WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

2012 Summer is the Worst in 20 Years

Posted: September 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
2012 Summer is the Worst in 20 YearsSubmit Comment
Studio executives expected the summer of 2012 to be the biggest in history, but the result was the complete opposite with ticket sales ending up being the lowest in twenty years.

"On paper, the summer of 2012 looked like a clear record-breaker," said an analyst. "I think a lot of us were expecting we could beat last summer just based on the titles, the sheer number of blockbuster titles that were in the mix. But the audience is what makes and breaks the summer, and they didn't come out in the numbers we expected for a lot of these films."

"The Avengers" was the highlight of 2012. But outside of "The Avengers" and a few others (Ted, Magic Mike) most high-profile films underperformed, including "The Amazing Spider-Man," which grossed less than all three Sam Raimi films, and "The Dark Knight Rises," which cracked the $1 billion mark but earned $100 million less domestically than "The Dark Knight."

And then there are all the flops that were supposed to be hits, including "Battleship," "Total Recall," "Rock of Ages," "The Bourne Legacy," "The Watch," "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter," "That's My Boy," and "Dark Shadows." Even "The Expendables 2" grossed only $171 million, which is over $100 million less than the first film earned.

Source: HuffingtonPost


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sev writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 6:55:58 AM

Prometheus was the biggest dissapointment. Cannot believe how terrible that film was :(
Wallace writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 6:57:40 AM

This is acutally true, even though only domestically. Ticket-selling wise, the last summer even worse than this one was in 1992 with Batman Returns, Leathel Weapon and Sister Act as top grossers...wow.
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:25:48 AM

"the flops that were supposed to be hits, including Battleship, Total Recall, Rock of Ages, The Bourne Legacy, The Watch, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, That's My Boy, and Dark Shadows."

no everyone knew they weren't going to be hits. The only surprise to me is the expendables 2.
Taco writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:29:10 AM

The people have spoken with their wallets. Take a hint hollywierd.
_JB_ writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:40:49 AM

I am ready to be the hero worstpreviews, hollywood and Michael Clarke Duncan need right now.
Damon242 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:41:40 AM

Why are they so surprised? You can't expect potential-audiences to attend as much as they did in the past given the current global economic situation, inflation of general ticket-purchase prices, and the majority of mainstream film sessions being 3D.

It's simply too expensive to go to the cinemas as often nowadays.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:57:14 AM

Well every movie was disappointing. It was kind of shocking, really.

Including The Dark Knight Rises, that movie makes no f*cking sense once you scratch the surface.
Telico writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:59:41 AM

Damon is right it is too costly to go to the movies regularly, also i think people don't want to waste there money and most of these films weren't new or interesting ideas..... Stop remaking films which don't need to be remade, and stop using the same stories and rehashing them as something new (and ignore dumb ideas - President Vampire Slayer??? wtf)
Rambo writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 8:00:46 AM

it was a summer of pointless reboots/remakes

bournce legacy without matt damon

total recall without arnold

The Amazing spiderman without originality

promethous without plot
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 8:13:44 AM

I'm not surprised. Most seemed like sh*t from the get go. It did seem like it was gonna be huge but like music this year, everything this year has been sh*t.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 8:15:02 AM

Fanboys wanted expendables sequel and it was better than the first,plus Simon west on directing and no one bothered to see it.

Battleship lacked starpower,and never have I seen Neeson so wasted and take the easiest paycheck.

Haven't seen Abraham Lincoln yet nor that's my boy.
_JB_ writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 8:50:54 AM

Spookycupcakes get f*cked you wormhole, dkr was incredible
Fightclub1 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 10:27:49 AM

The dark knight rises wasn't a flop. It earned more than tdk worldwide so I don't get your logic
j-man writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 11:14:53 AM

@bando

Watching abe lincon vamp hunter is like watching sh*te harden
OneTime writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 11:26:53 AM

this is because people are getting a lot smarter and wont digest the bullsh*t hollywood feeds us.
EarOne writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 11:38:22 AM

i think today's audience are just that much smarter. they know sh*t when they see one.

Bourne Legacy's got potential..but that climax..it's just sooo not climactic enough. i'm surprised when i hear the end cue music. i was like, 'that's it..?? the end was this new bourne being helped by rachel weisz t'kill this asian hit man..??'
and there's just no effect to the REAL bad guys..AT ALL. that's the biggest difference between this new flick and the first three movies.

Battleship's pretty okay..way better than those transformers junks, but its timing just sucks big time..goin up against The Avengers.

even The Dark Knight Rises's a big letdown..and the audience knows it. hence, the lesser reviews and overall positive reactions from the audience (especially the general, non-fan audience). they all know Nolan dropped the ball this time around.

Total Recall remake is unnecessary..but, i don't mind seeing both kate beckinsale and jessica biel on the big screen doing their thang while looking hot. i sleep REALLY well that night..hehehe...

let's just move on and look forward to next year, with Man of Steel, Iron Man 3, Pacific Rim and Star Trek 2..i don't mind sequels and remakes..AS LONG AS they DO EM RIGHT.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 11:58:15 AM

I was surprised that even Total Recall was better than TDKR. TDKR was just sucha horrible movie.
I'd say the worst is Battleship but I havn't seen Magic Mike which gets a vote from me cuz it stars Tatum
Wallace writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 12:04:55 PM

"i think today's audience are just that much smarter. they know sh*t when they see one."

Explain the Transformers sequels to me.
_JB_ writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 12:28:10 PM

You dOnt even have an avatar earone! Your opinion will NOT be heard
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 12:42:42 PM

Yup the movies were sh*t this year. Prometheus and DKR didn't make any sense at all and was very disappointing. The Amazing spiderman was really... Twilight bad and ordering your web fluid online from Oscorp?!? Really? Were they that lazy in writing that sh*tty story? I could go on, but don't have an hour to kill...
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 12:56:16 PM

The Avengers and The Expendables 2 were the only fun and enjoyable movies this Summer. TDKR was okay on the first viewing but totally falls apart on a 2nd viewing and Bane is basically some obnoxious rascal that talks way too much sh*t.
_JB_ writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 1:31:49 PM

Why are there do many plebs. Where are the regs you need to give at least 9 hours a day to worstpreviews.
Kurskij writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 1:52:24 PM

Let's just say I watch a lot of movies.

That being sad I only saw The Avengers, TDKR, Amazing Spider-man (had to - nothing else was available), Expendables and Bourne in theatres out of those mentioned.

Battleship I knew from day one is a blu-ray watch. That's my Boy and Dark Shadows - no thanks, because f*ck Sandler and Depp and Burton should get a room.

Total Recall - might watch it in theatres, so far heard good things about it. Abe Lincoln - someday might buy a blu-ray with discount.

Magic Mike - I have a dvd, waiting to watch it with a lady, because f*ck it otherwise - I need a payoff for the suffering.

Rock of Ages - seriously?

Ted - DVD when I hold a party.

10 years ago if a movie had a budget of $120+ mil. - it was an event movie, hence worth a theatre watch. Nowadays every sh*tfest is priced at $150+ and I have a blu-ray and sound system which, frankly, offers better experience than most theatres. Only Imax is still worth it.

Kurskij writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 1:55:00 PM

And Prometheus - yeah, the most beautiful piece of what the f*ck I've ever had pleasure of watching in theatre. So you got my $15, Ridley.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 2:17:19 PM

Thats my boy and the watch were supposed to be a hits? Really? Maybe 100M But i wouldn't have expected much more..

JB You will never be the hero of anything, Ever. That's a world i don't want to live in!

And KurskiJ Here, look at my movie math note i did last night on facebook, Here's what i wrote:

"Time for some movie nerd Calculations:

I've been collecting Movie stubs since as far back as 2004, I Got really bored so today i organized them. They are as Follows: 44 For 2011, 19 for 2010, 59 for 2009, 47 for 2008, 7 for 2007, 3 for 2006, 4 for 2005 And lastly 10 for 2004. for those Keeping track, that's a total of: 193 Movies between The begining of 2004 and the end of 2011.

Not bad? Now let's go further..

Since 2011 I've kept track of every movie I've seen in theaters that year. So 2011 i Actually saw 63 Movies in Theaters. Meaning i hadn't kept 19 Ticket Stubs that year. So think About 2009, Where i had 59 Stubs. Is it not possible that i forgot to add just as mush stubs? Bringing my total for 2009 to a bigger number like 75? (A Record btw) So yea, I Think (since 2004) I've seen not 193 movies in theaters. But more toward 300, or pehaps even more!

My count for this year (2012) is: 39 Movies, of which i have 30 of the stubs. Just some Interesting movie math! I'd personally say I'm up there for one of the people who have seen some of the most movies in theaters in the last 10 years. Your thoughts?"

Kurskij writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 2:32:42 PM

I'd personally say I'm up there for one of the people who have seen some of the most movies in theaters in the last 10 years. Your thoughts?"

Perhaps.

One can only wonder if it was worth a time, though.

As I've said, for me personally watching a movie in theatre means it should be worth it - otherwise I prefer the comfort of my home without loosing anything entertainment-wise.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 2:44:40 PM

True enough lol

I'm just a big fan of film, weather it's amazing or otherwise, If a movie is bad, I'll learn from what it did wrong and if i ever get into making films someday ill know what not to do, thats gotta be a plus right? lmao

Beside's I Get really bored sometimes, so i just go watch whatever's in the theaters :P
pornfly writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 3:06:41 PM

Ive posted this before ,1987 was the best
rocketman writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 3:08:24 PM

I'v been saving my self for Dredd,repeat viewing will be had.I will probably contract diabetes off all the ice cream alone.
Kurskij writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 3:34:10 PM

@tan

Well, there are lots of guys here who know their movies - just look at tt, bullit, Mr.Blonde, Sac, celluloid, mustard, cinema; ranger and pornfly when they're off stalking and weed respectfully, mink is a well-read guy all around to say the least. Bando knows Asian cinema.

WP is a good place to discuss movies when we're not to busy spanking some sorry trolls ass.

I also watch a lot more bad movies than I want to - but like I said at least I rarely waste my time and money on going out and watching them at cinema. At home I can have my malt, tea and some ass if I'm lucky - to cover the damage.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 4:37:23 PM

The only people who thought Amazing Spider Man would be a hit were the retards at Sony who were desperate to hold on to their beloved franchise.

Abraham Lincoln was never going to attract the average movie goer it's more of a cult nerd flick and the rest of the so called "blockbusters" were nothing but CGI filled pieces of sh*t. No stars to attract people, no decent marketing. You can't be lazy and expect to get a return.
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 6:07:48 PM

It had to happen eventually. A statisical fluke, or just a synergistic concatenation of crap?

Did they think they could just pump out, blindly, a bilge of bullsh*t and no one would notice?

Do you blame the fat buy for only picking at the trimmings when put before a buffet of turd stew and manure souffle?

Wah.

The market has spoken, Hollywood, now will you listen?
Dark8 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 6:28:24 PM

Studio executives expected the summer of 2012 to be the biggest in history, but the result was the complete opposite with ticket sales ending up being the lowest in twenty years.

uhmm well idiots what do you expect? i mean when was the last time you went to a cinema and saw the ticket prices
Danger-Lips writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 6:52:52 PM

Guess who's back sistas!!!!
Dark8 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 6:56:11 PM

welcome back kind sir
Danger-Lips writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:06:24 PM

I will have to agree with Mink on this one! Look at the movies that came out this summer, how much money can you expect to make by basing movies off of board games, presidential monster hunters, and rushed remakes?
OneTime writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:07:25 PM

pedobear said it best.
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:08:01 PM

Right. Dangerlips never used a hyphen in his name. So I guess Dark is back at it, making bullsh*t accounts, because the JB one is busted like his father's only nut.

One has to wonder if Alex is Dark, because the motherf*cker just won't die, and from what I can tell, Alex actually encourages the parasite, I guess thinking it'll help his diminishing website traffic.
Danger-Lips writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:13:28 PM

Jeez Mink lighten up!
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:16:39 PM

"Well, there are lots of guys here who know their movies - just look at tt, bullit, Mr.Blonde, Sac, celluloid, mustard, cinema; ranger and pornfly when they're off stalking and weed respectfully, mink is a well-read guy all around to say the least. Bando knows Asian cinema."

Yeah, but the difference is, with all due respect, unlike most people on here, I actually concentrate on how movies are made, and what constitutes them, versus trading this actor in this movie or this movie with that one like a kid's game of comic card trading.

No offense, but filmmaking is, imo, more to me than most, more like the way PTA sees filmmaking, a self-taught art form, and not an excuse to brag about what I've seen and who or what I like, which is just self-referential egoism imo, so please, it's enormously insulting to place me down on the bottom, right before "I Hate Everything but Martial Arts Films" Bando, alomost as an afterthought, just beause I don't sit on here all day talking about what actor did what in what film, because to me, that's about as lowbrow as arguing over a baseball player's hitting average when I, you, the person in question, can't even play tee-ball worth sh*t.

And yes, I've actually studied filmmaking, to a point, although I'm sure a professional like mustardmayonnaise could teach me plenty, if he were so inclined, which judging by his lcaonic reticence, he keeps what he knows very well guarded, much to my infuriating chagrin.
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:20:40 PM

"Let's just say I watch a lot of movies."

I can assure you sir, I've seen even more, and I can also assure you, like popular fiction, there's a clear point where you notice not only a pattern of annoying repetition, but a subsequent consistent drumbeat of monotony, pretty much like the comments here, and I think that's what's clear with respect to the movies this year: lots of repeat bullsh*t.
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:21:29 PM

Oh. And I had a dream they made a Lethal Weapon 5. Seriously. No lie.

I woke up screaming.
Dark8 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:29:39 PM

mink your the biggest joke i can think of right now
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:34:35 PM

^^Congratulations, Dark. You finally had a thought.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:38:04 PM

"I think a lot of us were expecting we could beat last summer just based on the titles"

And theres your f*cking problem right there.

minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:47:51 PM

^^I think he means to say that the titles, alone, should have guaranteed a superb year for films, not that they thought there wasn't other, better reasons for thinking 2012 would meet or beat expectations.

Kind of ambiguous the way he said it.
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 7:59:08 PM

My theme song, describing you folks running off when I arrive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JbSGMRZsN4Q
Kurskij writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 9:08:04 PM

"Yeah, but the difference is, with all due respect, unlike most people on here, I actually concentrate on how movies are made, and what constitutes them, versus trading this actor in this movie or this movie"

We had a couple of conversations about technical aspects, but "well read all around" seems enough considering context.

"not an excuse to brag about what I've seen and who or what I like, which is just self-referential egoism"

Mostly agree, though bragging and holding a conversation, which may include both preferences and discussions on technical aspects, are two different things. That's how I prefer it anyway.

"it's enormously insulting to place me down on the bottom, right before "I Hate Everything but Martial Arts Films" Bando, alomost as an afterthought"

Come on, seriously? I don't have a ranking system, but, if you will, I went with you as an "afterthought" because structurally it seemed that since you don't really belong in the preceding bunch, you should me mentioned last, more to stress the fact than as an afterthought.
Still can't f*cking believe it insulted you. But, oh well.

"like popular fiction, there's a clear point where you notice not only a pattern of annoying repetition, but a subsequent consistent drumbeat of monoton"

Tell me about it.

Ps I once had a dream they made Lethal Weapon 4. Then woke up to the horrible reality.
Man in Black writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 11:04:35 PM

Well stop making utter sh*t for films and why make a rom-com in 3D ? Garbage in garbage out .
pornfly writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 2:58:21 AM

^damn,this is what i get for cooking
I missed all the action
and i had a hanckerin for some trolltrashin today too
FBO writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 6:15:41 PM

Hollywood is trying to turn the art of telling a story into a science so that they can replicate blockbuster success movie after movie. The result is the crappiest summer in twenty years. Suck it Hollywood this is what you get for interfering with talented directors and their visions.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 6th, 2012 at 6:27:15 PM

Yeah, but the difference is, with all due respect, unlike most people on here, I actually concentrate on how movies are made, and what constitutes them, versus trading this actor in this movie"

True enough.

But this: "It's not an excuse to brag about what I've seen and who or what I like"

is false, I Was not Bragging, i was simply trying to keep the convo Going. Such as discuss the movies and numbers.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on September 7th, 2012 at 7:32:18 AM

Typical Hollywood bullsh*t. The measure of quality for a film only depends on how it performs at the box office.
Rocksteddy writes:
on September 15th, 2012 at 2:15:29 PM

TDKR was actually worse than Rock of Ages IMO

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved