WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Wonder Woman, Act of Valor, The Good Shepherd to Become TV Series

Posted: September 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Wonder Woman, Act of Valor, The Good Shepherd to Become TV SeriesSubmit Comment
NY Mag has learned that CW is moving forward with a "Wonder Woman" TV series. Allan Heinberg, who wrote "Wonder Woman" comics and CW's "Gilmore Girls," has signed on to write the script for the show that has a working title of "Amazon."

The series has yet to be greenlit, but the current plan is to re-tell the origin story and focus "on Wonder Woman as a young, budding superhero, rather than a fully formed defender of liberty." No word how this will affect the proposed "Wonder Woman" movie or the character's role in "Justice League of America" movie.

Meanwhile, Relativity Media has announced that it will develop a TV series based on the "Act of Valor" film, which starred actual US Navy SEALs. "We're excited to be reuniting with Relativity again in order to develop this series and tell stories about real acts of valor in a unique and engaging way," said Bandito Brothers, a company owned by the directors of "Act of Valor."

And finally, Robert De Niro is planning to turn his "The Good Shepherd" film, starring Matt Damon and Angelina Jolie, into a TV series. The original idea was to make a sequel, but the actor/director has instead decided to continue the story as a Showtime series. Eric Roth, who wrote the original film, is back to produce and write. De Niro will direct the pilot.

Source: NY Mag, Relativity Media, Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 9:03:44 PM

Act of Valor can star anyone that's been missed by Lohan's driving!
pornfly writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 9:33:34 PM

as long as Acts of Valor keeps it authentic and its not on cable,i'll watch
Cable has enough of these shows

Will they show WW gettin her wonderboobs?

the Her First Period episode can air on Holloween
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 9:41:54 PM

Or Amanda Bynes driving.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 9:42:55 PM

Hey my Cherry has been popped!!!! my first post for this has been deleted hahaha! Awesome!
pornfly writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 9:47:54 PM

WW needs to be written by a man
I dont need to see a 14 year old version of The View or some Diablo Codi wanna bes' version of Gladiator
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 10:16:14 PM

It would be interesting to see the Wonder Woman character be introduced by taking their time to form & shape the character with the last season setting up the movie.

Beats the hell out of waiting 2/3s of a movie to become the heroine. This way WW would just get into the action right from the beginning.

As for the other TV shows....meh.
boogiel writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 10:49:22 PM

Haven't they learn something from WW failure at NBC? Oh wait, It's CW. I guess that's explained that they are a bunch of idiots!
struck21 writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 11:03:08 PM

Act of Valor was stupid "Join the Army and save the world" movie. Luckily I can change the channel and let some network waste their money on a stupid idea for a show.
Ranger writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 11:16:11 PM

@Cell - my friend, I usually agree with your posts... but not on this one. I'd want to see a WW brought up along slowly like I'd want to sit through another 10 f*cking years of that Smallville formula! Jesus... every 2 of 3, or 3 of 4 stories of Smallville was such off-message, filler sh*t, I wished I could have sued them for the 42 mins each useless episode like that sucked out of my life.

I don't know who is running DC's Hollywood Division... but I'd sure like to kick 'em in the crotch so hard, their dead grandmother would winch in their grave.

Most dis-organized, waffling, gonna-do, not-gonna happen company of mis-fits I've ever seen since the previous management at Marvel sent their comic publishing division into bankruptcy.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 11:36:22 PM

Amen!
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 11:55:07 PM

Hello,Smallville???Can wait!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 11:56:53 PM

Thx. Killer.
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 11:58:43 PM

Wft Mink, where u at?@Ranger,preach brother!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 12:15:25 AM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 12:22:23 AM

1 episode of Smallville. Clark discovered he could 'Super-Sneeze'

f*ck-off Smallville!
Avirex writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 12:58:03 AM

These shows are going to suck more d*ck than Eddie Murphy picking up a transvestite along the street corner.
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 2:03:19 AM

Ranger, you make a good point...

The point I was going for is, like the example you give with Superman, how many times do we all have to go through the origins or flashback of it?!! Donner's Part 1 already covered everything we needed to know. Even Singer's RETURNS and now again MAN OF STEEL will bring back to modernize/ rewrite the origins again?!! Retreading what everyone knows!!

Why not start building on the abundant mythology and choose an arc that will be satisfying to the fans/ audience? The movies still hasn't gotten past Lex Luthor. Part 2 (Donner's deal) was going in the right direction. It's just chasing it's own tale...there has to be a push to elevate the stakes and put Supes in a position where he is now the small fish in a HUGE pond.

Same deal with WW, I'd hate for the TV show to milk it like they always do, but her origins isn't as much interesting as Supes. Her's would need to be character driven and action oriented like a variation of a naive Xena, if you will.

Having said this, WW's own TV show has had a hard time setting up, WW mythology hasn't had a consensus on the costume or her origins, like the comics. Plus, this will be a true test if the audience do want her on screen. If successful, it'd be one hell of a trailer setup for the movie (on my suggestion).

There is so much pressure on this, but at the same time, so many other female characters shows have had relative TV longevity such as Xena, Dark Angle, Covert Affairs, Alias, or Femme Nikita. So it can be done and has already had the road paved for her by others....

As for the..

"Most dis-organized, waffling, gonna-do, not-gonna happen company of mis-fits I've ever seen since the previous management at Marvel sent their comic publishing division into bankruptcy."

I'm not even gonna touch that comment. Those movie division suits couldn't find their glow-in-the-dark d*ck with 2 hands and a map!!

In summary, f*ck retold origins! DC has work cut out for them with WW idea/ potential there, but yeah, they'll f*ck it up.
Electro Rock writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 2:23:17 AM

Again with Wonder Woman, I pray to Hera that they keep the original theme song. That sh*t is one funky ass jam.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 3:37:40 AM

Smallville was pretty sick, i stopped watching mid season 8, but it was still a wicked show, eventually ill watch the last 2 seasons.

nonetheless, a good show.

wonderwomen will be stupid, and act of valor COULD work, if they do it right..

and tbh, i fell asleep in the theater while watch the good Sheppard, not what i had thought at all
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 3:40:36 AM

@cell - now that post I agree with. I just don't think there's enough interest in WW. But to do something with it and DC actually get the JLA (ha!) movie going right behind it... maybe.

And someone on here (a while ago) already made a good point on here. JLA... (until we see Man of Steel)... the darkness of Bats vs. the lightness of Supes (as portrayed in recent movies) is such a huge clash... along with their distinctly different styling of their respective movies... I can't see how they could be combined into the JLA at present. And to quote Frank Burns: 'Individuality is fine. As long as we all do it together.' - lol.

@Electro... lol.
minkowski writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 2:44:21 PM

"Wft Mink, where u at?"

Where should I be? Here, on this thread, discussing Smallville, a television show I have never watched, not that I would ever even consider viewing the equivalent of Dawson's Creek with capes and queers.

Or perhaps I should discuss the merit of a Wonder Woman show, which we all know would stink more of the tamponic Sex in the City than anything remotely approaching a true superhero television program, worse then Smallville even.

Or, even moreso, perhaps I could comment on Act of Valor, another apparently lamentably atrocious program I've never had the misfortune of witnessing, and one seemingly only revitalized because someone somwhere understands a dollar stolen is a dollar earned.

Or The Good Shepherd, a sh*tty, boring film that should have never been greenlit, much less serialized, and now, because even De Niro understands, perhaps belatedly at the urging of 'superior' minds, a sequel would be instant theatrical fail, and thus he hopes to slough the unrequested serialization off on Showtime because he's otherwise far too damned stupid to comprehend good shows dwell there not because of some voodoo network magic that transforms turds into tiaras, but because of the innate quality of the programming therein.

Other than that, I'm not here, and rightly so. When there are comments worthy of my presence, or a troll worthy of my repartee, I'll shall remain rightly aloof, as the creeping ennui of this backwater dump demands.
minkowski writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 2:46:47 PM

"And someone on here (a while ago) already made a good point on here. JLA... (until we see Man of Steel)... the darkness of Bats vs. the lightness of Supes (as portrayed in recent movies) is such a huge clash... along with their distinctly different styling of their respective movies... I can't see how they could be combined into the JLA at present."

It should be more than obvious at this point Nolan's/Snyder's Superman won't eopitomize the bright, sunny disposition of the character's stated and expected boy scout persona, but something darker, and thus, in stating otherwise, you're positing a non sequitur strawman.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 3:45:17 PM

i think mink is angry, or happy, i really can't tell anymore
minkowski writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 6:09:49 PM

^^There's no word for it, really. Appry? Hangry?

Nah. "Minky" will do, though, for lack of a superior alternative.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved