WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "The 33" Chilean Miners Rescue Film
Apr 1st, 2015
Trailer for Jack Black's "The D Train" Comedy
Apr 1st, 2015
"Arrow" Star Stephen Amell to Play Casey Jones in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2"
Apr 1st, 2015
Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje is Killer Croc in "Suicide Squad"
Apr 1st, 2015
New Trailer for "Spy" Comedy, with Melissa McCarthy, Jason Statham and Jude Law
Apr 1st, 2015
Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Mar 31st, 2015
Disney to Make Live-Action "Mulan" Movie
Mar 31st, 2015
Trailer: Dwayne Johnson Stars in Disney's Action-Packed "Bambi" Film
Mar 30th, 2015
First Footage From "The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series
Mar 30th, 2015
"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office
Mar 30th, 2015
"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
Mar 30th, 2015
New Footage in "Jurassic World" TV Spot
Mar 30th, 2015
Photo: Hugh Jackman Hints at Final Appearance as Wolverine
Mar 29th, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed
Mar 29th, 2015
20th Century Fox to Turn Popular "The Leviathan" Short Film into Feature Film
Mar 29th, 2015
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"End of Watch" Takes First Place at Box Office, "Dredd" Bombs

Posted: September 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"End of Watch" Takes First Place at Box Office, "Dredd" BombsSubmit Comment
Jake Gyllenhaal's cop drama "End of Watch" took first at the domestic box office this weekend with $13 million, being the only film to surpass expectations. It cost only $7 million to make and has an impressive 85% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Coming in a close second was Jennifer Lawrence's "House at the End of the Street" horror film, which also took in roughly $13 million. It too is a success already, since it cost only $10 million to make. On RottenTomatoes, however, the new movie has a lousy 13% fresh rating.

Clint Eastwood's baseball drama "Trouble with the Curve" landed in third with $12.7 million, which is quite disappointing since Brad Pitt's baseball drama "Moneyball" was released on the same weekend last year but went on to gross $19.5 million. "Trouble with the Curve" has a 52% fresh rating.

And the biggest disaster of the weekend was "Dredd," which worked with a budget of $50 million and has a strong 77% fresh rating. The film grossed only $6.3 million, just slightly more than Paul Thomas Anderson's "The Master" that played in only 788 theaters and took in $5 million.

Overall, this is another disappointing weekend for Hollywood, with ticket sales down a whopping 23% from 2011.

Click here to read our "End of Watch" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
youraveragetroll writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 8:04:36 PM

The Master is a masterpiece
OneTime writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 8:21:01 PM

dredd bombed?

gee who woulda thought that..

how come all of us wp geeks can predict whats going to happen with the choices hollywood makes but hollywood has no idea what teh f*ck to put out there.

Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:05:03 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWFjhEYXbbU
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:05:24 PM

Recorded in a DREDD movie theater this weekend.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:06:09 PM

So Total Recall bombed.
DREDD bombed.

Any one else see a pattern?

My sh*t has more brains than Hollywood.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:22:23 PM

Dredd was dreddful I see
To be in dvd in a month
oklahomaer writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:56:29 PM

it is a shame Dredd did so bad. It is one of the best action films i have seen in a decade
cress writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:57:24 PM

I saw The Master, and while it is masterful filmmaking, I can't call it a masterpiece. PT Anderson is brilliant in his direction, but the film is uneven. If you think Joaquin Phoenix is not a good actor, just watch him in this. His performance is amazing. If Daniel Day-Lewis doesn't nail it as Lincoln, Phoenix should get the nod for best actor. Hoffman is excellent as well. I'll post a more in-depth review later, like anyone gives a flying f*ck. Gotta go rub one out---laters!
mpiper821 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:27:14 PM

It's disappointing Dredd did so bad, it was actually a decent action movie and one of the better movies for 3D. I guess people don't know whats good anymore.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:44:48 PM

I was hoping to see Dredd but since summer is over with the theatre's have no early times now and I can't go see sh*t. O well.
Tyrkae writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:49:51 PM

Ya its a sad day when a crap movie like house at the end of the street beats out dredd Sure its a remake but its not a sh*t remake like the other 100 of them
boogiel writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:34:39 PM

Dredd bombed. I guess there's a lesson in this which is REBOOT SUCK!
Tsingtao44 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:43:40 PM

say what u want about Dredd...excellent movie...Karl Urban did a great job..if they would of cast a bigger actor it probaly would of made alot more money....I AM THE LAW!!!
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:55:35 PM

That movie was f*cking awesome....I will go see it 5 more times.Best movie (action) of the year,better than the Avengers imo.
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 12:10:14 AM

thx CRESS
holtlt writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 12:16:17 AM

I might give Dredd a shot. The trailers sucked but it has good ratings. The End Of Watch is on my list too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 12:39:41 AM

I knew dredd would flop.. Am I the only one who think it looks like a terrible film? Lol.. I could be wrong, But based on the trailer alone, I'll most likely never watch it.

Trouble with the curve looks awesome and so does end of watch, Both those I will Deffinitely be seeing within the week, And maybe House at the end of the street... If I'm really bored.. Lol
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:03:09 AM

Unless the horse is called XFiles TANMAN remind me not to go to the track with you
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:03:29 AM

To those that think DREDD is good... it may very well be (I haven't seen it yet). But as I posted on another thread today, movies... theaters, etc. are changing. They come out so fast in DVD, and people have decent home systems... without the fear of being shot (I'll bet the Aurora shooting is still on people's mind... not to mention for a violent, shoot 'em up movie like DREDD)... as great as this may look in 3D (IMAX?)... MILLIONS of viewers these day just download all their stuff, and times are still tough. The 'flopping' of DREDD may have a lot less to do with the movie itself, than just strange circ*mstance.
Stapes writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:13:05 AM

@Ranger.
You're probably right on target with that observation, however the trailers failed to impress me, I'll wait for redbox.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 2:24:57 AM

@Stapes - same... this wasn't a 'must-see at the theater movie' for me either.
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:17:55 AM

Ranger

Mate i get free cinema tickets and i still don't see everything that comes out.

Like you say i will wait and watch most things on Blu ray in indoors.

Some films have to be seen on the big screen with the atmosphere that can create with a packed house, Like the new Bond film for instance, You know that movie is going to be off the hook in the cinema.
Rambo writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:38:04 AM

Taken 2 is at 17% at RT...looks like a bad sequel
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:46:57 AM

Empire gave Taken 2 the thumbs down last week Rambo as well

Not looking good.
_JB_ writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:56:06 AM

I do not understand why a film like dredd would bomb it's obviously going to be a kick ass action film. People have no idea at all.

Wonderful news I saw one of my lovers last night finally got my rimjob. Been over 2 weeks. Heavenly to be home again.
Rambo writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:58:42 AM

@trailer

yup,and that's without the Albanian critics giving their reviews yet...
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:11:00 AM

lol

But it's 8.7 on IMDB, I know that get a lot of industry voting on there but there is a little hope still (just)

Looper looks good looking forward to that this week.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:27:11 AM

@_JB_ - what's his name?
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:30:13 AM

^ Chase Evolution ??
Rambo writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:31:26 AM

Frodo Baggins
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:33:33 AM

A JB rim job ((Shudders))

Bet thats like cleaning the dried mud off your football boots with your tounge and having the stench from a pig farm mixed in there too.
_JB_ writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:36:16 AM

HE? Jesus Christ save me! I do not EVER have one on one sex with males, what u think that I'm a FAG??
A three way with a hot girl then ok but NEVER one on one.
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:47:38 AM

JB

It's still gay when you plough your man friend while he's f*cking the hot chick, you know
McQueen writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 4:58:53 AM

JB

Shemale dosen't count as women, you wanker!
Džeko writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:27:42 AM

Meanwhile,Looper(Bruce Willis,J.G.Levitt time travel thriller )is apparently pretty good http://blogs.indiewire.com/criticwire/early-looper-reviews-toronto# .
pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:38:16 AM

thx DZEKO
Looper will suffice while waiting for Skyfall
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 7:39:10 AM

Despite the big online ad campaign for Dredd on all the fanboy sites, the film still didn't have much of a chance because it did hardly any TV ads here in the US. I'd be surprised if the average filmgoer even knew it came out. Lack of press and lack of star power will kill a film every time. But I bet word of much will keep it going in the theaters long enough to break even. Wonder what its done internationally so far. Can't find that info on boxofficemojo for some reason.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 8:34:25 AM

The beginning of college football conference games (Sat) and only Week 3 in the NFL (Sun) probably took away half of the target Dredd audience (men 25-35yo) this weekend. That's why I didn't see it. Next Friday night I'm there baby!!!
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 8:53:25 AM

Dredd was pretty good... Karl urban did a great job. A lot better than I expected...
rocketman writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:11:08 AM

@Sac It's only opened in the UK before the US,it did quite well for an 18 coming number 1 beating that Lawless and Anna Karina.

Gotta say as a Dredd fan I'm f*cking gutted that it hasn't taken off over there,it is a brilliant little hard sci movie that they just don't make anymore really.
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:37:22 AM

Dredd bombed? No sh*t. Lousy marketing for one thing, a remembrance of Stallone's lousy film and the fact Dredd is less popular over here in the States than Tin Tin. Americans only saw the first Dredd film for Sly anyway.

But that's what you get when you try to shove off a film that slow-mos blowing people away and then calls it 'action', as if that's the same as what made Predator or Die Hard instant action classics.
Ranger writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 1:56:13 PM

If Batman fans became leery about getting shot in the theater, you can bet that DREDD fans considered it (considering the violence).

As an 'outsider' (not a huge DREDD fan as he came out long after I was out of comics)... I think Stallone's version hurt this latest film's chances. I do. Stallone's version sucked (can we be honest here?)! And I think people remember that horror more-so than wanting to give it another chance. Sure there are big fans of DREDD (rocketman) and others, but it's usually the fan that dredge up all the fan-based hype one sees on the Internet. The haters aren't really paid that much attention.

I think between the Aurora shootings, and the first DREDD is why this movie tanked. The world falling on tough times hasn't hurt The Avengers, but I do think some people these days pick their movie-spending ways a bit better.


PLASTIC MAN writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:24:59 PM

Minkowski you are a bag of sh*t. I swear to God. You didn't even see Dredd, and you feel like everybody wants to hear your c*cksocking mouth flap its lips.

Dredd rocked. If you saw it, you'd say the same thing you piece of sh*t.

Take a chance and quit labeling everything before you "judge" it.

Pun intended.

f*ck you.

pornfly writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:37:07 PM

Clint shouldv kicked Timberlakes ass,then it wouldv been #1

Im also more interested in seeing the second to last house at the end of the street
The mom wears a black wife beater and her daughter wears a white one
pedromonkey writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 3:39:05 PM

Dredd bombed because it was only being shown in 3D and a huge majority of movie goers are sick to death of 3D movies. If the film was also being shown in 2D it would have made much much more money.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:42:13 PM

Unless the horse is called XFiles TANMAN remind me not to go to the track with you

That's honestly a good bet, i don't think i've ever won at the Tracks, but if im going to the casino, Trust me when i say make every bet i make on roulette, I'm a lucky f*ck when it comes to roulette lol

And all you guy's are saying it didn't have any TV Time? I've seen the trailer hundreds of time's here in Canada and I saw the trailer almost every time i went to the theaters leading up to its release! So it got plenty air time here lol

and @Pornfly

My mom saw it last night and told me House at the end of the street is sh*t, you don't know my mom (or at least you better not! LOL) but she know's a sh*tty film when she sees one lol So its off my to see list
SACdaddy writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:27:43 PM

I'm no authority but I do watch a sh*tload of tv when I can, especially sports. If they weren't showing trailers during football or baseball games here in the US, they weren't showing them at all. Plus I think Ranger brought up a decent point. Its focus on gratuitous gun violence probably didn't appeal much to the advertiser post Aurora shootings.
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 12:02:23 AM

I saw it in 2d....

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved