WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Angry Birds" Movie is Here!
Sep 24th, 2015
Trailer for "The Big Short," with Christian Bale, Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling and Steve Carell
Sep 24th, 2015
Ridley Scott Planning Three "Prometheus" Sequels
Sep 23rd, 2015
"John Wick 2" to Shoot this Fall, Keanu Reeves Will Return
Sep 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "The Peanuts Movie"
Sep 23rd, 2015
Liam Neeson's "Taken" Franchise to Become a Prequel TV Series
Sep 21st, 2015
Brie Larson Joins Steve Carell in "Battle of the Sexes" Tennis Drama
Sep 21st, 2015
"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Sep 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner Not Happy with Hawkeye in "The Avengers"

Posted: August 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy Renner Not Happy with Hawkeye in "The Avengers"Submit Comment
When Joss Whedon signed on to direct "The Avengers," he also decided to completely re-write the script that was previously written by Zak Penn (X-Men: The Last Stand, Elektra). The problem is that nobody showed Jeremy Renner the new script and his character ended up being completely different from what he was originally pitched.


"For 90% of the movie, I'm not the character I signed on to play," he said, adding that he would have preferred for Hawkeye not to have been brainwashed. "It's kind of a vacancy. [He's] not even a bad guy, because there's not really a consciousness to him. To take away who that character is and just have him be this robot, essentially, and have him be this minion for evil that Loki uses... I was limited, you know what I mean? I was a terminator in a way. Fun stunts. But is there any sort of emotional content or thought process? No."

Renner was also not happy that his character received the least amount of time and the least amount of back-story. "Is [Hawkeye] working for SHIELD or not? There's a lot of unanswered questions, even for me."

All of this is a reason why Renner would love a solo "Hawkeye" movie.

Source: LA Times

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 7:14:39 AM

"Renner was also not happy that his character received the least amount of time and the least amount of back-story."

Translation: he's not happy because they pay him with the least amount of moolah.

ethanred writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 7:34:58 AM

QHey sh*teye go f*ck jbs ass and control the smell man atleats we will appreciate that and hey u have to this even if u like it or not man ... we have had enough of global warming !!!!

And hey sh*teye who cares if u like it or not man iron man and hulk were the only goood things in the movie
Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 7:38:46 AM

you could replace jeremy renner with a brick wall in all of his movies and no one would notice so I wouldnt complain if i was him
the wire writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:07:07 AM

yeah, he really sucked. as in mission impossible 4.
Cannon writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:01:03 AM

He's just pissed because he wasn't the one who got to f*ck Scarlett Johansson in her trailer between setups -- that honor went to my man Robert Downey Jr.

Damon242 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:04:38 AM

Unless your character is one of the members of The Avengers squad, don't expect much.

This isn't a good thing either.
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:06:22 AM

Ethanred why don't you go buy a dictionary and learn a few paraphrases you offspring of minkowskis ass
afterkwiss writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:11:30 AM

"A brainwashed robot with no consciousness ... a sort of Terminator with fun stunts" ... i may be wrong but, isn't that the same character he signed in for The Bourne Legacy?
bane writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:14:01 AM

HURT LOCKER was amazing
THE TOWN was great gritty drama

avengers was a cartoon :(

no wonder he wasn't happy
coldplayesence writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:15:55 AM

I finded him pretty useless when you already have a guy with enough firepower to stop small army, a Hulk and a f*cking God.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:44:21 AM

Boo hoo hoo, get the sand out of your vagina you cry baby bitch!! Just be glad you were in it at all.
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:57:17 AM

Wow someone is on man-period apparently. Just be happy you were in the avengers and scored probably a couple of mil while doing it. Douche
pornfly writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:58:31 AM

I thought it was a good intro to his character that otherwise i wouldnt give a sh*t about and still dont.

You keep your saddleface fingers off my Blackwidows ass!

Stapes writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 10:13:30 AM

He shouldnt have expected much from whedon, he's playing a character noone really cares about, he isnt nathan fillion, and he doesnt have a vagina... that's three strikes against you in whedon world.
darkknightrises25 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 10:22:02 AM

sh*t i wasnt happy neither they f*cked up hawkeye in that movie whats funny is we still dont know sh*t about him except he is easy to control and that he know black widows fears so i hope to see a back story whether it is in the avengers 2 or his own movie
zyban03 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 10:28:19 AM

Well no sh*t, when you have Hulk, Thor, Iron-Man, and Widow's ass. Nobody is gonna give a f*ck about Robin Hood with a cool electronic quiver of arrows.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 11:01:47 AM

Whatever happened to "There's no small parts, just small actors"? F*cking ingrate!! 3rd blockbuster in history & he's complaining? Avengers just opened more job oppurtunities & looks good on your resume...but, if the its the screenplay, did you really want the screenwriter from X-Men 3 handling script duties?


Now we know who's not coming back...oh, well.

bandolero999 writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 11:09:12 AM

you ruined the avengers movie with your gayness ya c*nt.
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 12:27:18 PM

All he talks about is my ass! Every post , think he wants to lick it.
billofill writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 1:40:03 PM

Damon, Hawkeye was one of the Avengers. So i dont know what the f*ck you are saying.
holtlt writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 2:03:00 PM

Jeremy Renner as the hero: NO. Jeremy Renner as the bad guy: YES. The only one he was believable as a good guy was in 28 Weeks Later.
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 2:48:46 PM

I'd be more upset about the fact that it took all these superheros teaming up to beat the biggest p*ssy villain ever. Well, next to "That 70's Show" c*nt in Spiderman 3.
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 4:01:14 PM

The part that he DID get, he did it amazing! And yes, I do think he should have gotten more time, because he seems like a good Hawkeye. There are two somewhat to be considered side-kicks, Hawkeye and Black Widow, and with that ass, he has no chance of getting more script-time than her, total Box Office machine. I hope he gets to shine more in the next film. Something tells me that he will be better than Ant-Man, as well.
ChaseEvolution writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 4:39:52 PM

God, you psychopaths are f*ckING negative. Does anything ever please you? I'm pretty sure all of you live in trailer Parks. There's no way you all are out in the real world.
beepboop writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 5:13:15 PM

oh the superhero, who has the special ability to shoot arrows with a bow, feels like he didn't get enough attention.

sure, next time they should give the genius with a robot suit, the super soldier, the deity and the super strong green giant less screentime, because some dude with bow and arrow wants more attention. yeah. I can totally see that happen.

I hope Joss Whedon kills off Hawkeye in the second avengers.
trailertrash writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 5:28:41 PM


WOW !! A whole 4 posts and each one of them boring on about the negative comments of other posters on here.

You sir are a total prick who creates an account to moan about others and contributes nothing in return,Thats a major FAIL which is something i'm sure you are used to no doubt

Please take this the way it is sincerely mean't f*ck OFF TWAT.
Rambo writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 5:33:41 PM

I actually liked his character in the avengers.he seemed more serious then the silliness of all the other super heroes that looked like they just stepped out of a beauty saloon.
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 7:37:50 PM

"Jeremy Renner Not Happy with Hawkeye in "The Avengers""

And few were happy with having Hawkeye in The Avengers, so as you can see, Hawkeye, nature loves symmetry.

And I guess someone told him he wouldn't be in the sequel.
kBob writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:05:09 PM

No what's more annoying, posts about how annoying Mink is. He's not leaving the site, so get used to it.

As for Renner, why the hell are you complaining? You're in this year's biggest movie along with a steady career future. How about learn to carry an entire film, and you won't get side-casted as a supporting character. Bourne looks boring, and I'm hearing mixed reception across the board.
kBob writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:16:49 PM

The only posts you've made on this article weren't even relevant to Jeremy Renner nor the Avengers. So what's your point? People aren't entitled to their opinions? f*ck off ya troll.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:19:14 PM

ChaseEvolution- I'm not negative I'm extremely positive!! I caught chlamydia off you're mum the other night you boring c*nt.


kBob writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 8:23:20 PM

Kurskij writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 9:04:30 PM

Renner was top in Hurt Locker (lots of folks didn't like it - we did a local collectors edition of it). Sorry, Bando ).

And yeahz, MINKOWSKI, you are er loozer and Don't star with starting, don't finish wid finishing coz yo ure e luza, Crap sense.

Ps in Mother Russia we have a drink Jaguar (in tin cans). It's the cheapest local attempt at alcohol (and it's Russia, mind you). So yeah.

elrei writes:
on August 9th, 2012 at 10:54:19 PM

So... You don't want to be in the sequel? Is that it? Hell close the door when you are leaving.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 2:57:19 AM

havent seen the hurt locker yet kurkij.only seen him in avengers and the TOWN
Venom1970 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 5:14:10 AM

Saw Renner first in a movie called Jeffrey Dahmer based on the serial killer, was a sh*t film but he played a very creep character!
pornfly writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 6:00:38 AM

VENOM, as time has passed and hes been in more movies,i totally forgot bout that one.
Ive seen it a hand full of times and Dahmer is his best role
Telico writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 10:53:45 AM

lol some of these comments are great.... firstly the ones about ChaseEvo and Mink are spot on.

Secondly (and on topic) If he didn't like Hawkeye 's role in the film he shouldn't have spent all those months playing him then, could have gone for a cheaper unknown actor who would be more grateful.

Thirdly the heroes in this film had to appeal to the audience, not being a massive comic book reader (this phenomenon hasn't spread out of the USA as much)I personally knew nothing of Hawkeye or Black Widow (nice ass, might have kicked of the comic thing everywhere if that was on more covers!!!!)... knew about the rest of course from childhood, I guess that's why they all got their own movies, might have watched a Hawkeye movie after Avengers, but its not rocket science to figure out why he didn't get as much screen time, hope they replace his char now, his attitude stinks.

Finally - Actors need a bit of a reality check, its obvious he has been in a few movies but hes not a massive actor, he's not popular, and in the movies i have seen him in he isn't that good.... hope his comments make directors think before employing him and his absent skills (well he has 1 skill, he can flick a cgi bow quite well :S )
jeradkyle6 writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 11:09:01 AM

Good deal. It was the script writer of The Last Stand and Elektra! Two of the worst scripts ever!
Atemisk writes:
on August 10th, 2012 at 6:33:26 PM

Personally I don't see the reason that everyone is dumping on Renner. I loved Avengers but quite frankly Hawkeye was kind of an after thought in the movie. A way to get from point A to B. Even in Thor you see him in one shot and then he's gone. Why even put Hawkeye in the movies? Surely someone no name, nothing in the cast could have done the same thing.

In my opinion he has a perfectly legit reason to be annoyed about the whole thing. He should have by no means been the star but that's not what he was asking for. As it is, he was practically set up to be the superhero that dies and to show "how serious the threat is." Marvel essentially tacked Hawkeye onto the cast to make the team for slightly more complete for the hardcore comic fans especially since Spiderman was MIA.

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved