WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet
Aug 1st, 2014
Thanos is NOT Part of "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Chris Pine and Meryl Streep
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2014
Frank Darabont Confirmed to Direct "Snow White and the Huntsman" Prequel
Aug 1st, 2014
Trailer for Kate Beckinsale's "Stonehearst Asylum" Thriller
Aug 1st, 2014
"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers
Aug 1st, 2014
New Trailer for Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Dark Comedy
Aug 1st, 2014
First Look at Josh Brolin as Thanos in "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Jul 31st, 2014
"Con Air" Director Wants to Set Sequel in Space
Jul 31st, 2014
New Photos From Disney's "Into the Woods" Musical, with Chris Pine as Prince Charming
Jul 31st, 2014
Jamie Foxx to Play Mike Tyson in Biopic
Jul 31st, 2014
Alex Kurtzman to Direct "The Mummy" Reboot
Jul 31st, 2014
Poster For Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Western
Jul 31st, 2014
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: "The Avengers" Death Scene Altered for UK DVD/Blu-ray Release

Posted: September 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: "The Avengers" Death Scene Altered for UK DVD/Blu-ray ReleaseSubmit Comment
"The Avengers" is set to hit stores on DVD and Blu-ray on September 25th. It will be the same movie US fans got to see in theaters. But now comes word that the UK version will be slightly different.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The difference comes during one of the most important scenes in "The Avengers," which is when Agent Coulson gets a spear through his chest. In the US version, the blade visibly sticks out of the chest, but the UK version edited the scene to remove the blade. Check out screenshots below.

There are a lot of theories at to why the scene was edited. Some believe that UK censors are more strict, while others claim that the edit will give Marvel a chance to undo Coulson's death in future movies.

But in reality, the UK censors are fine with the violent scene (with the blade) and confirmed that it doesn't affect the film's rating. So it seems that the UK discs were accidentally produced from some watered-down version of "The Avengers."

US Version:


UK Version:


Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Electro Rock writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:31:28 PM

I thought the Avengers were misled to believe in Coulsons death to motivate them to go all Eye of the Tiger on Loki. Wasn't that the point of staining those Captain America cards with his blood?
bandolero999 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:43:21 PM

Don't care
TheFirstRule writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:46:52 PM

another reason not to buy!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 9:56:52 PM

And I don't give 2 sh*ts!!
Ranger writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 10:34:48 PM

I'll raise you one, and not give 3 sh*ts.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 10:48:07 PM

Damn the stakes are high now my friend. I'll up you one and throw in a hot nude pic of Mila Kunis I took of her when I was camped outside her bathroom window the other night.
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 11:14:18 PM

Can't wait for me preorder this is the greatest movie ever in my opinion but many of u will feel distaste for it because of some reason or just because u think it's cool when u really like it either or take your opinions I'm sticking to mine and none of your bad mouthing will change that
boogiel writes:
on September 17th, 2012 at 11:48:20 PM

It's disney's movie. Go figure...
rocketman writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 1:06:49 AM

never noticed,I was more bothered about it not being in proper widescreen,the cheap f*cks.
Ranger writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 2:06:40 AM

@IronDeadpool - u stick to your guns gurl!
JakeVermont writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 3:31:29 AM

I preordered the Steelbook months ago, got it last week, watched it yesterday again.

You guys cant deny that the movie is a lot of fun can you? Whether it's published by Disney or Toys'R US. Who gives a f*ck about that?
The movie was supposed to be funny and show some awesome action. And besides that the characters are great.

Am I the only one around here who actually loves Avengers? Or did you guys become really old?

Kurskij writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 4:31:02 AM

^ I once farted dust.

But naw, Avengers is a fun movie. Can't give 2 f*cks (bad, ranger - we've got a raise) about the collection though. Simple bluray is enough.
SergioFX writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 4:43:50 AM

WHO GIVES A sh*t? REALLY!

WHO CARES ABOUT NEWS ABOUT MOVIES!!!

I HATE MOVIES! I HATE NEWS! I HATE NEWS ABOUT MOVIES!

PLEASE START POSTING SOMETHING OTHER THAN NEWS ABOUT MOVIES, BECAUSE WE ALL DON'T CARE!
Rambo writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 6:31:58 AM

lol...even avengers fanboys are getting tired of this sh*t
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 7:46:10 AM

I'm here with you jake look at my first post on this thread
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 7:57:22 AM

Sergio if u hate movies so bad u came to the wrong f*cking place this is a movie news website so take your trollin elsewhere
holtlt writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 2:56:57 PM

Coulson should have not been killed in the first place.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 5:23:39 PM

@IronDeadpool and JakeVermont -

Avengers was definitely one of the best superhero movies ever made. It achieved what it set out to do, that was to culminate the assembly of all these superheroes into a mega story for which we were c*ck teased over several individual character films. I for one was happy to finally come. And I am greatly looking forward to DVD Blu-ray release so I can release again and again. Seriously, great film - others are just having fun f*cking with it.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2012 at 6:38:31 PM

"but the UK version edited the scene to remove the blade"

The blade was probably digital, dude, so all they had to do was re-render out that scene without the layer containing the blade, as compared to doing all the work of removing a real prop.

"Coulson should have not been killed in the first place."

One of the 'good guys', or at least 'not bad guys', had to die, or else the film would have had ZERO tension.

Film story writing 101, dude.


Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved