WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"What's Eating Gilbert Grape" Actress Losses 250 lbs, Wants to Act Again

Posted: August 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"WhatSubmit Comment
In the 1993 movie "What's Eating Gilbert Grape," Darlene Cates played Johnny Depp and Leonardo DiCaprio's morbidly obese mother Bonnie, who hasn't left the house in years while dealing with depression following her husband's suicide.

Now, twenty years later, 64-year-old Cates has gone from 575 lbs to 331 (pictured, before/after) and is ready to get back to acting. "I can do moms real well," she said. "I'm not opposed to doing science fiction or comedy, but there has to be respect. I refuse to be the joke, the fat woman joke, in any movie. I've turned down roles."

Cates is interested in taking one or two roles. But first, she'll have to recover from a series of health scares and four surgeries that kept her in hospitals for almost 11 months, until last November. For now, she remains housebound, but has plans to lose another 100 lbs.

Source: People


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lppinto writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 7:26:25 AM

Apparently, she did.. (ate Gilbert Grape), and "What's" is more appropriate than "Who's" ...
Bullit writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 7:39:10 AM

Now here's a fine example to follow JB!! Enjoy your tuna salad.


575 lbs = 260 Kg!!! You might as well being an attraction in Seaworld. Bloody Hell, how do you even get to that state?
Taco writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 7:51:34 AM

Keep making plans lady.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 8:09:13 AM

She can shave her head and play Kingpin in the Daredevil reboot.
30YoVirgin writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 8:17:55 AM

I can do moms real well too
Mudders writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 9:08:14 AM

are those pics suppose to depict the loss in weight???

if so i aint seein it
mrstretch writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 9:17:55 AM

Looks like JB's mom.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 10:09:01 AM

To think someone actually f*cked that at some point!!! EWW, threw up in my mouth thinking of that.
Gates writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 10:16:06 AM

@BadChad

It was a no pride night for me... please forgive me. lol
Gates writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 10:20:43 AM

It was like f*cking a pool of water.
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 10:55:33 AM

My mOther is slim thank you! That looks like jabba the hut in both pics
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:02:27 AM

Gates- I admire your courage, you accomplished what no one has done before, f*cked her and lived!
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:21:44 AM

"Cates is interested in taking one or two roles."

I think they misspelled 'roles'.

Anyway, shouldn't be a problem. I hear they need a crowd scene for the next Transformers film.
pornfly writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:28:06 AM

BJ says,"dont change a thang gurl, i'd still lick dat bucket like it said KFC on it"

Those pics look more like before and before
But if Amytiville can get two prequels so can she
pornfly writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:29:58 AM

"actress loses 250pounds"

BJ just found it between his third and fourth chin
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:42:41 AM

'... has gone from 575 lbs to 331 (pounds).' Move over Victor Secret!

So which if the 'before' and which is the 'after' pic?

She refuses to be the fat woman joke. Too late.

When she sits around the house. She sits AROUND the house!

As well as tents, I didn't know Coleman made ladies fashion.

Looks like JB's whoring mother didn't die from AIDS after all. Looks like Darlene ATE her!

'I can do moms real well' - Lesbo Alert!!!

What were the 4 surgeries that gave her health scares? The amputation of her legs and arms? Some chicks (that includes you JB) will do anything to lose weight (except eating properly, exercising, gaining self-esteem, self-respect, etc.)

For now she remains house bound. Sure... 'til they cut a bigger door opening.

I'm sure she's turned down roles... but never a buffet at the Golden Corral.

She's so fat. When she dances, the band skips!
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:45:18 AM

@pornfly - she'll be in the Amyityville prequels... AS THE HOUSE!

@Deaft - lol.

JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:57:10 AM

I hate fat women it's very
Unsexy
pornfly writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:02:06 PM

DEAFTONE
dassagooodwon,she has your avatar tatooed on her but not even James Cameron can find it
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:09:35 PM

I think she would have a very large vagina
bandolero999 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:18:17 PM

she should have some scissoring action with Roseanne and Rosie O donnel.and add JB assassinations to represent for the brothas
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:23:11 PM

He could steal all their SUV's.
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:32:46 PM

Not likely I would not have sex with fat lesbians
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:33:35 PM

Truer words were never written.
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:36:44 PM

Speaking of weird people where is ethanred he is infatuated with my ass
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:40:18 PM

Maybe check first to see if he's in it there, big guy.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:42:22 PM

niggas and hispanics love SUVS.sh*t I do
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:46:53 PM

I love me some niggas and Hispanics.

(I own 2 of each).
bandolero999 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:50:48 PM

sounds like an underground sweat shop
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 12:55:26 PM

Oh yes. On Friday nights and the weekends... after the booze gets flowin'
Džeko writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 1:54:19 PM

I guess now we know how the Grand Canyon was made.
paulodelrey writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 2:18:52 PM

awwwww so proud of her. working out/DIETING sucks.. my personal trainer is the devil but i mean.. i have to get sh*t done.
paulodelrey writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 2:20:24 PM

have any of you ever wondered how super jumbo morbidly obese people wipe their asses? like how can they reach? O_O
ChaseEvolution writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 2:28:08 PM

Hahahahahahahahaha everyone say a bunch of nasty rude comments about how fat she is hahahahahahahahaha.

You're all a bunch of swell people! Please keep contributing to society!
pornfly writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 2:49:25 PM

Sure,lemme get the ball rolling(onurchin)
how bout CHASin some p*ssy instead of evolution and us

Apperently to everybody but you, ALEX put this news here for a reason,we had already thought she was dead.
But to lose weight shes keepin her mouth closed and her legs movin
How bout givin it a try
Bullit writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 3:45:47 PM

Speaking of fat people, here's one hilarious stand up from George CARLIN on fat people:

Funny but true.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66OwZjsi0D0
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 4:11:52 PM

Picture on the right looks like that Grape guy from those Fruit of the Loom commercials.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 4:19:22 PM

@paulo - this is what ChaseEvolution's (defender of the fat) mother uses:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L3fhRn25tZE

@Chase - f*ck off troll.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 4:21:51 PM

Everyone check of ChaseEvolutions profile. ALL his comments about are negativity are negative.

Hypocrite much, you f*cking goof?
Dark4ever writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 4:25:51 PM

@jbfatass
You yourself look like a black jabba the hutt
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 4:33:00 PM

are = our.
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 4:50:33 PM

Hey when did they let Shamu free? Gives new definition to free willy for you chubby chasers
Peter Parker writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 5:05:19 PM

I love the chubby.
f*cking a mastodon like this is like f*cking a woman with multiple c*nts. There is always a new whole to stick the d*ck in.

"I refuse to be the joke, the fat woman joke"

- You tell'em, fatso! And, if anyone ever mocks your weight, you can always eat the f*cker!
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 5:23:18 PM

Apparently she has.
paulodelrey writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:13:08 PM

@Ranger LMFAO
Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2012 at 4:15:21 AM

lol... yeah, that's a pretty damn funny video.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved