WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Man Sentenced to Jail for Linking to Pirated Movies

Posted: August 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Man Sentenced to Jail for Linking to Pirated MoviesSubmit Comment
Lots of storage websites like MegaUpload are being shut down for not removing copyright material (films and TV shows) from their servers. And the sites' owners are going to jail. But now comes word that a British man has been sentenced to four years in prison for just linking to pirated copies of films on his website (SurfChannel.com)

The man, Anton Vickerman, wasn't charged with copyright theft, because he didn't actually steal or upload anything. Instead, he was charged with conspiracy to defraud. During his eight-week trial, prosecutors alleged that Vickerman earned $55,000 a month on advertising on his website.

"This case conclusively shows that running a website that deliberately sets out to direct users to illegal copies of films and TV shows will result in a criminal conviction and a long jail sentence," said Kieron Sharp, director of Federation Against Copyright Theft.

Vickerman was caught after an investigator, posing as a prospective house buyer, entered his house and recorded video of his computer equipment.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 6:41:33 AM

Never sh*t where you eat

Unless its me and Kat Dennings
Avirex writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 7:55:01 AM

"..an investigator, posing as a prospective house buyer, entered his house and recorded video of his computer equipment."

Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't that kind of investigation illegal? Or at the very least, is evidence obtained in that manner even supposed to be admissible?

Granted my legal expertise is probably zero but still that's f*cked up.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 9:13:04 AM

@ Avirex i was thinking exactly the same...but if you make 55,000 from advertising on websites i can see why they went after him...then again, hollywood is known for being a little bitch these days...more and more sh*tty stars and more sh*tty productions being made, and these companies make money off the dumbest when the money should either go to poor people or people who can actually make timeless material
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 12:11:50 PM

It's not illegal in this particular case, according to the given law, because the man allowed the undercover police officer into his home.

"Lots of storage websites like MegaUpload are being shut down for not removing copyright material"

Not really, Alex. Many have simply either shuttered on their own, or strictly deactivated sharing file links. Others, like Demonoid, have been taken down as gifts to the DoJ for the purpose of buying American and NATO influence, e.g., Ukraine.

"Never sh*t where you eat"

Or if it's Jack Pirtle, never eat where other people sh*t.
capsule writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 1:54:39 PM

STOP BREAKING THE LAW *sshole!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 2:14:42 PM

Ahh well done! Let's just randomly prosecute a couple of people for this kind of thing every year. That'll stop the millions of other people who download and stream illegal movies every year. They need to sit down and think of a better and cheaper way of selling movies maybe people would stop pirating that sh*t!
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 2:25:49 PM

The most pirated tv show is also one of the few not legally available online.

Game of Thrones.
capsule writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 2:27:45 PM

My argument would be that it is much less likely for me to be shot up in the comfort of my home watching a bootleg. And in any case, downloading a movie doesnt necessarily mean you wont eventually pay to see it anyway, or give a positive review causing someone else to go pay and see it.
capsule writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 2:31:40 PM

Whats the difference if I download some movie, end up liking it and pay $20-30 for a f*cking bluray. Movie ticket cost $9. The f*ck are they complaining about.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 5:05:33 PM

@capsule... you're not serious, are you?

Stop breaking the law? We all do. Speeding, j-walking, raping the neighbors wife, etc. People in glass houses and all that.

And more people get shot by loved one's in their home than ever do in a movie theater.

As for you viewing a downloaded movie for free... ONLY THEN, IF you like it you'll buy the expensive Blu-Ray DVD. So what if that's only 1 in 20 movies. You've just watched 19 for FREE. How would the studios sustain making multi-million $ movies like that with those kinds of revenues missing.

Nothing if free in this world. Even AIDS (ask ChaseEvolution).

You pay to play, stay or lay.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 5:05:59 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2o0V6VPX_E0
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 5:33:23 PM

The fact this new trend of theaters giving refunds to theater-goers that were unhappy with the movies is the biggest bunch of bullsh*t I have EVER heard! You spin the wheel and ya take yer chances. When Tom Hanks gave back $'s to that couple that said they didn't enjoy one of his movies. Hey... tough sh*t. Like if FULL of disappointments (look at ChaseEvolutions life), get used to it.
pornfly writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 5:41:44 PM

Are Britains entertainment laws contradictory to our own or do they work in tandem?
As long as they leave my porn alone
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 5:54:24 PM

As long as they leave my right hand alone.


(because that's the one I use to slap ChaseEvolution's whoring mother around with when she uses her teeth on my cack!).
pornfly writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 6:56:10 PM

I usually cover CAPSULEs mothers nose and mouth with my scrodum skin
You should try it RANGER, you get a totally different vibration than a normal hummer
Dark4ever writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 7:09:00 PM

thats funny pornfly ii remember doing that to yours
pornfly writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 3:49:59 AM

I also see that CAPSULE has you writing half assed c*m backs for him

and by c*m backs i mean he writes what he wants you to say by writing it on your back
bane writes:
on August 16th, 2012 at 9:56:44 AM

i am
gonna think about this
when i watch HOPE SPRINGS online

LOL :)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved