WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Thanos Creator Says Idris Elba or Arnold Schwarzenegger May Play Villain

Posted: September 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Thanos Creator Says Idris Elba or Arnold Schwarzenegger May Play VillainSubmit Comment
Comic Book Therapy caught up with comic book writer Jim Starlin, who created the villainous Thanos, to ask him for his opinion on the character appearance in "The Avengers." Starlin ended up revealing a few interesting bits of information.

"This past week the head of the Marvel studios said that Thanos was going to be the centerpiece of the ['Guardians of the Galaxy'] movie and going into 'Avengers 2,'" he explained. "I had thought about Idris Elba [voicing Thanos]. There were rumors going around that Arnold Schwarzenegger was going to be tapped for it."

It was recently revealed that Damion Poitier appeared as Thanos in "The Avengers." But it's unlikely that the actor will return to play the character in upcoming movies.

Source: ComicBookTherapy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 7:20:41 AM

who?what?
MarshallErikson writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 7:21:29 AM

Um really, wasn't Idris Elba already in Thor? Lets stop reusing characters please. Otherwise Chris Evans is going to end up playing every member of the Avengers.
pornfly writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 7:37:07 AM

Ahnold lending his voice to anything will be too laughable to be taken seriously

Imagine if Unicron was Ahnold
-"ah have summoned you fo uh puhpuss"
-"nobody summons Megatron"
-"den allOW me too bee da fuhst"
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 7:41:46 AM

Why can't damion Poitier whoever that is just come back to play thanos he looked like a good thanos only reason I got is maybe his voice isn't the part because it can't b a money issue because he isn't big name so I wonder
IronDeadpool writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 7:44:18 AM

Plus we saw villain and Arnold don't mix we all try not to remember u need to chill out by a certain ice villian
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 7:58:36 AM

Idris Elba please
pornfly writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 8:05:56 AM

Hitler saying,"idris elba please" makes a nice t-shirt
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 8:19:25 AM

is mister tibbs his dad
boogiel writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 8:19:40 AM

No to Mr Freeze. I prefer Michael Ironside or Clancy Brown.
Zeroguy writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 8:20:12 AM

Part of me wants a Nick Notle or Tom Waits kind of voice for him.
pornfly writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 8:24:55 AM

Get Ahnolds' Lyle Alzado lookin maid to do it
Cannon writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 8:46:29 AM


"It's going tu-be a fantaastic moovy! Eddie Muh-fee is going to play my twin brodda. It's going tu-be fantaastic."
Electro Rock writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 9:08:11 AM

I always thought that a downtuned Bernard Erhard/Cy-Kill from Gobots cartoon would be a cool voice for Thanos.

I love Arnold and would love to see him voice anything, but I think that would be a bad move on Marvels part.
defiant1 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 9:19:12 AM

I caught Avengers for the third time the other night. And seeing the Thanos scene at the end, I could only think of Ron Perlman playing him. Might have something to do with the chin, but still.
Fightclub1 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 9:57:17 AM

ARNOLD
Digital Desperado writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 10:03:04 AM

Who the f*ck is Damion Poitier?
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 10:46:31 AM

Idris Elba's already been in two separate marvel movies, Thor and Ghost rider 2. They'll probably want him for black panther as well
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 11:11:39 AM

Idris Elba marvel's token black guy.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 11:38:00 AM

Dear Marvel,

Whatever you do and no matter how tempting it may be, please DO NOT cast Zachary Quinto as Namor in the eventual inevitable Sub-Mariner film. I, nor anyone else needs to be subjected to such a maelstrom of gayness.

Sincerely,

The Universe
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 12:35:29 PM

The only villain Arnie can play now is stealing another person's jello in the old folks home. Arnie could still bust the moves with a walker.
Bunny X writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 12:45:07 PM

Ray Winstone. He's got that European gravely voice that would work for Thanos
blumpkin4 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 12:57:53 PM

nothin like a litte twilight news to bring out the WP perverts!!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 12:59:44 PM

I think it's safe to say that any new on WP brings out the perverts. And how come you haven't been to any of our meetings lately?
blumpkin4 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 1:03:37 PM

oh just been a busy summer my man!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 1:06:41 PM

Kewl. OK... see you in the fall. We have new cookies at the meetings.
blumpkin4 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 1:16:09 PM

so somebody help me out herr, who the heck are the guardians of the galaxy? how do they fit in with marvel/avengers???
minkowski writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 1:21:42 PM

The character of Thanos would obviously be mostly, if not all, CGI, which is why Starlin says "I had thought about Idris Elba [voicing Thanos]."

Voicing. You don't do voice acting work for a live action character. And then he says he had thought, which means he thought about it for a second, and the moved on to another thought.

Furthermore, Starlin never says Schwarzenegger is being considered, or ever was even thought about being considered, only that Starlin is repeating what some internet imbeciles have parroted.

Finally, I understand my post, this post, has all the interesting appeal of wet cement, as most of us are here now only to vainly vie ceaselessly for attention, like preening male birds waiting to take a dump, but I thought someone had to inject some fact-checking into another banal thread, and who better than me to it?
Syman404 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 3:11:36 PM

the title should read "should", not may. a longer article is on CBM and it has a lengthier version of his comments. he's just throwing out his personal choices.
happileperkon writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 4:12:38 PM

how about Ron Perlman? hes got the chin already and everything
Bunny X writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 6:12:10 PM

Sadly he passed but Michael Clark Duncan would have been cool. But I would still love Thanos to have that deep dark Brit accent
MarshallErikson writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 8:29:44 PM

I agree with Bunny X, Winstone would be top notch
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 11:09:33 PM

Yeah, DC tried casting Ah-nuld as a DC character with disasterous results...right, BATMAN & ROBIN?!
Future writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 11:44:45 PM

I'd say Alan Rickman, Patrick Stewart, or Laurence Fishburne.
Venom1970 writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 4:31:12 AM

I know he has been used to death but James Earl Jones has always been my fav voice! With a bit of attitude would work well.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on September 8th, 2012 at 11:41:59 AM

That guy was already in f*cking thor. they need someone with a deeper more menacing voice.
Mudders writes:
on September 10th, 2012 at 1:42:50 AM

michael gambon or patrick stewart??

just edit the voices for more depth
Mudders writes:
on September 10th, 2012 at 1:43:14 AM

ian mcshane
Venom1970 writes:
on September 10th, 2012 at 7:20:06 AM

Needs to be deep and sinister, even with a metallic feel to it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved