WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fake Pilot Arrested After Flight, Says He Was Inspired by "Catch Me If You Can"

Posted: September 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fake Pilot Arrested After Flight, Says He Was Inspired by "Catch Me If You Can"Submit Comment
In the 2002 film "Catch Me If You Can," Leonardo DiCaprio portrayed Frank Abagnale, a real-life con man who ripped off banks and posed as a pilot to fly more than a million miles on more than 250 flight in the 1960s.

Now comes word that a 32-year-old Italian man, named Andrea Sirlo, created a false identity as a pilot of the German airline Lufthansa after being inspired by the movie. "I saw that film and I wanted to be like Frank Abagnale," he told police.

Sirlo made a pilot uniform at home and using forged identity cards, he flew in the cockpit as a third pilot on at least one flight from Munich to Turin. He would have continued to do this if it wasn't for an aviation lieutenant, who thought Sirlo was too young to be a captain.

After being arrested, police discovered that Sirlo has a criminal record that includes fraud. Inside his apartment, fake identity cards, several pilot uniforms, an airport staff parking permit, training manuals and two fake resumes were found. He's been charged with threatening security and assuming false identity.

Source: The Age


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 8:52:40 PM

Ummm... ahhh...

Well...

Don't they file flight records listing CREW members and such? Clearly the pilot and co-pilot never bothered to question the newest crew member. And if the (real) navigator didn't show up and this guy did... WHERE'S THE REAL NAVIGATOR?! Who's running that f*cking airline?!
Avirex writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:16:22 PM

The guy deserves some type of award for that sh*t, for at least having the balls and mind to go through with it.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:25:24 PM

HE wasnt so smart after all if he got caught
30YoVirgin writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:22:09 PM

In prison, he will be inspired by Deliverance
30YoVirgin writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:24:28 PM

when I first saw the pic, I thought that was Sheldon Cooper
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:47:32 PM

I miss movie news on here like I miss Gary :'( Sniffle's.
cress writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:31:14 PM

I admire this guy. Reminds me of the time I watched Black Swan, when the scene where Mila Kunis goes down on Natalie Portman inspired me to rub one out in the middle of my living room floor.
boogiel writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:38:01 PM

"After being arrested, police discovered that Sirlo has a criminal record that includes fraud. Inside his apartment, fake identity cards, several pilot uniforms, an airport staff parking permit, training manuals and two fake resumes were found. He's been charged with threatening security and assuming false identity."

Well I have to admit, this guy is good.

Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:59:23 PM

@BC - so do I. I'm going to have a beer in his honor.
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 1:52:19 AM

shouldv grown some facial hair
jackass
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:39:55 AM

Bad news for him. With the new laws givering air piracy and terroristic threats and fake identification, he;s going away for a long, long f*cking time.

Buh bye!

(edit: didn't happen in the US. He'll be out in a few days, then.)
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:55:31 PM

It's sad at how easily he was able to get inside the c*ckpit of a plane...


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved