WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Expendables 2" Tops Box Office with $28 Million, Less Than First Film

Posted: August 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Expendables 2" Tops Box Office with $28 Million, Less Than First FilmSubmit Comment
"The Expendables 2" easily took first place at the domestic box office this weekend with $28 million. But that's $6 million less than the $34 million debut of the first film on the same weekend in 2010.

The sequel also attracted an older crowd, with 65% of the audience being over the age of 25, versus 60% for "The Expendables." "We think we'll have a great run," said Lionsgate. "Older audiences don't rush out to the cinema on opening weekend." "The Expendables 2" has a 67% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"The Bourne Legacy" dropped to second place with $17 million in its second week for a new domestic total of $69.6 million and a worldwide total of $97.7 million. Since it cost $125 million to make, the film has a long way to go before being called a success.

The 3D stop-motion film "ParaNorman" landed in third with $14 million, which is on the low end of expectations. The hope was at least to match the numbers of "Coraline," which brought in $16.8 million during its opening weekend. "ParaNorman" has a 87% fresh rating.

Whitney Houston's final movie "Sparkle" took fifth place, grossing $12 million. While that's also on the low end of expectations, the film cost only $14 million to make, which means that it should have no problem become profitable. It has a 56% fresh rating.

The other wide release of the weekend was Disney's "The Odd Life of Timothy Green," which grossed $15.2 million, but actually hit theaters on Wednesday. It has a 38% fresh rating. Meanwhile, Disney's "Brave" cracked the $400 million mark worldwide, becoming the 11th Pixar movie to do so.

On the specialty side, Robert Pattinson's "Cosmopolis," directed by David Cronenberg, grossed $96,437 from only three theaters for a per-screen average of $32,146, which is the best average of the weekend. It has a 64% fresh rating.

Looking at the rest of the movies... "The Dark Knight Rises" will soon cross the $900 million globally. Many doubt it will be able to break the $1 billion mark though. And both "The Watch" and "Total Recall" are officially flops.

Click here to read our "The Expendables 2" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Peter Parker writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 8:18:42 PM

"Whitney Houston's final movie "Sparkle""

- I admit, I laughed.

Peter Parker writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 8:24:11 PM

""The Expendables 2" Tops Box Office with $28 Million, Less Than First Film"

- Yeah, but this second installment got several women pregnant just by sitting through the movie and inspired even more men to shoot other men in the face.
And that should count for something as well.
Peter Parker writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 8:29:15 PM

""The Expendables 2" Tops Box Office with $28 Million"

- And that's just counting ONE theater!
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 8:48:48 PM

Nice beard Chuck. What shade of Just For Men hair coloring is that, cause I'm thinking of giving me pubes a touch-up?
Peter Parker writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 9:25:39 PM

R.I.P., cress.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 9:40:10 PM

I think the diminished returns for Ex2 has something to do with the novelty of the concept wearing thin, and adding more old 'action stars' isn't going to help.

Tip to Stallone: think REALLY hard about Ex3, bud. Think about what you need to make the second sequel fresh, but mark my words: adding even more Soylent Green isn't going to help.

I'm trying to think of what you can do, but...unless you and boys go into space to battle Darth Vader, or you add some real star power, someone more than a teeny heart throb, it ain't gonna happen.

Maybe a Transformers/LOTRs/Twilight crossover or something.

Expendables 3: Lord of the TransTwilighters. Whatever.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 10:53:39 PM

I'm not surprised, I think the 3rd will be the final one and it'll tank.
Raider writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 10:59:44 PM

EX3 should be a stand alone film. Dont call it Expendables 3. Think of a new title Maybe a Spinoff of Arnolds characters team? Sly and the other expendables could still be in it but more as supporting characters.
Barney Stinson writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 11:01:36 PM

"Many doubt it will be able to break the $1 billion mark though."

We know that YOU think it won't break a 1 billion.

Don't forget, it still hasn't opened in China, Italy, Greece, and a couple of Middle Eastern countries. It'll definitely struggle to get across the mark, but it would be nice to see it happen.
_JB_ writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 12:02:26 AM

Peter Parker = ranger
Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 12:14:14 AM

Tony Scott (Ridley's brother) commits suicide.

_JB_ = Mike Myer's 'Fat Bastard.'
Barney Stinson writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 12:19:41 AM

@Ranger - Holy sh*t, I thought you were joking for a minute there. Nothing on Yahoo or anything yet. Had to Google it to find the story.

Shame, I liked some of his films.
Barney Stinson writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 12:26:33 AM

No scratch that. After looking at his IMDb page, I see that I like many of his films.

They say he left a suicide note on his Prius.
Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 12:43:35 AM

Maybe owning the Prius was enough to push the man over the edge?

RIP Tony.
OneTime writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 12:52:32 AM

i seen it today...worst movie ever


it still made me hard.
Rambo writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 1:21:22 AM

And both "The Watch" and "Total Recall" are officially flops.

Total Recall was a disaster.


Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 1:22:14 AM

I vote OneTime be the new movie reviewer here on WP!
pornfly writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 1:26:30 AM

second
Peter Parker writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 4:21:20 AM

_JB_, a n*gger with a chip on his shoulder. A walking, typing cliché.

Boring.
Next troll, please.
_JB_ writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 6:17:08 AM

I don't even know who this is your all fools. How is this movie news anyhow
Peter Parker writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 6:33:48 AM

Apparently, you don't even know punctuation rules either.

Is there something you DO know?

P.S.: Stuffing your face with fried chicken doesn't count.
the eye writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 7:11:33 AM

Good... I'm glad this sh*t failed! I wouldn't download this sh*t for free!

f*ck chuck!
trailertrash writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 7:14:30 AM

... And f*ck you to
the eye writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 7:40:46 AM

I knew some p*ssy would step up and defend her man... that d*ck must be good to you trailertrash; gett'in all emotional & sh*t!
"Trailertrash" you and chuck wouldn't happen to cousins would you?
trailertrash writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 7:56:01 AM

Trailertrash you and chuck wouldn't happen to cousins would you?

Sorry, If your looking for acceptance because you f*ck your male cousins it ain't happening fella.
the eye writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 10:24:46 AM

Trashyass... what the hell are you talking about??? That's it... that's your comeback? "Sorry, If your looking for acceptance because you f*ck your male cousins it ain't happening fella." What has it been... 30 years since you had sex with a mammal before chuck the f*ck?
Damn, you must be some back-water ass, hillbilly ass, redneck ass if that's all you can come up with.
Like I said "pansy-ass bitches."
trailertrash writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 10:58:33 AM

You want my c*mback, You'd best ask your mom to spit that sh*t back up again, home boy
the eye writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 12:08:30 PM

Didn't your mom take a sh*t and you came out...? I believe it's called an anal birth, produced when the sperm of a drunk man meets the sh*t of a prostitute! Too bad she didn't flush!
Later Trailer*Park*Trash
trailertrash writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 2:15:51 PM

Errrrr I think you maybe getting confused with your own mom's back door (which she loves btw) story on how you were born.

Bang out of order if you ask me, Trying to explain to you thats why you're black.
Dark4ever writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 2:48:49 PM

i dont want to start something but trailertrash your insults are a pain to read lol
Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 3:14:39 PM

@_JB_: look up (yes... 'look up') the differences and the proper usage of:

'your' and 'you're'

You fat, f*cking disgrace of a human being.
trailertrash writes:
on August 20th, 2012 at 5:51:17 PM

@whoeveryouaretoday

dont want to start something but trailertrash your insults are a pain to read lol

Well if you will c*m onto WP while your being gang raped, It's gonna hurt isn't it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved