WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Oct 9th, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced
Oct 9th, 2015
Pixar's "Toy Story 4," "Cars 3" and "The Incredibles 2" Get New Release Dates
Oct 9th, 2015
First Look at Disney's New Princess "Moana"
Oct 9th, 2015
Steve McQueen's "Papillon" is Getting a Remake
Oct 9th, 2015
Four Directors Considered for "Fast and Furious 8"
Oct 7th, 2015
"The Flash" Movie Hires Director
Oct 7th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Triple Nine," with Casey Affleck and Woody Harrelson
Oct 7th, 2015
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: "The Avengers" Death Scene Altered for UK DVD/Blu-ray Release

Posted: September 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: "The Avengers" Death Scene Altered for UK DVD/Blu-ray ReleaseSubmit Comment
"The Avengers" is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on September 25th. It will be the same movie US fans got to see in theaters. But now comes word that the UK version will be slightly different.


The difference comes during one of the most important scenes in "The Avengers," which is when Agent Coulson gets a spear through his chest. In the US version, the blade visibly sticks out of the chest, but the UK version edited the scene to remove the blade. Check out screenshots below.

There are a lot of theories at to why the scene was edited. Some believe that UK censors are more strict, while others claim that the edit will give Marvel a chance to undo Coulson's death in future movies.

But in reality, the UK censors are fine with the violent scene (with the blade) and confirmed that it doesn't affect the film's rating. So it seems that the UK discs were accidentally produced from some watered-down version of "The Avengers."

US Version:

UK Version:

Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: BleedingCool

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Electro Rock writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:31:28 PM

I thought the Avengers were misled to believe in Coulsons death to motivate them to go all Eye of the Tiger on Loki. Wasn't that the point of staining those Captain America cards with his blood?
bandolero999 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:43:21 PM

Don't care
TheFirstRule writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:46:52 PM

another reason not to buy!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:56:52 PM

And I don't give 2 sh*ts!!
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 10:34:48 PM

I'll raise you one, and not give 3 sh*ts.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 10:48:07 PM

Damn the stakes are high now my friend. I'll up you one and throw in a hot nude pic of Mila Kunis I took of her when I was camped outside her bathroom window the other night.
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 11:14:18 PM

Can't wait for me preorder this is the greatest movie ever in my opinion but many of u will feel distaste for it because of some reason or just because u think it's cool when u really like it either or take your opinions I'm sticking to mine and none of your bad mouthing will change that
boogiel writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 11:48:20 PM

It's disney's movie. Go figure...
rocketman writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 1:06:49 AM

never noticed,I was more bothered about it not being in proper widescreen,the cheap f*cks.
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 2:06:40 AM

@IronDeadpool - u stick to your guns gurl!
JakeVermont writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 3:31:29 AM

I preordered the Steelbook months ago, got it last week, watched it yesterday again.

You guys cant deny that the movie is a lot of fun can you? Whether it's published by Disney or Toys'R US. Who gives a f*ck about that?
The movie was supposed to be funny and show some awesome action. And besides that the characters are great.

Am I the only one around here who actually loves Avengers? Or did you guys become really old?

Kurskij writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 4:31:02 AM

^ I once farted dust.

But naw, Avengers is a fun movie. Can't give 2 f*cks (bad, ranger - we've got a raise) about the collection though. Simple bluray is enough.
SergioFX writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 4:43:50 AM




Rambo writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 6:31:58 AM

lol...even avengers fanboys are getting tired of this sh*t
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 7:46:10 AM

I'm here with you jake look at my first post on this thread
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 7:57:22 AM

Sergio if u hate movies so bad u came to the wrong f*cking place this is a movie news website so take your trollin elsewhere
holtlt writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 2:56:57 PM

Coulson should have not been killed in the first place.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 5:23:39 PM

@IronDeadpool and JakeVermont -

Avengers was definitely one of the best superhero movies ever made. It achieved what it set out to do, that was to culminate the assembly of all these superheroes into a mega story for which we were c*ck teased over several individual character films. I for one was happy to finally come. And I am greatly looking forward to DVD Blu-ray release so I can release again and again. Seriously, great film - others are just having fun f*cking with it.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 6:38:31 PM

"but the UK version edited the scene to remove the blade"

The blade was probably digital, dude, so all they had to do was re-render out that scene without the layer containing the blade, as compared to doing all the work of removing a real prop.

"Coulson should have not been killed in the first place."

One of the 'good guys', or at least 'not bad guys', had to die, or else the film would have had ZERO tension.

Film story writing 101, dude.

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy

Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved