WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Total Recall" Can't Beat "The Dark Knight Rises" in Theaters

Posted: August 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Total Recall" CanSubmit Comment
With a budget of $125 million, "Total Recall" attempted to top the domestic box office this weekend, but fell short to "The Dark Knight Rises," which took first place for the third week in a row with $36 million. The third Batman film has now grossed $733 million globally.

"Total Recall" had to settle for second place with $26 million, which is lower than expected. With such a hefty budget and a pricey marketing campaign, the film will heavily depend on international ticket sales in order to avoid becoming a failure. It has a 31% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days," the third film in the franchise, took third place with $14.7 million, which is an excellent start for the comedy that cost only $22 million to produce. The new movie has a 50% fresh rating.

Overall, domestic ticket sales were down 25% from the same weekend last year. Summer Olympics likely played a role in keeping people at home, and according to research by NRG, 20% of movie-goers avoided theaters due to the Colorado shootings.

Click here to read our "Total Recall" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
witwicky-potter writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 5:57:01 AM

TDKR isn't doing that well at all.Wonder if this would have been the same result if the colorado shooting never happened
Taco writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 6:15:36 AM

Yes the shooting played a small part in the box office but also Bane was heavily shown in the marketing, but who he was, and his motives, (thus our interest) was absent. Not many casual movie goers know Bane and they didn't market him very well. IMO
Johnnyb writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 6:23:41 AM

From the beginning this has been a war and Marvel has won it this year. As for TDKR many people complain too much violence, the villain was not attractive, the plot is too weak, blahblahblah.... But if you compare the product and the written that this guys has put together for this closure, it prefect, excellent and outstanding, not even closer what The Avengers could offer or the rest of Marvel films, just simple like that.....

As for TDKR in box offices, well at least it stays for third straight week in first place rather than the unnecessary and crappy remake of Total Recall.
pornfly writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 6:56:46 AM

53% of movie goers were over 30

I guess if you just made a movie of someone jingling some car keys,idiots will pay to watch it


Its now up to the rest of the world to decide if we have to put up with Hollywood stepping on remakes of classic movies.
The time to take a stand is now
YoungChris writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 7:03:55 AM

Total Recall - Total Sh*it .. Lol j/k .. I watched the movie last night .. Pleasantly surprised, a lot of action!! .. It's way different than the original, I liked it but I prefer the 90's version 8/10 ...
boogiel writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 7:51:20 AM

Meh..I'm not surprised at all with Total recall's flop. That surely will happen to a remake no one wanted or needed.
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 7:51:34 AM

I live them both but Denzel would have been a better choice for tr
Dr Fate writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 7:52:43 AM

@witwicky

Not doing well at all? 733 million on a 300+ budget (including marketing)?
You greedy bastard
witwicky-potter writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 8:17:56 AM

lol.no Dr Fate.Guess i expected TDKR to challenge The Avengers Figured it would have crossed the Billion mark already.
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 8:21:40 AM

^ That figure will be a lot higher once this weekends rest of the world totals are added to $733 mil.

And did that shooting have that much of effect on the movies boxoffice performance ??

Doubt it ...
witwicky-potter writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 8:36:20 AM

Makes sense Trailer.thanks
JB_ASSassinatIonS writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 8:39:24 AM

I wouldn't mind getting covered in baby oil and letting Collin Farrell have his way with me! Sexy
Taco writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 8:56:54 AM

Umm... TMI much there JB_assassin.
Wallace writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 9:34:54 AM

Looks like it will end up north of 1 billion worldwide:

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/news/?id=3496&p=.htm

"With openings in China and Italy to look forward to, it now looks like a foregone conclusion that The Dark Knight Rises will wind up with over $1 billion worldwide."

trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 9:38:39 AM

JB

You could well be in luck fella ..

He seems like the kind of guy that will f*ck any old silly c*nt that passes his way !
Bullit writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 10:16:58 AM

"I wouldn't mind getting covered in baby oil and letting Collin Farrell have his way with me! Sexy"

Wow, you are really asking for it JB!
markoz writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 10:37:40 AM

Avengers had 3D. And that's all I have to say
Fightclub1 writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 11:19:51 AM

Tdkr is still making bank. @wallace thanks for the info man, I knew it would.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 11:49:31 AM

@JB - I appreciate the (coincidental) timing of your post, for I have not yet eaten today, yet.

And WHO in their right mind expected Total Recall would EVER (even if the movie was good) would come CLOSE to Batman?!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 12:00:03 PM

You know what I've had it with Worst Previews and the blatant racism from the likes of people like JB_ASSassinatIonS. "Denzel would have been a better choice for tr" I bet you wish Peter Parker was black too don't you.

This site is a disgusting hate filled place, why do you all have to be so mean :( I'm writing a letter in my own blood to Alex asking him to have JB Ass Nation and any other narrow minded bigot to be removed. I WILL HAVE THIS SITE SHUT DOWN MARK MY WORD!!!!!!
OneTime writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 12:09:44 PM

not a shocker
Damon242 writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 12:17:44 PM

Meanwhile, a volcano not far from my house just exploded.

I'll just go back to trying to get to sleep now...
codeman_1216 writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 1:46:59 PM

Yup, saw Total Recall this weekend and was not impressed with it. Lot's of cool action but the movie itself is unnecessary. As for TDKR, I think it's doing quite well for it's third weekend, considering. I'm sure it will reach 1 billion.
trailertrash writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 1:56:16 PM

Cinema - LOL

Do you feel you could have used a few more exclamation marks and capital letters though !!
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 3:25:48 PM

Lower than expected?? I'm surprised that bucket of sh*t could beat Diary of a Wimpy Kid.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 3:40:09 PM

I'm not surprised at all. The only thing to save this would be a Biel/Beckinsale shower scene.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 3:45:20 PM

@cinema... lol. Your intent will be lost on the simpleton that is JB and/or his imposter. Funny read though Brother.
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 5:43:21 PM

"Wonder if this would have been the same result if the colorado shooting never happened"

It's hardly unlikely imo the Colorado shooting had much to do with depressed sales, and again, one might wonder how TDKR compares, with adjustments for inflation, to Batman Begins, because the comparison to TDK is FALSE. You can't sit there and say TDKR should perform as well as TDK, but people are, and then they look for a reason, and naturally they assume the Colorado shooting is the culprit.

There's simply no evidence of that at all, and I know when I went to the see TDKR, in the afternoon, when the theater should have been rather empty, there was a depressingly large number of people within the walls.

It's kind of like when there's a restaurant mass murder. Do people, and by people I mean Americans, stay home and cook? No, they still trundle off to get fed.

Americans may not be the brightest people on the planet, but they're smart enough to know a rare event perpetuated by a wackjob isn't likely to happen twice in quick succession.

"I guess if you just made a movie of someone jingling some car keys,idiots will pay to watch it"

In other words, many people have the minds of a boot-pissing cat. And I don't disagree.
Venom1970 writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 7:25:52 PM

Don't think JB is Jason Barkley!! For one I couldn't see the guy as a poof! (Fag for you Americans) The oil comment sussed me out, anyway on wp Facebook .......................

Jason Barkley
I see that someone is using my photo as a profile on worst previews...i should be angry...the profile is called JB_ASSassinatlonS and it is not me and it should be deleted
Venom1970 writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 7:37:57 PM

On Topic, I could not see Total Recall beating TDKR, Mind you have not seen it yet, Prob wait for blu-ray release. Also people are sheep what the masses and commercials say to watch they will. Sad actually even here is Aust people saying "your game for seeing that" I mean come on?? Some d*ckhair does it does not mean 1000 copycats will do so too. I believe it swayed a few but not many to show on the box office.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved