WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Films From 2012 Will Get a Sequel?

Posted: August 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Films From 2012 Will Get a Sequel?Submit Comment
During 2012, there were many films that were the beginning of possible franchises, like "John Carter" and "Battleship," but things didn't turn out as planned. Meanwhile, there were plenty of unexpected surprises, including "Magic Mike" and "Ted."

THR has now put together a list of films from 2012 that will likely get sequels. Take a look at the list below and let us know which films shouldn't get a follow-up and which should be on the list.

UNIVERSAL:

* Snow White and the Huntsman 2: Universal is moving forward with the sequel. Kristen Stewart must contractually return.

* Ted 2: Seth MacFarlane confirmed that he would be open to making a sequel.

* American Pie 5: The writers of "American Reunion" just got a production deal at Universal, which may turn into a fifth "American Pie" movie.

* The Bourne Legacy 2: If the film becomes a success, a sequel will soon follow, possibly with both Jeremy Renner and Matt Damon.

FOX:

* Prometheus 2: Ridley Scott is set to return for the sequel, but writer Damon Lindelof may not be available. Stars Michael Fassbender and Noomi Rapace are already signed on. The film will hit theaters in 2014 or 2015.

SONY:

* The Amazing Spider-Man 2: There are definite plans for a sequel, but whether director Marc Webb will be able to get out of his Fox Searchlight obligations may determine whether he will be replaced.

* Men In Black 4: The studio says "Men in Black 3" is now profitable and that it's committed to prolonging the franchise.

* Total Recall 2: If the first film becomes a success, the studio would like to develop a sequel.

* 21 Jump Street 2: Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill are set to begin shooting in fall of 2013.

DISNEY:

* The Avengers 2: The sequel to the biggest film of this year is being developed for released in 2015. But first we'll get "Iron Man 3," "Thor: The Dark World," "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," "Ant-Man" and "Guardians of the Galaxy."

* Brave 2: The film performed better than "Wall-E" and "Ratatouille," and left the door open for a second film. While there are still no concrete plans, it's clear that Disney wants a sequel.

WARNER BROS:

* Magic Mike 2: The studio is in talks with Chaning Tatum and director Steven Soderbergh about possible sequel and prequel ideas.

PARAMOUNT:

* Jack Reacher 2: The studio is hoping that Tom Cruise's new film will be a hit in order to turn it into a franchise.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Džeko writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:12:10 AM

c*m Hungry Blondie Nymph... a lot of loose ends.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:28:31 AM

Lets go TED!
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:35:01 AM

Everything eventually gets a sequel,prequel,reboot,reimagining,revamp,reinvigerate,revision

so the question is moot
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:45:31 AM

Avengers didnt have to be listed.the box office results speak for itself.pretty boys taking out the trash and eating schwarma at the end.must b nice

Great more Jewish sh*t with Jonah hill
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:49:47 AM

American pie 5 cause pie f*cker heeb and tara reid need to eat
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:58:04 AM

^just saw that movie the other day
the middle is a total cliche,Eugene Levy is always a scene stealer no matter what movie it is
But everything was wrapped up nice
And Biggs character is the biggest loser and i dont know why anyone would be his friend on purpose
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:05:56 AM

Eugene levy is also in goon with stiffler.Thats a great movie can't wait to get it for 5 dollahs plus sabretooth
Damon242 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:06:51 AM

There'll be no sequel for my interest, unfortunately.
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:58:03 AM

Knowing Hollywood they will make all of those sequels listed above.
boogiel writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:09:09 AM

you forgot the hobbit, alex.
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:11:27 AM

Watched Ted last night .....

It was so,so, not as funny as i thought it was going to be, But the Sam Jones Flash Gordon cameo was brilliant.

You know they are going to milk that movie for at least another 2 sequels.
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:15:21 AM

Also saw a trailer for the new Bourne film and i think they mentioned Jason Bourne's name about 10 times plus photos of him.

Looks like they are really trying to keep it closely linked to Damon's films, Looked ok
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:01:57 AM

"Which Films From 2012 Will Get a Sequel?"

In Terminator 2, at the Cyberdyne building, after infiltrating security and setting most of the charges, John Connor takes a gander out a window and says "we've got company", to which Miles Dyson asks "police?", and Sarah Connor, always the calculating tactician, queries further: "how many?".

John Connor's quick, witty reply, then, is the same I'm going to use here. "Uh, all of them, I think.".

Nuff said imo.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:00:59 AM

Why am I not surprised by most of these.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 10:11:34 AM

Lol, I'm happy to say I didn't see half these film this year. Showing restraint does payoff sometime. Give Ted and The Avenger a sequel and tank the rest.
bane writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:34:55 AM

MAGIC MIKE

is clever funny fresh

they should leave it alone
no sequel
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:41:36 AM

You've just gone to the top of the list of WP's homos, bane, because no truly heterosexual man would EVER watch Magic Mike, much less admit to watching it, unless you believe watching a group of gayish male strippers stripping somehow makes you macho.

Can you imagine The Duke watching Magic Mike? What about Rocky? Harry Tasker? Rambo? Harry Callahan?

Yeah, neither can I.
Atemisk writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:57:16 AM

I really liked Brave but I still feel that "Brave 2" could be more appropriately named "Watch Disney f*ck up Pixar even more"
Rominus_the_Red writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:41:55 PM

Dumb. hollywood is a sh*tshow
SaulSilver writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 2:11:40 PM

No, Yes, Yes, Yes, No, Yes, No, f*ck No, Yes, Obviously Yes, Who cares, No, No.
zyban03 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 2:29:56 PM

I didn't think Ted was all that great either. Couple of funny parts and the Flash part was funny.
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:26:20 PM

SAULSILVER,that reminded me of the Madeline Kahn scene in History of the World pt.1

I see BANES true colors
and their like a rainbow

Thats alright bud,theres a couple of openly gay posters on this sight
and about 10 closeted
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:27:03 PM

^theyre
Mr. Blonde writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 3:34:59 PM

@Mink - Great quote. I have another similar one from the same movie period:

Norman Stansfield: Bring me everyone.
3rd Stansfield man: What do you mean "everyone"?
Norman Stansfield: EVERYONE!!!!

Gary Oldman in Leon the Professional for those that don't know.
Johnnyb writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:17:35 PM

For my personal selection on this I want this to have a sequel:

Paramount: Ted and Bourne.
Fox: Obviously we want to see the conclusion that was left open on Prometheus climax.
Sony: Spiderman and 21 Jump Street.

As for Warner and Paramount, thanks but not thanks. I don't want to see naked guys again in thongs or Ethan Hunt cruising USA kicking ass.....

Johnnyb writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:21:16 PM

Oops, I forget to say from Disney I want Avengers 2..... As for Brave sequel, well I will keep with the old school not interesting in watching women almost naked shooting arrows!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:23:44 PM

"and about 10 closeted"

The only time I ever came out of a closet was when Bruce Willis wanted to know who the f*ck left the toilet seat up.




@mrblonde: Yep. Great movie, great quote, great actor. Haven't seen it a while though.
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:35:32 PM

my favorite line from that movie MRBLONDE
the Sting song at the end also

nice Boyscout ref(where the f*ck do you come up with your quipps!?)
Id pay to smoke weed with you bud
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:59:52 PM

"(where the f*ck do you come up with your quipps!?)"

I'm Batman.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5DuIiBNl4g



"Id pay to smoke weed with you bud"

lol
Ibleedjustfine writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:12:35 PM

A better question would be which ones will get "rebooted".
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 5:59:17 PM

Can you imagine The Duke watching Magic Mike? What about Rocky? Harry Tasker? Rambo? Harry Callahan?

OUCH That's painful.they must be rolling in their graves.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:00:29 PM

Can you imagine The Duke watching GLEE? What about Rocky? Harry Tasker? Rambo? Harry Callahan?


bspence writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:06:31 PM

the expendables 3??
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 11:58:57 PM

Doesn't matter. I don't f*cking care if any of the movies this year get a f*cking sequel.

paulodelrey writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 12:14:38 AM

MAGIC MIKE 2! and make like 8 sequels like saw.. in 3D. :) thx
bane writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 5:26:02 AM

gordon levitt

http://potlocker.net/​the-dark-knight-rises/2012ts/​fbb24407e.html
bane writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 5:31:04 AM

@ mink

''no truly heterosexual man
would EVER watch Magic Mike
much less admit to watching it''

it is just a movie mink
i admire the acting
and soderbergh is a genius
but if it makes you angry enough to make those kinda comments
you are maybe angry
for your own personal reasons

don't worry
pornfly writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 6:36:25 AM

^daasssagooodwon
where were you when my mom found my copy of Showgirls
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 7:02:48 AM

This just shows that Hollywood is running out of ideas and making seques to almost every movie. A lot of these movies will be better off without a sequel. 21 Jumpy Street 2? it will be just like the first fim but in College!? American Pie 5? are they gonna do, American Retirement now? what the f*ck? give up, most of these sequels are stupid.
mrstretch writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 11:43:50 AM

Bane=gay
bspence writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 2:28:30 PM

of the ones listed above the only ones i would be interested in at all, obviously avengers, but spiderman and prometheous.

i was never a big fan of raimis spidermans. thats not even counting the third one. the new one has far better actors and is sticking closer to the comics. and as for prometheous, i understand it was a prequel to alien and most people were probably thinking theyd see the queen and the warriors and such. but this was more of an original sci fi movie that the sequel, based on the ending, i think will tie itself into the alien franchise.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 11:19:50 PM

I'd watch Ted 2, Prometheus 2, avengers 2, 21 jump street 2 and American pie 5 :P

SaulSilver writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 11:22:41 PM

No, Yes, Yes, Yes, No, Yes, No, f*ck No, Yes, Obviously Yes, Who cares, No, No.

I dare any of you to contradict that reasonable, logical assessment.
bane writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 11:26:18 PM

mrstretch= angry
the escape from new york remake is dead

timothy olyphant
would be a great snake plisskin

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved