WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet
Aug 1st, 2014
Thanos is NOT Part of "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Chris Pine and Meryl Streep
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2014
Frank Darabont Confirmed to Direct "Snow White and the Huntsman" Prequel
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for Kate Beckinsale's "Stonehearst Asylum" Thriller
Aug 1st, 2014
"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers
Aug 1st, 2014
New Trailer for Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Dark Comedy
Aug 1st, 2014
First Look at Josh Brolin as Thanos in "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 31st, 2014
"Con Air" Director Wants to Set Sequel in Space
Jul 31st, 2014
New Photos From Disney's "Into the Woods" Musical, with Chris Pine as Prince Charming
Jul 31st, 2014
Jamie Foxx to Play Mike Tyson in Biopic
Jul 31st, 2014
Alex Kurtzman to Direct "The Mummy" Reboot
Jul 31st, 2014
Poster For Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Western
Jul 31st, 2014
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"End of Watch" Takes First Place at Box Office, "Dredd" Bombs

Posted: September 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"End of Watch" Takes First Place at Box Office, "Dredd" BombsSubmit Comment
Jake Gyllenhaal's cop drama "End of Watch" took first at the domestic box office this weekend with $13 million, being the only film to surpass expectations. It cost only $7 million to make and has an impressive 85% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Coming in a close second was Jennifer Lawrence's "House at the End of the Street" horror film, which also took in roughly $13 million. It too is a success already, since it cost only $10 million to make. On RottenTomatoes, however, the new movie has a lousy 13% fresh rating.

Clint Eastwood's baseball drama "Trouble with the Curve" landed in third with $12.7 million, which is quite disappointing since Brad Pitt's baseball drama "Moneyball" was released on the same weekend last year but went on to gross $19.5 million. "Trouble with the Curve" has a 52% fresh rating.

And the biggest disaster of the weekend was "Dredd," which worked with a budget of $50 million and has a strong 77% fresh rating. The film grossed only $6.3 million, just slightly more than Paul Thomas Anderson's "The Master" that played in only 788 theaters and took in $5 million.

Overall, this is another disappointing weekend for Hollywood, with ticket sales down a whopping 23% from 2011.

Click here to read our "End of Watch" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
youraveragetroll writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 8:04:36 PM

The Master is a masterpiece
OneTime writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 8:21:01 PM

dredd bombed?

gee who woulda thought that..

how come all of us wp geeks can predict whats going to happen with the choices hollywood makes but hollywood has no idea what teh f*ck to put out there.

Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:05:03 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWFjhEYXbbU
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:05:24 PM

Recorded in a DREDD movie theater this weekend.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:06:09 PM

So Total Recall bombed.
DREDD bombed.

Any one else see a pattern?

My sh*t has more brains than Hollywood.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:22:23 PM

Dredd was dreddful I see
To be in dvd in a month
oklahomaer writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:56:29 PM

it is a shame Dredd did so bad. It is one of the best action films i have seen in a decade
cress writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:57:24 PM

I saw The Master, and while it is masterful filmmaking, I can't call it a masterpiece. PT Anderson is brilliant in his direction, but the film is uneven. If you think Joaquin Phoenix is not a good actor, just watch him in this. His performance is amazing. If Daniel Day-Lewis doesn't nail it as Lincoln, Phoenix should get the nod for best actor. Hoffman is excellent as well. I'll post a more in-depth review later, like anyone gives a flying f*ck. Gotta go rub one out---laters!
mpiper821 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:27:14 PM

It's disappointing Dredd did so bad, it was actually a decent action movie and one of the better movies for 3D. I guess people don't know whats good anymore.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:44:48 PM

I was hoping to see Dredd but since summer is over with the theatre's have no early times now and I can't go see sh*t. O well.
Tyrkae writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:49:51 PM

Ya its a sad day when a crap movie like house at the end of the street beats out dredd Sure its a remake but its not a sh*t remake like the other 100 of them
boogiel writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:34:39 PM

Dredd bombed. I guess there's a lesson in this which is REBOOT SUCK!
Tsingtao44 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:43:40 PM

say what u want about Dredd...excellent movie...Karl Urban did a great job..if they would of cast a bigger actor it probaly would of made alot more money....I AM THE LAW!!!
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:55:35 PM

That movie was f*cking awesome....I will go see it 5 more times.Best movie (action) of the year,better than the Avengers imo.
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 12:10:14 AM

thx CRESS
holtlt writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 12:16:17 AM

I might give Dredd a shot. The trailers sucked but it has good ratings. The End Of Watch is on my list too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 12:39:41 AM

I knew dredd would flop.. Am I the only one who think it looks like a terrible film? Lol.. I could be wrong, But based on the trailer alone, I'll most likely never watch it.

Trouble with the curve looks awesome and so does end of watch, Both those I will Deffinitely be seeing within the week, And maybe House at the end of the street... If I'm really bored.. Lol
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:03:09 AM

Unless the horse is called XFiles TANMAN remind me not to go to the track with you
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:03:29 AM

To those that think DREDD is good... it may very well be (I haven't seen it yet). But as I posted on another thread today, movies... theaters, etc. are changing. They come out so fast in DVD, and people have decent home systems... without the fear of being shot (I'll bet the Aurora shooting is still on people's mind... not to mention for a violent, shoot 'em up movie like DREDD)... as great as this may look in 3D (IMAX?)... MILLIONS of viewers these day just download all their stuff, and times are still tough. The 'flopping' of DREDD may have a lot less to do with the movie itself, than just strange circ*mstance.
Stapes writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:13:05 AM

@Ranger.
You're probably right on target with that observation, however the trailers failed to impress me, I'll wait for redbox.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:24:57 AM

@Stapes - same... this wasn't a 'must-see at the theater movie' for me either.
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:17:55 AM

Ranger

Mate i get free cinema tickets and i still don't see everything that comes out.

Like you say i will wait and watch most things on Blu ray in indoors.

Some films have to be seen on the big screen with the atmosphere that can create with a packed house, Like the new Bond film for instance, You know that movie is going to be off the hook in the cinema.
Rambo writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:38:04 AM

Taken 2 is at 17% at RT...looks like a bad sequel
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:46:57 AM

Empire gave Taken 2 the thumbs down last week Rambo as well

Not looking good.
_JB_ writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:56:06 AM

I do not understand why a film like dredd would bomb it's obviously going to be a kick ass action film. People have no idea at all.

Wonderful news I saw one of my lovers last night finally got my rimjob. Been over 2 weeks. Heavenly to be home again.
Rambo writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:58:42 AM

@trailer

yup,and that's without the Albanian critics giving their reviews yet...
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:11:00 AM

lol

But it's 8.7 on IMDB, I know that get a lot of industry voting on there but there is a little hope still (just)

Looper looks good looking forward to that this week.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:27:11 AM

@_JB_ - what's his name?
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:30:13 AM

^ Chase Evolution ??
Rambo writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:31:26 AM

Frodo Baggins
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:33:33 AM

A JB rim job ((Shudders))

Bet thats like cleaning the dried mud off your football boots with your tounge and having the stench from a pig farm mixed in there too.
_JB_ writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:36:16 AM

HE? Jesus Christ save me! I do not EVER have one on one sex with males, what u think that I'm a FAG??
A three way with a hot girl then ok but NEVER one on one.
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:47:38 AM

JB

It's still gay when you plough your man friend while he's f*cking the hot chick, you know
McQueen writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:58:53 AM

JB

Shemale dosen't count as women, you wanker!
Džeko writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:27:42 AM

Meanwhile,Looper(Bruce Willis,J.G.Levitt time travel thriller )is apparently pretty good http://blogs.indiewire.com/criticwire/early-looper-reviews-toronto# .
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:38:16 AM

thx DZEKO
Looper will suffice while waiting for Skyfall
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 7:39:10 AM

Despite the big online ad campaign for Dredd on all the fanboy sites, the film still didn't have much of a chance because it did hardly any TV ads here in the US. I'd be surprised if the average filmgoer even knew it came out. Lack of press and lack of star power will kill a film every time. But I bet word of much will keep it going in the theaters long enough to break even. Wonder what its done internationally so far. Can't find that info on boxofficemojo for some reason.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 8:34:25 AM

The beginning of college football conference games (Sat) and only Week 3 in the NFL (Sun) probably took away half of the target Dredd audience (men 25-35yo) this weekend. That's why I didn't see it. Next Friday night I'm there baby!!!
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 8:53:25 AM

Dredd was pretty good... Karl urban did a great job. A lot better than I expected...
rocketman writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:11:08 AM

@Sac It's only opened in the UK before the US,it did quite well for an 18 coming number 1 beating that Lawless and Anna Karina.

Gotta say as a Dredd fan I'm f*cking gutted that it hasn't taken off over there,it is a brilliant little hard sci movie that they just don't make anymore really.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:37:22 AM

Dredd bombed? No sh*t. Lousy marketing for one thing, a remembrance of Stallone's lousy film and the fact Dredd is less popular over here in the States than Tin Tin. Americans only saw the first Dredd film for Sly anyway.

But that's what you get when you try to shove off a film that slow-mos blowing people away and then calls it 'action', as if that's the same as what made Predator or Die Hard instant action classics.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 1:56:13 PM

If Batman fans became leery about getting shot in the theater, you can bet that DREDD fans considered it (considering the violence).

As an 'outsider' (not a huge DREDD fan as he came out long after I was out of comics)... I think Stallone's version hurt this latest film's chances. I do. Stallone's version sucked (can we be honest here?)! And I think people remember that horror more-so than wanting to give it another chance. Sure there are big fans of DREDD (rocketman) and others, but it's usually the fan that dredge up all the fan-based hype one sees on the Internet. The haters aren't really paid that much attention.

I think between the Aurora shootings, and the first DREDD is why this movie tanked. The world falling on tough times hasn't hurt The Avengers, but I do think some people these days pick their movie-spending ways a bit better.


PLASTIC MAN writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:24:59 PM

Minkowski you are a bag of sh*t. I swear to God. You didn't even see Dredd, and you feel like everybody wants to hear your c*cksocking mouth flap its lips.

Dredd rocked. If you saw it, you'd say the same thing you piece of sh*t.

Take a chance and quit labeling everything before you "judge" it.

Pun intended.

f*ck you.

pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:37:07 PM

Clint shouldv kicked Timberlakes ass,then it wouldv been #1

Im also more interested in seeing the second to last house at the end of the street
The mom wears a black wife beater and her daughter wears a white one
pedromonkey writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:39:05 PM

Dredd bombed because it was only being shown in 3D and a huge majority of movie goers are sick to death of 3D movies. If the film was also being shown in 2D it would have made much much more money.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:42:13 PM

Unless the horse is called XFiles TANMAN remind me not to go to the track with you

That's honestly a good bet, i don't think i've ever won at the Tracks, but if im going to the casino, Trust me when i say make every bet i make on roulette, I'm a lucky f*ck when it comes to roulette lol

And all you guy's are saying it didn't have any TV Time? I've seen the trailer hundreds of time's here in Canada and I saw the trailer almost every time i went to the theaters leading up to its release! So it got plenty air time here lol

and @Pornfly

My mom saw it last night and told me House at the end of the street is sh*t, you don't know my mom (or at least you better not! LOL) but she know's a sh*tty film when she sees one lol So its off my to see list
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:27:43 PM

I'm no authority but I do watch a sh*tload of tv when I can, especially sports. If they weren't showing trailers during football or baseball games here in the US, they weren't showing them at all. Plus I think Ranger brought up a decent point. Its focus on gratuitous gun violence probably didn't appeal much to the advertiser post Aurora shootings.
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 12:02:23 AM

I saw it in 2d....

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved