WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Almost Directed "Jurassic Park," Wanted a Nastier Version

Posted: September 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Almost Directed "Jurassic Park," Wanted a Nastier VersionSubmit Comment
In a recent interview with The Huffington Post, James Cameron revealed that he came very close to bringing Michael Crichton's "Jurassic Park" to the big screen. He said that Steven Spielberg secured the rights to the book just a few hours before him.

But what would a Cameron-directed "Jurassic Park" look like? "I would have gone further," he explained. "Nastier, much nastier... Mine would have been 'Aliens' with dinosaurs."

Spielberg obviously went in a different direction and made a film that many consider to be a modern classic. "When I saw the film I realized that I was not the right person to make the film. He was," said Cameron. "Because he made a dinosaur movie for kids... Dinosaurs are for 8-year-olds. We can all enjoy it, too, but kids get dinosaurs and they should not have been excluded for that. His sensibility was right for that film."

"Jurassic Park" eventually spawned two sequels and a fourth film is currently in the works. Meanwhile, the original film will return to 3D theaters on April 5th, 2013.

Source: The Huffington Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 9:30:33 PM

"Mine would have been 'Aliens' with dinosaurs".

Instead, Cameron went on to direct 'Smurfs' with aliens.
Cannon writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 10:05:17 PM

At least he recognizes that Spielberg was the better choice.
Future writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 10:46:28 PM

I'm getting tired of hearing about this guy. Make Avatar 2 or Battle Angel already.
boogiel writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 10:58:56 PM

Geez, we've been getting a lot of these "James Cameron talks about something random" articles. Maybe the next one should be titled "James Cameron Just Won't Shut Up."


BadChadB33 writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 11:12:14 PM

RIP to the true James Cameron.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 11:13:14 PM

I hate Jurassic Park. Cameron's would've been sick!
f*ck Spielberg
Stapes writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 12:50:30 AM

yes, Cameron, "dinosaurs are for 8-year-olds," and blue monkey cat aliens are for retards.
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 12:57:58 AM

^^You f*ckin' tell'em Stapes!!
TheAmazingSausage writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 2:06:08 AM

I'd have liked to have seen Cameron's version it would have been crazy. He was still knocking out good action films back then. After terminator 2 it would have probably been his next film I think he could have made a beast of a movie. Still love what Spielberg did with it though
TheAmazingSausage writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 2:10:56 AM

He also nearly made spiderman but his ideas were deemed to violent for what they were going for (oops sorry WP I think I've just used up tomorrows sh*t Cameron article......lazy c*nts)
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 2:38:03 AM

lol.

I too would have liked to see Cameron make Jurassic Park.
Future writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 2:59:21 AM

Everyone complains about Steven Spielberg but what director has the biggest box office numbers? I'll give you a hint. It's not James Cameron.
Ranger writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 3:00:16 AM

Kevin Smith?
trailertrash writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 4:38:27 AM

Uwe Boll ??
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 4:41:31 AM

McG?
Morbius writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 5:37:14 AM

Well I dunno; I'd rather like a Jurassic Park with the intensity, and horror of Aliens.
telur writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 5:49:14 AM

i agree with cameron

lwt dino for kids and aliens for adults

don't make aliens version with dino
pornfly writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 5:55:59 AM

^^Channing Tatum?
SACdaddy writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 9:43:44 AM

Sounds like Cameron's version would have been much closer to the level of violence and terror in the book. He probably would have been better suited for it sequel. God knows he would have made it a lot better, that film sucked T-rex balls.

To all the haters, you act like Cameron is asking these questions in the interviews. He responds to the questions and Alex runs and puts them on the site to start the mud slinging. Still so strange to hear all this hate for easily one of the best directors of our time. He May be arrogant and eccentric, but who the f*ck isn't in Hwood?
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 12:29:59 PM

I'd watch an R rated Jurassic Park.
minkowski writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 2:19:10 PM

I don't understand. Aliens with dinosaurs?

Come on, Jimmy, that's just stupid.

Dinosaurs weren't all bloodthirsty beasts. Many of them were herbivores, or at the most, omnivores and hardly face-sucking, chest-bursting gore-slinging nightmares.

They were naturalistic, products of nature, of evolution, and your take might have been more appropriate for someone older than 8, someone raging with testosterone and cynicism, but then your take wouldn't have been terribly realistic or scientific either, so yeah, for kids, maybe, but that's because kids are smart enough, unlike you apparently, to know dinosaurs were animals just like all other animals, and not something hideously frightening from Stephen King's The Myst, which is where you wanted to go.

Grow up.
karliswilde writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 3:10:59 PM

Yeah, if that happened we'd still be awaiting its release.
billofill writes:
on September 14th, 2012 at 9:35:57 PM

aliens with Dinosaurs? Sooooooooooooooooooooooo Jurassic Park 3?
bane writes:
on September 15th, 2012 at 12:50:21 PM

his version would have been a CULT film

violent and loud

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved