WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stanley Kubrick's First Film "Fear and Desire" Coming to DVD and Blu-ray

Posted: August 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stanley KubrickSubmit Comment
For the first time ever, Stanley Kubrick's first film "Fear and Desire" will be released on DVD and Blu-ray on October 23rd. The movie was released back in 1953, but Kubrick personally took the film out of public circulation and prohibited it from being released on any home video format.

After the director's death in 1999, several theaters across the US sporadically hosted screening of the film, including a showing in September 2010 at Los Angeles' Egyptian Theater, where star Paul Mazursky answered questions about the production. TCM aired the film on television for the first time in December 2011.

"Fear and Desire" will be released in a restored, high-definition format. No word on the bonus features.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 7:42:07 AM

The plot reminds me of the Jack Klugman Twilight Zone episode where they find their own spaceship with their dead bodies inside
RickPeters writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 7:43:31 AM

That's awesome news. Kubrick is my favorite director and this is the only movie of his that I haven't seen/own. I don't expect it to be very good, but it'll be interesting to watch.
pornfly writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 7:49:26 AM

Welcome back RICK
RickPeters writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 7:56:08 AM

Never left Pornfly. I just always make it to these threads after they've gone way off topic and spiraled into vile, disgusting madness that even my worst comments couldn't compete with. So I usually just sit back and enjoy.

Figured I'd take my rare chance to throw in a legit comment before Lohan's vag or gay sex inevitably comes up and I have to leave those comments to the professionals haha
pornfly writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 8:03:30 AM

ha
Well this is the thread to do it ^
I doubt theyll be many posts on this news since this movie is rarely seen and most of the trolls hang out at the top story
salute
Bullit writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 8:24:56 AM

But why Kubrick decided to prohibit it? Was it that bad?
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 8:27:22 AM

f*cking badass
trailertrash writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 8:28:49 AM

I don't think he liked the movie Bullit
Bullit writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 8:44:43 AM

^ ^ Knowing how a perfectionist he was, I think you're right.
trailertrash writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 9:11:44 AM

Wish he had that attitude about Clock Work Orange

One of the most overrated films in cinema history IMO, Not much of a fan of 2001 either TBH

Paths Of Glory, Spartacus and Dr Strange Love are much better films IMO

Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 9:32:59 AM

Good news. This is what they should start doing instead of rebooting every classic. Restore it, make the voices crisper, HDify the picture even throw in some explosions and sh*t. Kubrick's genius has yet to be matched, kids need to see what real film makings about instead of this depressing Nolan nonsense.
Stapes writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 9:42:06 AM

Paths of glory, another great classic you should see if havet already.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 9:44:38 AM

How about repecting the directors wishes, I'm sure he took the movie out of circulation for a reason.
sherv writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 10:09:53 AM

@ trailer. Dude I'm shocked, clockwork orange is one of the best films ever made, defo Kubricks best at least.
Bullit writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 10:17:13 AM

^ ^ The last hour of the film was quite too slow & boring.
trailertrash writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 10:40:13 AM

sherv

I know a lot of people really like A Clockwork Orange.

I just found it a nasty unlikable film full of nasty and unlikable characters.

And i like Kubrick, Mcdowell, Magee and Warren Clarke especially.

Maybe because it was banned for so long (in the UK), When i finally watched it, It seemed like a big anti climax

Also found it was very difficult to sit through it just couldn't hold my attention,I wanted to keep skipping it on.

Kubrick is a great director, But Clockwork Orange isn't a great film. (imo of course)
Stapes writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 12:08:52 PM

@trailertrash
Agreed
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 2:17:25 PM

I think I'll have to pass.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=1827164897920384059

Even for schlocky 1950s standards, Kubrick's first film is damned near terrible, and I'm not talking about the warbly video, either.

Don't think this one will have anyone but the hardcore collector's grabbing it.
sherv writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 4:19:05 PM

@ Trailer. The book was way more violent than the film, but your right, it was really built up in the UK. I remember all my folks generation talking about it & i was starting to get into the late 70's, early 80's revenge flicks at the time (many moons ago now hehe).
Zeroguy writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 5:22:16 PM

I'll buy it but I know it's probably sh*t.
As for Clockwork, I agree slightly.
It's his weaker film, that's for sure. I think it's the uber violence and the progress of pushing violence out yet it comes back is what attracts people to the film.
If anything, I wish The Killing, Lolita or Barry Lyndon were the films that people knew more.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 8th, 2012 at 10:51:09 PM

I watched this online a long time ago and it's a very average generic B&W relic of a movie and if no one told you, you would never guess it was directed by Sir Stanley. On a related note, the Criterion Blu-Ray of Paths of Glory is absolutely incredible and the transfer is so f*cking good that it looks like a brand new movie shot on black and white film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved