WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" Advertising Angers Japanese Audiences

Posted: August 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" Advertising Angers Japanese AudiencesSubmit Comment
Marvel is planning to release "The Avengers" in Japanese theaters later this week, and to promote it, the studio has unveiled a banner with a bizarre tagline that has been upsetting some Japanese people.

The tagline is translated to "Hey Japan, THIS is a Movie." This angered novelist Toshihiko Yahagi, who said that he was offended, stating: "Having an American say 'Hey Japan, this is a movie' is deeply unpleasant."

Columnist Takashi Odajima pointed out that it sounds like colonialists talking to native people, "'Hey native people, this is culture.' Or the New York Times saying, 'Hey Japan, this is journalism.'"

Japanese Advertisement: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read our "The Avengers" review.

Source: Kotaku, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:29:20 PM

A bold and brazen joke much in the vein of the humour in The Avengers gets misinterpreted and hated on.

I thought at least the Nips would be smart enough to not be offended.
boogiel writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:45:38 PM

Me not likey.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 10:52:26 PM

Uh oh, asian women will be crazier drivers now, watch out everyone.
pornfly writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:24:32 PM

You can send your olympians to training camps at 6years old
You can fudge their age
You can dope them
You can decapitate them
You can remove their nails
Separate them from the rest of the world but
We're still #1

Too bad most of us look like #2
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 11:45:15 PM

To complete the tagline, Tony Stark should have his middle finger up. Might as well make it full on badass to drive the point.
pornfly writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:09:17 AM

^with Jules holdin his johnson
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:22:23 AM

^With Hulk having a sh*t stained toilet paper roll dangling outta his pants. Black Widow stepping on a used tampon. Thor holding a Godzilla doll in a headlock. And some of the others with their fly deliberately left open and c*m drolling down their pants (and some on Scarlett's cheek). Then perhaps I could imagine some Japanese getting offended.
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:03:04 AM

How about they take their sensitivities and shove them right up their tiny *ssholes?!

How much sh*t assembly instructions written by a Jap have offended my trying to put their sh*t together?!

Remember Hiroshima and Nagasaki bitches?!

STFU!

PS: I've paddleballed a few Japanese ladies in my life. I went pretty hard. You're welc*m.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:16:37 AM

^Hey America, THIS is a Sony!"

@Ranger - LOL your post. You must enjoy sushi.
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:28:19 AM

I do, I do. Had some this week (actual Sushi... not a lovely Japanese girl).

I've told some close friends lately I want my next girlfriend to be another Asian. Since then the Universe has been laying them out (figuratively... literally to c*m... come) in front of me like a red (or pink) carpet.

BA-BOING!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:39:08 AM

That is very United Nations of you. I too prefer Asian women as they generally taste sweeter and don't stink as much downstairs. Maybe that is why I like sushi and the taste of Mirin accompanied by a warm sake.

So where are you stationed now soldier? In Tokyo?
Johnnyb writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:43:31 AM

Well obviously they should fire Marvel-Disney Marketing director for this offense but at the same time they should fire him for this horrendous banner. Just look people how horrible, cheap and stupid looks, is like selling a movie in the streets, for god sake. marketing & co. Be more responsible for your attractiveness and looks of your products!!!!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 1:58:16 AM

@Mr. B... lol. Nope.
agentofcha0s writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 2:17:57 AM

This banner proves one thing, captain america isnt the team leader, but a p*ssy. Such bullsh*t.
Rambo writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 3:19:48 AM

superheroes that look like a boy band...i would also get angry...
pornfly writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 3:40:55 AM

Speakin of boy band
Halle Barry used to get it from frankensteinface Danny from NewKids on the Block
Rambo writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:51:50 AM

how could she refuse with a name like dany WOOD?
pornfly writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 5:45:42 AM

Now his brother gets wood in his ass and Wood in his last


name
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 9:28:17 AM

They're just pissed that Avengers didn't have any underage tentacle rape. Hey Japan, THIS is a comment. f*ck off.

I thought they got mad about nukes, why waste the anger on movie advertising?
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 12:43:18 PM

"This angered novelist Toshihiko Yahagi"

Please. The dude's career highlight includes a manga Mike Hammer novel and infantile mental meanderings on whether Japan is capitalistic or communistic.
bluemeenie writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 3:42:58 PM

Well maybe Japan should start making better movies..
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:37:49 PM

こんにちは日本。 私はあなたの女性たちに暴行します。
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 4:38:58 PM

WTF... the Japs don't have a word for 'rape'?!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved