WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will "RoboCop" Remake Be Terrible?

Posted: August 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will "RoboCop" Remake Be Terrible?Submit Comment
Hitfix website got its hands on the script for the upcoming "RoboCop" remake and has decided to reveal some parts from it, mostly the changes RoboCop goes through in the movie. The site went on to say that the script has some interesting moments, but is overall terrible.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

In the film, when Alex Murphy is turned into Robocop 1.0, it's described as "a high-tech version of the '80s suit." Then they show a focus group scene where criminals laugh at the design. "He looks like a toy from the '80s!" So they redesign him to look "meaner" as Robocop 2.0, who passes focus group approval. The actual construction is outsourced to China.

The action then moves to Iran, where we first see the ED-209 robot subduing suicide bombers. Robocop 3.0 is then dropped into an Al-Qaeda training camp to see what he does. By the time Robocop 4.0 is introduced, he looks like "a cop on steroids painted metallic blue." He is now able to go through a transformation that takes him from "social mode" to "combat mode" and back.

As an example of how bad the script is, there's apparently a scene where RoboCop is introduced to Detroit TV reporters for the first time. One of those reporters comments: "I think it's safe to say that Alex Murphy is now part man, part machine, ALL COP!"

Source: Hitfix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Shudder writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 6:43:38 AM

What load of sh*t.
pornfly writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 6:52:56 AM

This load i'm taking after drinking a quart of strawberry milk is more fascinating
Mudders writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 6:58:25 AM

well its not like the first 3 were well written

j-man writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 7:08:19 AM

So by the time theres alex murphys robocop there 4 'other' human prototypes?
boogiel writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 7:11:48 AM

Another reason not to bother watching this until it's on terrestrial TV and I dont have to actually pay for it anyway.

Taco writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 7:30:35 AM

Huh?????? What??? Really????
Telico writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:02:59 AM

I'm not convinced what is reported here is that accurate.... i mean someone somewhere must have read that and said "Put down your script, you have 20 seconds to comply", i mean who in there right mind would agree to star in it.... apart from Van Damn...
trailertrash writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:15:11 AM

He's subduing suicide bombers.

In bits or whole you are coming with me ...
SACdaddy writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:19:04 AM

Mehhhh...I haven't heard anything that bad yet. I kind of like the idea of different test models coming out before Robocop is finally perfected. The 80s toy reference actually sounds like a Verhovenesque joke (nice to see they kept some sense of humor, that made PV's original). The Iran stuff does sound a little too much like scenes lifted from Iron Man, but at least its a realistic setting for a test drive. If the script is as bad as advertised, there has to be something worse than this material.
mrstretch writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:27:42 AM

Well it is Robocop. Its not like anyone is expecting an awesome script.
MatimaximumX writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:28:48 AM

"The action then moves to Iran" . . .


um..... what the flip?
trailertrash writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:30:03 AM

^ I'm amazed Robocop has a script at all ..
bandolero999 writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:45:59 AM

I thought it was gonna say it's sh*t cause it has SAM JACKSON and that c*nt Jay BARUCHEL.
Peter Parker writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 9:27:49 AM

"Will "RoboCop" Remake Be Terrible?"

Well, then, to a rather unusual question, here's an appropriate answer:

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/528143_10152032978060377_2003876322_n.jpg

BTW: The teaser that appeared online a few weeks ago looked quite promising. I revelled in the concealed sarcasm it contained.

Also, have I ever mentioned I love fat bitches? I do.
Just sayin'.

zxz writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 9:41:50 AM

I think it's safe to say that the RoboCop remake is now part cheese, part stupid, and all flop!
Dre-EL writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 9:42:07 AM

Yes, it does sound as if it would be terrible.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 10:07:18 AM

Why do nostalgiagoggled *ssholes think Robocop was the pinnacle of cinematic filmmaking? It's a cheesy 80's film that plays to it's strengths and acknowledges it's absurdities. If this movie is like that then I don't see how it can be any worse than the original.

Problem is, it won't even live up to those standards.
ALIsuperstar writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 10:11:25 AM

Where is the bad lines? I really don't get it...
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 10:14:47 AM

The trailer will be the big deciding factor...until then, TRUST NO ONE!!
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 10:23:26 AM

The first one was good-bad. The sequels + TV series were just terrible.

If they made this good-bad like the first one (like: Starship Troopers, Piranha, etc.), tongue-in-ChaseEvolutions-mom's-ass kind of campy, I'd be OK with it. I would however much rather see a serious, dark, realistic version finally. A LOT MORE realistic than even The Batman movies.

One of the best things in the first movie (but, because of all the camp and jokes it was only touched upon) was Murphy's battle with what was left of his 'humanity'... over-writing his programming (or trying to). The human spirit winning over the product he became, etc. That should be explored.

But a REALISTIC R-Rated film should be presented. But, I don't think they'll be even close to that in this version. I mean... a focus group, 'oh he looks like an 80's toy jokes'? Get lost. So this could EASILY end up being a bad-bad version. Ugh.
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 10:34:54 AM

And I'll...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-q29hbEP04

When it hits the bargain bin.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:13:28 AM

I'll let you know when I download it.
minkowski writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:22:14 AM

And yet people who read the Prime Directive script for the 2007 Transformers film swore, SWORE it would be a really, really great film, even after the masturbation scene and the one moment where Bumblebee takes a leak on that military guy.

And somehow, this sounds worse.
WV-Films writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:31:14 AM

I think this is great. If Hollywood keeps botching up revivals, maybe they'll get the hint and stop all together.....
Maybe, but probably not.....
minkowski writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:48:54 AM

They'll only stop when idiots, who shall remain nameless, stop paying to see them.
minkowski writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:58:33 AM

Holy sh*t

http://totallylookslike.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/qpl9_9j_koegvussl4vbg2.jpg
DeVries writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 12:13:28 PM

How the f*cking hell can anybody accept a script like that piece of garbage ?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 12:23:45 PM

Sounds like a bad rip-off of "IronMan"
d.nadeau writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 12:33:55 PM

This movie will be bad? Who knew?!

It's a sh*t remake; go figure.
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 12:56:10 PM

Until I see the Man of Steel... Hollywood hasn't had the balls to make a real Superman movie (with respect to Christopher Reeve and Supes 1&2 which were very enjoyable), the same they haven't had a working pair to take Robo seriously. If made realistic, dark, kick-ass with some Matrix-esque effects... this could be such an amazing movie. But... they'll take the low road and crank out more cheese that won't be easily digested.

f*ck you Hollywood. And mink is right (and I've also said it in the past)... idiots should STOP paying to see sh*t movies in theaters. VOTE WITH YOUR $'S!!!!!!!
The Real Joker writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 1:35:22 PM

I buy that for a .. erh.. dime?
bandolero999 writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 2:24:23 PM

"Why do nostalgiagoggled *ssholes think Robocop was the pinnacle of cinematic filmmaking? It's a cheesy 80's film that plays to it's strengths and acknowledges it's absurdities. If this movie is like that then I don't see how it can be any worse than the original."

THIS IS coming from a incestious teenager way back in honkyville,whose avatar is from the biggest p*ssy commander that never got the job done,and at the end killed himself cause he didnt want to get trialed or executed.shut the f*ck up BOY.

ROBOCOp is probably one of the most brutal movies of the 80s definitely before it's time.
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 2:40:59 PM

Couldn't have said that better myself.
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 2:41:31 PM

@Spooky... that was you?!
Johnnyb writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 3:08:22 PM

If this is the real deal, then I have to say is a lot of sh*t!!!!!! Having different Robocop versions to show the audiences how it gets better and showing testing to criminals for their approval, No way!!!!!!

And what about this sh*t of Iran and Al Qaeda. It is suppose to be a scifi crime drama like Verhoeven's version not Iron Man or Black Hawk Down..... I have to say it has a nice cast but Padilha you are a totally deception and unrespectful to Verhoeven's classic. Go back to Brazil motherf*cker and direct horrible sequels of Elite Group.

Another sh*tty foreigner making his amend in Hollywood only to destroy classics!!!!!!
vincere01 writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 3:59:22 PM

Makes me want to take a sh*t in my own mouth. This movie is dead to me now
bandolero999 writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 4:05:39 PM

That's a nice metaphor there vincere.very sure people would agree to that.
codeman_1216 writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 4:24:13 PM

Perhaps not terrible, but this does sound pretty bad. Just make it a straight up remake. Make him look the same but not exactly the same, get more background on his family and the RoboCop creation process and add some awesome special effects. BOOM!
minicooperz writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 4:25:50 PM

at the rate this is going, it's going to be crap 1.0
minkowski writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 4:50:04 PM

Don't hate on Spooky, folks. He's a non-contributor.

And by that I mean he's not the father of his girlfriend's baby.
gotsghostrider writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 6:30:12 PM

It sounds just as campy as the originals were. Is he going to eat baby food?
DavidsoMighty writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 8:03:49 PM

This looks f*cking amazing.
Man in Black writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:58:27 PM

I do believe the sound my morning dump made hitting the water in the bowl sounds better then this . Harrison Ford said it best "George,( Lucas) you can type this sh*t, but you sure as hell can't say it ... " This would be another one of those moments .
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2012 at 11:59:34 PM

@David - can we have some of what you're shootin' up?
darthraige writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 12:01:52 AM

If not Rated R? Yes.
lefreke writes:
on August 14th, 2012 at 6:10:47 PM

Well obviously it's going to be terrible...as everybody on this website constantly say, every single film ever is terrible.
Kurskij writes:
on August 15th, 2012 at 8:25:18 AM

"I think it's safe to say that Alex Murphy is now part man, part machine, ALL COP!"

I think they're trying to capture the feeling of Verhoeven's satire (face it, the dialogue was cheesy, lines - terrible, but that was the point) - if they're successful with that, I'm cool.

Also Padilha looks like a smart director, so if executives won't be too deep up his ass - we might get something decent.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved