WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Who's The Next Big Hollywood Movie Star?

Posted: August 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
WhoSubmit Comment
There are plenty of Hollywood stars, like Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt and Will Smith, but their star-power is not what it used to be. Movie studios are constantly searching for the next big actor, with many incorrectly banking on Brandon Routh (Superman Returns) and Taylor Lautner (Twilight) in the past. And at one point, Dwayne Johnson was supposed to replace Arnold Schwarzenegger as Hollywood's biggest action star. That obviously didn't happen either.

THR decided to see which actors are the next possible stars that studios can consider "bankable." Channing Tatum is the obvious choice since his last three films (The Vow, 21 Jump Street, Magic Mike) were all big hits. Warner Bros has been betting on Tom Hardy (Inception, The Dark Knight Rises), while Sony has had success with Emma Stone (Easy A, The Amazing Spider-Man).

Since getting an Oscar nomination for "Winter's Bone," Jennifer Lawrence has become a leading actress, taking on two massive franchises, "X-Men: First Class" and "The Hunger Games." She is rumored to earn $10 million for "The Hunger Games" sequel. And then there's her "X-Men" co-star Michael Fassbender, who has starred in "Prometheus," "Inglourious Bastards" and "Haywire."

There are plenty of other names being thrown around. Take a look at the list below and let us know who will be the next Hollywood star.

* Channing Tatum

* Tom Hardy

* Ema Stone

* Jennifer Lawrence

* Michael Fassbender

* Chris Hemsworth

* Kristen Stewart

* Jessica Chastain

* Andrew Garfield

* Scarlett Johansson

* Robert Pattinson

* Daniel Radcliffe

* Chris Pine

* Shia LaBeouf

* Taylor Kitsch


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 94 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
birnam writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:04:00 PM

Half the list has been around for a while now and are already pretty big.
bane writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:05:10 PM

Channing Tatum can't be taken seriously

Hardy amazing actor
but has no desire to be a ''star''

* Emma Stone too funny

* Fassbender too serious to be a star

* Chris Hemsworth heath wannabe

* Kristen Stewart hated by fans

* Chastain character actress not a star

* Andrew Garfield hugh grant bull****

* Robert Pattinson twilight nothing more

* Daniel Radcliffe has been

* Chris Pine too smug

* Shia LaBeouf too weak
velocityknown writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:06:06 PM

Well Fassbender's the best actor around these days.

So not him.

I'd say Jennifer Lawerence. She's got the advantage of having a franchise that isn't 50% loved, 50% loathed. She also benefitted from starting more independent and going mainstream. Unlike Stewart who kind of burst on (no one remembered her from Panic Room) and immediately irritated everyone with her scowl.

Male wise, probably Hemsworth. Ladies like him cause he's, well, Chris Hemsworth and the fanboys like him for Avengers and Cabin in the Woods.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:12:58 PM

If you mean Movie God big, then "none of the above".

Legends are born, they aren't created.
Big_Daddy writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:23:30 PM

My vote?

Anton Yelchin

Kids got some chops
Zaftig writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:30:16 PM

@big_daddy

Agree, Yelchin is great.

@WP

Scarlett Johansson? What's she in again?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:33:00 PM

It's easily Fassbender. Tatum can't act for sh*t and Daniel Radcliffe is literally retarded, I've never seen such awkward, lifeless acting. Scarlett Johansson and Tom Hardy already are Hollywood stars. Shia LaBeouf and Taylor Kitsch need to get brutally mauled by pigeons for the good of humanity.
Barney Stinson writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:39:42 PM

I have no f*cking clue, nor do I care.

I just wanted to say that Jessica Chastain is so f*cking hot.
Doucheception writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:50:44 PM

Michael Fassbender, His work in Iglorious Bastards, and X-Men: First Class are what made me choose, not to mention he was pretty much the only good thing about Prometheus.
GuynamedLloyd writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:51:23 PM

Some might say no, that he isn't that new, but he is newer than others on the list. He was a hit in the first movie he has been in and is the go to guy for most blockbusters today. It's crazy to not even have him on the list. Jeremy Renner. Anybody else can kiss my ass.
GuynamedLloyd writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:53:15 PM

Well, at least best know for the movie The Hurt Locker
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:53:33 PM

The other issue is that all the people we think of as being movie legends actually worked in a time when Hollywood made legendary films.

No legendary films, no movie legends.

(And no, 21 Jump Street and Prometheus aren't this generation's Breakfast Club and Alien, or if they are, ye be f*cked.)
mr_bono writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 9:54:44 PM

Next movie star will be between; Chris Pine, Liam Hemsworth and Jeremy Renner.

But Tom Hardy and Michael Fassbender are the best actors
Fightclub1 writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:08:53 PM

They are all great except Kristin Stewart...she sucks big foots d*ck. But in my honest opinion I'm
Going with Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hardy
pornfly writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:11:00 PM

No Tyler Perry?
Hes good at so many roles,his movies are so profitable and hes lighter therefore less threatening
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:14:03 PM

Black actors aren't usually legends except on the cell block, like what his name from that movie with that airplane passenger.

And that's only after they've made the biggest shank.
Dark4ever writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:24:02 PM

well where are the options ?
mehh0408 writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:33:13 PM

Lmao, what is shia doing on that list ?
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:34:43 PM

^^For you? HIV or rectal hemorrhage would be my guess.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:50:34 PM

Michael Fassbender and Tom Hardy.

Everyone else should be ashamed to show their face on a film.
triggax writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:54:22 PM

If we're talking Brando status.. Hoffman, DeNiro, Pacino status. Mink hit the nail on the head.

Actors of that caliber aren't simply made famous by studios.

My bet is on Cillian Murphy, Gordon Levitt and possibly that kid that was in the new Tron flick, if he takes some acting lessons. Garret Hedlund.

The list above is bogus. Hardy obviously and Fassbender is a give in, much like Ryan Gosling and possibly Ben Foster.

That list is so f*cking TMZ it's making my head hurt. WTF Alex.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:56:05 PM

Henry Cavill.

If Nolan does his 'magic' on Man of Steel, Cavill may end up as big as Bale at some point. Maybe.

Problem is, Cavill won't ever appeal to teens and virtual teens (adult children) the same way stripper dude does, so when you say 'bankable' you have to specify from which audience you're doing the banking, and if it's the Twilight crowd, or the 15 to 28 demographic, you're NEVER going to get another Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt or Clint Eastwood, because people in that demo are f*cking morons, and they enjoy watching garbage movies, so there's that too.

So I guess there's a difference now between box office draw and being a good actor. Used to be, they were essentially the same, but then, the audience of yore wasn't a bunch of mindless dip sh*ts.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:56:29 PM

"Gordon Levitt"

Yes.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 10:59:24 PM

'Legends are born, they aren't created.'

Thx. mink.

As for this list... seriously (no... seriously)... there has to be more choices than this. I think superstar(dom) is limited these days because movies suck.

At the tail-end of huge stars in the biz, we have an aging Hopkins. Brad Pitt is huge... but he seems to be winding down (Harrison Ford-style). Tom Cruise made a big c*m-back (yeah... I spelled that right Travolta!). And we say the last of the big(ger) pay-days with RDJ get in under the wire as a desperate Marvel wanted to run on his name, yet offer a pathetic $300K to Chris Evans as Capt. America (then scaled up to a $30mil pay-day is he makes it... or they use him up to 10 movies - which, if they do will have made BILLION$ on Evans as Capt. America, so they won't care).

But Kristen Steward being a Marilyn Monroe, Rita Hayworth or Hepburn sister big. No a chance.

Robert Patz has amazed most that he's broken away well from the Twatlight sh*t-fest. Good on him. I hope he finds the man of his creams (yeah... I spelled that right Travolta!) and dumps the angry lesbo (I know... both in the same sentence is redundant) behind. He bung-hole needs a break from her strap-on anyway. But seriously lady n' germs... I'd probably let her nail me in the crapper if I got a crack at hers too!

Charlize Theron could be big. But again... when was the huge, classic '10 Commandments'- type flick made? Right... Gladiator. Russell Crowe with (said) Glatiator, A Beautiful Mind, American Gangster, LA Confidential, and... damn, I'm missing one, and NO it isn't f*cking Robin Hood! OH... Cinderella Man. RC would be huge IF Hollywood made movies like those more often. Denzel is huge. I man can do no wrong. But the list above is pretty much the kids in the biz (30ish and under). Shia c*nt (yeah... I said c*nt Travolta) keep his mouth shut. That f*cker destroys more bridges than the Allies in WWII for Christ's sake!

Who looks promising? Ummm... ?

Who's The Next Big Hollywood Movie Star?

Me!
triggax writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:00:28 PM

McLovin's got my vote as well.

And Jay Baruchel in a comedic sense. He has some kind of quirky attitude. I'd like to see him in a follow up to Captain Ron, to be honest, for some reason I've been saying this for years.

I want Kurt Russel back as Captain Ron. Starring Jay Baruchel as the reluctant vacationer who hilariously gets fooled into letting Kurt Russel captain his inheritance from his long lost Uncle Seamus.

Seriously. Best Picture oscar for sure.
triggax writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:03:15 PM

Chris Evans has America, f*ck yeah written all over him.

He was great in Sunshine, he shows real f*cking promise. I think Captain America may have been a career low for him.

Puncture, recently was also quite good. He can act and he's f*cking handsome with an easy to read name.

Who knows. Seems like a pompous c*nt though.

So long as Josh Hutcherson career stops immediately.

There is something seriously off putting about that kids f*cking face. Seriously.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:03:36 PM

Missing from this list of course is Jaden Smith, who will be made into a f*cking star whether we want him or not.
triggax writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:05:47 PM

Although hes f*cking old.

Brian Cranston is going places.

So long as he doesnt turn into the white Sam Jackson..

It's okay to turn certain movies down (read the script first 'total recall')
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:05:47 PM

And Andrew Garfield.

Can you imagine the future of film where Garfield and Smith are the Pitt and Cruise of their day?

*shudder*
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:08:03 PM

"Chris Evans has America, f*ck yeah written all over him."

Dude has no range, and if he was to ever take off, he'd have done it already.

And at this point, his career is pretty much cash-cowed out to Marvel, so he'll have to take some small bullsh*t films to fill the gaps, so by the time he's done being raped by the Evil Empire, he'll be far past his sell-by date.
triggax writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:08:35 PM

River Phoenix?

Neeevermind, he missed the boat.


Taylor Kitsch looks like River Phoenix, he might work.

Aaron Johnson, surprised me in both Kick Ass and Savages. You never know.

Speaking of Kick Ass..

What about Chloe Moretz? Ranger would stat rape the f*ck out of that. Whilst paying good money to see one of her films.
triggax writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:10:12 PM

Too true.

I suggest you check out Puncture though, Mink.

He had serious range.. Kind of.. Just have a watch, I can't say whether you'll like it or not, but it is certainly not a waste of time. Made me think of him as a much more serious talent.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:10:53 PM

@trig - do you even have to ask Buddy?
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:11:07 PM

"There is something seriously off putting about that kids f*cking face. Seriously."

Yeah it's called having a face so square it f*cking bends spacetime so his lips look like they're traveling back in time just to escape the gravity of his ugliness.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:11:59 PM

"River Phoenix?

Neeevermind, he missed the boat"



Yeah but he caught another on the Styx.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:15:43 PM

"He had serious range.. Kind of.. Just have a watch, I can't say whether you'll like it or not, but it is certainly not a waste of time. Made me think of him as a much more serious talent."

Yeah, sure, probably, but besides you, who else saw it? IMDb shows almost 300k ratings for The Avengers, and only 9k for Puncture.

Great film or not, it doesn't help him if the population of Mexican prison was the film's entire worldwide audience.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:16:12 PM

Just wait till this list is redone for next year and justin Bieber is on it.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:17:18 PM

..a..
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:18:14 PM

"and justin Bieber is on it."

Bieber is already on it. Now he just have to lick it clean.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:18:51 PM

..has..

f*cking English. I hate you!
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:22:53 PM

Nah. Just kidding. You're my whore.


Anyway, my vote's on Micheal J. Fox. I hear he's been shaking things up recently.
triggax writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:28:09 PM

Michael J Fox is a national f*cking treasure, you take that back!!!

LOL.

Who is Michael J Fox's arch nemesis?





The Etcha Sketch.



That's what 15 years of f*cking ecstacy addiction does to a man.

Still think The Hard Way was his best work.

f*ckin' James Woods, bad f*cking ass.
triggax writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:32:41 PM

Freddie Prinze Junior.

Ryan Philippe

Matthew Lillard

Skeet Ulrich

Jamie Kennedy

The cast of the first Scream film.



And.... Ice Cube. I see big things in that young mans future.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:32:51 PM

"Who is Michael J Fox's arch nemesis?"



A pair of sharp scissors?
Dark4ever writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:57:04 PM

lmaoooo minkowski your hilarious. actually no you are not your a f*ckING idiot
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 11:58:13 PM

The Hard Way was a very entertaining movie, and I' agree. MJF was on his game for that one.

The scene with Woods beating up the cigarette machine or giving that speech to Fox about 'WE ONLY GET 1 TAKE... AND IT LASTS OUR WHOLE LIFE!!!' Priceless.
Dark4ever writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:01:25 AM

ranger your words have less meaning than the last sh*t i took
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:01:54 AM

@Dark - aren't there any loaded firearms in your trailer you could go clean?
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:03:52 AM

@Dark - Zzzz...
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:05:28 AM

Even for being a retard Dark... your non-contributing posts are barely tolerable. I laugh, because you're stupid. But... it's sad you consume air to exist.
Dark4ever writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:09:05 AM

you brought this upon yourself ranger....
but if you wish to comply you can redeem yourself
i am not a man of grudges
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:10:22 AM

I am. I'll f*ck your mother with a pick-axe.
Dark4ever writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:12:59 AM

ranger your very poor choice of words will be great unfortunate turns for you my friend...
i gave you options but yet you wish to bite the hand that feeds you
good luck
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:15:57 AM

Thx. Bro. Good luck back'atcha!

PS: 'will be great unfortunate turns for you my friend...' --- I have no f*cking idea (COC) what that means.
Dark4ever writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:20:36 AM

over the previous years of my surfing this site and reading the news and comments, suprisinlgy i would find your comments stupid just like you but i would laugh because i thought your were funny but know that i see it the other way around, you are a sickinig and vile disgusting person ranger.
you like mink should consider a knife slit to the throat

p.s you will never know because lets face your a d*ckhead
RichardGrayson writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:20:42 AM

JGL
Fassbender
Hardy
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:26:13 AM

@Dark - your English is so bad. How about you just type in your native language, let me know what that is (because if you're as bad at that... I still won't have a clue), and I'll just use translation.com. Give up on English (like your loser parents gave up on you), because you SUCK at it. Loser, dipsh*t, f*ck-head.
Dark4ever writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:28:49 AM

anger isnt your prettiest color ranger...

dumbass
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:32:45 AM

I'm not angry. I just know you're a loser.

There's a difference. I gather you've lost something in the translation.
Zeroguy writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:58:14 AM

Hardy is either going to f*ck all the competition (whether it be a man or woman) or eat them.

Chastain, no. She's wonderful, talented and beautiful. But I highly doubt she'll become a megastar. And I hope not either.

And Shia has kissed goodbye his Hollywood career. Good. Now he can get weird with all the foreign directors and their art fart films.
Dark4ever writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 1:05:05 AM

ranger i refuse to continue to stoop down to your level any longer..
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 1:21:16 AM

Dark- My middle finger gets a boner when I see you post! The only vagina that you're going to ever see is the one that you fell out of when you were born.
bane writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 1:32:17 AM

@ triggax

i was just watching a drama
with james woods
TOO BIG TO FAIL

exact same
more or less as my fave film of 2012
(so far)

MARGIN CALL
pH0u57 writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 1:46:16 AM

Fassbender & Hardy for sure!
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 2:44:46 AM

@Dark - go suck some more d*ck.
Venom1970 writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:05:24 AM

Out of the list I personally like
Scarlett Johansson
Tom Hardy
Ema Stone
Michael Fassbender
Chis Hemsworth (Lol prob because we are both Aussies)

not listed and my personal choice
Joseph Gorden-Levitt loved his movie Hesher can play a large range of roles.

I dont mind Odette Annable apart from acting ability she has an amazing ass!

Also like to add in Alexander Skarsgård he has had some minor roles and personally believe he steals the show True blood. Father is a sadistic f*ck in many films so feel he could possibly have the same screen presence. Felt he should have gained Thor Role.

Venom1970 writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:09:22 AM

@dark you are a f*ckwit. You contribute NOTHING just bag people for contributing. I know I know, you don't care what I say. I'm not a daily user here nor recognised but at least I contribute to the topics and give credit when its due. Your a boring c*nt with no real ability to insult,Your an attention seeking mosquito, annoyingly hovering around.
Rambo writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:17:57 AM

fassbender and hardy are good.the others not.
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:22:55 AM

@Venom - I'm going to hire Gerard Depardieu to piss on Dark.
zxz writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:23:40 AM

I would say Tom Hardy. I think he was great as Bane and will be great as Mad Max. I think ScarJo will have more success as well.
trailertrash writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:51:21 AM

Next big star ?? LOL

You mean which one will jump on the next big franchise !!
MovieQueen87 writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:58:26 AM

I think LaBeouf could hang in there if he quits boozing it up. He's got the skills, just not the looks. As for Pine and Kitsch, they have looks (not ones I'd prefer), but they act for s*^%. I don't even think Lee Strasberg could save these people.
trailertrash writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:59:03 AM

Dark - go suck some more d*ck.


More d*ck Ranger, I don't think there's any more time in the day left that he isn't chowing down on c*ck.

He will have to learn to gobble, swallow and sleep at the same time.
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 4:03:48 AM

I figured (hoped) he'd work his way into the African villages and give those AID-soaked people one more for the gipper!
trailertrash writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 4:23:46 AM

He could call that charity sucking trip

LIVE:AIDs
Venom1970 writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 4:42:21 AM

@Ranger he would enjoy that, gay golden shower and all. So lets just punch the living f*ck out of him ... lol I would if I didn't live so far away
Sev writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 5:38:06 AM

Yeah aren't they all pretty much big Hollywood stars anyway??? O__O
Peter Parker writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 6:22:26 AM

"Who's The Next Big Hollywood Movie Star?"

- Heath Ledger?
Bullit writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 10:09:56 AM

Mink & Ranger got it right. Let's not confuse the bankable and the real actors here.

Obviously, we currently don't have the generation of talents like Brando, de Niro, Pacino, etc. Instead we are imposed to have Channing Rectum and Co. We just have good actors not living young legends right now. Yes, Fassbender is good but I'm still disappointed with his performance in "Shame". What a despicable and unnecessary character he had to play.

I don't think Tom Hardy and Pattinson will get to the level of the genuine ones.

So, what's left? Daniel Day Lewis and Hoffman.
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 11:24:28 AM

DDL & Fiennes. Hopkins is a given. But all 3 are out of this joke kiddies list. So... short answer is: no one.

Whether people like Cruise )although I still say he peaked with 'Born on the 4th of July'... but that's just me) or not. None on that list can I see reaching that 'Superstar' status. Imagine ANY on that list compared with John Wayne, James Stewart or Henry Fonda, Robert Mitchem, Charleton Heston, Humphrey Bogart, Brando (obvious one), even Edward G. Robinson - as attractive as a jar of trolls foreskins... yet he still made BIG Hollywood status.

Yeah Hollywood. Nice mis-management of your cattle.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:02:15 PM

Names first comment summed it up pretty good.
Bullit writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:02:15 PM

@Ranger: Again, who could I forget Ralph Fiennes? Silly me.

In addition with your post, John Huston def belongs to your list.

I completely forgot that 4th of July and yes that was his best film.
Bullit writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 12:02:54 PM

*who = how..
Zeroguy writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 1:40:06 PM

RobPat has been trying his best to distance himself from the twilight franchise. Cosmopolis, a Werner Herzog film, The Rover.

I think it's the smaller name actors who shine best, actors like Jesse Eisenberg or Paul Dano.
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 2:57:00 PM

@Bullit - years ago... when Siskel & Ebert still did their show. They had a 'Tom & Tom' night (Cruise and Hanks). And it came down to their vote on Cruise's top movie after the commercial break. I had to take a major dump (turtle head was poking out!)... so I turned up the tube and listened from the throne. Yeah... it was unanimous betwix the 2. Born on the 4th of July. No surprise really (not for me).
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 3:19:43 PM

@Bullit - and Laura Linney on the ladies side. Then again... Hollywood (LA Hollywood) again makes films up to her's or other top-notch actor's capabilities.
Man in Black writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 4:58:43 PM

Fassbender because he can act and picks his roles well or has one hell of an agent , and Stone because I'm a sucker for a redhead . ( Yes i know she is a natural blonde , I don't care. )
Future writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 5:05:27 PM

'Black actors aren't usually legends except on the cell block, like what his name from that movie with that airplane passenger.

And that's only after they've made the biggest shank.'

So Morgan Freeman, Denzel Washington, Forest Whintaker, and Sidney Poitier aren't legends? All great actors and oscar winners but not legends?

Eddie Murphy and Will Smith have some of the highest box office numbers but they aren't legends?

Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 5:16:29 PM

@Future - I'm a HUGE fan of all on your list.

I'd say as far as 'legend' status is concerned: Sidney Poitier for SURE. As he's been in some of the most socially relevant movies of the 20th century. Denzel... I couldn't like an actor more. But I don't throw 'lengendary' around as easily as I do my shaft into chicks. Again... HUGE fan of ALL on your list. But SP is a (living) legend for sure. Denzel will be remembered as well. I ALWAYS knew Forrest was capable and Hollywood FINALLY gave him his (over)due in Last King of Scotland. Will and Eddie. Big box office #'s. But 'legends'? No.
Bullit writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 5:32:32 PM

@Future: My apologies; I love Denzel Washington as much as I love Jimi Hendrix and he's def on the top of that list.

So WAS Eddie Murphy but somehow he became a real prick within the years. And take it from a man who's actually white with blond hair and blue eyes.
Future writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 5:37:09 PM

Eddie Murphy and Will Smith aren't legends as far as acting goes. But in my opinion most black actors don't have the power to carry an entire movie and have it pass the $100 million mark. Will Smith has it. Eddie Murphy had it but lost it.
Future writes:
on August 18th, 2012 at 6:17:10 PM

The Next Awards:

Michael Fassbender - The Next Peter O'Toole. But may get an oscar.

Jennifer Lawrence - The Next Julia Roberts.

Robert Pattinson - The Next Hayden Christensen. He'll try but won't get anywhere.

Chris Hemsworth - A much better Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Shia Labeouf - The Next Johnny Depp. Likes to do everything his way.

Taylor Kitsch - NEXT. Who Cares?

Emma Stone - The Next Cameron Diaz. But not as fun to look at.

Scarlett Johansson - A much better looking Meg Ryan.

Tom Hardy - The Next Sean Connery.

Jessica Chastain - The Next Reese Witherspoon.

Andrew Garfield - The Next Ewan McGregor.

Channing Tatum - The Next Mark Wahlberg. Box Office draw but NOT a great actor.

Chris Pine - Call me crazy on this one. The Next Bill Murray. Not as funny but better looking "no homo". Has Box Office power but won't use it.

Daniel Radcliffe - Another crazy one. The next Jude Law. People will talk about him but won't pull out anything big from here on out.

Kristen Stewart - The Next... Kirsten Dunst.

minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 1:21:32 PM

"So Morgan Freeman, Denzel Washington, Forest Whintaker, and Sidney Poitier aren't legends? All great actors and oscar winners but not legends?"

Well, it was a facetious remark, intentionally so, but these people you list...yeah, not really legends.

Morgan Freeman almost always plays the subordinate role of Wise Negro, or The Narrator. He's never taken a role that did more than patronizingly endear him to whites. Sure, he's a good actor, and sure he's earned his awards, but he's no f*cking legend.

Denzel Washington's easily my favorite in your list, but even then, he's still no legend, hardly recognized with whites and in general not really acclaimed by blacks, with the exception of middle-class black women. He's done nothing to make himself a legend. Lots of roles, nothing that stands out, really. Some quirks, but nothing that leaves anyone really impressed.

Being successful isn't the same as being a legend.

Forest Whittaker? Can't stand the fat frog-faced bastard. He's has some chops, but he's enormously forgettable in pretty much every film in which he appears, even when playing a historically reviled African dictator, which should such a walk-on ease for him, subsequent but ephemeral acclaim should be a no-brainer, yet who the hell knows him, outside film dork circles? Nobody.

And Sidney Poitier. Meh. How much of his acclaim was generated by guilt-ridden whites looking to find an actor they could exalt? Can't say I've seen too much of the man's work, but again, what I've seen isn't impressive. He just sits and talks a lot. Hell, I do that. Give me an award.

Yeah, awards, success, but no legends. Not to me, not to most people. Will Smith is more of a legend than these four, because as I see it, the common folk make a man a legend, not the elites.
Future writes:
on August 19th, 2012 at 7:51:22 PM

'Well, it was a facetious remark, intentionally so, but these people you list...yeah, not really legends.

Morgan Freeman almost always plays the subordinate role of Wise Negro, or The Narrator. He's never taken a role that did more than patronizingly endear him to whites. Sure, he's a good actor, and sure he's earned his awards, but he's no f*cking legend.

Denzel Washington's easily my favorite in your list, but even then, he's still no legend, hardly recognized with whites and in general not really acclaimed by blacks, with the exception of middle-class black women. He's done nothing to make himself a legend. Lots of roles, nothing that stands out, really. Some quirks, but nothing that leaves anyone really impressed.

Being successful isn't the same as being a legend.

Forest Whittaker? Can't stand the fat frog-faced bastard. He's has some chops, but he's enormously forgettable in pretty much every film in which he appears, even when playing a historically reviled African dictator, which should such a walk-on ease for him, subsequent but ephemeral acclaim should be a no-brainer, yet who the hell knows him, outside film dork circles? Nobody.

And Sidney Poitier. Meh. How much of his acclaim was generated by guilt-ridden whites looking to find an actor they could exalt? Can't say I've seen too much of the man's work, but again, what I've seen isn't impressive. He just sits and talks a lot. Hell, I do that. Give me an award.

Yeah, awards, success, but no legends. Not to me, not to most people. Will Smith is more of a legend than these four, because as I see it, the common folk make a man a legend, not the elites.'

I'm almost 100% sure you don't believe any of that garbage you just said. Besides DDL and Gary Oldman what other actor can steal scenes from Denzel Washington. Tom Hanks said playing in a film with Denzel Washington is like going back to acting school. Now name someone on this list who's resume can compete with Tom Hank.

I don't believe you've seen any of Sidney Poitier's films but If you haven't seen much of his work then your opinion on him really doesn't matter much and you shouldn't have made a comment.

So what if Morgan Freeman doesn't take roles that endear to whites. Every actor has the audience that they play to. DDL doesn't play in films that the average moviegoer would watch unless being recommended. But he still wins an oscar almost every time he's nominated. Will Smith plays to the average moviegoer thats why his films make so much money. But he's been nominated for an oscar twice. Tom hanks plays to both audiences and has 2 oscars.

So what if you don't like Forest Whintaker's face. You receive awards for the talent not the look or how popular you are. That's why he has an oscar and Brad Pitt doesn't.

As far as Denzel Washington not being acclaimed by blacks or not playing to whites. He has 12 NAACP awards, 3 Bet awards, 1 BAFTA/LA Award, 3 Black Reel awards, 2 Oscars, 2 Golden Globes, and 13 Image Awards. His Box Office gross is at $1.965.7 billion. That's more then Leonardo Dicaprio, DDL, Christian Bale, Jack Nicholson, Anthony Hopkins, Angelina Jolie, Clint Eastwood, Meryl Streep, and everyone who plays in "The Expendables". As far as his work not being outstanding. Name someone else who would have gotten called to play in Glory, Malcolm X, Training Day, The Hurricane, Philadelphia, Man on Fire and John Q.

Name an actor besides Tom Hanks who's Box Office gross is higher then Eddie Murphy's. There isn't one. Name an actor who has more 1# films then Will Smith. There isn't one.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved