WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spider-Man" Producer Announces "Metal Gear Solid" Movie

Posted: August 30th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spider-Man" Producer Announces "Metal Gear Solid" MovieSubmit Comment
Back in 2007 Sony announced that it will turn the "Metal Gear Solid" video game into a movie with producer Mike De Luca (The Social Network, Ghost Rider) overseeing the project. But then in 2010, De Luca confirmed that the film was dead, stating that an adaptation may end up hurting the popular franchise.

Now, at a "Metal Gear Solid" event in Tokyo, Sony announced that the project is once again moving forward, but this time with producer Avi Arad (Spider-Man, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man, X-Men).

"For many years I fought to bring comics to theaters. Comic books are now biggest genre in cinema. Video games are the comic books of today," said Arad. "We will take our time [with 'Metal Gear Solid'] and tell the story with all the nuances, ideology, cautionary tales needed."

Meanwhile, Arad is also working to bring video games "Uncharted" and Mass Effect" to the big screen.

Source: Kotaku


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
brandonegc writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 6:51:57 AM

Kurt Russell.
paulodelrey writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 7:15:28 AM

*j*zzZZZZZZZZZEDDDDDD ALL OVER MY COMPUTER SCREEN.**** f*ck YEAHHHH
Taco writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 7:30:44 AM

Call me snake.
boogiel writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:02:03 AM

ANOTHER video games movie? Well, apparently they haven't learn, have they? Oh wait, it's Sony's. Figures...
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:03:04 AM

Josh Holloway for Snake.
Damon242 writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:35:43 AM

please be the adaptation of the original Metal Gear Solid...
velocityknown writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 9:34:48 AM

Josh Holloway or Christian Bale.
-Chewy- writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 9:35:50 AM

Damn you guys are right, Josh Holloway would be pretty good.
Stapes writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 9:37:48 AM

As long as there isnt a scene with a soldier constantly crapping himself. Japs are weird.
Bunny X writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 9:52:54 AM

Easily one of the most desired games to be made into a film and one of the least desired.
I would love to see the Metal Gear franchise up on the big screen. But damn, the game did such a great job with the story that anything less would be a complete let down. And the history of video games on the big screen have me dreading the damage it would bring to this stellar franchise. So torn.
Stapes writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 10:10:30 AM

The total recall remake proved that video games can tranlate to film. While it isnt a video game adaptation, the action and flow of it was very much like a video game. It's a new genre in some ways or at least an evolution (or deevolution depending on your perspective) of the medium.
Stapes writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 10:11:48 AM

I still think japanese humor is childish though.
30YoVirgin writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 11:50:29 AM

This will fail

unless they adapt the first Metal Gear that was on NES/Famicon

and bring Kurt Russell to play Big Boss

and anyone who can do snake's voice to play Snake

oh and I don't think Mass Effect and Uncharted movies are necessary
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 11:58:20 AM

It is pretty sad when video games have better stories than movies do.
30YoVirgin writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 12:04:15 PM

what badchad said
bandolero999 writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 12:18:06 PM

WARNING SPOILERS AHEAD:











this movie will suck.havent you seen the other video game franchises gone to the sh*tter?It always falls into the wrong hands.Except for Mortal Kumbat web series of course
Vindetta writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 12:24:42 PM

The only person I will accept for the role of Solid Snake is David Hayter.
rocketman writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 12:40:50 PM

If done right it has the potential to blow my little cotton socks off.
rocketman writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 12:45:51 PM

Two hours of Snake Eater directed by Oliver Stone rather than that Raiden bollocks done by a Ratner/Bay type.
Zeroguy writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 12:46:53 PM

There's too much in the game for an 150 minute film to be made. the first game is epic in scope.
Besides, video games are a different medium for a reason.
JensdePens writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 12:53:22 PM

The first game was on MSX not on NES. Played it when I was 8 years old in 1988. If they want to do it right they have to make more then 1 movie.
Just cast David Hayter. He's allready the voice in all the games (starting with the Playstation version)
Dr_Venture writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 12:59:06 PM

I don't care, as long as Snake sneaks around in a cardboard box.
Morbius writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 1:00:24 PM

David Hayter to play Solid Snake, and Kurt Russell to play Big Boss.
I'd j*zz so hard I'd need to change my trousers TWICE.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 1:02:59 PM

Whatever. The end result will be so watered down, it'll look like ten other covert actioners and nothing like the nuance spectacle of the video game series, or even worse, it'll look like Resident Evil.
vincere01 writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 1:14:41 PM

I say let michael mann direct it. And cast kurt russel as big boss, and gerard butler as snake. They look enough alike and are about the right ages for it. They are both good enough actors to do it and butler has proven he can do action(with moderate success). Neither would demand a huge paycheck and you would be able to keep the cost down. Thats what usually kills video game movies are the budgets getting out of control. Besides a few obvious cgi effects heavy parts this movie could for the most part be completely done with cheaper practical effects(prefered). If marketed right and released in late april for a borderline summer season movie i think it could be a hit. Also if they use flashbacks i think jodie foster would be perfect for "the boss"
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 1:19:37 PM

Mann will NEVER do a video game movie, and I for one would never want him to do one. He's too good for thet sh*t. It would be like asking Einstein to teach children how to put colored wooden blocks into the appropriately shaped hole. A waste of talent and mind.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 1:26:05 PM

Gary Stretch for Snake.plus he's an unknown in the biz so he can be affordable.look him up
Odd writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 2:15:29 PM

is it just me or do movies made from games usually fail? I know Resident Evil is still going but I don't think its that great.

If they do do this one I hope it is after the first Metal Gear game..Josh Holloway does look the part.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 2:39:30 PM

Kojima is risking his neck with this, I love the guy but f*cking up MGS is something that my wallet won't forget.
30YoVirgin writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 2:51:55 PM

@JensdePens

I stand corrected. and Hayter of course would've been perfect if he wasn't old and fat now
KillerCOck writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:11:03 PM

Frank Grillo!.... I'll admit i've never played this game but jus lookin at this picture and remembering a glimpse I caught of a trailer some years ago. I'd say Grillo would be a good fit. He's also a trained fighter.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:16:46 PM

I'll put money on it doh and say they end up casting Hugh f*cking Jackman.
Johnnyb writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:34:28 PM

Arad is definitely the man for the job, let's do it!!!!!!
TheAmazingSausage writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:35:06 PM

Ray Stevenson for snake please
Frank_Castle writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:37:35 PM

I think I pre-c*med alittle bit just by reading the title METAL GEAR SOLID. Now here's hoping these studio sc*mbags dont let us down. They should set up a large assembled cast of legendary actors and an unknown potential star to play Snake. Liam Nesson as BIG BOSS
Frank_Castle writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:42:19 PM

PLUS, you guys might hate me but, a whole different version of METAL GEAR should be rewritten for this and have a large impacting story but it should still resemble METAL GEAR none the less. Dont just do it for the money but for the art of it.
Frank_Castle writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 8:55:12 PM

I remember David Hayter worked with him for a movie. And David being a fan to the game aswell, there must have been a connection that resulted to Arad getting producing.
elrei writes:
on August 30th, 2012 at 9:53:52 PM

ONLY if Kojima does the script. And David Hayter as Snake, period. And Liam Neeson as Big Boss would rock. And a 400 Millions budget.
Zeroguy writes:
on August 31st, 2012 at 2:15:50 AM

I remember reading that Kojima wanted PT Anderson do make the film. It would be amazing but I doubt he would do it.
@mink
f*cking Michael Mann is the man. It's been too long since his last film (his lame HBO horse show was sh*t).
Heat, the Insider, and Manhunter are f*cking perfect films. And I have a soft spot for Last of the Mohicans, Thief, Miami Vice and Public Enemies. Ali and Colletral are two I have to give another chance.
Jeez, Mann please start making a new film.
leezy84 writes:
on August 31st, 2012 at 8:30:12 AM

Hugh Jackman as Snake......Assassins Creed has Fassbender
Blacktinoheat writes:
on August 31st, 2012 at 1:47:29 PM

30YoVirgin wrote :This will fail

unless they adapt the first Metal Gear that was on NES/Famicon

and bring Kurt Russell to play Big Boss

and anyone who can do snake's voice to play Snake

I 100% agree I have been wanting to see a PS3 remake of the old Famicom version of Metal Gear and the MSX version of Metal Gear 2 for those that are not familiar with the back story of Zanzibar. And Kurt Russell would make a perfect Naked Snake a.k.a. Big Boss
Knobsack writes:
on September 5th, 2012 at 4:00:01 AM

Metal Gear Solid deserves a production unlike that of Nolan's or Ridley Scott's echelon, not the comical pish posh of the above mentioned comic book adaptions. I have a bad feeling about this one, being a huge MGS fan.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved