WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Man of Steel" Won't Use John Williams' "Superman" Music

Posted: August 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Man of Steel" WonSubmit Comment
TotalFilm magazine caught up with Zack Snyder about his upcoming "Superman" reboot, called "Man of Steel." The director revealed that the initial idea was to ignore every "Superman" film that has come before, including John Williams' recognizable music.

"We decided to act as if no Superman film had been made - even though we love the films that have been made," he said. "We had to say this is a Superman movie for the first time and you can't then go 'Oh, now let's steal a little music.' So, yes it's awesome music but Hans Zimmer is going to do something awesome."

"Man of Steel" stars Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Diane Lane, Kevin Costner, Michael Shannon, Russell Crowe, and Laurence Fishburne. It's set to hit theaters on June 14th, 2013.

John Williams' "Superman" Music:


Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:29:47 PM

This is a quote from last months Comic-Con. Veru old news.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:36:25 PM

Hans Zimmer has done some good music for films hopefully he will do good on this


John Williams is hard to beat; the Superman soundtrack was one of the best in film
elrei writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:45:40 PM

I'm ok with that.
Johnnyb writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 9:09:23 PM

The less of Williams more serious get this. Singer homage to Donner and Reeves in the last superman was totally full of crap!!!!!
japaninmotion writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 9:16:00 PM

I cant imagine it without the music...it yells superman! but dk didnt use danny elfmans either
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 9:34:01 PM

Absolutely nobody should have a problem with this. Borrowing elements when convenient for a superman movie is partly what made Superman Returns awful.

I watched it recently and I have no idea why I thought it was ever a good film.
shinwillow writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 9:46:43 PM

I'm not surprised. They're afraid their Superman won't earn John Williams's epic theme. Superman Returns Supes sure as hell didn't.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:10:45 PM

Crazy- Amen, I love John Williams. Even though Lucas and Speilberg suck ass nowadays, John still delivers in my opinion.
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:56:50 PM

"Man of Steel" Won't Use John Williams' "Superman" Music

OH YOU f*ckING c*ntS!
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:58:26 PM

@CH - JW's Supe's theme orchestration is one of the greatest recordings ever.

That's up there with Simon & Garfunkel's 'Bridge over troubled water.'

And The Righteous Brothers 'Unchained Melody'

And even though I love those songs... I don't suck d*ck!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 12:33:48 AM

Maybe I'm partial to JW's music because I played trumpet for years.

Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 12:35:14 AM

Listen very closely to all the background arrangements he has in place. Amazing. A very complex piece of orchestration.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 2:17:47 AM

The problem with Singer's Superman was that he was in too much in awe of Donner's original losing it's way. The cast looked solid(especially Spacey) but that whole deadbeat-Superman and the kid plot was weak at best...but whatever.

I think Snyder has the right idea of not letting the original overshadow this interpretation, cause sh!t, them are HUGE f*cking clown shoes to fill!! But come on, Zod is an old Part 2 plot...

Also, the whole different aspect of becoming Superman is good and all, but I'm already "origin'd out"!! How many times do we have to see his origins?!! I really wish they changed it up from Luthor/ Gen Zod and explore what else is out there as well.

I just hope they do a Death of Superman as end of a possible trilogy. I can dream can't I?!!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 3:24:28 AM

Good post C-man.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 3:28:07 AM

And yeah... Supe's bastard kid. WTF was that about?!?!?!

Singer had a lot of nice touches though...

1. Saving the 747.
2. Holding up that Mustang car the same as on Action Comics #1 (1938) cover.
3. John Williams theme music.
4. Supe's out-flying the bullets from that mini-gun AND taking a bullet to the eye.
5. Flying through the building to snatch The Daily Planet's ball.

And several others...

But his wet-spot for Lois, and Lex are so over-done.

NEXT!
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 3:48:40 AM

At Ranger: Thanks..and right on!!
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 3:56:07 AM

BTW, I don't think Brandon Routh got the credit he deserved...he delivered as Supes following Christopher "The best Superman" Reeves. He wasn't gonna win an Oscar or anything, but the guy held his own.

That's got to count for something. The film went done in flames, but the guy took it like a champ.

Hollywood gave him a shot at the lead actor with that DYLAN DOG flick, but it didn't stick. I like his small roles though...ZACK & MIRI MAKE A PORNO and SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD were pretty decent, IMO.
Děeko writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 5:49:04 AM

As much as I can't imagine it without the epic main soundtrack master Williams made,Zimmer proved himself on more than one occasion and I think he is up to the task.
Cannon writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 7:06:12 AM

Iím fine with Snyder eschewing any-and-all familiar elements from the original Donner films, including John Williams. I understand the reasoning. But Zimmer? Ugh.

Iím sorry, but I hardly think this guy is the film scoring genius that audiences from recent years (particularly Nolan fan boys) have been proclaiming. Big bombastic loud sh*t with nary a lyrical melody. Thatís Zimmer. He didnít use to be that way. Back in the late 80s and all throughout the 90s Zimmer proved to be fresh alternative to traditional orchestral scores. He did cool things with synthesizers, along with rock and ethnic instrumentation. His score were often a kind of exotic-pop, rhythmic and, more often than not, upbeat and fun.

Rain Man
Days of Thunder
Point of No Return
True Romance
Broken Arrow
The Lion King
Radio Flyer

...all enjoyable to listen to.

A Thin Red Line saw him evolve his music into something more sophisticated, haunting and melodic. Gladiator upped the bombast without loosing the finer elements, as did The Last Samurai. But ever since his work on the Pirates of the Caribbean films, Nolanís scores have grown more and more pretentious in their attempted grinding minimalism and, in my opinion, less interesting and certainly less entertaining. Now, theyíre just loud and dumb.

I'd like to see (or hear) him bring back some color and dynamism for his Man of Steel score, but I doubt that's going to happen.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 7:33:21 AM

I wanted Clint Mansell to score this film. His Scores are usually pretty f*cking dope.

I'm so happy they won't be using Williams' music at all.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 10:09:16 AM

@Cannon - nice list.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 10:32:44 AM

Superman 4 & Returns kinda sucked the fun out of John Williams theme.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 10:49:35 AM

@Celluloid

But Death of Superman was a sh*tty terrible comic book arc. It'd require a lot of re-tooling
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 12:03:39 PM

WHy not just see what Han Zimmer can do with reinventing Williams' theme? Or is that above the guy that makes one track after another that sounds like every one of his other tracks?

Wouldn't want creativity creeping into his work would we?
Electro Rock writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 2:36:31 PM

The original score is the only thing from the original that I wanted carried over. That sh*ts heroic as f*ck.
bluemeenie writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 3:02:49 PM

The last one only had a few small cues of Williams. Love all these remakes claiming to be so original.
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 5:13:56 PM

"But Death of Superman was a sh*tty terrible comic book arc."

Don't start trolling, bitch, or I'll shut you up and shut you down.



"It'd require a lot of re-tooling"

Then get busy, tool.
jatilq writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 5:26:04 PM

I saw this 2 seconds ago on a Facebook post and thought... f*ckING Ranger will be PISSED!

I collect movie scores myself and I had to come to this website to see what he typed.

I spend too much time around you people!
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 6:55:51 PM

At SpookyCupcakes:

Don't worry...Hollywood would f*ck that up too!!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 7:44:15 PM

@jat --- LOL.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 5:12:35 AM

John Williams' score transcends the previous music and is now a part of Superman just as much as his cape and the S on his chest. If you don't think that John Williams should compose or at the very least have some of his previous Superman music used in Man Of Steel then you should watch these re-scored trailers as they should erase all doubt:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJFO8Nk3Y_g

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SnkDFZUYfZE
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 5:14:29 AM

That's meant to say transcends the previous movies, not music.
catoc writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 9:18:06 AM

I understand the reasoning behind this decision but I don't agree with it.

John William's Superman theme music is as essential to a Superman movie as the James Bond and Indiana Jones main musical scores are to those movies - it's just not a proper Superman movie without that theme music.

I've no problem with the reboot and the different approach, in fact I welcome it, although I love the 2 (yes 2) Donner/Christopher Reeve movies. But I still maintain John William's theme music should be kept on and tweaked if needs be.

On a related note, the final episode of Smallville ended nicely when Clarke finally "became" Superman and the John Williamís theme music played.
zyban03 writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 9:34:56 AM

I think this move has a lot to do with Nolan being the producer as well. He uses Zimmer a lot.
fhb3isback writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 11:19:26 AM

I'm sorry, I have total faith in Hanz Zimmer's work (Lion King and the Dark Knight series comes to mind), but I have to call BS on this. It's not a Superman movie (in my opinion) without that sweet John Williams score.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved