WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Cronenberg Says "The Dark Knight Rises" is Boring and Stupid

Posted: August 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Cronenberg Says "The Dark Knight Rises" is Boring and StupidSubmit Comment
While promoting "Cosmopolis," director David Cronenbeg was asked if he would ever consider directing a superhero film, considering that he's done such films as "The Fly" and "A History of Violence."

"A superhero movie, by definition, you know, it's comic book. It's for kids. It's adolescent in its core," he replied. "That has always been its appeal, and I think people who are saying 'The Dark Knight Rises' is supreme cinema art, I don't think they know what the f*ck they're talking about."

Cronenberg went on to admit that he liked other Christopher Nolan movies, like "Memento," but found the Batman trilogy "boring." He recognized the films' technical brilliance, but added that they are "still Batman running around in a stupid cape."

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight Rises" review.

Source: NextMovie


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Damon242 writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:05:20 PM

I'm curious,

Would he call Watchmen "adolescent in its core"?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:26:45 PM

Cronenberg. I agreed with you on the headline, but your hate for this movie is misplaced.

Yes, the dark knight rises is boring. Yes, absolutely the dark knight rises is stupid. Stupid for so many reasons. But because it tries to appeal to an older demographic than the typical superhero movie isn't one of them.

Joel Schumacher once said "They're called comic books, not drama books!" Cronenberg's comments are on the same level of idiocy.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:34:47 PM

David Cronenberg is a smug motherf*cker and not every movie he makes came from the heavens like he thinks. He's made some good ones but he's always been very full of himself. Christopher Nolan may be that way too but he doesn't talk sh*t about other filmmakers like Cronenberg has many times in the past.
boogiel writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:37:28 PM

LOL! There's always some old fart that comes along and insults the artwork of the younger generation. These type of people are the kind that still rock hallway beads and plastic on their couches and still think it's an elegant look. Oh, btw Those Nolanites are not gonna happy about this and he should be careful from now on or he'll ended up in obituary news.

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:40:38 PM

By the way, I saw Cosmopolis, the only time I've ever walked out of a movie.

I hated TDKR as much as the next guy with a brain in his noggin, but at least it kept me in my seat the entire way through.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:44:17 PM

It was a tad boring and 45 minutes too long.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:53:46 PM

I want Nikolai kicking ass again as he promised so shut up and make that happen. And yes, Bale looks stupid but lets not forget about Jeff Goldblum with make up on
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:56:50 PM

An interesting perspective from one film auteur to another. I wonder if Nolan finds Cronenberg's films boring and stupid. The Superhero medium has long surpassed adolescent themes and moved into adult themes. Look at graphic novel formats these days which feature stories that include sexual fantasies, rape, murder, genocide, political corruption, mutilation, genetic experimentation, voyeurism...these themes all start to sound like a typical Cronenberg film. The only difference is that the protagonist may be wearing a so-called "stupid cape". Cronenberg's comments have an air of smugness in that he believes Superhero films are intended for kids or for adults who still yearn for adolescent themes. I doubt he would ever express this view at Comicon. I think it would be very interesting if Cronenberg were to create a Superhero film so maybe he can demonstrate to the world what an adult comic book movie would look like. A lot of Cronenberg's films have a look of mind bending fantasy of twisted convoluted forms as if the protagonist is tripping out on drugs and seeing things not meant to be seen. He is a highly experimental director who perhaps does not wish to cross over to comic books. That should be his answer instead of slamming Batman, one of the greatest fictional characters ever created.
pornfly writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:02:19 PM

If i was in a position such as his,i would stop the complaining and start with the fixing

Change the game
With all these superhero movies, now is the perfect time to set a new standard
Set yourself apart
Redefine the genre
Bitch
mrstretch writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:03:35 PM

A History of Violence = boring
Eastern Promises= boring and stupid
Most of your movies are boring stupid and overated .
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:05:00 PM

@pornfly

Exactly. If Cronenberg understands what comic book fans and film-fanatics alike want from a superhero movie, let him make one that'll surely blow us all away.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:05:55 PM

Any director who casts Robert Pattinson needs to reevaluate his judgment on films. I mean the guy is a great director no doubt. I am unfortunately one has not seen Eastern Promises, which I hear is unbelievable. Still, some of his movies are very bizarre and lack themes altogether and become just films of gruesomeness. I mean History of Violence was alright, but it was predictable. I honestly thought Dark Knight Rises was cinematic art, not because it was in the superhero genre, but because it transcended that genre to display rather brilliant themes that Nolan thought out from day one. If anything, RISES is a brilliantly thought out picture, which is more than you can say for some of Cronenberg's films. Just saying.
WV-Films writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:17:43 PM

History of Violence was a f*ckin comicbook. What an idiot.
Raider writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:20:15 PM

Perhaps if Bruce Wayne had a skin virus that mutated him and throughout the film you see Bruce Wayne's skin virus turning him into a creature of some sort would you like it then David?
c-prime writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:29:36 PM

"A History of Violence" was adapted from a comic book/graphic novel/whatever the f*ck. Had he been conscious of that fact during the interview, methinks he wouldn't have made as disparaging a remark about the medium as a whole. More than likely, he misspoke and his beef is merely with the concept of costumed crimefighters, rather than the entire comic format.

I can get onboard with the "supreme cinema art" sentiment, but that's about all.
c-prime writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:30:48 PM

And it seems "WV-Films" beat me to post. Ah, well...
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:30:58 PM

@Sleuth - you bring up a good point. I don't recall Cronenberg ever having made a complete trilogy which stretches out his thoughts and interests into three distinct yet intricately tied films. Nolan has done this. Right or wrong, as I know I have endlessly debated the virtues and flaws of TDK trilogy on WP with others, Nolan has at least fulfilled his goal in presenting the lifelong Bruce Wayne/Batman tragic story. Perhaps this is the technical brilliance that Cronenberg admires in Nolan. In contrast, Cronenberg seems to enjoy making one off films each investigating something experimental about an aspect of the human mind, mutation of the body or an altered state of perception. I think it takes a lot of dedication for Nolan to deliver 3 major films each one successful in their own right that also serve to compliment one another. Cronenberg cannot boast the same, since perhaps his attention span is not the same. Whose cape is stupid now?
bandolero999 writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:03:13 AM

why the f*ck do I always confuse David Lynch with David Cronenberg.

I like Viggo so he did a good job in History of violence and Eastern Promises.but they are slow paced movies though.
Luminus writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:17:15 AM

@boogiel. How can you blatantly steel my comment about this that I posted on another board and use it here as your own? Here is the original comment (4th post down, pg. 5):

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/rorschachsrants/news/?a=65779#comments
Luminus writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:23:03 AM

steal
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:39:43 AM

@Luminus - maybe he didn't steal it afterall. Maybe Boogiel is really Luminus. Or Luminus is really Boogiel. A Schizophrenic entity one of you made up. You are doppelgangers of each other stuck inside a Cronenbergian world whose revelation of each other's existence was triggered by the internet creating a post about the same subject. It was destined. Perhaps you two should meet and see if the Universe explodes from the space time continuum conundrum. Just f*cking with you dude (while keeping on the same subject matter of this post).
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:41:22 AM

^as evidence from the time signatures of the posts.
Luminus writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:48:14 AM

^You know, now that you've said that, you've inadvertently created a universe where that's true. Gotta love M theory.
Buckles44 writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:04:58 AM

I never really thought Batman was for kids. The only exception to this is The Animated Series. I mean if you look at the graphic novels some of them are twisted to the bone and some of them are great stories.
Two things missing from Nolan's trilogy is true character background and a mystery. The only scene I remember from any of the movie's was him figuring out which gun the bullet sh*t from in TDK.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:22:31 AM

@Luminus - I didn't create the universe. Or at least this universe. I believe it was someone named Alex who is the editor in chief of this funhouse. I'm just a visitor. From the caliber of posters who frequent WP, you can tell all sorts thrive and linger here. From the homeless, to the heartless, to the college professors, sexual deviants, pedophiles, voyeurs, honest working class folks, and of course comic book and Vulcan ear wearing sci-fi fans – gotta love ‘em (not to mention the trolls who lurk underneath bridges waiting for the right moment to spring up and sh*t on every word for their hate mongering reasons). Also if M Theory holds true, I bet right now, at this very instance, someone is plagiarizing my very words onto another movie website. Perhaps they even go by the name of “ednolb rm”. That would be cool. At least someone took the efforts to read my words and thought it was decent enough to lift. They say plagiarism is the highest form of paying someone a compliment (as long as props are given – a token something of acknowledgement). But what else can you expect from a cheap movie website?
mehh0408 writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:58:10 AM

he aint far from the truth
Rambo writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 3:18:17 AM

Misleading title:

Cronenberg is saying that the entire trilogy is boring and stupid and not just TDKR but because Alex adores TDK and hated TDKR he made a little adjustment to the title...right Alex?

Go f*ck yourself...
pornfly writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 3:38:38 AM

Neeson

Liam
Neeson
Sev writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:08:18 AM

This coming from the man who made History of Violence, thought I was gunna die of old age because of how slow paced that film was. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind long films with a slower pace, by my GOD that film took the piss!! O__O
trailertrash writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:24:06 AM

Batman will always be Batman running around in a stupid cape whether it's a kids film or not, Dumbass
trailertrash writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:26:19 AM

Mr B

"But what else can you expect from a cheap movie website?"

More tit pics maybe ?
Johnnyb writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:55:57 AM

I think Cronenberg is not realizing what Nolan has do with this franchise. Cronenberg speaks about cinema art or masterpiece, like it is representing real life and feeling in no other way has ever made before in the big screen and stupid. If he takes a look of most of the films that are made about superheroes, he will find out most of them lack of a good adaptation, characters and driving point to the climax which focus the interest of the audience and fans.

For Nolan, exploring Bruce Wayne's Batman is not the concept about what can someone do to administrate justice by using a suit and technology, but it is more about how someone can change society by using unconventional methods to administer the rightful justice the people deserves. Just look the cases of the Joker & co. How everything was crumbling by Batman's apparition, making Gotham unstable for the well being.

Cronenberg should reconsider Nolan's Batman more in human thematic of double identity and effects on others than just special effects and action scenes. So Mr. Crony more respect!!!!!
vaodsi writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 5:43:11 AM

LOL boring and stupid... and he's saying this during the press junket for COSMOPOLIS?
Serpico1988 writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 6:59:57 AM

First off, comparing The Dark Knight trilogy to Cronenberg's films last bunch of films is unfair.
now i love Nolan's work on Batman, i fking loved the mythology explored, the themes n everything. But i get DC's point, its fair enough - Since his standards of the kinds of stories being told, that he admires are correspondent with his self-professed intellect that he wants to see in films. I think he's right in a way actually. After all, i mean Batman, the concept, the cape, running around lol --let's get real , it is kinda over the top, in an incredible way. We just get sunk in to those films, because and i speak for myself here , i'm a pure fking Batman-Nolan geek. DC is simply refusing to be convinced by that whole portrayal of heroes in that particular manner.

And whoever thinks Eastern Promises and A History of violence are boring and stupid ----lol fk off you lot , is all i can say. Those movies were brilliant and i love Cronenberg for that.
billofill writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 9:37:27 AM

Never seen Eastern Promises but liked A History of Violence, which like people have pointed out it's based on a COMIC BOOK. I dont care if he didnt know about that till after post production, that aint my fault he's an idiot.
bane writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 9:54:15 AM

he made 2 of my fave movies

VIDEODROME
NAKED LUNCH
Serpico1988 writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 10:00:17 AM

Lol @Billofill
SACdaddy writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 11:20:11 AM

Hey I can't blame DC for thinking this way. His whole career is based in a far more artistic realm than what superhero genre has to offer. I could see a film like Chronicle appealing more to his sense of filmmaking more than Nolan's Batman series. I don't think he hated the films, I just think he didn't appreciate the reaction of these idiots calling them artistic masterpieces. And I totally agree.
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 11:47:40 AM

"You know, now that you've said that, you've inadvertently created a universe where that's true. Gotta love M theory"

That's total bullsh*t on so many levels.

Anyway, good for you, Cronenberg, you're spot on. Kid's films, not for grown adults, I agree, but let's face the facts you've made more than few 'boring' and downright unwatchable films yourself.

"why the f*ck do I always confuse David Lynch with David Cronenberg."

Because they both suck in that pretentious Salvador Dali sort of way.
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 11:49:37 AM

"it's based on a COMIC BOOK"

Yes, it is, but it LOOKS nothing like one, and that's the difference. TDK is based on a comic book, and it LOOKS like it's based on a comic book, whereas History of Violence lacks that mirror duality of juvenility.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 3:53:26 PM

@Mink - "You know, now that you've said that, you've inadvertently created a universe where that's true. Gotta love M theory"

That's total bullsh*t on so many levels.

Do you care to elaborate - as this other dude didn't. I recall you have a background in physics (right?) and would love to hear your version, dumbed down for the masses.
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:27:39 PM

"Do you care to elaborate"

No.
Zeroguy writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:52:19 PM

Cronenberg directed Scanners, the Fly and Crash... he's allowed to say these kind of things.
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 5:26:33 PM

spooky cupcakes: SHUT THE f*ck UP. Cronenberg has a right to say blanket statements about another man's art...even thouh i think he's wrong.


But you? You name is spooky cupcakes for Christ's sakes. You obviously are a piece of sh*t on the bottom of society's shoe.
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 6:52:14 PM

For once, and only this one time, I actually agree with the *sshole above me.

I'm sure this development portends something really, really bad...
TMD writes:
on August 17th, 2012 at 12:26:04 PM

you can't call DKR boring after making A Dangerous Method

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved