WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Ruffalo Explains Why There Won't be Another "Hulk" Movie

Posted: September 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Ruffalo Explains Why There WonSubmit Comment
Eric Bana's 2003 "Hulk" movie grossed only $245 million globally on a $137 million budget. Clearly not a big hit, which is why Marvel decided to reboot the franchise. Edward Norton's 2008 "The Incredible Hulk" followed, but it didn't perform much better, grossing $263 million on a $150 million budget.

Marvel got the message that fans are just not that interested in a Hulk movie. But since the character was the big highlight of "The Avengers," the studio started analyzing whether the Hulk deserves another solo film. And even though there were talks of a new movie coming in 2015, we now know that those plans have been scrapped.

Now, during an interview with MTV, Mark Ruffalo revealed that a new movie is unlikely to happen because Marvel has already done everything wanted to do with the character. "I think they've done it. I think they feel that they've done that," said the actor. "I think they don't really know where to go [with the character]."

Question: Is it possible to make a successful "Hulk" movie? Or does the character only thrive as a member of "The Avengers"?

Source: MTV

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
codeman_1216 writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 6:18:11 AM

They're just not making the movies right. While the reboot was better than Hulk, both are just silly and off putting. It needs to be much more character driven, detailed to the teeth. In The Avengers I was really getting the sense of Banner's anger issues, the last two movies failed at this, in my opinion. The same goes for the Hulk, his anger issues increase just as banner's does, and the angrier Hulk gets, the bigger and stronger he gets.
rocketman writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 6:19:04 AM

Avengers was a Hulk movie.Should have been called Hulk n friends.
rocketman writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 6:21:09 AM

And calm down Avergurnites,I liked it.Best Marvel film so far.

Rambo writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 7:12:40 AM

they should just keep him for the avengers movies...
Venom1970 writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 7:16:08 AM

I actually enjoyed the Incredible Hulk, loved the Avengers too. I kinda think people go for who they know, like sheep followig an idea. Spider-man is well known as is Thor and Iron Man, Hulk he doesn't generally talk so unless your right into the character I guess the appeal isn't that huge to the masses. Personally I feel the Hulk goes better in a team, I mean f*ck who wouldn't want him in your corner ;)
rocketman writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 7:36:57 AM

Thing is if you have the Hulk you don't need a team. Said it all when mankind was threatened by some 300m long flying dragon beastie and Hulk just rocks up and punches it once...f*cking once?

Next film needs to neutralize the 'Hulk' threat,because as cool as he was he took all suspense away from the end for me.Looked nice though.
EarOne writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 8:08:35 AM

they're just not willing to take anymore costly risk. after two movies that's understandable. BUT, after the character's 'comeback' in the HUGELY successful Avengers, they SHOULD re-think this.
BoobsMcGee writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 8:16:37 AM

@ Rambo- agreed. Stop being greedy little Hollywood f*cks and let him continue to be the highlight of The Avengers.

No more, no less.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 8:32:29 AM

All I got to say is bring on Mr. Fixit and you have the best Hulk movie ever...
Fightclub1 writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 9:25:21 AM

I really enjoyed incredible hulk and hulk was the highlight of the avengers. They be dumb not to have another
boogiel writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 9:26:19 AM

"I think they don't really know where to go [with the character]."

For once, I'm 100% agree with Ruffalo.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 10:19:04 AM

The Hulk worked well in the Avengers because he had good people to fight. You can't just have loads of people with guns like Ang Lees abomination and you can't have another Hulk like character like the remake. You need loads of people for him to throw around and fight. Even then Ruffalo's right there's not much you can do with the character that hasn't already been done.
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 12:03:28 PM

Even if The Hulk was the star of The Avengers... that's where he belongs, in an ensemble piece. I've said since the first movie that he's not stand alone material. ALL Hulk movies did only so-so. He's too powerful to have much sympathy for. So the Jekyll and Hyde thing Stan Lee stole for the idea lost the tragedy take when Marvel created it.
vincere01 writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 12:51:03 PM

I think you could use hulk as minor crossover character in other marvel films and in avengers sequels. But the appeal just is not there to justify spending 150 million plus on a standalone. Plus the only actual interesting story that is marketable for the hulk is the origin story. And its been done. Twice. RECENTLY. So i think ruffalo is right. Let him be the character that you learn something new about in each film and keep him smashing things. Thats all he is good for.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 1:02:39 PM

Part of The Avengers sequel should deal with the fact that the Hulk is too powerful and uncontrollable. Planet Hulk series developed the "what to do with the Hulk threat?" The Illuminati members (Namor, Stark, Richards, Black Bolt, Strange and Prof X) decided to trick Hulk and banish him onto a peaceful planet. Hulk instead lands on another violent planet, is forced into obdience slavery, becomes the most awesome and respected alien gladiator, helps with planetary uprising, becomes King, gets to f*ck and plots his revenge upon Earth and the Illuminati - series picks up as World War Hulk. That entire storyline could keep Hulk busy for a couple of films (think Spartacus except with Hulk) and wrap up with an all out battle against the Avengers in subsequent film.
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 1:12:19 PM

@Mr. B - either you or someone has told of that story on here before (it came out years after my time in comics). Great story. I'd LOVE to see that. I just don't think Hollywood has the balls. Same as Superman... he's too tame (we'll see with the new movie). And there's a Supes story (trilogy?) around... Earth is dying and there's nothing he can do about it. Another great story. But Hollywood, despite the very nature of their business, can't seem to think outside of the box.

And for that... I hope Hollywood gets The HIV.
python6 writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 1:15:45 PM

Well from what i understand if a movie make more money than what it cost to make(even if its an dollar)it is a success.But if its an success to the audience that's a different story. I think if they go with the smart Hulk they may make a bigger bank roll
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 1:43:09 PM

@Ranger - I only recently read Planet Hulk and thought what a great story (yes, also after my time as a comic collector). Glad to know other likeminded want to keep Hulk alive and develop something never before seen with the character. Hulk is too powerful to keep on Earth and this effectively limits the range of his story.

Thinking further, the trailer at the end of the Avengers sequel could show Hulk crash lands onto a supposed peaceful planet and finds himself surrounded by a hostile alien force ready to capture him as a slave. He shouts out an angry NOOOO!!! that shakes the entire planet. That would be the ending right there.

This creates a great potential setup for future Hulk films. Who wouldn’t want to see Hulk battle otherworldly beings as fierce as he? His anger is tamed when he meets Caiera who eventually becomes his voice and mate. Then the story arc develops into a revenge plot and wraps around with Hulk's return to face the Avengers. We have already seen on film a great battle (albeit one sided) between Hulk and Thor. And a not-really battle with Black Widow running away from the Hulk. Now just imagine a balls-out Hulk versus the Earth and every Avenger who stands in his way. Could be epic.

Yes, I also agree with a vast retelling of the Superman as a trilogy LOTR style. Starts with the rise and fall of Krypton, Jor-El shown as the last uncorrupt scientist/politician, a civilization that is so technologically advanced yet blinded to face its own planetary destruction. Middle chapter an update on the Donner/Nolan story. Then final chapter Superman faced with his own immortality and powerless to stop Earth's destruction. That would be epic.
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 1:51:54 PM

It's the cost-profit ratio. They spend 80 million on VFX and CGI alone. Either find a way to cut those costs down dramatically, or look at doing some of the effects old school. And give people an enormously sympathetic character, who then provides humor as his alter ego, because it's the format of the films that's failing.

Face it, Ang Lee's Hulk was bad, no matter what character he portrayed, and that was an early stumbling block. Nortons was better, but still sour from what Ang Lee did and the fact that the cast was a no-win. Norton and Tyler just can't people in the seats.

Maybe do some cheap webisodes, or a short, or a Hulk cartoon to test your potential audience. Experiment. See what works. Lots of appeal in the character, and people like David Banner, so that's not the issue. Maybe make him younger. Do a Spiderman. Find a much younger character that's topically appropriate for younger audiences. College student, like Peter Parker, with really tough family issues. An abusive father, mother whatever, picked on in school, forlorn love life, and then one of his research projects goes awry and now he turns into this gigantic but often amusing green monster.

Short version: the container into which you're trying to shove the character is lousy and inappropriate. Don't give up. Yet.
Ranger writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 2:15:16 PM

@Mr. B. - Hollywood should be reading this thread.

Again... I can't imagine they growing a working pair to give The Hulk such a story where his almost unlimited strength could REALLY be put to the test.

Hollywood sucks almost as much as Lovag on the casting couch.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 3:21:07 PM

@Mink – I thought the latest Spiderman was not bad by delving further into the life and angst of a teenaged Parker. Reshaping Banner as a teenager I fear would incur the wraith of comicbook legions – myself included as it would be seen as riding on the coat tails of latest Spidey trend. I can understand bringing new life to the character by bringing youth and the trials of growing up into the mix. But call it sticking to the guts of canon, Banner needs to be an adult, forced into adult situations, allowed to play and experiment with adult toys like gamma radiation power sources etc. Seeing Parker assist Conners in the lab as he tried to piece together the history of his parents disappearance was an intriguing take – as many of us often wondered what did exactly happened to Parker’s parents. But I don’t think the same trick will work twice and on Banner whose parents fate, nor Banner’s relationship with his parents has ever really come into question. I enjoyed Norton’s version especially his time hiding out in Rio de Jenario trying to find a cure for the Hulk. All the while learning through mediation and slow breathing techniques to slow his metabolism rate down least he trigger surfacing the monster from within. I was more able to sympathize with Norton/Banner (than Bana/Banner) as this background story unfolded and found it effective that the Hulk only came onto the scene after push came to shove. In the Avengers Ruffalo/Banner is able to control the Monster to appear upon will. And his role, often comedic, was well balanced when played off of other well spoken Avengers characters - mostly Stark. But living with this uncontrollable nightmare must place Banner always on the edge as a social outcast. The Hulk obviously demonstrated some level of intelligence to form allegiance with the Avengers which implies Banner consciousness is partly there. I think for the story to mature, and for any audience to further gain sympathy for the Hulk we must witness the sheer power of his mindless destruction causing an irreversible situation say the death of a major City or an Avenger, or better yet the death of Betty. The results would devastate Banner/Hulk forcing the character into massive guilt and eventual exile. Enter Planet Hulk, then comes redemption, then revenge and so on. Bring the greatest most powerful character into an extreme situation with an extreme unforeseen outcome. That is where the story should gravitate towards. Yes it costs big money for the VFX and CGI. But Marvel has well demonstrated a working formula and no doubt can forecast another win. I have also recently watched Spartacus Blood and Sand, Spartacus Gods of the Arena and Game of Thrones Season 1. Hence thirsting for greater epic story development using the tragedy of the Hulk’s story.

@Ranger – good enough that you are reading it. Thanks friend. I am just reacting to Ruffalo and other’s whose comments say there may be nothing left to explore. The great story has been written. Just expressing appreciation and opportunity. Alas your comment about Hollywood’s lack of balls comes into play.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 4:22:04 PM

It's very, very, VERY f*ckING possible to make a successful hulk movie. It would just have to focus on Bruce Banner's identity crisis, anger management issues...

Basically, it would need to have a heart. Suppressing rage, depression, those are all things every person on the planet can identify with, and it's a theme that's completely f*cking underplayed in Hulk mythos because "HULK SMASH XDDDDD!!!!!1!!PUNY GOD!11"

But whatever, I guess a good hulk movie that explores the Bruce Banner character is too much to ask for, regardless of how f*cking easy it'd be.
feeheelee writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 4:30:20 PM

How long has the Hulk been around in the Comic Books? How long did the TV series run? I'm pretty sure there are enough avenues to explore... Stupid heads!
Rambo writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 6:39:36 PM

not every super hero movie has to be focus on some f*cking marvel character.take 'unbreakable' - very good and underrated movie...
OneTime writes:
on September 13th, 2012 at 7:24:29 PM

in ten years when hollywood remakes all these remakes

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved