WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Total Recall" - What Did You Think?

Posted: August 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Total Recall" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
The remake of Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Total Recall" is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes "Total Recall" has a lousy 32% fresh rating, with many critics agreeing that the film is beautifully-shot and well-made, but lacks in the story department. The words commonly used to describe the movie are "unnecessary" and "forgettable."

The new film cost $125 million to make. And when you add an expensive marketing campaign, "Total Recall" will have to gross at least $300 million to break even. Come back on Sunday to see if it will at least be able to beat the $25 million the original film took in on its opening weekend back in 1990.

Click here to read our "Total Recall" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 103 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:27:35 AM

His wife wants to kill him
Just like Ahnolds wife

Damnu 3tit maid
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:41:01 AM

I'll Watch it for free.will not support Colin failures cocaine habit.this movie looks so sh*tty it makes me WANt to watch a triple scifi cheese feature of critters,johny mnemonic and cyborg.
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:42:39 AM

When i saw the original,you didnt know what was real or Rekall and i remember reactions being either they didnt get it or they had to watch more than once,the Mars setting was used as a distractor

The commercials give away the whole story,theres no Mars and the distractors are Biels ass and Beckinsdales everything else

A beautiful disaster of a remake
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:45:54 AM

i know you feel alone and outta place out there BANDO, so heres a song from tha mutha land for ya
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jov-R1FfoJs&feature=youtube_gdata_player
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:47:25 AM

Cant see the song now pornfly,posting from Android what is it?better not be gay
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:50:50 AM

It isnt but it is
Somthn for you to rockout to in your golfcart at work

Just felt like bustin your balls a lil
salute
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:54:44 AM

Oh ok cause If not I was gonna put some aventura or daddy Yankee song for you.

Golf cart gets comfy
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:59:56 AM

^or some TKA
LOL
rockkillers writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:24:59 AM

this is a sh*tty pg13 remake of a great R rated classic. Anyone who supports this movie is a tool.
rockkillers writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:34:30 AM

I haven't even seen the movie but let's compare shall we?

1990 Total Recall
-Stars Arnold Schwarzenegger in his prime
-Sharon Stone
-Hardcore tits with the tri boob
-Directed by Paul Verhoeven (made Robocop, Basic Instict, Starship Troopers, Hollowman, Showgirls)
-Co Stars Sharon Stone
-Rated R.
-Very violent, bloody, curse language one liners from Arnold, great Sci Fi movie

2012 Total Recall
-Starring Colin Farrell
-Directed by Len Wiseman (Directed Live Free or Die Soft)
-Co Stars Jessica Biel
-Rated pg-13 (lame/poinless cash cow remake)
-watered down sci fi action, also featuring a tri boob woman wearing a bikini to push the fim from just PG to PG-13.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:42:58 AM

Don't forget Sharons stones performance in the specialist,action Jackson,sliver
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:44:33 AM

I'll watch the remake cause im happy that bokeem woodbine got paid.thats it
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:08:47 AM


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2183250/The-real-life-Batcave-Dark-Knight-superfan-spends-1-3MILLION-creating-home-cinema-replica-Bruce-Waynes-underground-lair.html
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:17:53 AM

^i want to go to there!
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:27:37 AM

Bullit

"Holy f*ckin super cool"
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:39:21 AM

^ ^ Here's a much cooler idea if I had $2 mil to spent: a villa in the Bahamas with a swimming pool merging directly into the see, just like Sean Connery owns one.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:54:09 AM

"Beautifully shot and well-made, but lacks in the story department.....unnecessary and unforgettable."

That's actually better than what I think they'll say about Judge Dredd, as far as action remakes go for this year, so I'll probably end up catching this at some point. And some lazy cynicism from the critics, I might add.

Oh, and 25 mil is about 42 mil in 2012 dollars. So the remake cost three times the original, at least, and yet seems poised to offer far less return on interest. Not very smart Columbia.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 9:57:42 AM

I was gonna see this yesterday but I said f*ck it, I went and bought the original on Blu Ray and had a blast watching it. The way better choice imo.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 9:58:37 AM

Bullit- Nice find. I want that as my sex lair to lure innocent and unsuspecting young girls there for fun.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:01:48 AM

It was surprisingly good and stands well on its own. Some reviews are calling dumb but i think it deals with themes a little over their heads.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:12:34 AM

Its not perfect but the action scenes, which never seem to end, are totally worth the ticket. Its better than i think the dredd reboot will be.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:17:57 AM

And three tits shows her nips. Pg13 doesnt mean what it used to. All it means nowadays is it isnt a torture porn flick.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:16:17 AM

'...critters,johny mnemonic and cyborg.'

Ouch!
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:18:00 AM

@Bullit - nice link.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:21:34 AM

Partial nudity in pg-13 films is old. Like three decades old. At least. Some would say it goes back even farther.

You must be in your fifties, Stapes.

http://www.manolith.com/2009/09/21/top-10-pg-13-nude-scenes/

http://www.asylum.com/2009/07/01/the-13-greatest-pg-13-nude-scenes-of-all-time/


On the other hand, Beowulf contains a scene in which Jolie appears nude in a sexually-oriented manner, apparently conflicting the stated rules set by the MPAA.

"More than brief nudity will require at least a PG-13 rating, but such nudity in a PG-13 rated motion picture generally will not be sexually oriented."

Many argue that the aforementioned scene in Beowulf is more than just a little 'sexually oriented'.

http://tacitvoice.blogspot.com/2007/11/full-frontal-nudity-allowed-in-pg-13-by.html

Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:30:52 AM

All im saying is that the whole R versus PG13 rating thing is passe.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:36:25 AM

@Bullit: That link you posted...odd. It claims 'it is being built', and then shows the room as already constructed.

And why did he, the customer, feel the need for TWO displays? What, one massive flat-screen just wasn't enough? Did he need another display for his Batman parody porn?

And what a waste of computer LCDs just to show some goofy graphics.

And apparently the images aren't actual photos, but CG mockups, as ELITE THS is merely a design company.

http://www.elitehometheaterseating.com/#batcave

Christ, man, the p*ssy and coke he could buy for 2 mil, and he wastes it on Batman sh*t. What a f*ckhead.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:37:33 AM

"All im saying is that the whole R versus PG13 rating thing is passe."

Not according to the MPAA and the studios that refuse to do strictly R-rated cuts because of profit loss.
ALIsuperstar writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:43:54 AM

No surprise there!
a very sh*tty movie I glad I didn't spend nothing to watch this remake, ell its not a remake its a god damn copy, a bad copy...
too shame
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:47:57 AM

If youve been to the movies lately youd see just how little the R PG13 difference matters in attendance. PG versus are is where the real difference is in so far as a films genreand target audience is concerned, so yes, the R PG13 argument is indeed passe. And the MPAA is entirely inconsistant in their rating policy anyway... its become a politics game.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:50:14 AM

I think youre stuck in a 90'sway mindset mink.
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:09:26 PM

You welcome fellas.

@Mink: I think it's more an advertisement from that company to promote what they're capable of delivering but I doubt it is actually owned by some crazy guy who wanted to have a Batman movie theater in his palace. The technical aspect you mention should prove you right. But everything is possible since some people have more money than sense. For instance, look at the most expensive mansion in Surrey, England:


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Et1vuhj1po


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2013170/UKs-expensive-house-seized-bank-owner-defaults-50m-mortgage.html


Just the cost of maintenance made me dizzy...
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:11:57 PM

*I meant the most expensive in the UK, located in Surrey, England.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:13:23 PM

No doubt they're squeezing, for some films, the R-rating down into the PG-13 category, and no doubt much of what passes for PG-13 today would be R-rated yeter-year, but that's not really the argument. You claimed the R-PG-13 rating classification is 'passe', that is, obsolete, and I don't agree because all that means then is that they can now add to the R-rating content that would otherwise get forcibly cut, like super-graphic gore, Rambo 4-style violence, soft-core pornography and what not.


Quite simply, you claim a truncation at the r-rating boundary whereas I see compression. Or in other words, "this isn't your father's R/PG-13".

But we CAN agree that this compression is done for the sake of money, that studios want the adults cashing in as well as the teenagers, and thus the MPAA, hardly the bastion of morals Hollywood once employed, is nothing but a bought and paid shill pandering to the 'puritanical' sensibilities of many, if not most, Americans.
bane writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:17:00 PM

i created a page
to celebrate her ''performance''

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kaitlyn-Leeb-Total-Recall/219277774861552
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:20:27 PM

@Bullit: they said the guy buying that ugly Batcave sh*t is an American, if I read it right.

On one page they said Connecticut:

"It is being built by Canadian-based Elite Home Theater Seating at a private home in Greenwich, Connecticut, USA."

On another page they say California:

"Please note that Elite HTS is only a design consultant for this particular project in California."

http://www.elitehometheaterseating.com/#batcave

O_o



So...not sure if you thought this Batnerd guy is British, because I've always certainly believed those folks have more class than us boorish Americans, if not less fluorine in their water.
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:33:35 PM

@Mink: This batcave is def in America but I wanted to say that some rich people don't know how to spend their money wisely and another example was that extraordinary mansion in Surrey which is totally uninhabited and costs millions to run it.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:36:23 PM

@Bullit: Jesus supposedly once said, IIRC: "In my father's house are many rooms".

I guess that's where God lives, huh?
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:48:22 PM

I think He always used the word "places" as there are no rooms as there isn't any houses. Just an infinite world with lots of different places.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 1:01:53 PM

In regards to the Total Recall remake, I went in thinking that the PG-13 rating would make for a "watered-down" experience, however, just as Wiseman surprised me with a competent PG-13 Diehard (which in my opinion was better than Diehard with a vengence) he delivered the goods in Total Recall also. I'm no fan of reboots or remakes as a general rule, however Total Recall was a fresh surprise to me, I feel that it stands on its own and in no way tarnished the Verhoeven classic. I appreciated all the smart little homages and tributes that it paid to the original and as a big fan of the original and most of PV's body of work (even Showgirls) I wasn't offended at all by Wiseman's version.

PKD is probably the most adapted to screen sci-fi writer there is and this is just another great conversion of his work to the film media.

The only qualms I had about it are that the third act could have been stronger and more character developement for the Cohagan and Mathias characters would have been nice.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 1:04:33 PM

"I think He always used the word "places" as there are no rooms as there isn't any houses. Just an infinite world with lots of different places."

It depends on the translation, Bullit, and it was a metaphor, an allegory if you will, as Christ was wont to use them for illustration purposes.

http://dailyinchrist.blogspot.com/2009/03/there-are-many-rooms-in-my-fathers.html

As an atheist, even I know that.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 1:05:50 PM

@jake_vermont: left you a reply in the dino' thread, if you're reading this. Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 1:14:23 PM

"PKD is probably the most adapted to screen sci-fi writer there is and this is just another great conversion of his work to the film media."

True, which is really sad, considering that Ray Bradbury is a vastly better and more enjoyable writer, as d*ck's novels are downright unreadable,

His short stories on the other hand, though replete with atrociously leaden dialogue and virtually non-existent characterizations, have a modic*m of appeal, if and only if you distill from them the mind-f*ck qualities, which is why they often cheaply and disposably serve Hollywood as a cinematic gimmick to sell tickets.

Conversely and comparatively, any adaptation of Bradbury would have to start with giving an actual f*ck with respect to the source material, something that doesn't typically occur when Hollywood's money is involved.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 1:19:32 PM

...much.

Never end your sentence with a demonstrative adjective, I guess.
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 1:47:32 PM

@Mink: SILLY ME!! You're right my friend but it would be too complicated to explain why I took it so literally.

minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 1:54:11 PM

You could always try. Not like there's any other conversations, good or otherwise, going on...
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 2:15:53 PM

Okay, I'll try: I read/studied the bible in French therefore my penny didn't automatically dropped when I read the word "room". The quotation in French is: "Il y a beaucoup de demeures dans la maison de mon Père". The word "demeure" is not assimilated as a room per say but more like a place of residence or where you currently reside, your habitat or in this reference The Father has many place where you could live at the opposition of a simple "room". Demeure is more like a house than a room. But I should have known better as I easily get lost in my own translation since I speak and write in 4 languages every single day or almost. I never cease to enjoy learning so many different meanings, expressions every day. I love feeding my mind with it.

ps: I thought you were more of an agnostic person than an atheist.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 2:22:15 PM

Tell me how you really feel, Bullit. Let Father Freud explore your dreams and thoughts.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 2:27:11 PM

"I thought you were more of an agnostic person than an atheist."

I don't subscribe to the notion of an all-powerful old guy in a white robe running the show. My thoughts on 'god' would go about as far as accepting the possibility that reality is some sort of simulation, or video game, something like The Sims on an infinitely larger scale, such that to the little wee people in that game, the programmers over at Maxis and Electronic Arts are their 'god'.

I know that's not the answer you want, as you're more of a traditionally devout man of spirituality, but that's the best the scientist in me can possibly offer, at least at this time.
Bullit writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 2:42:56 PM

As much as Freud is the father of psychology as much he wouldn't understand why have I dreamed 5 times of Jesus-Christ in my life so far. Very vivid and intense dreams. I remember more those 5 "dreams" than my actual daily life. Honestly I do.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 2:56:31 PM

"I love feeding my mind with it."

I love feeding my mind too. Just discovered this:

http://www.youtube.com/user/YaleCourses/videos?view=1

And you gave the perfect set-up to share it with everyone, not that too many will take much interest...

As for what else you said, well, I can't comment too much on the religion aspect, but I can say I was just joshing you on the 'room' interpretation, though it does make sense on a certain level, as Christ was a teacher, and not exactly the most educated, and the people to whom we was preaching would have been even less intellectually-developed, I'm afraid, at least for the most part, so your scholastic embellishment is certainly less directly literal, and more philosophical, and it also allows for more discussion than the mere 'room' interpretation.

My father's house has many rooms. Sorry. I just find that expression pretty cool. Reminds me of The Matrix for some reason.


Anyway, I've always wanted to learn Russian and German, since you mentioned languages. Very guttural, those, and what's more awesome than talking sh*t to English-speakers in the two languages from the two nations they've had to face down, historically speaking, within the last century?
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 2:57:47 PM

"As much as Freud is the father of psychology as much he wouldn't understand why have I dreamed 5 times of Jesus-Christ in my life so far. Very vivid and intense dreams. I remember more those 5 "dreams" than my actual daily life. Honestly I do."

Dunno. I used to dream about math and big-breasted blondes. Freud would have a field day, I suppose, with that one.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:04:32 PM

I don't think I'd go so far as to call PKD "unreadable." Unless of course you're talking about Exegesis. I think that's more a matter of personal taste. The reason why d*ck's works are so popular is because the themes they deal with: alienation, conspiracy, what is reality, identity and determinism, make for compelling stories and in some cases are easily translated to film. PKD was always more of a philosopher than writer anyway.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:12:07 PM

From a purely technical perspective, I agree that Bradbury is a better "writer," of course, and I love Bradbury, I grew up watching his TV show, but as an adult now I prefer concepts that aren't spoonfed to me and Bradbury always came across to me as a little more milquetoast compared to sci-fi writers like d*ck and Ellison.
nawtnt writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:29:25 PM

"Unnessary"? Yes.

Hollywood has stop remaking all of those classic movies that everyone loves.

There are plenty of video games that deserved to be turned into movies.
rockkillers writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:29:50 PM

@Stapes if you think thats all an R is you are a f*cking idiot.
rockkillers writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:31:03 PM

I wish kids like you didn't exsit. Also, the new Judge Dredd (rated R) reboot has extremely positive early reviews.
rockkillers writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:34:03 PM

Bwahah. Just read the part where you said you liked the watered down Die Hard. f*ck off you tool that wasn't even a Die Hard movie. If you can't tell the difference you have no business discussing movies.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:15:31 PM

"but as an adult now I prefer concepts that aren't spoonfed to me and Bradbury always came across to me as a little more milquetoast compared to sci-fi writers like d*ck and Ellison.'

Bradbury is simply a storyteller in essentially the same way Asimov told stories: good. There's nothing 'spoonfed' in any of those men's writings, anymore than there's anything 'spoonfed' in a Hemingway novel.

The idea is, simply put, to convey a story, and the aforementioned authors perform more far more admirably in that realm than d*ck, who was an expositor on essentially drug-induced altered states of mind, and that's to whom he appeals: people looking to get 'high' on some form of literary LSD, and NOT people who appreciate the art of proper storytelling involving realistic humans, which is where and why d*ck massively fails.

As for him being a philosopher, I find the notion offensive. d*ck surely had a grasp on odd interpretations of time and how it's perceived by the mind via alternate and unconventional methodologies and experiences, but he has absolutely nothing to say to people, imo, who live in a rational, ordered world, in that, if you view certain aspects of philosophy as precursors to science, d*ck's ideas are nothing but bizarre hallucinations.

The fact is, if you're a machine, with no personality, and no concept of proper human interaction, you might find d*ck more appealing, just as if you were an addict interested in 'altering your mind' (far out man!).

Beyond that, and as a commercial visual gimmick for screwing with how memories define who we are, d*ck has nothing to say, especially when you read real philosophers, people appreciably well-studied in the various fields of exploring how humans interact with external reality.


"Unless of course you're talking about Exegesis. I think that's more a matter of personal taste."

Of course it's a subjective matter, but what isn't subjective much is that d*ck simply had absolutely no grasp on how to write real characters involved in real situations, and that's a real bore, because I'm arguably human, and not a Terminator.

Again, his dialogue is atrocious, and his characterizations non-existent, and as a philosopher, as I've said, he's grossly inferior to scholastic thinkers, thus, his appeal is narrow, and had he been born, say, in the 19th century, no one would have paid him much mind, as his 'appeal' didn't really take off until the hippie/Beat generation anyway when alternate interpretations of reality, as a contrarian stance to the 'status quo' became the moronic radical's rebel cry, and to this day, loose-minded people rush to him instead of the more accurate academic vein.

"The reason why d*ck's works are so popular is because the themes they deal with: alienation, conspiracy, what is reality, identity and determinism"

In other words, irrational people too stupid or wacked out to read the actual science and the actual philosophy, which is why his boring junk filters it's way down into one sh*tty Hollywood film after another, usually in the form of some annoying and pretentious 'mind-f*ck', as I previously mentioned, or in the form of some silly film like Next, based on The Golden Man, which I read, and found to be moderately novel, but of no literary or philosophic value, as d*ck writes about interesting nonsense that has little to no basis in reality, either now or the foreseeable future.

"Bradbury always came across to me as a little more milquetoast compared to sci-fi writers like d*ck and Ellison."

I don't care. Seems your taking some tack with me with respect to Bradbury to milk an intended response. I just used the guy as a superior, someone more people would likely rather read than d*ck's convoluted, dry and often inane nonsense.

To be perfectly honest, I gave up on most fiction a long, long time ago. Every so often, I'll read some scribble for entertainment, but that's it. Fiction simply has very little value imo, beyond that of pop-cultural entertainment.

If I want to learn something, I go to the source. I don't read Asimov or Card or Baxter to learn about physics or interstellar exploration. I go to the proper nonfiction, just as I surely would never approach d*ck with any intent on learning the secrets of how memories work, because he certainly isn't a conduit to the state of being a more informed, educated reader, imo.


And that's that.
Johnnyb writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:27:09 PM

Impossible. TDKR will rape the box offices of every weekend until Expendables 2 comes out.... Just like 2008, when Tropic Thunder came, taking out TDK from consecutive 4 weeks in the box office. Keep that in mind.....
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:34:47 PM

""Total Recall" - What Did You Think?"

I don't know, Alex, because I can't 'recall'. It was just that unmemorable.

Ironic, right?
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:40:23 PM

""Total Recall" - What Did You Think?"

The women look better a lot better, Other than that we have to wait a month to see the movie.
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:43:26 PM

Im doin the same thing BC except i'm rentin
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:52:54 PM

*sigh*

I really have to start reading these 'articles' a little more closely, not that anyone gives a sh*t.

The original Total Recall had a production budget of about 65 million, not 25 million (as I originally thought when I skimmed the 'news') which is about 110 million in 2012 currency, adjusted for inflation.

Yeah, good luck hitting 41 mil in today's money, Colin.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:59:28 PM

“as for him being a philosopher, I find the notion offensive.”
Well you can find the notion offensive all you want, but having read current scholars in the field of philosophy commenting on d*ck’s ideas and contributions to the field, I think I’ll take their word over the opinion of an obviously limited person posting on a film site.
“To be perfectly honest, I gave up on most fiction a long, long time ago. Every so often, I’ll read some scribble for entertainment, but that’s it. Fiction simply has very little value imo… If I want to learn something, I go to the source. I don’t read Asimov or Card or Baxter to learn about physics or interstellar exploration. Blah blah blah…”
Science Fiction serves its purpose as inspiration for the eventual discovery of knowledge and or creation of new sciences that make our lives better as a whole, Mink, any scientist, inventor, explorer, philosopher etc. will tell you that. And I have no doubt that it serves no purpose other than pop culture entertainment for someone like yourself, however you’re not exactly the type of person who will create anything of any real value in your lifetime, be it an invention, an pioneering idea in any particular field, or a work of art. You’re what is technically referred to as a “hater,” I believe is the word I’m looking for. That is, someone who fancies themselves an unappreciated genius or person of note who has no real reason to, and they know those, so they sh*t on everything else and everyone else’s opinions to validate their useless existence. And no, Freud would not have a field day with you, he would have your number so to speak from the get go just like I do and anyone else who reads your posts on this site who is over the age of about 20 and is not socially retarded.
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:23:15 PM

And please don't think that I don't appreciate the time and effort you're putting into these long drawn out responses to my posts, I understand that it's due to an imagined rivalry you must have with myself and everyone else who posts on here, but in the interest of saving yourself some time and the mental anguish that is sure to follow if you ever manage to make yourself not look like more of a fool and do offend me somehow with one of your chapter length rambles that you use to prop up your sense of self worth, I would suggest instead that you do something more constructive like... I don't know... get laid?
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:27:20 PM

Well, my dear friend, I'm going to give you what you were spoiling for this entire day: an argument with good old minkowski. Hope it's all you dreamed.

"Well you can find the notion offensive all you want, but having read current scholars in the field of philosophy commenting on d*ck’s ideas and contributions to the field, I think I’ll take their word over the opinion of an obviously limited person posting on a film site"


Ah yes, the pop-cultural philosophizers. The folks who write trash like 'The Philosophy of The Simpsons', or 'The Philosophy of Transformers'. Ah, yes, those imbeciles.

Fact is, philosophy is dead anyway, and has been for a while. it's nothing more now than a romanticized husk of mummified thought feasted on by pretentious people who can't handle the rigors of science, which predominates the world, and not how man angels can dance on the head of a f*cking pin.

Sure, people write about d*ck. They have books to sell. They're parasites. They have to have someone on which they can base something for which they can get paid, just like art historians can't draw a circle but they sure can tell you whether it was Manet or Monet who died of syphilis, as if anyone gives a f*ck.

Fact is, science rules the world, philosophy does NOT.

"Science Fiction serves its purpose as inspiration for the eventual discovery of knowledge and or creation of new sciences that make our lives better as a whole, Mink, any scientist, inventor, explorer, philosopher etc. will tell you that."

Sure, to some extent that's true, and yet, people like the Wright brother's didn't get the idea of a plane from H.G. Wells or Jules Verne, they got it from observing nature, i.e., birds. So there's an element of inspiration, a romantic drive to accomplish some far-fetched dream, but int he end, nature, serves far more the example for real science and not the meanderings of a writer's imagination.

But that really doesn't matter, because there's not a whit of 'science' in anything d*ck ever wrote, which is why I find his books ever the more offensive. All that worthless drabble, and not one invention can be chalked up to him, not even crime programs like CRUSH, which some have compared to 'pre-crime'. No, the best he can do is give parasites something on which to base a sh*tty book, and give scientifically illiterate drug-addicts another means of escaping their 'harsh reality'.

That's imo of course, I just don't see the man's worth. He may contribute to 'philosophy', a barren, post-modern and nihilistic field of thought pretty much on the verge of extinction, at least formally, and he may contribute to Hollywood in the form of more fodder for 'screwing with the audience's minds', and he may even give some people something to do other than hitting the bong, but beyond that, I find his works unappealing, uninteresting, and pointless, and I'm sure you can twist that into another ad hominem, which is why I said it.

"And I have no doubt that it serves no purpose other than pop culture entertainment for someone like yourself, however you’re not exactly the type of person who will create anything of any real value in your lifetime, be it an invention, an pioneering idea in any particular field, or a work of art."

What I do or don't do with my life is my choice. I certainly don't have to do or not do something in order to tell you, or anyone else, how I feel about a particular person and his or her works, and the notion you think I must is not only highly irrational and illogical, it's petulant. I can almost see you sitting there, fuming, a 33 year old man-child, angry that some stranger doesn't care for your favorite author.

Tough sh*t, huh?


"You’re what is technically referred to as a “hater,” I believe is the word I’m looking for."


Actually, I'm pretty sure no one technically minded, like myself, would ever consider some pop-cultural teeniebopper colloquialism like 'hater' to be anywhere near the realm of the technical, but hey, whatever pretension you need, buddy, to feel like you have a point, grab it and hold on.



"That is, someone who fancies themselves an unappreciated genius or person of note who has no real reason to, and they know those, so they sh*t on everything else and everyone else’s opinions to validate their useless existence."


I really don't give a sh*t to be honest. All these people people like you worship, because you and them have no innate abilities or worth, are dead or will be dead, which is really the same thing. Right now, you're body is in a box, and right now, the sun has expired and burned good old earth to a crisp. It's all the same to me. What you call the past, the future, the non-existent present, it's all identical. You, me, we're all already dead, and we haven't been even born.

At best we're no different than dung beetles carry loads of sh*t of varying size on some inconsequential crust of rock next to some inconsequential sun, in some inconsequential galaxy, in an age that matters not one whit more than any other.

That's not philosophy, buddy, them's the scientific facts.

But hey, keep telling yourself you're gong to live forever, okay? Whatever keeps you 'sane'.

As for being unappreciated, lol, I can't even stand most people, to be honest, and my dream, the dream I have all the time, is to retire to some lonely island like Tom Hanks in the Castaway.

Give me some books, give me some electricity and a means to eat and drink, and you and all the other monkeys can have the world. I only post here and here alone to satisfy the annoying itch of hardwired socialization.

Beyond that, you and the other 7 billion bonobos can f*ck yourselves stupid.




"And no, Freud would not have a field day with you, he would have your number so to speak from the get go just like I do and anyone else who reads your posts on this site who is over the age of about 20 and is not socially retarded."


Well, that's great, genius. You managed to call me a fag and a loser without actually using those words, via implication. I guess you're not quite as stupid as most of the trolls, then.


Whatever.


trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:27:53 PM

Mink

This will do well to match the original's $26 million opening weekend if you ask me.

There will be a big drop off sunday night i bet
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:38:40 PM

"And please don't think that I don't appreciate the time and effort you're putting into these long drawn out responses to my posts"

I've certainly enjoyed it. Although you are keeping me from other more stimulating means, so perhaps you should just call it quits, my under-the-bridge friend.


"I understand that it's due to an imagined rivalry you must have with myself and everyone else who posts on here"


Actually no, the rivalry, if one exists, is on your side. I didn't know you from Adam, but I knew from your very first post you were spoiling to get into the mix with me.

Congratulations. *shrug*


"but in the interest of saving yourself some time and the mental anguish that is sure to follow if you ever manage to make yourself not look like more of a fool"

I don't spend a whole lot of time worrying about what strangers think of me. Seems that's more your racket.



"and do offend me somehow"

You've already been offended. The kneejerk personal ad hominems prove that, and before you say I insulted you first, I did not. I merely generalized, and as politically-correct f*ckheads like yourself are quick and wont to say, generalizations CAN'T be applied individually, so what's the worry?

"with one of your chapter length rambles"


Ooops, too late?


"that you use to prop up your sense of self worth"

I can assure you, my sense of self-worth does not, nor has it ever, been derived from arguing with inferiors over the internet. That's like a dog taking pride in biting a beetle.

But you do give me a place to test detonate my bombs, so thanks, Trinity.



"I would suggest instead that you do something more constructive like... I don't know... get laid?"

Ah. Behind all your annoying, superficial pretension is just another chiefone, another akasha, another Blumpkin. No different.

And to think I just gave you the benefit of the doubt, when in reality you're just another worthless bore. Just a mask you use to feel like you're not the idiot you really are.

Meh.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:40:14 PM

@trailer: yeah, but I adjusted it for inflation. I think in reality the new film will have to make 41 mil or so to comparatively perform because the 26 mil is in 1990 dollars...
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:03:57 PM

"I don't spend a whole lot of time worrying about what strangers think of me. Seems that's more your racket."

That's nice, a dressed up way of saying "I know you are but what am I," and to think I took you for more than just another nihilistic sh*thead, once you resort to that kind of tactic you show just how simple you really are. Strip away all the fancy linguistic posturing and you're just another, what's the pop culture teenie bopper reference you used, oh yes, "troll." Get a life, buddy. I can do this with you in my spare minutes all day long until something more pressing arises. I would never call you stupid, because you obviously aren't, but what you are is a sad and pathetic *sshole who tries to intellectually bully people online, which is worse than a physical bully in my opinion because in the indifferent reality of nature a p*ssy like you wouldn't last ten seconds "on and island like Tom Hanks in Castaway," lol. What an unoriginal dip you are, Mink. Philosophy is dead? Says who, you? You're a nobody and it's apparent as the day is long. You're entitled to you opinions of course, but what you aren't entitled to is not looking like a fool when reality at large doesn't fit your narrow interpretation of it. Once you resorted to the tired old "I know you are but what am I" gimmick I wrote you off, son. Ahhh, I remember when I was a 20 something d*ckhead like you, then I got laid. You should try it.
WV-Films writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:58:59 PM

I wonder what Mink has to say.....
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:59:55 PM

You're pulling me away from what I was doing, Inner Ear Bone, to argue with a nitwit.


"That's nice, a dressed up way of saying "I know you are but what am I,"


Or, just a little more accurately, a reflection of the truth put in the motion of words, but whatever, right? I mean, what the f*ck does it matter when you've named yourself, illiterately, after an electronic store, or a hunk of anatomy, and you have an avatar of a fictional, arguably gay, comic book hero eating a kid's breakfast meal, right?


"and to think I took you for more than just another nihilistic sh*thead""


I'm also a faggot, child molester, serial killer, f*ckin' psychopath, 'douchebag' (spelled incorrectly), fat, stupid, lazy, ugly disrespectful... *smack* Shut up bitch! Go fix me a turkey pot pie!


"once you resort to that kind of tactic you show just how simple you really are."

I'm simple only to simpletons, the way the sun was thought to be just a hole in the sky to ignorant Neolithic people hanging outside their caves.


"Strip away all the fancy linguistic posturing"


Ah, How cute. No argument of his own so he takes mine and turns it around. How cute. If I throw you a bone would you try to bury it too? You'd make someone a really good pet, I'd bet if only we solve that little problem with worms and the constant need to piss on the furniture.


"and you're just another, what's the pop culture teenie bopper reference you used, oh yes, "troll.""


...says the guy who's very first post was a dig at me. Jesus.

So, hey, look, hows the whole "shhhhh, I'm going to use his words against him because I have none of my own" working out for ya, loser? Really splendidly, huh?


"Get a life, buddy."

I'll take yours, since you're obviously not using it.

Well, until you get your head sawed off, which, if there's an divine intervention, should occur really soon...


"I can do this with you in my spare minutes all day long until something more pressing arises."


And when is your parole officer coming by?


"I would never call you stupid"


You would never call me at all because I don't answer the phone when known faggots are calling.


"because you obviously aren't"


Sorry. Can't extend you the same courtesy. But next time I donate to the Special Olympics, I'll be thinking of you.

Maybe. No, not really.

"but what you are is a sad and pathetic *sshole who tries to intellectually bully people online"


Says the patently inane imbecile who engineers a pointless argument with one person from his very first post, right?


But I guess you feel bullied, huh? I'm sorry. Do you want to cry now, or later?


"which is worse than a physical bully"

Right. Because being called stupid in the general is worse than having your nose broken.

Sorry to say, I expect daddy delivered both, and 'more', to you as a child. Which means last week at the latest.


"in my opinion"


You haven't earned the right to breathe, much less have an opinion, reprobate.


"because in the indifferent reality of nature"


Because we live in an 'indifferent reality', right? Says who? The retard who thinks Phillip K. d*ck's stories of time-traveling and drug-use qualifies as 'philosophy'? Pfffft.


"a p*ssy like you wouldn't last ten seconds "on and island like Tom Hanks in Castaway,"

No, f*ckhead, as I said, I would need books, electricity, food and water. Pretty sure I made myself clear on the requirements, imbecile.


"lol."


I didn't think ghouls like you could even cast reflections...


"What an unoriginal dip you are, Mink."

Right. I'm the one that ends his failed attempt at an argument, and his subsequent failed attempt at ad hominems, with the timeless, brilliant, seminal retort "get laid". Pshaw.


"Philosophy is dead?"

No, nearly dead, which is why it's hardly even taught, but hey, you go on and read your time-travel stories, kiddo, mmmkay, untermensch. Baby needs his baba, right? Wah.


"Says who, you?'

No, says the fact it's hardly taught and hardly anyone takes it as a class and the fact no one reads it. Sure, pretentious losers such as yourself, unversed in reality, stick with it, but then what else would you do with your life, other than troll the internet?



"You're a nobody and it's apparent as the day is long."


Ah, the day is long. A cliche. And not even appropriate. As the day is long. Brilliant. Do you have a book or something for these brilliant comments, or do you just fire up the old noggin' and get crankin'? Must be a total blast to watch you slam out one blinding remark after another...

"You're entitled to you opinions of course"

How very generous of you!


"but what you aren't entitled to is not looking like a fool when reality at large doesn't fit your narrow interpretation of it."


I'm free to do what the f*ck I want to do, and I'm going to continue doing what the f*ck I want to do, and no 'man' named after a bone, with a cereal-eating Superman avatar, is going to get me to do otherwise.

"Once you resorted to the tired old "I know you are but what am I" gimmick I wrote you off, son."


Another cliche. Son. I wrote you off. When you're not aping the standard troll script, you're stealing other people's posts, and when you're not doing that, you're chunking out inappropriate cliches. I bet you're a real ball of fire in the brains department when you're not mopping up the men's room at whatever sh*thole you call home.


"Ahhh, I remember when I was a 20 something d*ckhead like you, then I got laid."


And I'm sure your mother thought it was the best ten seconds of her life too.


"You should try it."


Okay. Where's your mother?



Anyway, this 'banter' isn't even droll. Send me a worthy troll or get the f*ck off the internet, because your apparent goal of teaching me a lesson, or as sh*t-kicking rednecks such as you say, "learn him good", isn't going to work. But nice try Maybe you can threaten violence next. Seems to be one of the latter stages of internet posturing among disaffected and dumb as a box of rocks troublemakers...

(expected response: didn't read it mink, but here's more of me reusing your words, more from the 'SOP of Trolldom', Second Edition, and more cliches that would make Wilford Brimley rolls his eyes if he had any left...)
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 9:00:21 PM

"I wonder what Mink has to say....."

Something, I'm sure...
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 9:14:19 PM

"intellectual bullying"

Bawahahahahaha!

Sorry, but that's a f*cking gas. Who the f*ck is bullied over the internet? No seriously, bullied over the internet...and it's even 'worse' than physical violence? f*ck me!

I guess it's true. Masculinity IS dead.

Or maybe it's just me. Maybe I'm just far too insensitive in this age of supposed 'men' cavorting, carrying on, like girls, with their lip-rings, tramp-stamps and pink hair, watching Twilight and Magic Mike and eating Fruity Loops.

I guess I'm the dinosaur, the sexual tyrannosaurus, surrounded by a bunch of slack-jawed faggots.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 9:17:13 PM

"I can do this with you in my spare minutes all day long until something more pressing arises."

I never noticed how prissy that sounds. Were you polishing your nails when you typed it, Stapes? Getting blown dry by your male hairdresser?
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 9:22:59 PM

I apologize. On closer inspection, Superman isn't eating cereal, he's cutting...something. Whatever. Like I give a f*ck. I guess that's the mentality of someone taking photos over in Afghanistan, and not actually doing any of the fighting.

Coward.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 9:33:21 PM

Hey, Amy, you on Facebook. Wanna have my baby?
Stapes writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 9:50:05 PM

Been around the world twice over and fought in two wars now, puke. Ive met every kind and mental midgets with overblown egos like you are a dime a dozen. Deal with it. So long as youre on here making an ass of yourself and trying to impress those you see as your inferiors, which is everyone, a "troll" like me will be here to aid in calling attention to the sad little person you are, as if you dont do a well enough job of that to begin with. And for the record thats evil superman drinking whiskey in superman 3.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:00:52 PM

"Been around the world twice over and fought in two wars now, puke."

You should stay over there. Teach those goatf*ckers a thing or two about d*ck.

You know what I mean.


"Ive met every kind and mental midgets with overblown egos like you are a dime a dozen."


I'm a quarter a dozen mental midget, thank you very much.


"Deal with it."

Done and done.

Btw, do you still have your legs, or did they get mailed back to Georgia in a plastic baggie?


"So long as youre on here making an ass of yourself and trying to impress those you see as your inferiors, which is everyone, a "troll" like me will be here to aid in calling attention to the sad little person you are"

You'll get bored. A week or two into this, you'll wish you had never even bothered. That's the secret. Wearing folks like you down.


"as if you dont do a well enough job of that to begin with."

And with your help, my now quite good friend, even more so. Thank you.


"And for the record thats evil superman drinking whiskey in superman 3"

Great. Awesome. Like I give a f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:08:38 PM

Hey Stapes, this you?

http://www.facebook.com/shaun.s.stapleton

Which one are you? The pencil-necked d*ckhead in the middle? The short overcompensating one the left, Or Corey Haime's Down Syndrome'd brother on the right?
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:13:41 PM

Ewww STapes you like black music YUCK!E40,T.I
white guys and hip hop is just wrong.
thought you was a rock n rolla

just kidding when i get to work i'll read this whole interesting thread.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:14:58 PM

and pornfly that guy reminds me of a cooler version of RICK ROSS.Chicano rap is pretty dope
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:18:31 PM

You know what, Stapes, in re-reading the above posts, I took a hard line with you because of some other posts you've made since joining here, posts that came off as looking to get into some sort of kerfuffle with me, as some are wont to do, and I let that that bleed into my reply to you on the problem with d*ck, so you know what, I won't apologize per se, but I will admit wrong-doing.

I've let my emotion cloud and color my reply. So I suggest we, or I at least, let it go. You leave me alone, and I'll leave you alone. I think that's the mature thing to do, right?

That's as close to an apology you, or anyone else, will ever get, btw.
the wire writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:21:51 PM

"Masculinity IS dead."...written by someone who sits in front of a computer 24/7 writing bullsh*t about superhero-movies? epic.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:26:28 PM

".written by someone who sits in front of a computer 24/7"

Because sitting in front of the very machine I use for a variety of activities, none of which is currently porn, is 'feminine', right?

"writing bullsh*t about superhero-movies"

I don't write the articles, dude. Take your issues up with Alex.
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:29:04 PM

Well, my dear friend, I'm going to give you what you were spoiling for this entire day: an argument with good old minkowski. Hope it's all you dreamed.

CLASSIC
but this meeting of the minds went south fast
Especially after watchin UFC on Fox
that filipino went out like a p*ssy

pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:33:46 PM

Chicano rap would kick ass if this was still 1985
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:33:49 PM

Chicano rap would kick ass if this was still 1985
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:33:55 PM

@the wire: hey, bro, whatcha' wanna talk about? I can chat about comics, religion, mathematics, film in general, rape, robbery, stealing hub caps, filing for welfare, whatever you want brother. It's all good. You just let me know and we'll talk, okay?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:55:20 PM

I don't have to see a turd in a toilet bowl to distinctly know a turd is in a toilet bowl.

So why would I want to see this cinematic turd in a bowl ?

I'm not as needy as Twatson's sister ... I mean his Jabba Hutt of a wife.
trailertrash writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 3:11:10 AM

Mink

That is what I was getting at mate, compared to the originals opening this is going to be disappointing even at the 30 mil mark.
vincere01 writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 3:34:26 AM

It was actually not half bad. Better than i expected actually. Yes no arnold, yes no gorey violence. But then again. Other than sharing some character names, vauge story points and a title this had nothing in common with the original. If anything the new one is more violent, just not in an overly gorey way. The hooker is basicly presented the same way as in the original movie but more briefly and only as an homage. There is a few nice tips of the hat to the original as well. I think that it does enough different to warrant a non bias look. Not saying its oscar contention by any means. But it is more than worth a view is you like sci fi action movies.
baxattax writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 5:11:00 AM

Not to be a douche, but i was hoping for some feedback on those who actually saw the f*cking movie. Keep your personal thoughts to yourselves guys, c'mon. I like this website, and i respect your opinions, but i hate going thru 200 f*cking comments searching for one that has anything to do with the article.
bane writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 5:20:50 AM

this
is better than TOTAL RECALL

(but that wouldn't bee too hard)

http://potlocker.net/the-dark-knight-rises/2012ts/fbb24407e.html
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 10:19:39 AM

@ vicere
that's what I'm talking about.

@vicere mink
Fair enough, followed your link because for a second I thought you were some kind of hacker detective. Who doesnt have a picture of themselves somewhere sandwiched between two dudes, one short and one retarded, but no, that aint me, I'm flattered to have warrantted some detective work on your part.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 3:43:33 PM

Story was weak, paceing was off, forcing action. The visuals were awesome, the environments and the robots were memoriable with hints of Blade runner. The woman with the 3 tits is shown in canada, no bikini.
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 4:46:57 PM

She's shown in the US sans bikini as well.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 8:12:01 PM

Hey Minkowski,

I just wanted to say that I have always been a fan of PKD's writing, both his novels and short stories but I hardly consider him to be any sort of philosopher. He was very good at being creative and coming up with unique concepts for stories and variations on the hero's journey or a corrupt society or questioning the nature of reality.

All of this is well and good if you take him for entertainment only. He was an admitted alcoholic and drug addict, bot pills and LSD and so on. He admitted in numerous interviews that he would have to get supremely f*cked up before he could even put pen to paper or fingers to typewriter until he could begin to write anything.

If you have read many of his works it's very evident that they are the product of a heavily intoxicated mind and as the years went on he was really struggling with the decline of his mental state from all of this abuse coupled with what I am sure were obligations to publishers to produce novels for them.

The VALIS trilogy is fascinating not just for being pretty blatant meta-fiction but also because this was the work of an author whose time seemed to be running out. Once you have read the trilogy and then The Exegesis this is very clear. PKD was a man that was always suffering from a lot of mental anguish and depression and I think his writing was a cathartic way to get that out of his system as much as he could.

Also to Stame, it's very dangerous to ever latch on to the writings of any individual and take it as any sort of gospel or philosophy or whatever. A lot of the time it is a product of a diseased mind such as PKD. Yes he was a good writer but you have to take everything he wrote with a boulder of salt.

I would like to see Ubik and The Man In The High Castle and Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said produced as films eventually. I feel those are 3 of his best novels that have never been made and Harry Turtledove owes a lot to The Man In The High Castle for his alternate history novels.

I did not see TOTAL REMAKE this weekend and I am not seeing it in theaters. I'm sure I will end up with it on Blu-Ray this XMAS from someone and i'll watch it then.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 8:27:03 PM

Correction: I meant Stapes.
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 8:39:22 PM

@deaft0ne

I disagree with you on PKD not being a philosopher, I think that as technology progresses and we get closer to the actualization of AI, d*ck's along with Asimov's thoughts on what exactly makes a human a human and a robot a robot will come heavily into play. One of d*ck's primary focuses in his writings was determining the point at which AI becomes no different than a human being and vice versa... can a machine develope a soul? What is a soul and what exactly is the real difference between an AI construct and a human being, these are philosophical questions. d*ck was indeed a philosopher in many ways. As for his history with drugs... well to paraphrase the late great Bill Hicks... if you're going to discount someone's thoughts or ideas just because they're a drug addict, alcoholic, etc.... then you might as well throw out all the great art and music you love so much, cause all those creators were really freaking high. I'm not endorsing the use of drugs by any means, I'm just saying that man has always sought out new ideas and concepts through the aid of mind altering substances throughout recorded history, and whether you like it or not, I would even make the argument that most people are addicted to, or use some form of substance or another whether it be for coping with societal alienation, religious purposes or simply to break the brainwashing that comes with socialization. That's all I'm sayin'.
bane writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 1:06:18 PM

this looks jaw dropping

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/06/zero-dark-thirty-trailer-osama-bin-laden-kathryn-bigelow_n_1747746.html?utm_hp_ref=entertainment
mical3437 writes:
on August 6th, 2012 at 6:18:24 PM

This movie completely sucked ass...the only reason it was watchable was the 2 B's: Biel and Beckensale; glad I saw it on bootleg

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved