WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joseph Gordon-Levitt Explains "The Dark Knight Rises" Ending

Posted: August 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joseph Gordon-Levitt Explains "The Dark Knight Rises" EndingSubmit Comment
Joseph Gordon-Levitt is out there promoting his upcoming sci-fi film "Looper." During an interview with Jimmy Kimmel, he was asked to explain if he'll return as Robin in a new Batman movie.

"I don't get to decide those things," he said. When asked why Warner Bros would set him up as Robin and then not continue the franchise, Gordon-Levitt replied: "Honestly, I don't think it's necessarily a set up. I think it's a great ending for that trilogy and even if you go back to 'Batman Begins,' he's talking about how Batman is more than a man. He's a symbol. And a hero can be anybody, and we all have heroes inside of us. That's a theme that runs throughout the entire trilogy."

It sounds like the plan was never to further explore Robin, but to simply have Batman leave a legacy that another hero, like John Blake/Robin, could continue.

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight Rises" review.

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mariachi writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:27:36 PM

Anyone that thought any differently is a fool.
doneehoward writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:30:24 PM

Or... someone else can be batman because it's a symbol. A new actor can make a sequel with Robin. Also, he can still play Robin.
-fool
boogiel writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:33:43 PM

I would use JGL as Bruce Wayne/Batman in the reboot.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:38:15 PM

Who cares it's over with and the reboot is coming soon.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:15:30 PM

TDKR does leave the impression that Blake will continue as Gotham's next protector. Using the cave technology that Bruce bequeathed to him, we saw him rise on a podium as the screen fades to black. But Nolan has confirmed he has completed his work on the franchise. As good an actor as JGL is, he does not have the physical size to project an element of fear into those who would prey upon the weak. He would have made a decent Robin alongside TDK but that would have added too much to a movie which had a lot of action occurring at the same time. I think the recurring theme of hero within worked well in the trilogy with Bruce, Harvey and Blake respectively.
_JB_ writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:24:18 AM

Amazing actor amazing movie it was well made like most super-hero films. Excited about his next venture
Johnnyb writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:43:25 AM

I understand his point, but maybe just maybe they can adapt "A death in the Family" where Robin is killed, and then put Batman back in the game, making the reason that there is no one like Bruce Wayne to handle justice.
R3tr0burn3r writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 7:30:34 AM

I don't think there will be a spin off Robin movie, Nightwing more likely. Think about it, the character's name was Robin. Why would he call his alter ego after his first name?
That would be like me calling my superhero self Charlie.
Bob82 writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 8:37:25 AM

Even though I found TDKR to be pretty flawed, but overall a really entertaining movie; I thought the ending was pretty solid. A movie with an open ending doesn't mean it will directly have a sequel, it just finishes for people to continue it in their heads.

The fact that the studio wants to make a spin-off or a reboot doesn't mean that Chris Nolan finished this movie with that idea in mind.

My take on the ending: Wayne retires, and Blake takes the symbol of Batman to become either a new vigilante or a new take on Batman. But definitely not Robin! The "Robin" thing was just a little nod to the comics, no the fact that he will be Robin on his own fighting crime.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 11:04:01 AM

Yawn, do we really need to break down this idiot film even more. There's no spinoff. If there ever was meant to be one you'd think Batman would have at least left Robin some gas money for all the toys he left him. Maybe a League of Shadows Training Manual for Dummies might have been nice too.
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 11:41:47 AM

I think we got the ending, JGL, but thanks for the elaboration anyway...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved