WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Trailer is Finally Here!
Jun 3rd, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Ted 2"
Jun 3rd, 2015
Clint Eastwood to Next Direct "Miracle on the Hudson," About Pilot Sully Sullenberger
Jun 3rd, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Ant-Man" TV Spot
Jun 3rd, 2015
Jason Statham Wants to be Next James Bond
Jun 2nd, 2015
Eddie Redmayne to Star in "Harry Potter" Spin-Off
Jun 2nd, 2015
"24" TV Series Returning Without Jack Bauer
Jun 2nd, 2015
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" Poster Teases President Snow's Downfall
Jun 2nd, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Big Trouble in Little China" Remake
Jun 2nd, 2015
"San Andreas" is a Big Hit at Box Office, "Aloha" is a Flop
Jun 1st, 2015
Colin Trevorrow Won't Return to Direct "Jurassic World" Sequel
Jun 1st, 2015
Marvel Narrows "Spider-Man" List to Six Actors, Decision May Come This Week
May 31st, 2015
Concept Art From George Miller's Failed "Justice League" Film
May 31st, 2015
"Transformers" Spin-Off to Focus on Bumblebee, Michael Bay May Direct "Transformers 5"
May 30th, 2015
Vin Diesel Unveils "Fast and Furious 8" Teaser Poster
May 30th, 2015
Disney Says "Tron 3" Officially Dead
May 30th, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Plot Details Revealed, Two More Films Planned
May 30th, 2015
First Look at Bebop and Rocksteady in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2"
May 29th, 2015
Better Look at Batman Chasing The Joker on "Suicide Squad" Set
May 29th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
May 29th, 2015
Ant-Man Dodges Bullets in New "Ant-Man" Poster
May 29th, 2015
Batman Chases The Joker in "Suicide Squad" Set Photo
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "Pawn Sacrifice," with Tobey Maguire as Chess Champion Bobby Fischer
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Bacon's "Cop Car" Thriller
May 28th, 2015
Tilda Swinton is The Ancient One in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
May 28th, 2015
Chris Pine is Talks to Co-Star in "Wonder Woman"
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "A Walk in the Woods," with Robert Redford and Nick Nolte
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "The End of the Tour," with Jesse Eisenberg and Jason Segel
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "Point Break" Remake is Here!
May 27th, 2015
"The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" is Being Rebooted
May 27th, 2015
Robert Rodriguez to Direct Live-Action "Jonny Quest" Movie
May 27th, 2015
New Trailer for Joe Dante's "Burying the Ex" Comedy Horror, with Anton Yelchin
May 27th, 2015
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: "The Avengers" Death Scene Altered for UK DVD/Blu-ray Release

Posted: September 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: "The Avengers" Death Scene Altered for UK DVD/Blu-ray ReleaseSubmit Comment
"The Avengers" is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on September 25th. It will be the same movie US fans got to see in theaters. But now comes word that the UK version will be slightly different.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The difference comes during one of the most important scenes in "The Avengers," which is when Agent Coulson gets a spear through his chest. In the US version, the blade visibly sticks out of the chest, but the UK version edited the scene to remove the blade. Check out screenshots below.

There are a lot of theories at to why the scene was edited. Some believe that UK censors are more strict, while others claim that the edit will give Marvel a chance to undo Coulson's death in future movies.

But in reality, the UK censors are fine with the violent scene (with the blade) and confirmed that it doesn't affect the film's rating. So it seems that the UK discs were accidentally produced from some watered-down version of "The Avengers."

US Version:


UK Version:


Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Electro Rock writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:31:28 PM

I thought the Avengers were misled to believe in Coulsons death to motivate them to go all Eye of the Tiger on Loki. Wasn't that the point of staining those Captain America cards with his blood?
bandolero999 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:43:21 PM

Don't care
TheFirstRule writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:46:52 PM

another reason not to buy!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:56:52 PM

And I don't give 2 sh*ts!!
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 10:34:48 PM

I'll raise you one, and not give 3 sh*ts.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 10:48:07 PM

Damn the stakes are high now my friend. I'll up you one and throw in a hot nude pic of Mila Kunis I took of her when I was camped outside her bathroom window the other night.
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 11:14:18 PM

Can't wait for me preorder this is the greatest movie ever in my opinion but many of u will feel distaste for it because of some reason or just because u think it's cool when u really like it either or take your opinions I'm sticking to mine and none of your bad mouthing will change that
boogiel writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 11:48:20 PM

It's disney's movie. Go figure...
rocketman writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 1:06:49 AM

never noticed,I was more bothered about it not being in proper widescreen,the cheap f*cks.
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 2:06:40 AM

@IronDeadpool - u stick to your guns gurl!
JakeVermont writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 3:31:29 AM

I preordered the Steelbook months ago, got it last week, watched it yesterday again.

You guys cant deny that the movie is a lot of fun can you? Whether it's published by Disney or Toys'R US. Who gives a f*ck about that?
The movie was supposed to be funny and show some awesome action. And besides that the characters are great.

Am I the only one around here who actually loves Avengers? Or did you guys become really old?

Kurskij writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 4:31:02 AM

^ I once farted dust.

But naw, Avengers is a fun movie. Can't give 2 f*cks (bad, ranger - we've got a raise) about the collection though. Simple bluray is enough.
SergioFX writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 4:43:50 AM

WHO GIVES A sh*t? REALLY!

WHO CARES ABOUT NEWS ABOUT MOVIES!!!

I HATE MOVIES! I HATE NEWS! I HATE NEWS ABOUT MOVIES!

PLEASE START POSTING SOMETHING OTHER THAN NEWS ABOUT MOVIES, BECAUSE WE ALL DON'T CARE!
Rambo writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 6:31:58 AM

lol...even avengers fanboys are getting tired of this sh*t
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 7:46:10 AM

I'm here with you jake look at my first post on this thread
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 7:57:22 AM

Sergio if u hate movies so bad u came to the wrong f*cking place this is a movie news website so take your trollin elsewhere
holtlt writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 2:56:57 PM

Coulson should have not been killed in the first place.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 5:23:39 PM

@IronDeadpool and JakeVermont -

Avengers was definitely one of the best superhero movies ever made. It achieved what it set out to do, that was to culminate the assembly of all these superheroes into a mega story for which we were c*ck teased over several individual character films. I for one was happy to finally come. And I am greatly looking forward to DVD Blu-ray release so I can release again and again. Seriously, great film - others are just having fun f*cking with it.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 6:38:31 PM

"but the UK version edited the scene to remove the blade"

The blade was probably digital, dude, so all they had to do was re-render out that scene without the layer containing the blade, as compared to doing all the work of removing a real prop.

"Coulson should have not been killed in the first place."

One of the 'good guys', or at least 'not bad guys', had to die, or else the film would have had ZERO tension.

Film story writing 101, dude.


New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?

Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved