WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dredd" Remake Was Possible Because Sylvester Stallone's "Judge Dredd" Failed

Posted: September 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dredd" Remake Was Possible Because Sylvester StalloneSubmit Comment
While promoting "Dredd," writer Alex Garland spoke about the movie, revealing that it would not have been possible unless the Sylvester Stallone version didn't fail at the box office.

"[That] made it possible for us to get the license, because if it had been a smash hit, we couldn't have made our film," he explained, adding: "We were in post-production on 'Sunshine' and in pre-production on '28 Weeks Later,' and [producer] Andrew [Macdonald] said, 'I think we can get the rights to 'Dredd,' because nobody wants them and nobody realizes how good a license it is. Do you want to do it?' And I immediately said 'yes.'"

Of course these comments now sound funny, since "Dredd" is failing much worse than "Judge Dredd" did. "Dredd" grossed only $6 million this weekend on a $50 million budget, while "Judge Dredd" took in $113 million globally on a $90 million budget.

Source: Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 9:09:52 PM

so expect another dredd reboot in 20 years.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 9:12:19 PM

^ Maybe sooner.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 9:13:37 PM

Now i'm really gonna watch this movee.Hopefully my 10 doolers will make a difference.

watched Machete,no one liked it,I did
watched Drive Angry no one liked it,I did
hopefully Dredd doesn't suck CACK
Danger-Lips writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 9:36:17 PM

The movie was friggen awesome!
Cannon writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 10:01:33 PM


No bullsh*t: Dredd 3D is my favorite film of the year thus far, making the high-profile blockbusters of this summer look like the bloated messes that they are (phat rhyme).

Seriously, this one took me back to the days of Escape from New York. It's lean, mean and its got a whole lotta attitude.
pornfly writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 11:05:26 PM

Any comparisons between this and The Raid?
That movie was as raw
Frank_Castle writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 11:09:16 PM

After watching Dark Knight Rises, I thought I woulnt enjoy another movie thats out this year for being such a good movie. Avengers sucked, Spiderman sucked, prometheus sucked, Resident Evil mmmeh, and now I watched Dredd... I had a good feeling about this one since the beginning, this seemed like it was going to turn out like Punisher War Zone, as in not really a good adaptation but I would enjoy none the less and WOW was I wrong, this was WAY better than my expectations. This had a whole different vibe to it. Like Cannon said that it took him back to Escape from NY days. I bloody agree. I just kept thinking John Carpenter throughout the film. No doubt the young spirit of John haunted the whole production of this movie. I BLOODY LOVED IT.
boogiel writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 11:22:28 PM

"Of course these comments now sound funny, since "Dredd" is failing much worse than "Judge Dredd" did. "Dredd" grossed only $6 million this weekend on a $50 million budget, while "Judge Dredd" took in $113 million globally on a $90 million budget."

Stupid Hollywood. For once in a while. I agree with you alex.

GuynamedLloyd writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 11:41:57 PM

I saw Dredd over the weekend. It was f*cking awesome! I am disappointed by the lack of advertising and people just wanting to forget Judge Dredd with Stallone. Anybody who speaks badly of it, and has not themselves seen it, are people who actually believe in their own sh*t they shovel. Doesn't seem it is possible, but at the end, I was ready for a sequel and see Judge Death and an updated Mean Machine.
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 11:46:27 PM

BEST MOVIE IN YEARS
nicholas56 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:22:42 AM

this version was f*cking awesome and i was at the edge of my seat at some parts of the movie
KillerCOck writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:23:39 AM

Dredd was f*cking Dope!
telur writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:24:02 AM

so where goes US$90 million budget? maybe US$200 million this time

SACdaddy writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:29:56 AM

God I love all the positive reviews! I have to see this soon. If it lives up to the hype and there are no big 3D movies coming out in the next 2-3 weeks, word of mouth and international sales will carry this for a while.
Frank_Castle writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:32:52 AM

We need to spread the word on this film. Its sad this film is going out this way and I guess I got to say that I so predicted this. The advertisements for this movie was terrible. The only thing I liked about the trailer was the song from La Roux.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 2:10:26 AM

this movie wasnt so bad. the story was good. only it was an all new version of its own compared to the original film. some of the drug scenes were cool. it was sort of dark knightish with more blood, guns, and drugs.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 6:07:49 AM

@bando... Dredd was good, Machete was awesome, and Drive Angry was not terrible...
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 6:18:31 AM

it figures that Dredd wouldnt succeed. its an old school action movie with a good action star, good acting, great violence and no filler. twilight will make a hojillion dollars though. f*cking *sshole people would rather watch that garbage.

having said that, Dredd was awesome and Karl Urban was great (and actually seemed threatening) as Dredd.
_JB_ writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 6:46:54 AM

I loved both dredd movies but prefer stallones. Why do they need to use the same type of actor . Denzel would be better.
Cannon writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 6:54:31 AM


Dredd f*cked your mother. All of your mothers.


Mine, too.

rocketman writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 10:07:57 AM

Dredd doesn't f*ck mothers,he engages in a violent sexual liaison with them,then arrests em for shagging in public.
Mudders writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 10:33:55 AM

maybe it might do a "shawshank"

that had poor cinema showings and is now one of the most prolific movies around....

not saying it will be as good as shawshank but money wise could do well elsewhere

think dredd will kill in blu ray sales etc
Ranger writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 11:56:16 AM

@Mudders - it's a movie I would have enjoyed in the theater, but didn't go see it in the theater. So you're right in that I'm one of the population that would help it's DVD sales and not box office. And I think we're only going to see more and more of that. Best example is The Avengers is out on DVD 2 months after being out of the theater. Also they want to get some sales before all the illegal downloads happen.

In 10 years, I don't think we'll recognize the movie theater-going experience, or how movies are received at homes.
minkowski writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 12:27:15 PM

In other words, they made a film, which failed spectacularly in American theaters, at least, because the Stallone film bombed hard, and thus everyone was smart enough thereafter to avoid making another Dredd, everyone except the morons who made the new film.

Got it.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 5:03:38 PM

I hate to ask but....Mink, has there ever been a movie based on a book that you love that's come out and completely failed because it wasn't true to the source material? You've never wanted to see that material be treated justice and respect by someone who loved it as much as you and had the ability to convey its message? That's all I think the people behind the new Dredd film wanted. The judging by how long they've been working on its acquisition and production, this was obviously a passion project for its them. The simple fact that the character wears his famous helmet the entire film shows more respect to it source than the Stallone film ever did. Maybe they were actually more worried about making the right movie than the box office returns. If that makes them morons, I think we need more of them in Hwood.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 26th, 2012 at 5:07:08 PM

I hate to ask but....Mink, has there ever been a movie based on a book that you love that's come out and completely failed because it wasn't true to the source material? You've never wanted to see that material be treated justice and respect by someone who loved it as much as you and had the ability to convey its message? That's all I think the people behind the new Dredd film wanted. Judging by how long they've been working on its acquisition and production, this was obviously a passion project for them. The simple fact that the character wears his famous helmet the entire film shows more respect to it source than the Stallone's film ever did. Maybe they were actually more worried about making the right movie than the box office returns. If that makes them morons, I think we need more of them in Hwood.

Get an edit button Alex!!!
jikae writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 4:15:02 AM

Saw Dredd tonight/last night (it's 1am where I am right now). I like the Judge Dredd character and had somewhat high hopes. Something more along the lines of Expendables 2, but, man did it disappoint. The violence was good, so were both actresses. Outside of that, it was very meh. Karl Urban was great as an actor, but I didn't like his voice. Wasn't as 'rough' as you'd like. The story was just one linear story so it was almost too simple and boring. Action sequences: you can tell they had a limited budget (49 million), probably why they had the entire movie held inside the building.

In the end, I felt I preferred *gasp* the Stallone version better. The overall landscape, the story, more elements of the original Dredd storyline, action sequences.

Sorry, tha'ts just me. The original Dredd was more fun. All right, now that I've said my piece, let 'er rip...
jikae writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 4:31:16 AM

For the record. I didn't like this movie, BUT I can sort of see how they had a potential sequel in mind as they were making this and I HOPE that they eventually do. They had the right mindset, but didn't execute it properly.

However, with that said, $6 million opening weekend NEVER warrants a sequel, especially in this market. Lucky to get a direct-to-dvd/bluray/stream animated sequel (which might be better for the franchise long term).
Mudders writes:
on September 27th, 2012 at 11:01:52 AM

@ jikae

im not sure dredd is suppose to be "fun"

i havent seen it yet so i wont comment...but from what i read as a kid i always got the impression "fun" wasnt part of it

but from what i can tell on here...about 90% of you like it...and while some hated it they liked elements of it...i think ill have a nosey and see for myself
jikae writes:
on September 29th, 2012 at 2:04:13 AM

@mudders

My apologizes. What I wrote as 'fun' was actually supposed to mean 'entertaining'. The movie didn't have a lot of elaborate action scenes. They had one scene in the middle where they basically destroy an entire floor that was 'fun.' However, they didn't have more scenes similar to those. I think anyone who watches the movie is going to enjoy it. Too bad not a lot of people are going to watch it. It's a shame.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved