WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Armed Man Arrested at "The Dark Knight Rises" Screening

Posted: August 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Armed Man Arrested at "The Dark Knight Rises" ScreeningSubmit Comment
After James Holmes killed twelve people and injured 58 more during a Colorado screening of "The Dark Knight Rises," police have come across many others who were planning to hurt movie-goers during the showings of the same movie.

Now comes word that an off-duty police officer spotted a man walking into a theater showing "The Dark Knight Rises" about thirty minutes before the movie was set to start. The man, identified as 37-year-old Scott Smith, was alone and carrying a bag.

The officer confronted him and asked to look inside the bag. Smith cooperated, revealing that he was carrying a handgun and three knives. He had an additional knife in his clothes.

Smith offered to take his weapons to his car, but was instead handed over to police, who are unsure why he brought the weapons into the theater. Smith's attorney says that the gun was for personal protection in case someone like James Holmes attempted to open fire. "There would have been no intention of shooting anyone or causing a panic," added the attorney.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 7:32:04 AM

What theater lets patrons in with a duffel bag?!

Most likely Barkley was the ticket taker and thought it was a bag of wangs
Taco writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 7:34:48 AM

So what were the knife's for than?
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 8:15:46 AM

Retard buy the bootleg and be safe at home lol
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 8:19:49 AM

Buy a bootleg? Doesn't that defeat the entire point of piracy? What's next? Paying homeowners for the right to steal their television? Jesus. Even crime isn't done right these days. *sigh*

As for the news, wow. You can't bring in a Snicker bar, but no one asks a question if you slide in through the turnstile with Rocky's gym bag.

Avirex writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 8:40:27 AM

Officer Joe Kapowski: "Nothing. No matches on prints, DNA, dental. Clothing is custom, no labels. Nothing in his pockets but knives and lint."
boogiel writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 8:50:01 AM

*Sigh* where did all those crazies came from?
That80sKidOfYor writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 10:06:11 AM

and this is why we need stronger gun control
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 10:14:16 AM

Umm I take my handgun with me everywhere including the movies since we don't have a ban on concealed carry at our local theater. There is absolutely nothing wrong with carrying a weapon as long as it is for personal protection.

"and this is why we need stronger gun control"

And you sir are a f*cking moron. Stronger gun control will not stop any criminal from getting a gun and killing people. It will only keep honest citizens from owning them for personal protection of hunting.
Stapes writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:02:27 AM

I beg to differ, jeff. The UK has gun control and they have no crime whatsoever. They also dont have any cool superheroes, dont need em if there is no crime.
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:11:07 AM

^^That's a total and absolute fabrication.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1223193/Culture-violence-Gun-crime-goes-89-decade.html

Gun crime has almost doubled since Labour came to power as a culture of extreme gang violence has taken hold.

The latest Government figures show that the total number of firearm offences in England and Wales has increased from 5,209 in 1998/99 to 9,865 last year - a rise of 89 per cent.

In some parts of the country, the number of offences has increased more than five-fold.

In eighteen police areas, gun crime at least doubled.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1223193/Culture-violence-Gun-crime-goes-89-decade.html#ixzz22y3vaelH

minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:22:07 AM

"and this is why we need stronger gun control"

Wrong. First, you can't ban guns. The Supreme Court has ruled Americans possess an inalienable right to own firearms. Period. End of story.

So then, you may think restricting firearms via gun control laws would help, and to a certain extent, they might, except you can't reliable predict who will eventually go bonkers, now can you? And we already restrict felons, who seems to get guns regardless.

So what? Sure, I would agree most Americans shouldn't have access to military grade hardware, no doubt, and the AR-15 has as much use among civilians as does a Sherman tank amongst pianists, but even still, there's plenty of weapons left to cause more than enough mayhem.

Fact is, you can't control them. They stream in through the porous borders of Mexico and Canada, and if we can't, if we're UNWILLING, to keep illegal immigrants out of the country, how the hell do you think we'd stop gun-running, which would quickly become a larger cartel than drug-running, thus fueling even more violence south of the border, and greatly increasing violence on American civilians who would no longer have any means of protecting themselves from armed criminals.

Gun control is a failure. We need to work on reducing crime by bridging the gap between rich and poor, not by redistributing income but by providing numerous and diverse career opportunities to everyone, regardless of their background; we also need to cull money from failed federal expenditures to fund the reopening of mental institutions, so people like this Holmes nut isn't freely walking the streets.

There's my two cents. Now where's my change?
Stapes writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:22:43 AM

Duh, mink. It's sarcasm meant to point out the absurdity of the argument for gun control.
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:25:04 AM

"I beg to differ, jeff. The UK has gun control and they have no crime whatsoever. They also dont have any cool superheroes, dont need em if there is no crime."

You know you are full of sh*t, the UK has tons of violent crimes they just choose to ignore it. Even if that were true it still would not work in the US because there are so many weapons out there it will not be possible for the US Gov't to take. Not only that Criminals can still get weapons off of the black market, so as I said before. A weapons ban in the case of the US will only prevent law abiding citizens from obtaining them for protection from the criminal element. We have wonderful police officers in our country and they do their best to protect us but sometimes you can't wait on them to respond and have to take care of the situation yourself. Not only that the reason our country has a second amendment that allows weapons is so our citizens can defend themselves from a tyrannical Gov't, like I don't know the whole reason for the Revolution was to get away from that sort of governmental system. So the UK still not the best example.

Stapes writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:25:23 AM

But the UK really doesnt have any cool superheroes.
bane writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:26:27 AM

when c*ck is in his ass...

he has
my permission to cry LOL lol LOL :)
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:26:44 AM

"Duh, mink. It's sarcasm meant to point out the absurdity of the argument for gun control."

Don't get defensive. Not looking to get into it with you. I thought you were being serious, as people from the UK have said, at other times, there's no crime worth mentioning there, thanks to gun control laws.

Let's just chill, okay?
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:31:22 AM

"But the UK really doesnt have any cool superheroes."

You have Judge Dredd. He was invented by Brits, IIRC.

Okay, maybe a bad example.

And then' there's this:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3443305/Britain-has-16-superheroes-patrolling-the-streets.html

O_o
bane writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:32:17 AM

@ mink

i agree with you
Gun control is a failure

guns are like drugs
if people want them they WILL get them
one way or another

there are 2 laws
one for the rich
one for the poor
bane writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:34:29 AM

mink

i created a page
to predict
this years oscar nominees

take a look
(if you want)
tell me what you think

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.257223491048898.49102.257222547715659&type=3
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:43:42 AM

"there are 2 laws one for the rich one for the poor"

And they both break them however they see fit, only difference, the rich don't get caught, they get promoted.

Nice photos by the way, but most of those films I haven't seen. I'd say though anything to do with The Master is probably going to get a nom, because PTA is an artist, and everyone knows it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:59:08 AM

It will only keep honest citizens from owning them for personal protection of hunting.

You Americans and your "technology". Real men carry swords for protection and fight with honour, we hunt with bows and arrows in England none of this metal wizardry.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 12:00:58 PM

It will only keep honest citizens from owning them for personal protection of hunting.

You Americans and your "technology". Real men carry swords for protection and fight with honour, we hunt with bows and arrows in England none of this metal wizardry.
ethanred writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 12:41:03 PM

Huh I know this aand posted this yesterday itself f*cker
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:01:23 PM

Sociology 101: If we wanna cut down on crime then what we need to do is emphasis stronger family units.

Psychology 101: Emotionally healthy people fome from emotionally healthy homes free of contempt or any form of abuse (including verbal, meaning swearing at your kids might make your friends laugh and think your cool but it has a very negative toll on the child)

Anthropology 101: Black people commit the violent crimes. (But to be fair, anthropology is reeaaalllllly racist)
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:03:15 PM

"Huh I know this aand posted this yesterday itself f*cker"

Alex steals news from his 'fans' without shame, apparently.
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:06:59 PM

"Black people commit the violent crimes."

White people commit violent crimes too, of course, as can be seen with the Colorado wackjob, the Sikh wackjob, and the above walking gun and knife trade show. They're also far more likely to be serial killers than blacks.

The problem is that black Americans constitute some 13% of the population, yet contribute over half of all reported violent crime.

Notice I said 'reported'.
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:19:11 PM

Yeah, I had to throw that in there for a laugh. But you're absolutely right, especially the serial killer part. And don't forget Timothy McVeigh, the Uni Bomber, those two retards that shot up Columbine, and all ponzie scheming *ssholes stealing money from old grandma. Oh and Micheal Jackson, who didn't start molesting children until he became white.
Kurskij writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:27:09 PM

Aaand theatrical grosses plum further.
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:41:54 PM

"Oh and Micheal Jackson, who didn't start molesting children until he became white."

lol. Too true. But that dude had SERIOUS issues, didn't he?
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:51:00 PM

The f*cker should have been shot on sight.

Judge Dredd would have done that.

And pornfly asked it best: What theater lets patrons in with a duffel bag?!'

How about this guy was turned away at the door. If he insisted on coming in, to surrender his bag (wait... theater folk will post now that their only job is shuffling over-priced, stale popcorn with 10W30 topping). If not then... then tackled and the police called. Knives for self-defense... against a would-be gunman... really? This guy think he's Statham from The Expendables?!

This world is occupied with slack-jawed faggots. And (in this case) I didn't mean that homophobicly. I was quoting a movie. So kiss my f*cking ass!
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:52:38 PM

This movie looks like GI JOE.
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:53:08 PM

Yeah he did! All stemming from having a seriously f*cked up dad
Bullit writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 1:59:21 PM

"You Americans and your "technology". Real men carry swords for protection and fight with honour, we hunt with bows and arrows in England none of this metal wizardry. "

LOLOL!
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 2:01:14 PM

All I want to know is, why does his sister look just like him? Was there like some sort of incest thing going on? Did Daddy Jackson have a threesome with Mikey and Janet? What about Latoya and Jermaine? And what about Tito Puente Jackson?

There was f*cked up sh*t going on in that house.
Bullit writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 2:12:41 PM

^ ^ LOLOL!

For sure my friend, no doubts about that.
Dr_Venture writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 3:24:17 PM

Hi,

I live on a USAF base an hour north of London. I get the sh*t news back home, and the sh*t news here in the UK. Only difference...is the UK is better at sweeping it under the rug. The UK has plenty of gun violence...and it's getting worse. Hell in the UK they don't do peaceful protests...they burn down cities.
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 3:55:02 PM

^ That was only once ....

And we like to riot more than burn, Most of the thick soap dodging c*nts that riot here don't have enough brain cells to work out how to strike a match to start a fire.
Bullit writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 4:07:00 PM

^ ^ So bloody right and most of them can't even speak proper English!
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 4:09:34 PM

Hahaha. @trailer - No worries chief, every society has their trash, hell we have the deep south and the pacific northwest and trailer parks and ghettos scattered everywhere in between.
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 4:13:17 PM

And Southern California is turning into a giant latina shanty town
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 4:39:40 PM

You guys are awful. lol.
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 5:16:07 PM

FBO - lol, Ain't that just the truth mate....
trailertrash writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 5:21:16 PM

Bullit

Mate this country has taken a turn for the worse the past few years.

We are taking in way to many people that bring nothing to the country other than STD's and increasing our crime rate.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 5:30:54 PM

to be honest, because he cooperated and told the officer what was in the bag, i'd actually believe he was telling the truth about why he brought it in. I'm not saying he's a smart person, He's a f*cking idiot, But I DO Believe he had no intent on killing anyone.

But who really gives a f*ck!
Kurskij writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 6:55:23 PM

"We are taking in way to many people that bring nothing to the country other than STD's and increasing our crime rate."

We had this joke in 90's:

- damn, why are there so many Armenians? They have their own country.

- Armenia is not a country, mate. It's the main office.

Sounds like the same applies to the UK, France, Switzerland, Germany these days except "the office" is North Africa.
Stapes writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 6:59:07 PM

I think id rather have the societal drudge of mexico invading my country than a bunch of muslims like the UK has.
Stapes writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 7:00:57 PM

Guess that's a little trollish of me but whatever, i hate immigrants.
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 7:15:48 PM

Damn superman, you're mean
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 7:36:38 PM

Wait! Isn't Superman an immigrant?!
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 8:27:17 PM

He sure is, Ranger, he sure is
minkowski writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 8:30:39 PM

"Wait! Isn't Superman an immigrant?!"

Yes, Ranger. He's an illegal alien.
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 8:40:32 PM

The dirty krypto stole my reporting job too
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 10:42:18 PM

Thought so...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_61hzuGGJX0
Johnnyb writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 11:02:08 PM

Ok. So definitely the Joker has comitted his massive goal, makes Americans wackos..... After all madness is like gravity, needs a little push!!!!!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved