WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tony Scott Was Worth Only $1 Million?

Posted: September 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tony Scott Was Worth Only $1 Million?Submit Comment
As we previously reported, none of the notes that Tony Scott (Top Gun) left for family and friends before committing suicide explain the reason for why he decided to take his own life. TMZ now got its hands on Scott's will, which also doesn't hint at much, besides that he still loved his family during his last day on earth.

According to the will, Scott left everything to the Tony Scott Family Trust, which was established in 2004. The beneficiaries of the trust are his wife Donna W. Scott and his 12-year-old twins Max and Frank.

What's interesting is that the value of Scott's entire estate is listed at only $1,250,000, which is a bit surprising considering the amount of blockbusters he's directed and how many films and TV shows he produced.

There's a few ways to look at this. The family fund may already have had some money in there. But at the same time, $1 million doesn't get you much in Los Angeles. Maybe a nice house and two cars. So why would the director keep dumping money into a fund while living a paycheck-to-paycheck life?

Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 7:05:23 AM

"But at the same time, $1 million doesn't get you much in Los Angeles. Maybe a nice house and two cars."

Wow, is that what they consider poor in Los Angeles? Owning a "nice house" with two cars? f*ck, I would be considered homeless there with a small house and one car.
boogiel writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 7:11:41 AM

It seems that he have financial problem. I'm only saying that because I would think with his successful career, he would have a lot more than just $1 million. Maybe he just couldn't face bankruptcy and the pressure just got to him. Anyway, RIP Tony.

Serpico1988 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 7:13:32 AM

im sorry alex but anybody around here give a flying f*** about this, seriously common the man's dead , he doesn't care, his family's probably still grieving , but i doubt that anybody whose outside the family , friends etc , let alone some movie preview website owner should care how much worth a guy was.

Sort it out dude.
alexgi writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 7:16:28 AM

@Serpico1988: If you don't care, that's fine. But others may be interested since this may have played a part in him taking his own life.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 7:31:22 AM

I think gravity played a much bigger part in him taking his own life. Everything else is just speculation and we'll likely never find out the motive. That, or by the time it's revealed, most people will have moved on and forget that it was ever a mystery to begin with.
Rambo writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 7:48:01 AM

ooooh...an Alex post...this is like a special holiday...
TonyWalnuts writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 8:31:08 AM

I'm sorry for him and his family but am I supposed to feel sorry for someone who "only" had a million?
McQueen writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:01:13 AM

@Rambo: LOL.

rocketman writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:18:54 AM

'Only' one million.I wish I had 'only' one million.

And he probably invested it in his production company,he and Sir Ridders make adverts in between films,that might be worth a few bob?
nuttie30xx writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:19:15 AM

I love my mother in may and the last thing i want is her money and belongings.
I hate money grabbing hanger ons it sucks been famous cause i'd hate for stuff to be plastered over the net about my mother just leave the be and let them deal with it
rocketman writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:19:18 AM

Or he blew it on hookers and coke?
Serpico1988 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:33:13 AM

@Alex

i meant in the sense , that its a very cheap way of getting more attention on your site . Since he's dead , he's history , what his will and what his family thinks is all irrelevant, and besides with all due respect, it's far more likely that your news bite is based on your own personal assumption.

trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:47:14 AM

Or he blew it on hookers and coke?

I bloody hope he did rocket ..
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 9:49:45 AM

But he was married right !??!!!??!

Then there is your answer to where his money has gone !
rocketman writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:04:53 AM

Yeah he was Wed the poor sod,probably why he went budget skydiving?
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:07:41 AM

What the jump now chute later budget scheme, you mean
Avirex writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 10:57:36 AM

"budget skydiving"

I'm going to start saying that to people I dislike or who irritate me.

"Why don't you just go budget skydiving motherf*cker?!"

Sam Jackson should have used that line in that sh*tty Star Wars flick before sending the emperor or whatever flying out the window. Might have actually been worth the price of admission that way.
rocketman writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:11:34 AM

Thats the one.
_JB_ writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 11:18:59 AM

Oh my f*cking god? Not this Michael Caine looking c*nt again!
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 12:40:46 PM

^^ I would have said you were more Anthony Anderson than Michael Caine
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 12:56:17 PM

'Budget Skydiving'... lol. Nice!

I think this figure is a good lesson as to what these Hollywood types pay out in expenses. Taxes is a concern, but not huge as they're all incorporated. But living the Hollywood lifestyle, image (although... the man took his last drive in a Prius), parties, agents, lawyers, publicists... ALL people that paid first, and the money-maker (Tony in this example) is paid LAST. So when someone thinks that Lohan still has $'s because she made $500K on a gig... they should give their head a shake. Only a super-power (albeit crazy) like Cruise has his $'s because of decades of acting, royalties, he self-produces, works regularly and gets paid TONS (snot spelled backwards... today's word teaser).

$1.25 mil. That's f*ck-all for the Hollywood lifestyle.

As for why was he still paying into that Scott fund? Hollywood is so twisted... maybe that was his own family's way of having his 'pay his share' (you there Ridley?) just for Tony to be considered for the work he received.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 1:30:51 PM

He gave it Ridley to finance Prometheus.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 1:48:50 PM

We should know... it reads and sounds like the 'Trust' he was paying into is separate from HIS 'net worth.' So the trust (a tax haven?) may have millions. This article doesn't dig that deep.
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 2:00:40 PM

The article is as shallow as any of the trolls posts here on WP
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 2:02:12 PM

Estates see the tax man get their claws into things right after funeral expenses. I think 'trusts' are tax exempt (does anyone here know US tax law?). So a low personal net worth upon death (he wouldn't get any insurance $'s for a suicide) is playing it smart.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 2:16:35 PM

I'd say the trolls were shallower.
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 2:45:15 PM

... I think you're right mate
OneTime writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 3:51:49 PM

Scientology robbed him.
alexgi writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 4:12:08 PM

@Ranger: You might be right that it was some sort of a tax haven, but don't you think his family would have noticed that Tony was dumping every single penny into the fund, leaving zero in bank accounts? Did they know he was going to kill himself?
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 4:47:09 PM

I doubt his family would know what Tony was doing with his money.

His wife would have the gold unlimited credit card which Tony cleared off once a month, He or his accoutants would sort the all the bills out.

I'm sure his family is well taken care of.
pornfly writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:10:12 PM

How many times do you hear about single famous men killing themselves?
Even the guys brother was loaded!
We need to focus our attention on his wife
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:13:31 PM

ok

http://fandaily.info/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Donna-Scott-Tony-Scott-wife-photo.jpg
Dark8 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:18:27 PM

how much is ranger worth ??
Rambo writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:19:40 PM

I think he just went to the doctor and got the word he has 6 months...didn't tell the family and jumped over the bridge.

Rambo writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:28:17 PM

dredd 3d 6.3 mil weekend box office...huge flop
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:30:54 PM

But a Good film though Rambo
Rambo writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:34:42 PM

i'll watch it maybe tomorrow...but i knew it would flop as soon as i read they wouldn't bring back rob schneider to reprise his legendary role from the original...
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:38:36 PM

haha Rob Schneider, Before he was Sandlers go to bitch.

And the fact there was no Diane Lane ass shot can't have helped matters.

Let us know what you think ....
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:52:58 PM

@tt - nice link.

As for (re: Schneider): 'Before he was Sandlers go to bitch.' --- lol, no sh*t.
Rambo writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:53:37 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glUf4PQ-vuU
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 5:55:24 PM

@alex - I think tt hit the nail on the head. As long as her credit card was paid and there was food in the pantry, I'm not surprised how little his family may have known about his finances. But it makes sense... having a large trust fund and little net worth for the tax man.

I've told people for years, it's not always how much you make... but what you do with it that counts.
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 6:06:30 PM

@Rambo - lol.
trailertrash writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 6:20:47 PM

Ranger - thanks bud (on all counts)

it's not always how much you make... but what you do with it that counts

Mate that is so true, look after the pennies and the pounds will look after themselves is what i have been told since i was a young lad.

And that is something that is serving me very well today.


Rambo- lol
Rambo writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 6:30:24 PM

It is my dream to find one day that special woman who has huge natural breast and a perfect tight round big ass and just f*ck the sh*t out of her and make her scream like hell.
pornfly writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 6:43:14 PM

It is my dream to watch that on video while i pork her chunky sister^
Dark8 writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 7:43:20 PM

ranger willingly ignores my post
bitch
Ranger writes:
on September 23rd, 2012 at 8:53:18 PM

Did someone fart?
trailertrash writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 5:24:27 AM

darks mom said the samething the day he was born
minkowski writes:
on September 24th, 2012 at 11:51:08 AM

"So why would the director keep dumping money into a fund while living a paycheck-to-paycheck life?"

Maybe because he thought money isn't everything? Strange idea I know!

Perhaps he just got bored with life, like actor George Sanders.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Sanders

"Dear World, I am leaving because I am bored. I feel I have lived long enough. I am leaving you with your worries in this sweet cesspool. Good luck. (with his signature under the writing)"

^^That's what George wrote.

Of course, you folks are arguing over the money and not he man or his thinking. Not surprising I guess, and yet the trolls and Alex are somehow superficial? Methinks not.

Tony may have spent his money. Had fun. Or gave it away. Who knows? Who the f*ck cares? You act like he killed someself because he was poor, and maybe he did. but then where'd his cash from his films go? And it's not like he was a cinematic failure for god's sake.

A lot more going on then f*cking money, I know that much, but whatever.

And props to Serpico1988, dude. Good to see some grit and guts on here, dude. Cheers bro!
jikae writes:
on September 25th, 2012 at 6:24:28 PM

In Los Angeles, the real estate (despite the bottoming out of the market) is still very expensive. You MIGHT get a condo and 2 cars with that money...30 minutes outside of Los Angeles. Nowhere near Hollywood/Sunset/Beverly Hills.
cyborgcop writes:
on October 5th, 2012 at 11:31:31 PM

According to CelebrityNetWorth.com he was worth 90 Million... and According to TheRichest.org he was worth 65 million.. either way.. he was worth a lot more than 1 million

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved