WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Reeves Drops Out of "Twilight Zone" Movie, in Talks for "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" Sequel

Posted: September 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Reeves Drops Out of "Twilight Zone" Movie, in Talks for "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" SequelSubmit Comment
After mentioning names like Christopher Nolan, Michael Bay and Alfonso Cuaron, Warner Bros brought on "Let Me In" director Matt Reeves to direct their upcoming "Twilight Zone" movie, which has been in the works for years and will combine several episodes from the show.

"Sherlock Holmes" writer Tony Peckham was hired to write the script in December, but now comes word that Reeves has been forced to drop out of the project due to a scheduling conflict. Reeves has several other projects in the works, but it's not clear which one caused the conflict.

Meanwhile, 20th Century Fox has added Reeves' name to their short list of possible directors who may replace Rupert Wyatt on the sequel to "Rise of the Planet of the Apes." The other helmers on the list are J. Blakeson (The Disappearance of Alice Creed), Juan Carlos Fresnadillo (28 Weeks Later), Jeff Nichols (Take Shelter), Gullermo Del Toro, Juan Antonio Bayona (The Impossible), and Rian Johnson (Looper).

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
_JB_ writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:05:18 AM

Fantastic news I love rise of the planet of the apes I cannot wait for the sequel. Don't care for twilight zone.
Rambo writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:08:39 AM

smart move...staying away from helicopter accidents...
Cannon writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:24:48 AM


Let the midnight special ...shine a light on me ...let the midnight spe-shall...

ethanred writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:26:46 AM

WOW !!!!!!! I am nooooot sooo excited to see this
pornfly writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:47:32 AM

...shine yo evalovin light on me
pornfly writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 7:48:11 AM

...shine yo evalovin light on me
Ranger writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:03:02 PM

RIP Andy Williams.

On topic: Rambo beat me to it (again... DAMN TIME ZONES!!!).

@_JB_ - your avatar is lookin' good! We'll either assume he negotiated a 'escape clause' (stupid on behalf of the studio... but they clearly have the bottom of the class Corp. Lawyers), or they didn't have him contracted at all and just said they did (probably to get producers to fund it). Either way... these set-backs are the studio's fault. Good on the director for picking and choosing projects best for his career. Plus wonder if he's superstitious and didn't want to work on a film that previous killed my brother's favorite actor and a couple of kids.


As for this director backing out.
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:12:27 PM

Matt Reeves. Harumph. Well, Cloverfield was decent, and he has the chops, never saw Let Me In, but I'm sure there's other people that can direct some Twilight Zone sh*t, which I'm sure will look more like Final Desperation, I mean Destination 6 than the John Lithgow adaptation.

My bet would be Rian Johnson, as he knows how to do smoothly weird films, apparently, whereas Fresnadillo seems capable of not much more than gore and vampires/zombies. Del Toro is too busy updating his Wiki and IMDb page with all his 'if I had the time to make something' dream projects, and the other guys...I know nothing of them.

Or they could just use a Ouija board and let Tony Scott direct. That would be marketing gold right there.
Ranger writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:22:53 PM

... or use Ouija Board 'the movie' to let Tony Scott direct. 2 birds with 1 stone.
cress writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:41:52 PM

I think Reeves is a good choice, based upon his work on Let Me In. Cloverfield was sh*t imo, and its hard to judge him based upon that "vid cam footage" concept. I thought his direction for Let Me In was great; he actually made a horror film that was chilling. Now I haven't seen the original, so I don't know if he did a shot-for-shot remake of it. But he had a lot of nice touches, reminding me of some '70s horror films.
Future writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:46:16 PM

Christopher Nolan
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 2:35:52 PM

Jesus Christ.
sc_kg writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 6:58:49 AM

I beg for Cloverfield 2, hopefully - it's the one that caussed scheduling conflict.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved