WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tim Burton's "Batman" Sold More Tickets Than "The Dark Knight Rises"

Posted: August 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tim BurtonSubmit Comment
Studios want to know how well their films are performing, which is why they look at box office data. But the real performance should be measured by the amount of tickets sold, since prices of tickets keep going up. For example... "Avatar" is the highest-grossing film of all time domestically. But after inflation, it's actually 14th highest-grossing, behind such movies as "The Exorcist," "Gone With the Wind," and "Jaws."

That's right, "The Exorcist" sold more tickets than "Avatar." And just as surpring is that Tim Burton's 1989 "Batman" film sold twelve million more tickets than Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight Rises." It becomes less shocking when you consider that it cost $3.97 to see "Batman" and costs over $8 to see "The Dark Knight Rises."

Looking at other superhero films, "Batman" sold twelve million less than "The Dark Knight" and fourteen million less than "The Avengers."

Source: Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 72 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bullit writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 6:37:51 AM

So, it's all about inflation then!


I'm astonished that a horror film like The Exorcist sold more tickets than this film made in Cuckoo Land called Avatar!

Taco writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 6:49:06 AM

89 version sold more tickets but they were a lot less movies being produced back then, however there was also a lot less theaters so I think the 89 version still wins.
snoop writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 6:54:24 AM

"It becomes less shocking when you consider that it cost $3.97 to see "Batman""

That's the part that shocks me the most. The average ticket price is $18 where I live.
paulodelrey writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 6:55:51 AM

i would always pretend i was poison ivy when i was little. uma was a fierce bitch.
TheAmazingSausage writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 7:05:53 AM

Maybe because the first batman was quite an original film back then so more people flocked to the cinemas. Same with the exorcist. These days everything's been rehashed n rebooted that many times nobody gives a f*ck. For me tdkr just felt like by the numbers Hollywood drivel. It ain't got anything on the original and it ain't got anything I haven't seen a million times before. f*ck you batman............and you robin
Rambo writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 7:30:57 AM

@trailer

watched 'the expendables 2'...much better then the first one...simon west did a good job and the script was better.i give it 7/10.
Bunny X writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 8:02:37 AM

I wanted to say the shelf life of movies back then were longer than they are today but 89 Batman came out in June in the theaters and on home video (snickers) around Christmas of 89.
I think though the wave of pirating and bootlegs have driven down the number of tickets they sell. I mean I remember seeing Batman in the theater twice about 3 weeks apart and the theater was just as crowded in that 3rd week as it was in the 1st.
Rambo writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 8:16:06 AM

I didn't like any of the Burton/Shumacher Batman movies. they were stupid and silly.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 8:39:19 AM

Burton's Batman is still the sh*t!
bandolero999 writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 9:37:54 AM

"I didn't like any of the Burton/Shumacher Batman movies. they were stupid and silly."

Uh so was making a realistic version of a white guy fighting like a ninja with a bat suit on.and dark knight ripping off one of my favorite movies of all time called HEAT.
billofill writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 9:45:38 AM

But the 89 and 92 was like a Gothic PG13 version of that sh*t 60's series.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 9:51:57 AM

Ticket sales isnt the only factor in the equation. Consider this; back in the day, exorcist, jaws and batman, didnt have to contend with torrent sites and illegal down loads.

Back in the day to see a movie people had to go out to the theaters.

Cinemas suffered similar down turns with the onset of VHS and bootleggers. People just decided on the alternative.

Thats why today theater owners turn going to the cinema an event (come check out our cool 3D).

With torrent sites being what they are and VOD getting so popular its going to change again, maybe for the worst. Cinemas is consistently on the decline.

Thanks computers. (sarcasm)
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:03:17 AM

Rambo

Thanks pal, Glad you enjoyed more than the original.
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:04:19 AM

Jack was right.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQn-vulThcY
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:08:35 AM

If we adjust for inflation, what would the #1 all time movie be? Was it Gone with the Wind?
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:11:28 AM

Yes BC by a million miles mate.
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:13:07 AM

Does make for an interesting list, US gross only

http://boxofficemojo.com/alltime/adjusted.htm

Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:13:40 AM

I had some hot wings at the pub yesterday. My ass was 'gone with the wind' the entire night. I had the leave the room myself sometimes.
Damon242 writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:21:53 AM

Do you mind giving us the link to the list?
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:22:20 AM

lol

Poor JB his ass spends most of the time in a different time zone
Damon242 writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:23:47 AM

http://boxofficemojo.com/alltime/adjusted.htm?adjust_yr=1&p=.htm

Titanic really is the king of them all then; 5th highest ticket sales, 2nd highest box office takings.
trailertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:25:51 AM

^ Just gonna say i linked it already
traiIertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:36:01 AM

@tt

LOL! If he farts in the morning it won't come out until late at night.
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 10:41:28 AM

... or it'll just get lost along the way.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 11:25:29 AM

Ole JB, a very odd troll. Name his malfunction, too fat, daddy raped him to much as a small boy. Either way when he gets hungry elephants run and hide.
Freshman writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 11:33:59 AM

'Tim Burton's "Batman" Sold More Tickets Than "The Dark Knight Rises"'

To be fair, there were no crazy motherf*ckers shooting at people on the theaters back then...

Raider writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 11:51:16 AM

HE STOLE MY BALLOONS!!!!
bane writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 11:52:57 AM

The Exorcist sold more tickets than Avatar

makes me happy to hear that

AVATAR is over rated f****** s***

exorcist is a scary clever film
with amazing performances
bane writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 11:55:08 AM

back in 1989

if people were afraid
of some sick c*** standing up
and start shooting left right and centre
it would not have been
such a huge blockbuster
Man in Black writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 11:56:36 AM

OK .... and I should give a sh*t because ? I didn't realize it was a competition .
_JB_ writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 12:59:05 PM

I rest my case trailortroll !! Bringing up ME again just admit it that you like me! Fag
_JB_ writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 12:59:58 PM

Prolly excited about my weekly rim job
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 1:02:29 PM

Rim job? So that's the source of that brown sh*t around your mouth!
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 1:14:42 PM

O JB, I admit you are worth a good laugh.
_JB_ writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 1:22:54 PM

I am watching playboy hot babes doing stuff naked
traiIertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 1:26:55 PM

@JB

I am watching your Mom take her weekly shower in the car wash.
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 1:51:52 PM

I hate it when she leaves the scrubbing brush full of gravel!
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 1:52:49 PM

@Freshman - I thought the same thing.

@bane - re: Exorcist. I haven't even had the stones to watch the updated version. With her arms and legs backwards running up the stairs. No f*cking way!!!
struck21 writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 2:00:37 PM

Gone with the Wind is leaps and bounds #1 with inflation. Also a far better movie then most the crap made today that is passed on as a movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 2:33:10 PM

TT - funny as soon as I read your comment about his mom then " brickhouse" came on the radio.

Speaking of moms, JB are you embarrassed you have bigger tits than your mom does?
_JB_ writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 2:41:29 PM

I do not rim, I get rimmed
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 2:48:22 PM

So do black Escalades, and that's what you look like. A milk dud SUV.
_JB_ writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 3:20:39 PM

You are just jealous that I get a weekly rim and blowie and you do not! (((o(*゚▽゚*)o)))
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 3:26:53 PM

Why would I want what your brother gives, BJ?
traiIertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 3:31:40 PM

@JB

Did you know they actually pay for sperm donors now? To think I probably lost 300 dollars to your Moms pictures over the last few weeks. The next time we go out she's paying for dinner..
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 3:36:57 PM

@JB: Trailer said "sperm donors", not "sperm whales".

Don't get your hopes up you can afford another palette of Chocolate Decadence Haagen Dazs.
jatilq writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 3:38:25 PM

Less likely someone would walk in and shoot the place up back then
Rambo writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 3:47:05 PM

tits of the day:

http://images.primecurves.com/tessa-gardening/7.jpg
traiIertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 3:53:19 PM

@Rambo

No d*ck for JB?
Rambo writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 3:58:56 PM

I don't waste my time on this guy and neither should you..just ignore him..he will go away...if you keep replying to him you are just feeding the monkey...
traiIertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 4:09:15 PM

Valid point, and I see what you did there you rascal, referring to him as the monkey.
Rambo writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 4:13:49 PM

it was unintentional...i'm sorry if i offended the monkeys...
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 4:15:32 PM

Pretty sure Davey Jones wouldn't see the similarities.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 4:22:47 PM

I was going to say something about whatever this article was originally about, but I've since forgotten in the time it took me to read these other comments... LOL
Rambo writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 4:33:15 PM

Taken 3 Trailer :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAbyO0EpuVE
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 5:57:52 PM

as much as i want to hate smosh, i still laugh
SACdaddy writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 5:59:37 PM

First of all tickets have been more than $4 my entire life so the $3.97 sounds a little low.

That first Batman was by far the biggest event of the year let alone the summer. People were seeing it like 3-4 times in the theater, kids and adults. It was the first dark major comic book film we'd ever scene. Batman killed people, Wayne pimped Kim Bassinger (back then a major hottie), and the Joker was portrayed by one of the best actors of all time at his very best. Who could blame us for going nuts over it? The Batman symbol was a huge marketing hit too. It was literally everywhere!!! Of course this was all through the eyes of a 11 year old who's room was covered from wall to wall with Batman promotion posters by Christmas. Easily one of the best years of my childhood. Going to the movies will never be that good again.

Thx Alex, this news made my day :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 6:01:29 PM

Forgot, Prince Batman soundtrack also top the charts that year.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 6:13:22 PM

Keaton as Batman was a lot more controversial casting than Bale - whom everyone accepted. I was glad Keaton proved the many disbelievers wrong in his acting ability. Greater interest was generated behind Burton's version especially since only Donner's Superman preceded it. And everyone was starved for bringing a comic book hero on the live screen. Now superhero films are a dime a dozen and it takes a lot to bring something new to the formula. I think the Avengers did it by cramming so many heroes on the screen that we barely had time to catch our breath while we enjoyed the ride. Batman Begins did it as it was the first dark take on the tragic hero yes Mink, depressing and all that. Still much darker than Burton's gothic window dressing designs. For me Burton's was the first true successful adult themed translation of comic books on film. It was a pivotal ride in time for all the reasons SAC pointed out.
Rambo writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 6:33:28 PM

Not a big fan of Burton...His best movie imo was Sweeney Todd
Stapes writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 7:05:41 PM

Not shocking at all. Those were the days of 4 dollar ticks and flicks like batman were multi media events with music by prince. Holy batsh*t, that's poetry!
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 7:45:05 PM

f*ck this garbage. Something for the men, if there's any left here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=562OuJ9zgDk
traiIertrash writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 7:53:25 PM

@Mink

Pretty girl, yes, nice to mole you, meet you! Nice to meet your mole. Don't say mole.
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 7:56:42 PM

Marilyn Monroe had a mole IIRC, and she's considered one of the most beautiful women ever.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 7:58:37 PM

I guess kids don't realize how much our dollar depreciates every year.


When in doubt... print more out. $$
Peter Parker writes:
on August 23rd, 2012 at 8:26:26 PM

She would be so, so much hotter if she'd just keep her f*cking mouth shut.
emonne writes:
on August 24th, 2012 at 12:37:56 AM

U got to take into account also that even in 1989 there were far fewer substitutes for going to the movie. and when comparing it to the Gone with the wind era its ridiculous. if people liked a movie they would go several times.
bane writes:
on August 24th, 2012 at 1:35:56 AM

here is another movie
that sold more
tickets than dark knight rises

http://www.sockshare.ws/file/gYzUACeXWgMExKyr#
bane writes:
on August 24th, 2012 at 1:41:01 AM

@ Ranger

oh my friend
you are thinking of the spider walk

when i was young
i tried to watch THE SHINING
in the middle of the day
broad daylight
the first 2 minutes
when the car is going toward the hotel
on those winding roads
the music scared the s*** out of me
i got so scared
i had to turn it off

i was shaking LOL lol LOL
Bullit writes:
on August 24th, 2012 at 9:43:14 AM

"She would be so, so much hotter if she'd just keep her f*cking mouth shut."


So bloody true. After listening to her for 1 min, I started to feel dizzy.
Rocksteddy writes:
on August 25th, 2012 at 2:32:27 AM

Not surprising.
f*cking hated TDKR. Worst piece of sh*t I have ever seen in my entire life. Uwe Boll could have made a f*cking better movie.
j-off writes:
on August 25th, 2012 at 9:17:13 AM

this is pointless.. they don't care about tickets sold.. they care about money.. if they could just sell one ticket for 10 billion dollars.. they would do that instead...they have high ticket prices because they know that they might lose customers but they will make up for it with the price increase

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved