WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Verhoeven Says "Total Recall" Remake is "Not Good"

Posted: August 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Verhoeven Says "Total Recall" Remake is "Not Good"Submit Comment
Arnold Schwarzenegger's 1990 "Total Recall" film was a big hit, grossing $261 million on just a $65 million budget. It's also a fan favorite, which is why Sony decided to remake it, with Colin Farrell in the lead.

Schwarzenegger was never asked to make a cameo and the tone of the film became more serious compared to the original. After four weeks in theaters, the remake grossed only $134 million globally on a $125 million budget. In other words, it earned half as much as the original, but cost twice as much.

Now, during a screening of the 1990 version of "Total Recall" in Hollywood, director Paul Verhoeven answered a few questions, including what he thought about the remake.

He said: "Arnold being [in the original 'Total Recall'] made the movie a little light, and I think that's very important for these Philip Dick stories. I think if it would have been done in a straight way, I'm not so sure that it would have worked at least, not at that time. And recently [in the 'Total Recall' remake], it did not. I get to say that because the producer of the new one said that [the original] was cheesy or something. And Colin Farrell called it in an interview 'kitschy.' So I dare to say that his version was not good."

Source: Movieline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
paulodelrey writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 6:42:31 AM

dont f*ck with the original.
bane writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 6:48:37 AM




a little light ???

and I think that's very important
for these Philip d*ck stories

oh yeah Blade Runner is really light
pornfly writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 7:01:37 AM

Theres Pott heads for Harry Potter
Twihards
Beliebers
and d*ck-heads

THANK YOU CAPTAIN OBVIOUS-us-us

Why are we the only ones to forsee it being Total Fecal
_JB_ writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:13:49 AM

I will be the judge of that. When I take time to see it. Your opinion Mr. Verhoeven is pointless.
_JB_ writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:15:12 AM

God Bless Colin Farrell.
boogiel writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:23:45 AM

Yeah!! You go Paul.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:44:50 AM

@Bane

Don't forget about SCANNER DARKLY. That flick was serious & kinda depressing at the same time...
BJsforeveryone writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:44:59 AM

Jealosy is not a healthy feeling...
The remake was better than the original !!
The original wasn`t bad, but new new edition was visually, stylish improved and more actionpacked ...There I said it !!
Rambo writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:54:45 AM

verhoeven is very polite...the remake was a disaster.
bane writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:54:56 AM

@ CelluloidMan

there are some movies
you can only enjoy if you are drunk

A SCANNER DARKLY

THE RUM DIARY

BAD LIEUTENANT PORT OF CALL NEW ORLEANS
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 10:59:35 AM

Well no sh*t.....too bad this failure from Colin Failure won't stop sh*tty remakes from being made.
TMD writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 12:11:10 PM

Agree!
Stapes writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 1:35:20 PM

I liked both versions... I'm kind of a d*ckhead though.
Stapes writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 1:43:19 PM

I have to agree with Verhoeven on one point though, I do agree about the "lightness," view. I know it's sacrilege to say so, but in all honesty I always thought Bladerunner was a little overrated. Sure, there's some great lines, visuals and performances but overall the movie just kind of struck me as boring, still does, especially the version with the voice over narration. I feel about Bladerunner what I feel about A Clockwork Orange... overrated, that is to say in the manner that they're both movies that art students and bohemian types flippantly throw out there as some kind of proof that there is some depth to them. Now that is not to say that everyone who likes these movies is that way, so don't anyone go getting your panties in a bunch over my humble opinion.
rocketman writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 2:14:31 PM

I never really liked the Arnie version,thought it looked cheap.More of a Predator man myself.Must check it out again because I've not seen that film since it came out on VHS.
Ranger writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 2:22:23 PM

@rocket - you're right. Arnie's version did look cheap. But... most movies in the 80's did. I always thought his Total Recall received more credit than it was worth. Then again... a lot of Arnie's movies get that kind of credit because of his cult following.
rocketman writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 2:33:24 PM

Production wise Conan the Barbarian,T2 and Predator looked 1st class,most of the other films budgets got swallowed up by his huge paychecks and looked second rate,same goes for Sly.
Arnie really need to do King Conan NOW with Millus before he gets any older,have him reminiscing about old time before the seas drank Atlantis etc...
Dark8 writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 2:53:30 PM

ranger your right for the first time
but still you are not the hero WP needs right now

i am
because i am jb
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 3:47:37 PM

The original is cinema gold compared to the destined-for-the-bargain bin lump of sh*t remake.
Kurskij writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 4:11:30 PM

@rocket, ranger

Sadly, we all know there won't be no Conan the King. Only more Last Stands before Arnie forgets what a diaper is.

Interesting though, all my friends who does have taste in movies liked the new Recall, saying it's big, loud, has all the ingriients of summer spectacle and pays homage to both the original and the novel.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 4:20:46 PM

haven't seen the remake yet, and besides there's only two things the remake has over the original which isn't saying much...improvement in cgi and a serious tone...the old one had more over remake, r rating, 3 nipples that aren't covered up, if it wasn't for arnold it wouldn't be cheesy and fun as people still mock his lines even if it isn't funny still sounds funny with his accent...and besides at that time they filmed it using actual sets...i'm tired of seeing things remade and end up being disappointments or easily forgettable
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 4:23:41 PM

next they'll try to remake predator...and i would just LOVE to see them try everything they can to make it better than arnold's version...just can't be done
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 10:20:12 PM

Make a good movie yourself, Paul, and then we'll talk.
paulodelrey writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 10:33:06 PM

^^^ @minkowski watch my sex tape! xoxoxoxox betta than kim's xoxoxoxoxox
telur writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 10:49:45 PM

Paul Verhoeven now is jobless

he suck after basic instinct and total recall
SACdaddy writes:
on August 29th, 2012 at 12:20:51 AM

Dear God, now people don't like the original Total Recall? That's one of Arnold's best movies by far. It's not just blood and gut and cheesy one-liners. Ok its a lot of that but it also has some great action and one of the best sci-fi stories of its era. The end still has me trippin to this day, dream or reality?!?! All this "cheap" "overrated" talk is beyond me, especially when you're talking about an immensely entertaining mindbender like this. Verhoven was at his best with this, Robocop, and Starship Troopers. Of course, his style of directing comes from a much tougher less politically correct era when men were men and Glee was still in the closet. Guess that doesn't fly anymore. Too bad for film lovers and heterosexuals I guess.
minkowski writes:
on August 29th, 2012 at 4:06:15 PM

^^You be trolling, dog, you be trolling.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on August 29th, 2012 at 5:11:40 PM

I heart Paul Verhoeven.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved