WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese to Make Movie About Film Critic Roger Ebert

Posted: September 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese to Make Movie About Film Critic Roger EbertSubmit Comment
Roger Ebert has been reviewing films for 45 years. But after all that time critiquing filmmakers, some of those filmmakers will now attempt to make a documentary based on his life. Ebert has confirmed that Steve James (Hoop Dreams) and Oscar-winning screenwriter Steven Zaillian (Schindler's List) have optioned his 2011 memoir, "Life Itself." And Martin Scorsese is on board to executive produce.

"I believe Steve James' 'Hoop Dreams' is one of the greatest documentaries ever made, and my hopes for this are so high," said Ebert. "I never thought of my book as a documentary. I'm keeping hands off. Whatever they do I will be fascinated."

Ebert is easily the best-known film critic, but in In 2006, complications from thyroid cancer treatment resulted in the loss of his ability to eat, drink, or speak. But with the loss of his voice, Ebert has only become a more prolific and influential writer. In his book, he tells the full, dramatic story of his life and career.

Source: CriticWire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 6:53:06 AM

He obviously hasnt seen SuperHigh Me
pornfly writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 6:57:16 AM

Thats gotta be rough to go through what he has and still goes through
I cant even come close to imagining it
At least hes gotta brown suga momma to take care of him
polardeficit writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 7:23:04 AM

Kind of a misleading title. He's executive producing the film. That's like saying I made the Iphone because I own Apple stock...
wonderBOY writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 7:31:59 AM

Funny if he gives it a thumbs down
j-man writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 7:49:11 AM

Thats picture just screams 'heyyy you guys'
boogiel writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 7:58:12 AM

Let him reviewing his own damn movie.
MarshallErikson writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 7:58:18 AM

Well usually, it IS the executive producer who makes the film.
"An executive producer (EP), sometimes called executive in charge of production, is a producer who was not involved in any technical aspects of the film making or music process in the original definition, but who was still responsible for the overall production"

Laywered.
polardeficit writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 8:02:49 AM

Being a 1st AD who steadily works in the industry I can assure you the executive producer in no way makes a film. They fund and and have the ability to call shots, but never would they dare try and push any of their own creative interests. They are essentially investors, nothing more.
Rambo writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 8:12:17 AM

@wonder

LOL
MarshallErikson writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 8:13:15 AM

I disagree. I know Bruckheimer has his hands on every movie that he's produced, and with Scorsese being such a freaking genius I'm sure he's going to be a very hands on producer and not a sit back and let the money roll in kind of guy.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 9:00:58 AM

poor roger ebert.his condition is no laughing matter
Rambo writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 10:03:34 AM

^he can only blame himself...his life style was very unhealthy...
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 10:28:20 AM

@wonder - lol.

I always fingered that thumbs up and down was inside each of Siskel's and Ebert's bung-hole. It was gay talk towards one-another 'til the show ended... then the show really kicked into over-drive.

Now, God is punishing Ebert with (literally) a slack jaw while taking Siskel from him via a TUMAH!
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 11:04:53 AM

Wait until the guy dies, then you can maybe fabricate enough to make two or three people actually give a sh*t about the life of Roger Ebert.
_JB_ writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 12:08:10 PM

I do not care about this sh*t!
agentofcha0s writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 4:08:44 PM

Jb f*ck you you fat piece of sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 4:27:18 PM

Winning more friends on WP i see JB
minkowski writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 4:44:08 PM

This'll never get made.

I mean, other than Ebert, who the hell is going to even pretend to f*ck a big fat black woman?
minkowski writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 5:00:58 PM

"I do not care about this sh*t!"

Lack of self esteem? Check.
Dark8 writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 7:57:48 PM

roger you can piss off
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 10:07:48 PM

JB u are the new plastic man on this site but I don't know why ur soooooo hated,lord knows why we all hated plastic man.....
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2012 at 1:26:17 AM

@agentofcha0s --- LOL.
Stapes writes:
on September 10th, 2012 at 1:57:51 AM

I still believe Vincent Gallo actually cursed Ebert following his negative review of Gallo's weepy porn flick Brown Bunny. Whatever, as mink already stated, noone is going to give a rat's about a doc*mentary on Ebert except for Ebert. Those who can't do, teach, those who wish they could do, critique. Ebert lost all credibility in my book the minute that he gave Carnisaur a thumbs up, then started his whole idiotic argument over how video games can't be art.
Stapes writes:
on September 10th, 2012 at 2:06:46 AM

Fortunately he coined the whole "thumbs up, thumbs down," concept... otherwise it would be impossible for him to express whether or not he likes a movie being that he's always smiling now.
agentofcha0s writes:
on September 10th, 2012 at 2:16:08 AM

@ranger - seriously bro. Hes a f*ckin retard. Id like to see him in that condition. First he thought avatar was good and now this.
Ranger writes:
on September 10th, 2012 at 3:28:47 AM

lol... now I wonder if he posted that just to agree with me.

Avatar... visual... yes. Story, hell no.
I'd just like Cameron to sh*t or get off the pot. I know making that $525.mil in ONE year buys the guy some time to think, but he should get back into some kind of saddle soon.

As for _JB_, ummm... yeah. He sucks up air plants work hard all night to make. It's sad.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved