WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Alternate CGI Version of "Prometheus" Monster Scene

Posted: August 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Alternate CGI Version of "Prometheus" Monster SceneSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox is planning to release "Prometheus" on DVD and Blu-ray on October 11th. The discs will come with almost thirty minutes of deleted scenes and lots of other bonus material.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

Today we have some special effects work for Sean Harris's Fifield character that didn't make the movie. Director Ridley Scott instead decided to go with practical effects to turn Fifield into a monster (pictured).

"To mutate Fifield beyond what was possible using practical makeup effects, Weta Digital generated a digital character with elongated limbs and an engorged, translucent head, incorporating a semblance of Harris' face," said Cinefex magazine. "Scott filmed the sequence both with makeup and without. The final cut featured mostly makeup effects."

Check out the deleted special effects version below.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read our "Prometheus" review.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting, Cinefex


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sev writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 6:38:01 AM

Just as sh*te as the live action version. Designers really don't know how to make frighteneing aliens or monsters anymore :( Utter sh*t bollocks!
cress writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 7:05:44 AM

Don't care. Still sux. f*ck you Ridley.
rockkillers writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 7:44:05 AM

I usually hate CGI but I like the cgi version...the makeup effects version is good too.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 7:48:01 AM

sorta reminds me of the Thing
boogiel writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:02:13 AM

Prometheus was a big disappointment. I don't see how this news is different.
Rambo writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:56:41 AM

what was the black goo?
Ranger writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 11:08:28 AM

Lohan's vaginal discharge.
Ranger writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 11:08:47 AM

Better known as: The Plague.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 11:12:00 AM

f*ck you for ruining my summer Ridley!!!
Cannon writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 12:02:30 PM

I really like the look of this monster. Of course, it's hard to judge the CGI fully without seeing it move on screen, but still...

I know I'm supposed to be hip with the nostalgia crowd and say the practical makup FX version was better, but, frankly, I found it a bit underwhelming.

All the bullsh*t cynicism aside, out-of-camera visual effects still, to this day, thrill me with a sense of wonder, and I think this version is more spooky fantastic looking. More otherworldy.

rocketman writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 1:38:33 PM

Looks great to me,would have preferred this new version in the film instead.
Ranger writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 2:39:38 PM

@BC - check your mailbox.
Dark8 writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 3:00:57 PM

has anyone seen this film
Rambo writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 4:00:15 PM

seen it?yes.

understand it?no.
holtlt writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 4:00:21 PM

I like this design better...more alienated. But I do agree we need the old monster designers back. Doing monster effects with mechanic material and makeup is better than fake CGI.
Kurskij writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 4:04:47 PM

WETA is f*cking metal, but practical effects were better.

Watched Black Hawk Down the other day. Forgiven Ridley for everything.
Rambo writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 4:37:43 PM

Black Hawk Down is one of his best movies after Blade Runner and Alien
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 5:02:49 PM

God must be an absolute moron. He obviously killed the wrong Scott.

And he should have used the CGI version. Moron.
Kurskij writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 5:06:58 PM

@rambo

Right. Simply right.

"Danny, you don't have to go back there..."

And that Tom Sizemore's look. And that music.

Where the f*ck are you, Tom, with all your badassety and whores and cocaine?

And where's Richard Tyson.

Great movie. Filmed in Morocco, not ver true - what gives, if real Danny Macnight says it made him hard not to cry - it's worth showing to your son.
Kurskij writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 5:09:21 PM

Col. Danny McKnight that is.
Rambo writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 6:12:35 PM

I felt Eric Bana stole the show in that movie...that was the first and the last time I've seen him in a truly great performance.
TheAmazingSausage writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:25:22 PM

Still disappointing. Both versions look retarded this movie was the biggest let down of the year for me. I mean it had such promise there were so many things they could have done with this movie..............but they f*cked it up as usual. Pull your f*ckin finger out of your arse Ridley you used to be the f*ckin man with sci if.
Kurskij writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 8:58:33 PM

Bana and Sizemore stole the show. Bana was great, but Tommy's presence is simply too big to be ignored - he rocked in this.

Fichtner got to display some welcome badassety as well (finally).

Simply a great movie.
Kurskij writes:
on August 28th, 2012 at 9:00:30 PM

Oh, btw, as for Eric Bana stealing the show:

Andrew Dominic's "Chopper". Holy f*ck of a performance.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 29th, 2012 at 10:14:30 AM

I wish Bana would do more material like Chopper. Dude was huge and pretty f*cking scary in that film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved