WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Kills "Fantastic Four" Actors in "Punished" Comic Book
Nov 28th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for Vince Vaughn's "Unfinished Business" Comedy
Nov 28th, 2014
"Independence Day 2" Officially Moving Forward, Without Will Smith
Nov 28th, 2014
Ridley Scott Explains Why He Hired White Actors for "Exodus: Gods and Kings"
Nov 28th, 2014
First Look: Mel Brooks is Dracula's Father in "Hotel Transylvania 2"
Nov 28th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Thomas Anderson Says "The Master" is Based on Scientology, Tom Cruise Has Seen It

Posted: September 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Thomas Anderson Says "The Master" is Based on Scientology, Tom Cruise Has Seen ItSubmit Comment
Director Paul Thomas Anderson (There Will Be Blood, Punch Drunk Love) admitted that the charismatic cult leader that Philip Seymour Hoffman plays in "the Master" is based on Scientology founder L Ron Hubbard.

"I really don't know a lot about Scientology," he said. "But I do know a lot about the beginning of the movement and it inspired me to use it as a backdrop for these characters."

The helmer went on to explain that the film has nothing to do with his relationship with Tom Cruise, who starred in Anderson's "Magnolia." In fact, Cruise has seen "The Master" and their friendship is still intact. "We are still friends. I showed him the film, and the rest is between us," he explained.

"The Master" is set to hit theaters on September 14th. Watch the trailer for the film here.

Source: AP


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 6:46:33 AM

"We are still friends. I showed him the film, and the rest is between us,"

*NEWS JUST IN*
Talented Director Paul Thomas Anderson has committed suicide off of a bridge in California... it is said by friends that he had a brain tumor.

I really hope all this crazy Scientology news on Tom Cruise is bullsh*t. I also hope he's just got his name to this sick cult for the money and not because he actually believes any of it. It's such a shame to see someone with such talent and charisma go mental.
McQueen writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 7:27:30 AM

@Cinema: Tom Cruise firmly believes in that crap.

I remember h him when he was promoting War of The Worlds with Spielberg and Cruise ceased that moment to promote his bloody sect and you should have seen the embarrassment Spielberg's face. Really pathetic.

As far as I'm concerned, all those Scientologists should jump off of a bridge all together. f*cking sect!
McQueen writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 7:28:06 AM

*on Spielberg's face.
Rambo writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 7:45:26 AM

hmmm...I've got a sudden urge to go to the closest bridge...
pornfly writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 8:15:44 AM

Cruise doesnt wanna say anything because he knows itll just draw more attention

Hes a nut but hes not stupid

And even if Cruise rapes a monkey, nobody will give a sh*t once Jack Reacher comes out.

Ive said it before,hes Teflon Tom
boogiel writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 8:16:31 AM

I think I'm gonna watch this movie for the sake of pissing off those scientology nutjobs.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 8:45:36 AM

McQueen- Oh no, that is bad news. They're either paying him enough for him not to care about his dignity or he's actually gone insane.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 9:09:52 AM

Tom has always been pretty good at brushing off criticism and negativity. But as a fan of nearly all his work, I'm starting to get pretty worried about him. All my old favs are starting to go a little crazy now and just don't want to see another great source of entertainment go down that Mel Gibson road.
boogiel writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 9:20:34 AM

@bullitt

They brainswashed Cruise and they brainwashed him real good.
Zeroguy writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 9:21:34 AM

If the cult of Scientology gets to PTA and makes the guy go insane and kill himself, I'll be so pissed.
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 9:51:10 AM

Tom has had millions of $'s lavished on him since his early 20's. It's not a life many can relate to. His face is more recognized around the world than The President of the United States. If the guy has $600 - $800mil around (post-tax) in assets and investments... and they shut down Rockefeller ice rink for his dates. I don't think there's much we should assume is 'normal' about him. I like the guy on the screen. But I have no doubt he's bat-sh*t crazy (by 'normal' standards) off. Travolta would take his kids up flying in his ultralight under the moonlight just for the experiences. Great dad/kid moment... but c'mon John... on a school night? Tom (and John) bask in the spotlight. It's more important to them than marriages (Tom x3), John - the steam shower king. Whilst loved-ones in their selfish wake get destroyed.

'I showed him the film, and the rest is between us,' --- as he sharted-out Tom spooch.

Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 9:56:46 AM

And we can go all day about Scientology being a cult. So is the Catholic Church. The Vatican (with all it's wealth) was built on child molestation and guilt money for those paying the plate to get them into Heaven. A few members... it's a cult. Millions... and it's a religion. Blow me. Religion - the one thing designed by man to keep him the furthest from God. Amway has nothing on organized religions pyramid scheme.

Don't drink the Kool-Aid folks!

Lemmings!
McQueen writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 10:29:20 AM

@Ranger: the Vatican has its part of responsibility since they approve and support the radical branch catholicism and it's called Opus Dei. It's a fincanial organization more than anything else. I was approcahed once by them and basically they wanted me to pay some "fees" forever and in return I would get some professional help in my career etc. I told nicely that I wasn't interested since my faith in God does not consist in paying one single penny to anyone.


@Boogiel: they sure did mate, not one brain cell was spared.
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 10:34:30 AM

@Bullit - I'm not surprised. And I couldn't like you more than I already do. Good call.

So you pay them... and they 'help' you? I'm curious as to how they think people would think that's part of God's plan of helping a fellow brother... for profit.

Organized religion... all of it... can eat sh*t.

Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 10:38:20 AM

The 10 Commandments are the best.

Pride, Envy and Greed drive people to success (I prefer it not be attained at the expense of others however).

And the thought of a loving, yet 'vengeful' God? What schizoid came up with that sh*t?!

Sam Kinison referred to a sign he saw in front of a church: 'The place where everyone is someone... BUT JESUS IS LORD!'

Umm... ok.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 12:16:54 PM

Don't get me started on the greatest fictional characters fall time. Hey 2000 years later and christ hasn't shown back up, can't be much longer right?
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 12:21:09 PM

I'm a believer in the spacecraft carved in pyramid tunnels more-so. At least that's right in front of your face.

'Chariots (means of transportation) of Fire (rocket engines)' - anyone?
McQueen writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 12:53:32 PM

@Bad: Trust me my friend, the biggest fictional characters are the ones imagined by L. Ron Hubbard and the best examples are the ones who really fall for it.

I wouldn't believe in Jesus-Christ if He wasn't for real, believe you me. I can describe you some of my very real and dramatic experiences in life and I can assure you that you will not have any logical answer from what I lived.

polardeficit writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 1:53:36 PM

1. This is old news.
2. It's disturbing how this became a platform for people to explain why their "god" is real and they can prove. Wake the f*ck up morons, there is no god.
Kurskij writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 2:16:45 PM

I can describe you some of my very real and dramatic experiences in life and I can assure you that you will not have any logical answer from what I lived.

Go on. But beware of trolling that's all too real.
trailertrash writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 2:19:49 PM

polardeficit

I believe God spelt backwards descibes you best !!
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 3:10:56 PM

I grew up with dogs... thank God.

@Bullit - there's 'a Force'... I have no doubt. And there's an after-life (won't explain how I know). But man's corruption of the definition of 'God'... can blow me.
McQueen writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 3:19:26 PM

"But man's corruption of the definition of 'God'... can blow me."

I certainly second that since it is inherent in human history and therefore they can blow me too.

BadChadB33 writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 3:37:02 PM

Me three. The looking for a bearded man on a far away mountain has led this world to all kinds of stupidities. God is within, too many people are asking god for things when the need to look within themselves fir answers.
trailertrash writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 4:03:06 PM

I bet god is within alright, Hanging out in Mila Kunis knickers, Which is why the world is going to hell in a hand cart !!

...... But you can't blame him for that, I would too.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 4:04:12 PM

Yer scientology is bad we all get it. In my opinon Christianity is just as bad and crazy it was made up by a smart nut wanting money and power. The bible was written so long ago people just accept it fact. Religion may have some good side effects with people trying to be more moral and kinder to others however the evil generated by them is unfathomably larger.
I wish all religion would be abolished if only the majority of weak minded plebs had the balls to face mortality and not cling onto arachaic eternal nonsense.
minkowski writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 5:08:20 PM

"In my opinon Christianity is just as bad and crazy it was made up by a smart nut wanting money and power"

You're obviously a f*cking imbecile who has never read one f*cking iota of the Bible, and I say that as a total atheist.

Christ in fact wanted neither money nor power, and if you read the Gospels, you'd know that, but instead you're obviously reading (worshiping) utter sadistic and nihilistic garbage like Bret Easton Ellis' American Psycho.

Dipsh*t *sshole.

"The bible was written so long ago people just accept it fact."

So because it was written "so long ago" this leads people to believe it's fact? Do you even have a clue as what you're saying? Who do you know, and dig really deep here, thinks, believes the Bible is a sh*tload of facts? No one.

Even these 'creationists' people keep mentioning don't believe the world was made in six days nor do they believe it's only six millennia old, and for the record, there IS a good deal of archaeological fact within the Bible, it's just that, the farther you go back, the more myth than fact it becomes.

"Religion may have some good side effects with people trying to be more moral and kinder to others however the evil generated by them is unfathomably larger."

Such as? You seem to think religion is the root of evil, and it isn't and if you removed religion people would STILL be evil, they'd just use some secular excuse, but hey, keep repeating the bullsh*t you read on the internet kid, instead of thinking.

"I wish all religion would be abolished"

Because freedom to believe what you want is evil, right? And controlling people's minds, like they do in China, is obviously the best way to handle the issue, right, like banning guns because they can be used for crimes, or rocks because you can bash in people's heads, or drugs and alcohol because they lead to accidental death and car wrecks. Or fireworks for Christ's sake.

In fact, let's just install some global robot overlord and it can make us all into happy little safe slaves for our own good, right?

"if only the majority of weak minded plebs had the balls to face mortality"

Yawn. You contemplate non-existence, actually dwell on it late at night in total darkness and silence, meditate on it and its implications, and tell me you don't feel a tingling, an involuntary twitching to reach for religion. But you haven't so you're just talking from your stinky *sshole. Either that or youre soulless, which is my suspicion.

"and not cling onto arachaic eternal nonsense."

And because you don't you're obviously the superior person, because you didn't arrive at this conclusion via philosophical introspection, but because you adopted some pre-manufactured set of thoughts and beliefs, and yet here you are trying to tell other people not to drink the kool-aid when you haven't done any of the mental work either.
minkowski writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 6:26:51 PM

"Wake the f*ck up morons, there is no god."

There isn't, and there isn'a heaven either, and if any of these people had done even a smidgen of thought, they'd see how ludicrous and laughable their primitive religious and spiritual notions are.

Heaven? What the f*ck are you going to do with infinite time? You're human. You get bored with a mountain of entertainment within d*ck's reach, and for some of you, that's as close as science can reliably measure.

God? Where's god? Where is there anything within the universe that demands the supernatural? Man itself is fast approaching godhood, with the power to make life and create reality. Where's this mytical sky man? Show him to me. Show me something more than parochial hopes encapsulated within wishful thinking. Show me evidence, because I can invent bullsh*t and believe in it all day, bullsh*t that's mutual exclusive to YOUR bullsh*t.

And if you get a god, a heaven, why not dolphins? Gorillas? Dogs? Aliens?

Oh but yes of course, you have a feeling, no doubt, a feeling you think gives you the permission to pass off some nutty belief as external reality.

Well, I have feelings too. My religion is that I'm the world's wealthiest, most handsome and intelligent porn star, but ya' know what? Feeling and belief don't make it true, and when the lights go out for the last time, for you anyway, you won't have the brains, because the worms and maggots will be eating them, to know your beliefs are total absolute nutter bullsh*t.

I guess ignorance IS bliss. Now I just need to mathematically quantify that fact.
Venom1970 writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 12:46:52 AM

I agree with 90% of what mink said so no need to go over it. The thing that get's me you speak to a religious person about lets say "aliens" (Green men type) Tom Cruises gods, they say your mad, there is no such thing as aliens. Yet they believe a man could heal the sick was nailed on a cross and came back to life and returned to his father in heaven.

I suppose the same could be said for these Scientology freaks, they would think the Christianity stories are make believe. The thing is they are both somewhat nuts.

I am atheist BUT I do believe there is something. Afterlife, other worlds with Aliens? who knows.

But I cannot for one second believe we are the only living planet in that infinity called Space.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 5:25:22 AM

Fair enough Mink you are entitled to that view, I normaly agree and like your opinons too. Some people do take the bible's events as fact obviously not all of it but some parts. When did I say that Christ wanted money and power and that is what the bible entails.. I was refering to the church as a whole which uses the bible as a manipulative tool for money and power.

No I do not think that religion is the root of all evil rather organised evil. It entitles people to use religion as reason to commit atrocities. You call me an imbecile but ask for examples of the horror religion has caused.

Religion obviously will not be abolished so it was a foolish statement. Brett easton ellis is a nut and a poor writer I just enjoy the film as a dark comedy. You seem to make many assumptions mink. I have indeed reflected alot on deth and spirituality and would liek to be comforted in the notion of immortality and religion however my personal rationality cannot accept it.

I admit I was tired when I wrote my last post a fair bit of it is stupid but It doesnt call for you to label be dipsh*t *sshole no need to get all personal mink you are to ready to anger.



Patrick Bateman writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 5:37:17 AM

Fair enough Mink you are entitled to that view, I normaly agree and like your opinons too. Some people do take the bible's events as fact obviously not all of it but some parts. When did I say that Christ wanted money and power and that is what the bible entails.. I was refering to the church as a whole which uses the bible as a manipulative tool for money and power.

No I do not think that religion is the root of all evil rather organised evil. It entitles people to use religion as reason to commit atrocities. You call me an imbecile but ask for examples of the horror religion has caused.

Religion obviously will not be abolished so it was a foolish statement. Brett easton ellis is a nut and a poor writer I just enjoy the film as a dark comedy. You seem to make many assumptions mink. I have indeed reflected alot on deth and spirituality and would liek to be comforted in the notion of immortality and religion however my personal rationality cannot accept it.

I admit I was tired when I wrote my last post a fair bit of it is stupid but It doesnt call for you to label be dipsh*t *sshole no need to get all personal mink you are to ready to anger.




It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Robert Downey Jr Comments on His Marvel Contract
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved