WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight Rises" Breaks $1 Billion, "The Avengers" Break $1.5 Billion, and More

Posted: September 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight Rises" Breaks $1 Billion, "The Avengers" Break $1.5 Billion, and MoreSubmit Comment
While we wait for the Labor Day weekend numbers to come in, there are three box office milestones to report on.

First, "The Dark Knight Rises" broke the $1 billion mark. Many thought it wouldn't be possible, especially with a lower-than-expected opening and the Colorado massacre. But Christopher Nolan's third Batman film did it, now standing at $1.005 billion. And on top of that, it also surpassed "The Dark Knight" ($1.003 billion) to become the highest-grossing installment in the trilogy. "The Dark Knight Rises" is only the 13th film to break the $1 billion mark.

Meanwhile, "The Avengers" was released in 1,700 theaters over the weekend, giving the film a push strong enough to have it cross the $1.5 billion mark. That's an incredible accomplishment, but it's still the third highest-grossing movie of all time, behind James Cameron's "Titanic" ($2.2 billion) and "Avatar" ($2.8 billion).

Finally, on the other side stands "The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure," which turned in the worst performance of all time at the domestic box office, despite an impressive marketing push.

The movie, which stars Cary Elwes, Jaime Pressley, Christopher Lloyd, Chazz Palminteri, Cloris Leachman and singer Toni Braxton, grossed only $448,131 from 2,160 locations for an average of $207 per theater, which is the worst for a film playing between 2,000 and 2,500 theaters. That average is even worse than any film playing between 1,500 and 2,000 theaters.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:43:20 PM

Overall, this is good news for me. Now I have high hope that 3D will die out eventually.

Tanman32123 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:45:15 PM

"The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure"

Failed Despite "an impressive marketing push"
lol yet i've never even heard of it :P

I Called that TDKR Would get the Billion, but never did i think it would go further then TDK..
Taco writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:47:59 PM

^^^. My words exactly.
Dirt writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:52:17 PM

3D won't die out.
Dirt writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:53:42 PM

Until something replaces it at least. It's here to stay for a while.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 12:01:19 AM

Well shoot... I saw that one coming.

The Avengers massacred Batman.

(too soon?).
vincere01 writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 1:24:23 AM

Like i said months ago. TDKR would still cross a billion. And if you go by tickets sold i bet it whoops avengers ass.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 2:07:44 AM

I'm not trying to be the "what if" guy,but I think if not for the shootings,Batman would have made more money then The Avengers.

I don't know which movie i liked better though.The ending of Batman was spoiled for me by some a$$holes who thought it would be funny to post the ending in the comments of youtube videos.
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 2:08:23 AM

I want to know if they added anything new for the Avengers this weekend.
Rambo writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 2:31:35 AM

imagine how much more money TDKR would have made if Tom Hardy died and james holmes didn't exist.
Quidd writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 3:49:03 AM

Great news! This means that those *sshole CEO's at Warner Bros just made a sh*t ton! Yay for them! They really need and deserve it!
Damon242 writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 5:05:50 AM

Took it's time. And it really has its international gross to thank for that as it's domestic gross is still a distance from its predecessor's.
Damon242 writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 5:09:15 AM

@Rambo

To be fair, it's made this much money without it. Therefore, it's riding the success of its predecessor.

And its predecessor had hype built up for it before Ledger's death. The argument that his death contributed to the majority of its box office takings has never held up much weight.
pornfly writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 6:31:18 AM

Fred Willard thought the movie was Loogielove
Fightclub1 writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 10:01:13 AM

Yeah see I knew TDKR would cross the billion mark. It's no surprise to me that it did.
minkowski writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 6:06:14 PM

"imagine how much more money TDKR would have made if Tom Hardy died and james holmes didn't exist."

Or if Holmes had just murdered Hardy instead.
minkowski writes:
on September 4th, 2012 at 6:08:45 PM

"The argument that his death contributed to the majority of its box office takings has never held up much weight."

And you base your opinion on what evidence? None, you say? Wishful thinking? Ignorance?

Ah.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved