WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Possession" Gets Second-Best Labor Day Opening with $21 Million

Posted: September 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Possession" Gets Second-Best Labor Day Opening with $21 MillionSubmit Comment
"The Possession" horror film, starring Kyra Sedgwick and Jeffrey Dean Morgan, took first place at the domestic box office over the Labor Day weekend with $21 million, the second best Labor Day opening of all time. The film is already a hit, since it cost only $14 million to make. The movie has a 37% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The other wide release of the weekend was "Lawless," starring Shia LaBeouf and Tom Hardy. The new film opened on Wednesday, but was only able to secure second place with $15 million over the six day period. "Lawless" has a 65% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, the Anti-Obama" documentary "2016: Obama's America" keeps performing well. The film took ninth place, grossing an additional $7.3 million for a new total of $20.4 million, the fifth best domestic total for a political documentary.

Click here to read our "The Possession" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 8:45:43 PM

Guess I will have to watch lawless on DVD
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 8:55:32 PM

Always a sh*tty weekend.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 9:07:31 PM

The trailer for this looked pretty fab. They won't get theater $'s from me. But I will buy this.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 10:15:42 PM

And by 'buy' it you know I mean to download it for free.
pornfly writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 10:23:07 PM

Pretty funny movie
Jeffrey Dean Morgan is underused
But no f*ckin romcoms.

I dont like Motisyahu haircut either
The rappin rabbi gimmick kills
TheFilmmaker writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 10:46:57 PM

Went and saw both movies. The Possession wasn't scary but the story was decent. Lawless was one of my favorite movies I've seen in theaters in a while. I know everyone hates LaBeouf here but it gave me hope for his future.
minkowski writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 7:06:21 PM

"Meanwhile, the Anti-Obama" doc*mentary "2016: Obama's America" keeps performing well. The film took ninth place, grossing an additional $7.3 million for a new total of $20.4 million, the fifth best domestic total for a political doc*mentary."

Damn. I was hoping for best domestic doc*mentary ever. I guess this means my fellow *sshole moron Americans are voting for this outrageously ridiculous 'president' again. lol. Sometimes I really hate this nation of mine...
pornfly writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 8:06:27 PM

the real question MINK is,are you more pissed off now more than you were four years ago?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved