WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Viggo Mortensen to Play Doctor Strange in "Thor" Sequel?

Posted: September 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Viggo Mortensen to Play Doctor Strange in "Thor" Sequel?Submit Comment
Marvel has been talking about making a "Doctor Strange" movie for a while. In fact a script by Thomas Dean Donnelly and Joshua Oppenheimer was completed about a year ago. At the time, there were rumors that Adrien Brody or Patrick Dempsey may play the character, but now we have a bit more news.

The Playlist claims that Doctor Strange could play a big role in the upcoming "Thor" sequel that may lead to a solo movie. ScreenRant also says that "Thor: The Dark World" will introduce Doctor Strange, adding that the role will go to either Joel Edgerton or Viggo Mortensen.

At this point, this is just a rumor, but a very plausible one, and one that was reported by two different sources.

Source: The Playlist, ScreenRant


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 8:11:25 AM

That Will be great
pornfly writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 8:35:32 AM

A lil too on the nose but i thought RANGER was Dr.Stranger
MarshallErikson writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 9:04:36 AM

I never even HEARD of Dr. Stranger! So did Dr. Strange almost die and then...what didn't kill him simply made him......aw forget it.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 9:17:53 AM

Viggo is a perfect choice!!!
DeVries writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 9:22:29 AM

f*ck yes !
Kurskij writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 9:24:17 AM

Viggo might be a tad too expensive for Marvel. Unlike Edgerton.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 9:54:04 AM

YAY!!! I dunno I just woke up, I'm gonna take my morning sh*t.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 10:14:25 AM

I'm no Fan of Viggo at all but he should've been Red Skull. I'm not happy about him being Strange, I'd rather it go Edgerton.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 10:35:43 AM

Dr. Strange 2: Even Stranger
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 10:37:31 AM

Starring Joel Edgerton as Dr. Strange, and Conan O'Brien as Dr. Stranger
KillerCOck writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 10:49:48 AM

I'd watch that!
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 11:03:59 AM

It's 'Dr. Strange' WP.

f*ck... get your weekend help 'Rosetta Stone for English' for Christ's sake!
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 11:20:28 AM

Here you go _JB_

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Psp9cj9LsQs
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 11:24:33 AM

Viggo as Dr. Strange is pretty good call in the acting department. The goal now is to set up a good plot to flex his acting muscles & take the audience on the journey of how he became the "Sorcerer Supreme".

Big tall order to fill, but if they pulled off AVENGERS, they can do this...
Mr. Blonde writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 11:24:40 AM

@Porn (and Ranger) - that's what parents warn their little kids to be aware of "Ranger Stranger Danger".

@Kurskij - ever since Edgerton's great underdog performance in Warrior it would be refreshing to see him take on the role of the Master of the Mystic Arts which is both cerebral and physical. Don't get me wrong, I would love to see Viggo be casted here as his is an inspired choice. However knowing the way Marvel likes to stretch its dollar the choice seems obvious. Speaking of Evan's welfare cheque, I can't believe Marvel only paid him $300K for Captain America The First Avenger. This is a f*cking kick in the nuts against other Hollywood scales. RDJ made $50mil for Avengers while Evans and Hemmsworth only made around $2-3 mil (at least their salaries are moving in the right direction). Got to hand it to RDJ, who made smart calculated business decisions to negotiate his contract for starring and appear as Iron Man in future instalments. His talent of charm, sarcasm and badassness comes so naturally on screen - arguably worth every penny. Marvel's Contract negotiators are probably still scratching their heads on that one. This will be totally offset by the Christmas bonuses still coming in. As Marvel are still busy counting the box office takes and anticipating the magnitude of the upcoming DVD Blueray releases.

It would be interesting to see how much of Strange's world they explore as his medium tends to showcase otherworldly landscapes that can be quite acid-head-trippy. “Thor: The Dark World” outline has already revealed Loki forming an alliance with Malekith to secure the Casket of Ancient Winters (powerful artifact from the Frost Giants realm). Along with Malekith the Accursed who leads the Dark Elves into battle. Introducing Dr. Strange into the mix reminds me of Avengers #118. However instead of Malekith, that particular story featured Strange’s nemesis the flame-headed Dormammu who uses the power of the Evil Eye in seeking to merge Earth with the Dark Dimension filled with hordes of demons and Loki also served as co-conspirator. It might be too much introducing a third super-villain like Dormammu who operates in a different dimensional realm. So I would imagine Thor requiring Strange’s help to battle forces that threaten Asgard and Earth.

Probably a bit too much comic book geekiness for this post, but I just finished reading an Avengers comic taking my morning sh*t and got to thinking.
Ranger writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 11:30:29 AM

Uz guys iz dumm. Ihtz Dr. StrangeR, cnt u reed?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 11:45:56 AM

@ deaftone- Dr Strange 2- Strange Harder.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 1:33:08 PM

I'd love to see Viggo in it, but somehow I can't see it happening. Guy is too selective with his roles.
minkowski writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 1:57:41 PM

"At this point, this is just a rumor, but a very plausible one" "

Very plausible? How so? Because two sites reported the same rumor? As if one person cannot tell a lie to be repeated by the masses?

I always imagined you were smarter than what I'm seeing here, Alex.

"and one that was reported by two different sources."

Of course. From two lies a truth is made.
ChainsawX writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 2:35:15 PM

Stranger Danger?
sleepingshane writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 3:15:32 PM

Thats great news i always pictured sean penn as a cool dr strange but viggos of similar acting prowess should be pucker movie.
Stapes writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 4:02:00 PM

Seriously? Doctor "Stranger?" Apparently the lack of an edit option extends to more than just comment posters.
blumpkin4 writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 4:40:39 PM

Sometimes when im alone I like to give myself a stranger and pretend its somebody else jerking me off. It usually makes me feel pretty good!!!
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 12:53:25 AM

I still see daniel day lewis as Dr. Strange
pornfly writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 1:36:10 AM

-"Dr.Strange,why are you doing this?"
-"I CAN'T HUUMP"
Electro Rock writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 1:48:42 AM

Every time I see him I always think of his psycho hillbilly role in Texas Chainsaw 3 or Carlito lol.
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 2:24:11 AM

Dr. Stranger was in Texas Chainsaw 3?
Electro Rock writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 2:36:41 AM

Yes sir. He's one of Leatherfaces kin.
EarOne writes:
on September 9th, 2012 at 9:09:28 AM

Viggo's an inspired choice. but, if you wanna go with a younger Strange, Edgerton's your man. not sure if a Dr. Strange solo flick would sell to the wider audience though. i think Black panther would be a better bet.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved