WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Thomas Anderson's "The Master" Has Been Seen, First Reactions Are In

Posted: August 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Thomas AndersonSubmit Comment
People who went to see "The Shining" in Santa Monica on Friday evening were treated to a bonus surprise screening of Paul Thomas Anderson's new movie "The Master," which stars Joaquin Phoenix, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Amy Adams. And now, the first reactions are in. Remember, these are not critics, just regular movie-goers.

Reviews:

* I'm still digesting everything I saw, but it was pretty amazing. It was like a strange fever dream. [But] not audience friendly AT ALL. An ambiguous ending and not one likable character. There are three or four scenes between Phoenix and Hoffman that are barn burners. It also contains the best work Amy Adams has ever done. Phoenix WILL win Best Actor unless Daniel Day Lewis blows us away with [his] Lincoln performance. Believe it or not, his performance is stranger than that fake documentary he made.

* Donít want to say more than a few words about it but it is an all around excellent film. I've yet to see one bad [Hoffman] performance but this one may be his best. 2hrs 10 min. Will get nods for Picture. Good chance of winning original screenplay and acting awards. It will have its fair share of detractors and its not a "safe" choice.

* A movie has never made me feel quite like this one did. I can't describe it or even rate it. I am speechless.

* The Master was amazing. Oscars all over this one.

* Hoffman is one of the finest actors alive. The Master is (more) proof.

* It's like nothing I've ever seen before.

* B+ hazy, meandering story with beautiful staging and headed by Phoenix's brilliant, yearís-best performance.

* The Master is interesting. I'll be thinking about it for days.

Watch the trailer for "The Master" here.

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
EarOne writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 8:14:41 AM

i'll be FIRST in line. but, Magnolia's still my favorite PT Anderson's film.
cress writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 8:44:12 AM

That picture of Hoffman looks likes its for "Captain Kangaroo: The Early Years."

Can't wait to see this though. I really enjoy Anderson's work.
Mudders writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 8:45:44 AM

yeah magnolia is his best work thus far

very very closely followed by ...there will be blood

we'll see if this tops them...should be good.

film now writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 11:09:26 AM

Paul Thomas Anderson can do no wrong. Been hanging for a new PTA film since There Will Be Blood blew me away. But yes, Magnolia is his best work.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 11:14:41 AM

I've heard this is based on L. R. Hubbard Scientology & when Anderson showed to his friend T. Cruise, Cruise didn't really like it....hit too close to home?

And I don't think any of Anderson are mainstream movies per se, but you gotta admit he gets the best performance from all his actors....really intetested to see this film.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 11:21:47 AM

Rattling society's cages or making people think with film is always great to see anyways, IMO.

In this case, I get the feeling Anderson is showing how a person religious belief can be so strong, yet fragile that people who are so willing to believe can be led to a cult group....

Or something like that...

OneTime writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 1:30:42 PM

whats it about
pornfly writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 2:52:47 PM

CELLULOID,Cruise is said to not like a particular scene where two men are commenting during one of 'L.Rons' speeches,something about 'this guy is crazy' i believe

f*ck these Santa Monica screenings
Its those same turd burglers that got those chickensh*t suits to change GI Joe 2 into GI Joe 2: Dont Ask Dont Tell with extra Channing Tatum.

How bout screening an action film to your target audience instead of a bunch of hipster homos
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 7:24:40 PM

I haven't seen Magnolia, but I will now. Seems there is much to learn of stagecraft from Paul Thomas Anderson, even though he shares his name, unfortunately, with a director of diametrically opposed capabilities and sensitivities.
Quidd writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 10:47:25 PM

PTA will never out do what he did on There Will Be Blood, and neither will DDL.
Quidd writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 10:47:51 PM

And Magnolia was waaaaayy too long for a drama.
blinkbomber writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 9:23:05 AM

Glad to see all the love for Magnolia. One of my faves as well. Still need to catch There Will Be Blood, but will most likely be seeing The Master first from the sound of it.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 10:53:08 AM

Thanks Pornfly. Cheers....
bane writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 12:50:24 PM

he might win best actor
but this will win best picture

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/06/zero-dark-thirty-trailer-osama-bin-laden-kathryn-bigelow_n_1747746.html?utm_hp_ref=entertainment

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved