WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Winners of 2012 Emmy Awards Announced!

Posted: September 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Winners of 2012 Emmy Awards Announced!Submit Comment
The 2012 Primetime Emmy Awards, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, took place on Sunday (September 23rd). Showtime's "Homeland" won in the Best Drama category, denying "Mad Men" a record fifth consecutive win. "Modern Family" took home its third straight Best Comedy award.

Comedy Central's "The Daily Show" won its 10th consecutive Emmy, which resulted in Jon Stewart being censored during his acceptance speech for saying the F-word. Julianne Moore (pictured) won for Best Actress in a Mini-Series for her portrayal of Sarah Palin in HBO's "Game Change." Moore stated: "Wow, I feel so validated because Sarah Palin gave me a big thumbs down."

And Jon Cryer won Best Actor for "Two and a Half Men," something he admitted was not possible with Charlie Sheen around. "The show was really structured around [Sheen's] character, so it was silly for me to be in the lead character [category]. That's changed [with Ashton Kutcher]. It's more of a partnership [now]."

Check out the list of nominees and winner (in red) below.

COMEDY SERIES:
* Modern Family
* The Big Bang Theory
* Curb Your Enthusiasm
* Girls
* 30 Rock
* Veep

LEAD ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES:
* Julia Louis-Dreyfus - Veep
* Lena Dunham - Girls
* Melissa McCarthy - Mike and Molly
* Zooey Deschanel - New Girl
* Edie Falco - Nurse Jackie
* Amy Poehler - Parks And Recreation
* Tina Fey - 30 Rock

LEAD ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES:
* Jon Cryer - Two And A Half Men
* Jim Parsons - The Big Bang Theory
* Larry David- Curb Your Enthusiasm
* Don Cheadle - House Of Lies
* Louis C.K. - Louie
* Alec Baldwin - 30 Rock

SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES:
* Julie Bowen - Modern Family
* Mayim Bialik- The Big Bang Theory
* Kathryn Joosten - Desperate Housewives
* Sofia Vergara - Modern Family
* Merritt Wever - Nurse Jackie
* Kristen Wiig - Saturday Night Live

SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES:
* Eric Stonestreet - Modern Family
* Ed O'Neill - Modern Family
* Jesse Tyler Ferguson - Modern Family
* Ty Burrell - Modern Family
* Max Greenfield - New Girl
* Bill Hader - Saturday Night Live

GUEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES:
* Kathy Bates - Two And A Half Men
* Dot-Marie Jones - Glee
* Maya Rudolph - Saturday Night Live
* Melissa McCarthy - Saturday Night Live
* Elizabeth Banks - 30 Rock
* Margaret Cho - 30 Rock

GUEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES:
* Jimmy Fallon - Saturday Night Live
* Michael J. Fox - Curb Your Enthusiasm
* Greg Kinnear - Modern Family
* Bobby Cannavale - Nurse Jackie
* Will Arnett - 30 Rock
* Jon Hamm - 30 Rock

DRAMA SERIES:
* Homeland
* Boardwalk Empire
* Breaking Bad
* Downton Abbey
* Game Of Thrones
* Mad Men

LEAD ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES:
* Claire Danes - Homeland
* Glenn Close - Damages
* Michelle Dockery - Downton Abbey
* Julianna Margulies - The Good Wife
* Kathy Bates - Harry's Law
* Elisabeth Moss - Mad Men

LEAD ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES:
* Damian Lewis - Homeland
* Steve Buscemi - Boardwalk Empire
* Bryan Cranston - Breaking Bad
* Michael C. Hall - Dexter
* Hugh Bonneville - Downton Abbey
* Jon Hamm - Mad Men

SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES:
* Maggie Smith - Downton Abbey
* Anna Gunn - Breaking Bad
* Joanne Froggatt - Downton Abbey
* Archie Panjabi - The Good Wife
* Christine Baranski - The Good Wife
* Christina Hendricks - Mad Men

SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES:
* Aaron Paul - Breaking Bad
* Giancarlo Esposito - Breaking Bad
* Brendan Coyle - Downton Abbey
* Jim Carter - Downton Abbey
* Peter Dinklage - Game Of Thrones
* Jared Harris - Mad Men

GUEST ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES:
* Martha Plimpton - The Good Wife
* Loretta Devine - Grey's Anatomy
* Jean Smart - Harry's Law
* Julia Ormond - Mad Men
* Joan Cusack - Shameless
* Uma Thurman - Smash

GUEST ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES:
* Jeremy Davies - Justified
* Mark Margolis - Breaking Bad
* Dylan Baker - The Good Wife
* Michael J. Fox - The Good Wife
* Ben Feldman - Mad Men
* Jason Ritter - Parenthood

MINISERIES OR MOVIE:
* Game Change
* American Horror Story
* Hatfields and McCoys
* Hemingway and Gellhorn
* Luther
* Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia

LEAD ACTRESS IN A MINISERIES OR A MOVIE:
* Julianne Moore - Game Change
* Connie Britton - American Horror Story
* Nicole Kidman - Hemingway and Gellhorn
* Ashley Judd - Missing
* Emma Thompson - The Song Of Lunch

LEAD ACTOR IN A MINISERIES OR A MOVIE:
* Kevin Costner - Hatfields and McCoys
* Woody Harrelson - Game Change
* Bill Paxton - Hatfields and McCoys
* Clive Owen - Hemingway and Gellhorn
* Idris Elba - Luther
* Benedict Cumberbatch - Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia

SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A MINISERIES OR A MOVIE:
* Jessica Lange - American Horror Story
* Frances Conroy - American Horror
* Sarah Paulson - Game Change
* Mare Winningham - Hatfields and McCoys
* Judy Davis - Page Eight

SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A MINISERIES OR A MOVIE:
* Tom Berenger - Hatfields and McCoys
* Denis O'Hare - American Horror Story
* Ed Harris - Game Change
* David Strathairn - Hemingway and Gellhorn
* Martin Freeman - Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia

VARIETY SERIES:
* The Daily Show With Jon Stewart
* The Colbert Report
* Jimmy Kimmel Live
* Late Night With Jimmy Fallon
* Real Time With Bill Maher
* Saturday Night Live

VARIETY SPECIAL:
* The Kennedy Center Honors
* Betty White's 90th Birthday: A Tribute To America's Golden Girl
* Kathy Griffin: Tired Hooker
* Mel Brooks And Dick Cavett Together Again
* Tony Bennett: Duets II

SPECIAL CLASS PROGRAMS:
* 65th Annual Tony Awards
* 84th Annual Academy Awards
* The 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards
* The 54th Annual Grammy Awards
* Herbie Hancock, Gustavo Dudamel And The LA Phil Celebrate Gershwin
* Louis C.K. Live At The Beacon Theatre

SHORT-FORMAT LIVE-ACTION ENTERTAINMENT PROGRAMS:
* Childrens Hospital
* The Daily Show Correspondents Explain
* Parks And Recreation: April And Andy's Road Trip
* 30 Rock: The Webisodes
* Web Therapy

ANIMATED PROGRAM:
* The Penguins Of Madagascar: The Return Of The Revenge Of Dr. Blowhole
* American Dad!
* Bob's Burgers
* Futurama
* The Simpsons

SHORT-FORMAT ANIMATED PROGRAM:
* Regular Show
* Adventure Time
* Disney Phineas And Ferb
* MAD
* Robot Chicken

CHILDREN'S PROGRAM:
* Wizards Of Waverly Place
* Degrassi
* Good Luck Charlie
* iCarly
* Victorious

CHILDREN'S NONFICTION, REALITY OR REALITY-COMPETITION PROGRAM:
* Sesame Street: Growing Hope Against Hunger
* It Gets Better
* The Weight Of The Nation For Kids: The Great Cafeteria Takeover

REALITY PROGRAM:
* Undercover Boss
* Antiques Roadshow
* Jamie Oliver's Food Revolution
* MythBusters
* Shark Tank
* Who Do You Think You Are?

REALITY-COMPETITION PROGRAM:
* The Amazing Race
* Dancing With The Stars
* Project Runway
* So You Think You Can Dance
* Top Chef
* The Voice

HOST FOR A REALITY OR REALITY-COMPETITION PROGRAM:
* Tom Bergeron - Dancing With The Stars
* Phil Keoghan - The Amazing Race
* Ryan Seacrest - American Idol
* Betty White - Betty White's Off Their Rockers
* Cat Deeley - So You Think You Can Dance

NONFICTION SERIES:
* Frozen Planet
* American Masters
* Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations
* Inside The Actors Studio
* The Weight Of The Nation

NONFICTION SPECIAL:
* George Harrison: Living In The Material World
* Bobby Fischer Against The World
* Gloria: In Her Own Words
* Paul Simon's Graceland Journey: Under African Skies
* 6 Days To Air: The Making Of South Park

SHORT-FORMAT NONFICTION PROGRAMS:
* DGA Moments In Time
* Bravo's Top Chef: Last Chance Kitchen
* Jay Leno's Garage
* Thank A Vet
* 30 Rock: Ask Tina

COMMERICIAL:
* Best Job - Procter and Gamble Corporate Brand
* The Bark Side - Volkswagen
* Color Changes Everything - Target
* The Dog Strikes Back - Volkswagen
* It's Halftime In America - Chrysler Brand

Source: Academy of Television Arts and Sciences


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 7:37:58 AM

Whoa, real bummer for mad men. What a shame. Modern family is waay over rated.
sdpepper writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 7:51:40 AM

Blah blah blah, don't care
velocityknown writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 7:52:27 AM

Modern Family is HUGLEY overrated and I am tired of seeing it scoop up nominations and awards, however, I won't complain about Homeland's domination upset.

That was as fine of a first season as any show has produced and while it may not have been better than the seasons Breaking Bad and Mad Men produced, it was certainly not far behind and still very very very good.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 8:16:08 AM

Glad Julie won for Veep and happy to see Homeland get that leftover 24 cred, but very disappointed that HBO, Starz, Showtime, and Cinemax didn't sweep every other important category. Their programming is lightyears ahead of anything else on TV. I hear all this pub for Mad Men, Breaking Bad, House, and Walking Dead which are all decent shows, but they really don't hold a creative candle to Dexter, The Newsroom, True Blood, Strikeback, Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Weeds, Californication, Boss, Spartacus, Veep, etc etc. Oh well, I guess that's what the Golden Globes and Cable Ace awards are for.

btw, how does Kelsey Grammer get left off the Best Actor list? His performance in Boss is an acting tour de force every time he's onscreen. Its just as good of a role as Tony Soprano any day of the week which Gandolfini was nominated for almost every year. What a shame.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 8:44:24 AM

Also would have loved to see Dinklage win for Game of Thrones. He's the best character on the best show on TV. Give the Imp his due!

Lena Headey also deserves at least a nom for her performance as the queen on Game of Thrones too. Her performance this season was masterful. She might actually be the best villain on any show right now.

Damon242 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 9:30:20 AM

I mean no offense to Damian Lewis, he did a fine job, however, I don't agree with his performance being the one to end Cranston's reign in the 'Leading Actor' category for Drama.

If neither Hamm or Fox managed to do it with their performances in the last few years, I don't see how it is that Lewis' managed to succeed.

And having experienced all of the Best Drama nominations, I don't agree with Homeland getting the win. I would have rather seen it go to the fourth season of Breaking Bad.

Also, I find it shocking that Mad Men went without a single win this year.

I must say, I'm suprirsed that Aaron Paul won Best Supporting Actor for Drama. His performance in season 4 was admirable, but not memorable, and the heat was really on between the other nominees in that category. I was just surprised because, to be honest, Paul wasn't even a runner for it in my head, and neither did he feature in many of the prediction posts I have been reading throughout the last few days.
velocityknown writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 9:59:00 AM

@SacDaddy

I'm going to have to disagree with you here, pal.

Dexter's golden years are far behind it. This past season was nearly unwatchable and horribly plotted. Edward James Olmos was wasted in a Fight Club twist that everyone saw coming from a mile away.

The Newsroom, I'm sorry, I wish it would've been good, but that show is too too flawed to be good. Sorkin sets his show two years in the past to use his power of hindsight to criticize other people he doesn't like and make his team avoid missteps others made (BP oil spill). Not to mention every female character on that show seemingly exists to have emotional breakdowns and be talked down by the men of that world.

True Blood, Californication, and Weeds are all past their best days as well unfortunately.

Strike Back is fun, but it's also just that: It's fun. Cinemax knows that too, that's why they made the show, they were selling directly to their main demo.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 10:34:40 AM

Lol I'll actually agree with you on most points. I've just grown used to the level of programming these premium channels provide so watching basic cable shows always feels somewhat muted. With shows like Mad Men or Breaking Bad I'm always left wondering how much better they would have been on HBO.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 10:35:13 AM

Lol I'll actually agree with you on most points. I've just grown used to the level of programming these premium channels provide so watching basic cable shows always feels somewhat muted. With shows like Mad Men or Breaking Bad I'm always left wondering how much better they would have been on HBO.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:31:55 AM

I always know these Award threads will be the longest of any current, because nothing gets people talking like the chance to talk about themselves.
velocityknown writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:54:36 AM

Fair point, and funny story on that.

I work in advertising and my boss went to a luncheon at which a woman who was a copywriter during the "Mad Men" era was speaking. Someone asked her if Mad Men was an accurate show and she said, "Mad Men is a very accurate depiction of the advertising world of that time, my only complaint would be that its depiction is a little too benign."

I found that funny and guess it goes to your point, if they were on HBO, who knows how many graphic sex scenes we would've seen at this point?

Breaking Bad I think is right at home on AMC. It's not a show built around excessive violence, explicit sex, or cussing. It's been bleeped a few times, but not to a point where it's become a detriment that it's on basic cable. And the violence has certainly never suffered as a result of where it's housed.
bane writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 12:16:11 PM

these were all over looked

alison pill THE NEWSROOM
anna chlumsy VEEP
jeff daniels THE NEWSROOM
ashley rickards AWKWARD
Stapes writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 12:58:58 PM

12 comments? really? I only clicked on this link to see if anyone gave enough of a sh*t about the emmys to actually read it, much less comment on it, yet here I am, and I just posted so I guess the joke's on me.
dwight writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 1:24:45 PM

Way to go Regular Show!
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:06:40 PM

Still no Richard Lynch tribute but they showed Steve Jobs
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:20:07 PM

Best Boobs:
Kat Dennings
Sofia Vergara
Christina Hendricks

Winner:Eric Stonestreet
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:31:32 PM

Age is a bitch. For purely selfish reasons, I don't like seeing Julianne Moore getting old.
bspence writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:46:56 PM

why did i not see the walking dead one time? it easily outbeats several if not all the shows in the categories itd be put into.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:25:02 PM

SPECIAL CLASS PROGRAMS:
* 65th Annual Tony Awards

Really? There an award given to Award Shows now?

Bwwwahahahahahahahahahahhaaa!!!
holtlt writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:26:22 PM

I agree with Damon242, Damian Lewis is a really good actor, but what Bryan Cranston has done with Breaking Bad is beyond masterful. He embodied a complex character, which not any actor could've done it like he did.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:27:33 PM

If Julie Bowen or Jessica Lange or Julianne Moore or Claire Danes are reading this... call me. I'd like to award you with a congratulatory f*ck.
Shudder writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:05:09 PM

Suck it Big Bang sh*t.
Johnnyb writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:06:37 PM

Well, another year without the office in the Emmys, but at least it gonna have another year to hit jackpot! As for American Horror Story, it's a shame that couldn't beat the HBO crap Game Change!!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:48:39 PM

@Velocity

"Dexter's golden years are far behind it. This past season was nearly unwatchable and horribly plotted"

i couldn't agree more, but the trailer for season 7 looks really good, so i'll deffinately be watching, also Season 5 is by far one of my fav season of any show ever, that Season was amazing..

"ANIMATED PROGRAM:
* The Penguins Of Madagascar: The Return Of The Revenge Of Dr. Blowhole"

Is this some sort of bad joke?

and lastly i know a huge amount of people disagree but i'm one of those guys who thinks Breaking Bad is one of the best TV shows of the last decade.

LEAD ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES and DRAMA SERIES, Should have went to Bryan Cranston and Breaking Bad.

Just Sayin'
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 7:40:53 PM

I agreed with almost every winner. There are a couple of them who were not deserved. For example, JON CRYER FOR BEST ACTOR IN A COMEDIC SERIES?! REALLY?! He went against Jim Parsons and Louis C.K. And I have to admit that "Regular Show" and "Adventure Time" are some of the best animated series on air right now, along all those stupid shows, like "Chowder". Other than that, the awards were nice.
TheFirstRule writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 9:51:27 PM

homeland wasnt that great.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:12:44 PM

Cranston is good (though I actually liked his character on Malcom in the Middle better), but you haven't seen sh*t if you haven't seen Kelsey Grammer on Boss. All you need to see is one episode to know what I'm talking about. It took me an entire season to get into Breaking Bad. Grammer's character is the best since the two Jacks (LOST Jack and Jack Bauer of course, the best dramatic tv characters ever) imo.
Gnarkill writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:49:31 PM

good for u Aaron Paul Breaking Bad all the way baby
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 2:02:21 AM

@Sac

"Grammer's character is the best since the two Jacks (LOST Jack and Jack Bauer of course, the best dramatic tv characters ever) imo"

Yea Lost was a pretty amazing show, and i never got the chance to watch 24.

Also, i got my seasons mixed up, its the 4TH season of Dexter that's amazing, Not the 5th. The Season with the trinity killer.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved