WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Teaser Trailer for "Fifty Shades of Grey," Full Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jul 20th, 2014
Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films
Jul 19th, 2014
Hiding Scarlett Johansson's Pregnancy in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Took a Lot of Stunt Doubles
Jul 19th, 2014
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie to Re-Team for "By the Sea"
Jul 19th, 2014
Lots of Action in New Clip From "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Reboot
Jul 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner Not Happy with Hawkeye in "The Avengers"

Posted: August 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy Renner Not Happy with Hawkeye in "The Avengers"Submit Comment
When Joss Whedon signed on to direct "The Avengers," he also decided to completely re-write the script that was previously written by Zak Penn (X-Men: The Last Stand, Elektra). The problem is that nobody showed Jeremy Renner the new script and his character ended up being completely different from what he was originally pitched.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

"For 90% of the movie, I'm not the character I signed on to play," he said, adding that he would have preferred for Hawkeye not to have been brainwashed. "It's kind of a vacancy. [He's] not even a bad guy, because there's not really a consciousness to him. To take away who that character is and just have him be this robot, essentially, and have him be this minion for evil that Loki uses... I was limited, you know what I mean? I was a terminator in a way. Fun stunts. But is there any sort of emotional content or thought process? No."

Renner was also not happy that his character received the least amount of time and the least amount of back-story. "Is [Hawkeye] working for SHIELD or not? There's a lot of unanswered questions, even for me."

All of this is a reason why Renner would love a solo "Hawkeye" movie.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 7:14:39 AM

"Renner was also not happy that his character received the least amount of time and the least amount of back-story."

Translation: he's not happy because they pay him with the least amount of moolah.

ethanred writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 7:34:58 AM

QHey sh*teye go f*ck jbs ass and control the smell man atleats we will appreciate that and hey u have to this even if u like it or not man ... we have had enough of global warming !!!!

And hey sh*teye who cares if u like it or not man iron man and hulk were the only goood things in the movie
Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 7:38:46 AM

you could replace jeremy renner with a brick wall in all of his movies and no one would notice so I wouldnt complain if i was him
the wire writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:07:07 AM

yeah, he really sucked. as in mission impossible 4.
Cannon writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:01:03 AM


He's just pissed because he wasn't the one who got to f*ck Scarlett Johansson in her trailer between setups -- that honor went to my man Robert Downey Jr.

Pimp.
Damon242 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:04:38 AM

Unless your character is one of the members of The Avengers squad, don't expect much.

This isn't a good thing either.
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:06:22 AM

Ethanred why don't you go buy a dictionary and learn a few paraphrases you offspring of minkowskis ass
afterkwiss writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:11:30 AM

"A brainwashed robot with no consciousness ... a sort of Terminator with fun stunts" ... i may be wrong but, isn't that the same character he signed in for The Bourne Legacy?
bane writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:14:01 AM

HURT LOCKER was amazing
THE TOWN was great gritty drama

avengers was a cartoon :(

no wonder he wasn't happy
coldplayesence writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:15:55 AM

I finded him pretty useless when you already have a guy with enough firepower to stop small army, a Hulk and a f*cking God.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:44:21 AM

Boo hoo hoo, get the sand out of your vagina you cry baby bitch!! Just be glad you were in it at all.
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:57:17 AM

Wow someone is on man-period apparently. Just be happy you were in the avengers and scored probably a couple of mil while doing it. Douche
pornfly writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:58:31 AM

I thought it was a good intro to his character that otherwise i wouldnt give a sh*t about and still dont.

You keep your saddleface fingers off my Blackwidows ass!

Stapes writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 10:13:30 AM

He shouldnt have expected much from whedon, he's playing a character noone really cares about, he isnt nathan fillion, and he doesnt have a vagina... that's three strikes against you in whedon world.
darkknightrises25 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 10:22:02 AM

sh*t i wasnt happy neither they f*cked up hawkeye in that movie whats funny is we still dont know sh*t about him except he is easy to control and that he know black widows fears so i hope to see a back story whether it is in the avengers 2 or his own movie
zyban03 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 10:28:19 AM

Well no sh*t, when you have Hulk, Thor, Iron-Man, and Widow's ass. Nobody is gonna give a f*ck about Robin Hood with a cool electronic quiver of arrows.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 11:01:47 AM

Whatever happened to "There's no small parts, just small actors"? F*cking ingrate!! 3rd blockbuster in history & he's complaining? Avengers just opened more job oppurtunities & looks good on your resume...but, if the its the screenplay, did you really want the screenwriter from X-Men 3 handling script duties?

Plus dude, IT'S JUST A PURPLE SUITED ROBIN HOOD!!

Now we know who's not coming back...oh, well.

bandolero999 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 11:09:12 AM

you ruined the avengers movie with your gayness ya c*nt.
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 12:27:18 PM

All he talks about is my ass! Every post , think he wants to lick it.
billofill writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 1:40:03 PM

Damon, Hawkeye was one of the Avengers. So i dont know what the f*ck you are saying.
holtlt writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 2:03:00 PM

Jeremy Renner as the hero: NO. Jeremy Renner as the bad guy: YES. The only one he was believable as a good guy was in 28 Weeks Later.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 2:48:46 PM

I'd be more upset about the fact that it took all these superheros teaming up to beat the biggest p*ssy villain ever. Well, next to "That 70's Show" c*nt in Spiderman 3.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 4:01:14 PM

The part that he DID get, he did it amazing! And yes, I do think he should have gotten more time, because he seems like a good Hawkeye. There are two somewhat to be considered side-kicks, Hawkeye and Black Widow, and with that ass, he has no chance of getting more script-time than her, total Box Office machine. I hope he gets to shine more in the next film. Something tells me that he will be better than Ant-Man, as well.
ChaseEvolution writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 4:39:52 PM

God, you psychopaths are f*ckING negative. Does anything ever please you? I'm pretty sure all of you live in trailer Parks. There's no way you all are out in the real world.
beepboop writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 5:13:15 PM

oh the superhero, who has the special ability to shoot arrows with a bow, feels like he didn't get enough attention.

sure, next time they should give the genius with a robot suit, the super soldier, the deity and the super strong green giant less screentime, because some dude with bow and arrow wants more attention. yeah. I can totally see that happen.

I hope Joss Whedon kills off Hawkeye in the second avengers.
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 5:28:41 PM

ChaseEvolution

WOW !! A whole 4 posts and each one of them boring on about the negative comments of other posters on here.

You sir are a total prick who creates an account to moan about others and contributes nothing in return,Thats a major FAIL which is something i'm sure you are used to no doubt

Please take this the way it is sincerely mean't f*ck OFF TWAT.
Rambo writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 5:33:41 PM

I actually liked his character in the avengers.he seemed more serious then the silliness of all the other super heroes that looked like they just stepped out of a beauty saloon.
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 7:37:50 PM

"Jeremy Renner Not Happy with Hawkeye in "The Avengers""

And few were happy with having Hawkeye in The Avengers, so as you can see, Hawkeye, nature loves symmetry.

And I guess someone told him he wouldn't be in the sequel.
kBob writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:05:09 PM

No what's more annoying, posts about how annoying Mink is. He's not leaving the site, so get used to it.

As for Renner, why the hell are you complaining? You're in this year's biggest movie along with a steady career future. How about learn to carry an entire film, and you won't get side-casted as a supporting character. Bourne looks boring, and I'm hearing mixed reception across the board.
kBob writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:16:49 PM

The only posts you've made on this article weren't even relevant to Jeremy Renner nor the Avengers. So what's your point? People aren't entitled to their opinions? f*ck off ya troll.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:19:14 PM

ChaseEvolution- I'm not negative I'm extremely positive!! I caught chlamydia off you're mum the other night you boring c*nt.

WELCOME TO THE REAL WORLD p*ssy! PEOPLE SAY THINGS YOU DON'T LIKE TO HEAR. YOU OBVIOUSLY ENJOY READING SOME OF THE COMMENTS OR YOU WOULDN'T VISIT THE SITE ENOUGH TO CONCLUDE THAT PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS NEGATIVE. NUT UP OR SHUT UP.

BACON.
kBob writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:23:20 PM

http://media.photobucket.com/image/the%20more%20you%20know%20gif/babyborg/Miscellaneous%20pics/themoreyouknow.gif?o=2
Kurskij writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:04:30 PM

Renner was top in Hurt Locker (lots of folks didn't like it - we did a local collectors edition of it). Sorry, Bando ).

And yeahz, MINKOWSKI, you are er loozer and Don't star with starting, don't finish wid finishing coz yo ure e luza, Crap sense.

Ps in Mother Russia we have a drink Jaguar (in tin cans). It's the cheapest local attempt at alcohol (and it's Russia, mind you). So yeah.

elrei writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 10:54:19 PM

So... You don't want to be in the sequel? Is that it? Hell close the door when you are leaving.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 2:57:19 AM

havent seen the hurt locker yet kurkij.only seen him in avengers and the TOWN
Venom1970 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 5:14:10 AM

Saw Renner first in a movie called Jeffrey Dahmer based on the serial killer, was a sh*t film but he played a very creep character!
pornfly writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 6:00:38 AM

VENOM, as time has passed and hes been in more movies,i totally forgot bout that one.
Ive seen it a hand full of times and Dahmer is his best role
Telico writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 10:53:45 AM

lol some of these comments are great.... firstly the ones about ChaseEvo and Mink are spot on.

Secondly (and on topic) If he didn't like Hawkeye 's role in the film he shouldn't have spent all those months playing him then, could have gone for a cheaper unknown actor who would be more grateful.

Thirdly the heroes in this film had to appeal to the audience, not being a massive comic book reader (this phenomenon hasn't spread out of the USA as much)I personally knew nothing of Hawkeye or Black Widow (nice ass, might have kicked of the comic thing everywhere if that was on more covers!!!!)... knew about the rest of course from childhood, I guess that's why they all got their own movies, might have watched a Hawkeye movie after Avengers, but its not rocket science to figure out why he didn't get as much screen time, hope they replace his char now, his attitude stinks.

Finally - Actors need a bit of a reality check, its obvious he has been in a few movies but hes not a massive actor, he's not popular, and in the movies i have seen him in he isn't that good.... hope his comments make directors think before employing him and his absent skills (well he has 1 skill, he can flick a cgi bow quite well :S )
jeradkyle6 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:09:01 AM

Good deal. It was the script writer of The Last Stand and Elektra! Two of the worst scripts ever!
Atemisk writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 6:33:26 PM

Personally I don't see the reason that everyone is dumping on Renner. I loved Avengers but quite frankly Hawkeye was kind of an after thought in the movie. A way to get from point A to B. Even in Thor you see him in one shot and then he's gone. Why even put Hawkeye in the movies? Surely someone no name, nothing in the cast could have done the same thing.

In my opinion he has a perfectly legit reason to be annoyed about the whole thing. He should have by no means been the star but that's not what he was asking for. As it is, he was practically set up to be the superhero that dies and to show "how serious the threat is." Marvel essentially tacked Hawkeye onto the cast to make the team for slightly more complete for the hardcore comic fans especially since Spiderman was MIA.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved