry Lewis black dye job
Warzone deserves another watch
pornfly writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:42:59 AM

wait
Patton Oswalt has his own film festival???
Do they just show WarZone and Ratatouille all day?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 8:19:15 AM

I don't remember a thing about it.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 8:26:50 AM

It was better than the first two
c-prime writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 8:52:54 AM

I think people were lined around the block just to see a comedian/quasi-celebrity. Screening a subpar film was just a catch.
rocketman writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 10:10:20 AM

Can't remember much apart from he shot somebody who was sat a table.
Mudders writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 10:38:23 AM

hated it....they marketed it as if it was a straight to dvd ....which i guess it was...

it was on tv here a while back and i got through it but barely

i think the first 2 were better....but i like thomas jane as the punisher better...never been a dolph fan..even though jame's movie was sh*t and dolphs was better
Mudders writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 10:39:05 AM

i say better ALOT!
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 11:56:43 AM

The first one had Dolph in black hair, and though the story sucked ass, Dolph's presence and physique made the film better than awful.

The reboot featured Thomas Jane, and he largely plays a parody of the original character, not the bad ass from either the comic or the first film; even worse, the film was slow, unremarkable and boring. Knowing that both Travolta and Jane are homosexuals delivers a merciful KO.

The third film, a loose sequel to the first, or so I thought, isn't much better. The Punisher is older, but he's also far more of a fighter, there's no camp, but there's also no standout performances. Largely forgettable and without a budget to furnish either a top-teir cast or any set pieces that might have made the film's lethargic pacing more compelling, War Zone fails to improve on the the first two films.

Marvel should reboot the franchise.

"Was the movie terrible or did the studio just do a terrible job of marketing it?"

It's a crummy film worth minimal marketing, which is precisely what it received.
Fightclub1 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:06:07 PM

Both. I loved the one with Thomas Jane but the others have sucked
iceskateuphill writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:21:09 PM

So am I'm the only one here that enjoyed War Zone? It had insane violence, slick action sequences, dark humor and very much so over the cop comic book villians. Dolphs had the sterotypical Yakuza and Italian mobs fighting and Janes had a violent family massacre which led to Jane playing games with a bunch of villians who he should have just blown up. The only good part was The Russian. Ray Stevenson on the other hand plays it straight, dark and he kills everything. No games no BS and the cast is made up of Tv character actors who fit in just fine in a violent B movie. This is a comic book movie and it also manages to be a great action movie. Most comic book movies can't get the action right and they rarely get justice right.
shinwillow writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:48:58 PM

The Punisher short film on Youtube with Thomas Jane is probably the best film adaptation so far.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 1:37:59 PM

War Zone was Great at adapting a version of the comics.
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 1:49:07 PM

It was crap. Prefer the Thomas Jane one.
Frank_Castle writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 4:42:03 PM

Marvel should just reboot it using other movies to introduce him. Like when they make Nick Fury origin movie, Frank should make his first appearence with him in one of Fury's tours in vietnam and later bring him in again if they make a MARVEL: CIVIL WAR movie. But keep Ray Stevenson. Ray was the spitting image of Frank Castle through the MAX pages written by Garth Ennis. I even wonder if that was intentional for the artist making Frank look just like him but back then he was completly an unknown actor.
Thrasher1985 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 5:34:50 PM

where to begin, where to begin...

Dolph Lundgren is awesome. He was just in the wrong movie. It NEVER should have been called the Punisher. He wasn't the punisher. Punisher doesn't use knives with cute little skulls on the handle. He also wears a skull to attract attention to his chest because underneath the skull is a flak jacket, it also announces who he is so he doesn't have too. That was a 80's revenge movie featuring some guy kicking ass and not dying himself, which was about all the movie company's produced in the action genre in those days. Had its moments though...

Thomas Jane's Punisher... better, I like the fact that they made it his entire family that is massacred instead of just his wife and TWO kids (not one, why f*ck up that continuity? was it that hard to cast some child actress to play some kid who probably would just say or do something sweet just to break the audiences heart before she's shot? but again, too hard for the studios to stick to such a layered origin...) So then what does he do to Travolta... shoots him... once... that's what I would do if someone massacred my ENTIRE family, shoot them EXACTLY one time. I don't understand why everyone else wasn't cool with it... (sarcasm Mink, calm the f*ck down.) A lot wrong with that movie, but I don't have that kinda time. Frank would have used a real blow torch on that guy too... bullsh*t.

War Zone... was it? It was more like someone made card board cut outs of people for Ray Stevenson to shoot and blow up that were filled with blood. They all just stood there when he showed up and then he killed them. I didn't like the skull, Thomas Jane's skull was cool, the spray painted vest in Jane's was even cooler. War Zone skull was crap.

The punisher shouldn't talk much, they should make it more of a monster movie, and the punisher is the monster. He just shows up kills viciously without a word, or very little words and then leaves. Dare I say a Batman like disappearing esque vibe...

The Punisher/Frank Castle is a man of strict principle. He's also a tactical genius and he would NEVER have walked into a room of mobsters with a KNIFE, and stabbed that guy. In the book he stood at the door, shot the guy and split, everyone came outside bottle necked through the door and he mowed them down with an M60. He covered his flank with claymore mines... and in case some *sshole got to close... twin 45's.

The character 'adaptations' from the book to the movie made me cry blood. The 'Fed' that he shot by mistake (THIS WHOLE THING IS BULLsh*t BTW) in the book that guy is Nicky Cavella, a mobster who escapes and makes a play to be the new boss. The other mobsters say he can be the boss if he kills the punisher, so to flush him out Nicky digs up Frank's family's bones... and PISSES on them, records it, and sends it to the news to be played everywhere.

From there its a bloodbath... I just don't see how in the f*ck hollywood could read that and be like '........no, we like the script for War Zone better' I just don't get it... Then they sit around saying 'damn, why is the comic successful but the movie(s) aren't?' I want to shake them like children.

I just wish they would do Frank justice. He could be so f*cking cool on the screen... Nick Fury wrote about Castle once saying "drop Frank Castle on one side of a country at total war, and the Hulk on the other, and see who makes it to the middle first."

THAT needs to be the first thing considered when building his character.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 5:46:56 PM

Thomas Jane is too much of a corny/gay person to be Punisher. He wasn't bad ass at all, the movie was good but he is just no Punisher, he could've corrected that in a sequel but I doubt it, he's not cool or bad ass, just like Jackman is no Wolverine. Too gay/corny and nice. they both have zero bad Assery.
numnut writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 9:12:05 PM

All three dont to the character justice at all, besides, The Punisher (and said this about Daredevil before too) would work better as a tv show- maybe on a cable network
mandevil13 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 10:32:08 PM

You guys are all nuts! This was a great movie for lovers of dumb over the top violence. If you like movies like Rickie Oh: The Story of Rickie, or Dead Alive you will love this movie. movies like this will never win awards, but there is a place for them. think of it like something Troma would put out.
WV-Films writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 11:44:25 PM

No. It's terrible.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 11:55:27 PM

Agreed with the mandevil.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 12:22:38 AM

I only ever saw the Thomas Jane one. I thought they made some good decisions with it in terms of plot; you rarely see a studio flick killing off a kid, which I thought was a plus in terms of developing character. But then they gayed the whole goddamn thing up with those retarded roommates. And Rebecca Romijn proved that she's a crappy actress... wooden and stilted. Jane was fine, I guess, but he's a bit of a blank slate and the directing didn't give him enough color. Overall the movie was pretty f*cking dissapointing to me.

Look, they've taken 3 stabs at this franchise. I can't speak speak for the other two attempts, but I think whoever owns the licence should leave it alone for now and focus their efforts on something else. The term 'reboot' has already worn pretty thin in H'wood studio circles...
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 5:04:22 AM

The movie was terrible.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 5:06:47 AM

..just like the first one. The only good thing in the first movie was the opening theme which was cool.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"Pacific Rim 2" Gets a Release Date, Animated Series in the Works

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Steven Seagal Will Never Join "The Expendables" Franchise, Wonders Why Liam Neeson is in Action Films

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Description of Lex Luthor's Look in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Kevin Smith Says Leaked List of Warner Bros' Planned Superhero Films is Correct

North Korea Threatens War with US if Seth Rogen's "The Interview" is Released

Kevin Smith Wrote Fake "Batman v Superman" Script and Then Leaked It Online?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved