WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Should Trailers be Based on First Half of Films?

Posted: September 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Should Trailers be Based on First Half of Films?Submit Comment
With big-budget films, studios dump millions into marketing and in the process unveil so much footage - in the form of clips, trailers and featurettes - that it has been upsetting fans.

To prove that it got completely out of hand, a person collected all the released footage from "The Amazing Spider-Man" and put together a 25-minute video that walks a viewer through the entire movie, while also showing most of the big scenes. Sony quickly asked him to take it down, but soon after, started releasing even more footage.

But things seem to be changing. Some trailers in France now come with a statement that reads: "In order to ensure that its various plot elements and surprises remain unrevealed, this trailer is only based on the first half of the film."

This is tricky... Because while this idea would prevent spoilers, it's also a recipe for terrible trailers and a failure to properly promote films since most of the big, exciting scenes usually take place in the second half.

Question: Do you want trailers to be comprised of footage only from the first half?

Source: FilmSchoolRejects


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 6:57:36 AM

And yet you show pics of the ending of Carrie
j-man writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 7:07:49 AM

^^^ exactly!!

Soon after the french surrendered
yoshi187 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 7:30:55 AM

It's not difficult to create a trailer that makes audiences want to see a film without giving away the plot. Unfortunately there are a load of f*cking lazy, talentless bastards creating the majority of them and following the same old formulas.

The best trailer last year was the most original one and that was The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, with the Muppets pisstake not far behind.

Trailers are mostly unoriginal and follow the same old sh*tty structure in order to take people's money, just like the films they advertise. Every now and then we'll get something cool but mostly no.

Don't use scenes from just the first half of the film just get better at your job.

f*ck Hollywood.
Cannon writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 7:40:09 AM

For years now I have been saying that modern trailers are bullsh*t. Movie marketing in general has just gotten ridiculous. The studios are overselling their films and showing way too much, revealing too many scenes.

The only kind of acceptable trailer in my opinion is what was once loosely referred to as a "promotional trailer" -- something that hints at the story/premise by showing the title and maybe some related abstract imagery (landscape, spaceship, a person running through the forest etc.) but without showing any actual footage of the film itself. The original promo trailer for the 1990 Total Recall is a good example, or Spielberg’s A.I. and War of the Worlds.

These kind of trailers tease the audiences imagination without actually revealing the look and tone of the movie, say nothing of the story.
cress writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 7:49:51 AM

They should make the trailers mostly made up of deleted scenes. The audience will get a lot of imagery of the film--the cast, bits of dialogue, locales, a semblance of story. It would be just as effective in selling the film to the audience and the audience will not have seen much of any actual real film footage. Sure, there would always have to be actual footage in the trailer, but this would be a better use of material that isn't in the final cut of the film. They already do this now, on a very miniscule level. I'm sure we can all remember a trailer from past years that had something that we didn't see in the film.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 8:00:12 AM

They need to do trailers like in the old days that showed just enough to get you excited.
pH0u57 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 8:04:33 AM

YES! PLEASE!
Damon242 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 8:23:31 AM

The people behind the films should perhaps watch the trailers before public release and determine whether or not there is anything spoiler-worthy in it.

Such as, for instance, knowing that Gordon couldn't have died in The Dark Knight because in the first few trailers he was shown in several scenes that hadn't occurred by that point.

Or the hospital explosion.


You want trailer to be slightly misleading, give away at least the premise of the film, and show glimpses of scenes throughout the film, but not that of the climax or any revelatory moments.

Prometheus is perhaps the best example this year of what not to do with trailers - and that's to keep on producing them.
Rambo writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 10:04:10 AM

just show tits and explosions - I'm in.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:23:32 AM

it doesnt mattter movies in the future are still gonna suck and they cost around 100 million and up.
_JB_ writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:30:11 AM

Yes if course who wants to see the end.
_JB_ writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:31:19 AM

Trailortroll doesn't care as he only lines gay romance films
KillerCOck writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:50:31 AM

I just hate when a trailer shows what looks like would be a good scene/part of a film and then its not used in the theatrical release of the film.

Nuff films pull dat sh*t
rocketman writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:59:36 AM

They need to be more subtle and save the spoilers I know that.Trailer makers are too lazy nowadays,teasers are trailers and trailer are abridged versions of the film.
Kurskij writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 12:02:03 PM

The thing is some of the audience gets pissed of trailers spoil something, but larger (I.e. general, casual movie goer, not a fanboy or a guy who has movies for hobby) audience get pissed when:

1. They were shown the trailer that showed them some murky scenes and the title of the movie, but nothing else.
2. They didn't see some of the scenes they saw in trailer in the movie itself.
3. No big action sequences.

For instance, The Dark Knight Rises trailers showed the same things over and over (not sure if that amounts to many spoilers, or they still managed to show every action sequence) - tumbler blowing up, a couple of kicks between batman and bane, batwing loosing some missiles, a couple of frames of bridges blowing up. And again and again and again.

Technically, little spoilers, glances at important set pieces there and there without spoiling them, but people were complaining that it's a new tv-spot and it's the same thing again.

Yoshi187 hits the nail in the head - it's not about the footage, it's about creative editing and creativity in general - Girl with the dragon tattoo is a good example, same with teaser for Inception with a glimpse of rotating corridor.

Super 8 teasers and trailers were good enough that they made people forget it wasn't supposed to be a blockbuster and be somewhat disappointed with an awesome OW and 120+ total (ie did what trailers are supposed to do - getting people in theatres for an original movie, not based on any existing property).
Buzz_ The Avenger writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 12:18:49 PM

Lawless was bad at this.
TeemSelami writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 12:37:18 PM

They should be limited to the footage from the first act.

Raise your hand if you like the french. Raise both hands if you are french.
holtlt writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 12:41:24 PM

Just learn how to edit a trailer, using proper scenes that don't give away much.
AYT BALL writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 1:23:24 PM

Personally, i think the Director of the movie should also direct the trailers, should be written into the contract. That way they get control over whats shown and what isn't plus it will hopefully show the actual tone of the movie correctly. No more false advertising....just a thought.
rocketman writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 2:00:18 PM

I know it's a little cheesy but ''Voice over man'' is great for trailers,they can show you some random scenes and he just gives you the basics you need to decide if it is the sort of film you like.
rocketman writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 2:03:59 PM

Imagine if Jaws were out nowadays,BOOM Bruce all out 3 seconds in to the teaser.
bane writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 2:21:30 PM

here is a trailer
that makes me wanna watch the movie
without spoiling it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QZL8m7E3lQ0
pornfly writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 2:46:06 PM

If its a true story or anything based on a book;WHO GIVES A sh*t
Otherwise,the director should take more stake in their films.
Hitchc*ck never let the audience see too much when promoting Psycho
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 2:49:38 PM

Sony should learn not to publicly look and sound like a whining, loser bitch.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 2:50:21 PM

As for the person that strung together the 25 mins. of Spidey video... KUDOS!
The_Zizzler writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 2:52:14 PM

Say you adopted a minimalistic approach with trailers, don't you think it would be easier for studios to dupe viewers into watching BULLsh*t movies like John Carter, Indiana Jones 4, Sucker Punch, Cowboys and Aliens, Superman Returns etc.
Dark8 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 3:46:40 PM

Trailortroll doesn't care as he only lines gay romance films

Read more: http://worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=25964&count=0#ixzz25LMQqkBm
Rambo writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 4:28:56 PM

@bane

that movie was boring as f*ck...good trailer,yes,but sh*t poop movie.
minkowski writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 4:30:20 PM

1. Do not spoil the ending.

2. Do not spoil any reveals that would ruin the films momentum or uniqueness.

3. Do not release thirty trailers/teasers that can then be strung to together to depict the entire essence of the film.

4. Stop being so f*cking greedy.

5. Stop releasing bullsh*t that uses trickery in the trailers/teasers to lure unsuspecting people into buying tickets.

6. Stop making bullsh*t period.

7. See 4.

8. Suck a d*ck Sony.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 4:30:23 PM

Trailers have ALWAYS given away too much. Even if you go back and look at trailers from the 1930's - 1950's when the trailers were sometimes 3 or 4 minutes long, too much sh*t has been given away.

I don't see it improving any time soon.
Rambo writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 4:33:30 PM

maybe the best trailer of all time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcW78sj91Qg
Mr.Movie writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 4:56:22 PM

Actually, the only one french trailer I've seen doing this was The Tall Man.
Knowing the policy of the director, Pascal Laugier, it's probably only a personal request to the team who made the trailer to keep away any leaks of the suspens.

He did something similar with the trailers of Martyrs before. He just like that the public keeps a part of surprise, and I totally understand it.

The trailers for such movies as The Amazing Spider-Man showed at least 3/4 of the movie, and may be a major cause of the public's disappointment.
japaninmotion writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 5:08:28 PM

come to japan where the trailer show all the surprises. the avenger trailer ruined all the funny scenes in the the trailer. dont know if they did in the US too. but the japanese theater trailer showed the hulk punching thor.....smashiing loki....and the part where stark gets tossed out the uwindow and is saved by his suit. I watched the US trailer online but I never saw these in them
vaodsi writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 5:20:08 PM

Cabin in the woods only had footage from the first half in it's trailers. The trailer was terrible. The movie was awesome. I went in based on positive word of mouth and was blown away. it wouldn't drum up much anticipation but it would leave me a lot more satisfied as a viewer. But no anticipation defeats the purpose of a trailer anyway.
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 5:44:00 PM

Yeah, I agree that movie trailers shouldn't be formulaic since each has it's style & would soon become boring...

They do need creative & fresh gor every movie. Even maybe the director can get involved or make notes how it should be done or what scenes/ plot points to avoid...

Recent trailers have been uneven. My favorite trailer is SIN CITY. It gave references to the comics, which I hadn't read, but still was badass and still lived up to the hype. THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON was a great trailer though...

Spot on Yoshi..
minkowski writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 6:23:50 PM

lol. Am I the only poster who noticed that the article isn't even news, but a question from another film website?

That's like me asking a group of people a pointedly specific political question, and then someone from that group asking people in another group the same highly specific question.

In other words, does Worstpreviews give enough of a sh*t about films to bother using their own imagination? Or is that solely reserved for making up sh*t and then passing it off as 'news'?
velocityknown writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 7:15:54 PM

Bad trailers are a trend I think the industry is steadily moving away from. I mean, we don't get the announcing guy at all anymore as far as I know. But let's examine how far we've come in just over a decade.

Here we have the trailer for the classic Paul Thomas Anderson film, Boogie Nights: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDZ9tl43SXU

Anyone who has seen the film, should watch this trailer and say three words: What. The. f*ck.

Terrible trailer for a great movie and it doesn't represent the movie at all. It's just what studios thought would get people in the seats. As dumb as movie-goers can be, I think we have to start acknowledging that they're getting a bit smarter. They're at least getting better at using the internet and they now have review aggregate websites to make a judgement of the film beyond its trailer. So now, let's look at trailers for a few more modern films that I think are dynamic in their approach and sign of how studios are beginning to think: Hey, let's just make an intriguing trailer, and we can put people in the seats:

Another PTA film: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJ1O1vb9AUU

Let's not pretend this trailer wasn't awesome (better than the film, though): http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=X_LbCKgo5aU

Amazing trailer that I watch sometimes just because I love it so much: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24cjqfVv1fs

So basically, you don't have to keep the second half out, all of the trailers I have listed have third act footage, it's just a matter of editing. If you make a good trailer, people will show up. If they don't, f*ck it, you still made a good trailer.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 7:22:01 PM

well the people who make trailers should just stop being sh*tty at their jobs and not spoil the damn film, That..

or people should get lifes instead of sitting around putting 25 minutes of f*cking trailers together..
Barney Stinson writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 8:14:11 PM

The Dark Knight Rises passes the $1 billion mark

http://boxofficemojo.com/movies/?page=main&id=batman3.htm

You were saying Alex?
bane writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 8:25:48 PM

@ pornfly

Hitchc*ck never let
the audience
see too much when promoting Psycho :) :)

watch this and laugh

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ps8H3rg5GfM
bane writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 8:36:31 PM

this is one trailer that makes me mad :(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxKSVBM9SM4&feature=related

contains stuff
that should never have been cut
from the movie
Dirt writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 9:11:54 PM

The Lockout trailer with the Guy Pearce interrogation scene was pretty good, didn't give away anything just introduce the main character, the villain and a few clips at the end to give away the feel of the movie.

I don't think it's being released in Australia, has anyone seen it? Any good?
boogiel writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 10:37:21 PM

"Do you want trailers to be comprised of footage only from the first half? "


Just two words: Hell No!


Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 2:52:22 AM

I need to take a dump. And it feels like a 2-flusher MINIMUM.
Venom1970 writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 5:25:19 AM

@Dirt I have seen it, quite a good sci-fi action film. It's like a cross of Die Hard meets Fortress with Christopher Lambert.
bane writes:
on September 3rd, 2012 at 2:20:59 PM

here is an amazing trailer

http://collider.com/rust-and-bone-trailer/192720/

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved