WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Henry Cavill Says "Man of Steel" Sequel Will Happen
Jul 7th, 2015
Watch Two Action Scenes From "Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation"
Jul 7th, 2015
First Look at Pixar's "Sanjay's Super Team" Short Film
Jul 7th, 2015
Disney Making Live-Action "Prince Charming" Movie
Jul 7th, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" and "Magic Mike XXL" Flop in Theaters
Jul 6th, 2015
"Deadpool" on EW's Comic-Con Magazine Cover
Jul 6th, 2015
The Falcon in New "Ant-Man" TV Spot
Jul 6th, 2015
Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
Jul 5th, 2015
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: "The Avengers" Death Scene Altered for UK DVD/Blu-ray Release

Posted: September 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: "The Avengers" Death Scene Altered for UK DVD/Blu-ray ReleaseSubmit Comment
"The Avengers" is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on September 25th. It will be the same movie US fans got to see in theaters. But now comes word that the UK version will be slightly different.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The difference comes during one of the most important scenes in "The Avengers," which is when Agent Coulson gets a spear through his chest. In the US version, the blade visibly sticks out of the chest, but the UK version edited the scene to remove the blade. Check out screenshots below.

There are a lot of theories at to why the scene was edited. Some believe that UK censors are more strict, while others claim that the edit will give Marvel a chance to undo Coulson's death in future movies.

But in reality, the UK censors are fine with the violent scene (with the blade) and confirmed that it doesn't affect the film's rating. So it seems that the UK discs were accidentally produced from some watered-down version of "The Avengers."

US Version:


UK Version:


Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Electro Rock writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:31:28 PM

I thought the Avengers were misled to believe in Coulsons death to motivate them to go all Eye of the Tiger on Loki. Wasn't that the point of staining those Captain America cards with his blood?
bandolero999 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:43:21 PM

Don't care
TheFirstRule writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:46:52 PM

another reason not to buy!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:56:52 PM

And I don't give 2 sh*ts!!
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 10:34:48 PM

I'll raise you one, and not give 3 sh*ts.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 10:48:07 PM

Damn the stakes are high now my friend. I'll up you one and throw in a hot nude pic of Mila Kunis I took of her when I was camped outside her bathroom window the other night.
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 11:14:18 PM

Can't wait for me preorder this is the greatest movie ever in my opinion but many of u will feel distaste for it because of some reason or just because u think it's cool when u really like it either or take your opinions I'm sticking to mine and none of your bad mouthing will change that
boogiel writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 11:48:20 PM

It's disney's movie. Go figure...
rocketman writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 1:06:49 AM

never noticed,I was more bothered about it not being in proper widescreen,the cheap f*cks.
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 2:06:40 AM

@IronDeadpool - u stick to your guns gurl!
JakeVermont writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 3:31:29 AM

I preordered the Steelbook months ago, got it last week, watched it yesterday again.

You guys cant deny that the movie is a lot of fun can you? Whether it's published by Disney or Toys'R US. Who gives a f*ck about that?
The movie was supposed to be funny and show some awesome action. And besides that the characters are great.

Am I the only one around here who actually loves Avengers? Or did you guys become really old?

Kurskij writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 4:31:02 AM

^ I once farted dust.

But naw, Avengers is a fun movie. Can't give 2 f*cks (bad, ranger - we've got a raise) about the collection though. Simple bluray is enough.
SergioFX writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 4:43:50 AM

WHO GIVES A sh*t? REALLY!

WHO CARES ABOUT NEWS ABOUT MOVIES!!!

I HATE MOVIES! I HATE NEWS! I HATE NEWS ABOUT MOVIES!

PLEASE START POSTING SOMETHING OTHER THAN NEWS ABOUT MOVIES, BECAUSE WE ALL DON'T CARE!
Rambo writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 6:31:58 AM

lol...even avengers fanboys are getting tired of this sh*t
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 7:46:10 AM

I'm here with you jake look at my first post on this thread
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 7:57:22 AM

Sergio if u hate movies so bad u came to the wrong f*cking place this is a movie news website so take your trollin elsewhere
holtlt writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 2:56:57 PM

Coulson should have not been killed in the first place.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 5:23:39 PM

@IronDeadpool and JakeVermont -

Avengers was definitely one of the best superhero movies ever made. It achieved what it set out to do, that was to culminate the assembly of all these superheroes into a mega story for which we were c*ck teased over several individual character films. I for one was happy to finally come. And I am greatly looking forward to DVD Blu-ray release so I can release again and again. Seriously, great film - others are just having fun f*cking with it.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 6:38:31 PM

"but the UK version edited the scene to remove the blade"

The blade was probably digital, dude, so all they had to do was re-render out that scene without the layer containing the blade, as compared to doing all the work of removing a real prop.

"Coulson should have not been killed in the first place."

One of the 'good guys', or at least 'not bad guys', had to die, or else the film would have had ZERO tension.

Film story writing 101, dude.


Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved