WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Russell Crowe Replaces Javier Bardem in "The Dark Tower" Films

Posted: August 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Russell Crowe Replaces Javier Bardem in "The Dark Tower" FilmsSubmit Comment
Director Ron Howard, writer Akiva Goldsman and producer Brian Grazer have been looking to turn Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" into three films and two limited TV series that would air in between the films. It's been a tough battle to get the project off the ground, but things are now finally moving forward.

Goldsman has turned in a new script to Warner Bros, which will take about two weeks to decide whether to greenlight the first movie. Unfortunately, Javier Bardem is no longer attached to play gunslinger Roland Deschain, but Howard is now in talks with his "A Beautiful Mind" star Russell Crowe to replace him.

If Warners decides on the first movie, the plan is to begin shooting in the first quarter of 2013.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 7:59:09 AM

Crowe will do but I would have prefered Viggo Mortensen or Liam Neeson.
Vendetta writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 8:14:43 AM

I'm not sure why nobody's mentioned Clive Owen for the lead role. I really think he has the intensity to do it justice.
Fightclub1 writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 8:37:51 AM

Russell Crow is a boss. The idea behind this is really cool so I'm down
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 9:45:57 AM

Boogiel- Been saying Viggo since day 1.
Avirex writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 10:11:01 AM

10 years ago this might have been exciting news. At his present state Crowe is acc*mulating mass faster than a black hole. (They do that right?)
Kurskij writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 10:49:04 AM

Crowe was in the right shape in Robin Hood. I was impressed.

Cool news, if not Viggo - that's second best choice IMHO.

He is a terrific actor.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 11:36:18 AM

Hell Yea Crowe is Awesome.

TEAM CROWE

Killerc*ck I know youre not happy bout this
Cannon writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 12:01:00 PM

Russell Crowe obviously doesnít fit the physical descript, but ...heís Russell goddamn Crow. What, any of you bitches wanna get a phone thrown at you? Huh?! Yeah, didnít think so. Shut the f*ck up.

Roland Deschain now has a new name -- his name is Gladiator, the Master and Commander of the far side of the motherf*cking world. And heís also Supermanís dad.

Croweís pimp.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 12:24:21 PM

that master and commander movie was the biggest pile of sh*t i've ever laid eyes on.I'm sorry he kicked ass in LA confidential though.
Cannon writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 12:34:52 PM

@Bando

Say what?! Man, Master and Commander is the catís pajamas. Itís gotta scene where a little one-armed kid blows away French bad guys with a cannon. Címon!


bandolero999 writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 12:42:54 PM

dude that movie was like 4 hours long it bore the living sh*t outta me.I couldnt even finish it.

i believe it bombed at the box office
Johnnyb writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 2:27:45 PM

Thanks god, I don't want to see Anton and his stupid coin toss again!!!!!
Odd writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 3:45:25 PM

Damn..if only ol Mr. Eastwood was younger..
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 4:35:56 PM

"Crowe is acc*mulating mass faster than a black hole. (They do that right?)"

Yes.

As for the news, a) Will never get made theatrically, b) if it does it will suck, c) will probably go entirely to television instead.

As for Crowe, he's fat. Fat as f*ck. Val Kilmer fat. He just doesn't look the part. He also has that annoying Aussie accent. Sure, he's a solid actor, but the wrong one for this film, or films, and that's another thing. How many? There's eight books now, and they're adapting which ones? The first? It's not that large. Can't do more than one film on it. The first three? The first five? 1, 3 and 5 in theaters and 2 and 4 on tv? Yeah, like THAT would work.

This sounds like a terrible attempt to Lord of the Rings/Hobbit Stephen King, and so far, it's been a total clusterf*ck, and with Ron Howard, who is certainly no Peter Jackson in depth or scope, helming, I foresee lots of failure.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 5:20:17 PM

of +more.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 9:27:10 PM

hahaha actually Bando don't give a sh*t about this project anymore.
If they replace Ron Howard then maybe i'd care again.
f*ck the both of them anyway!
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 4:10:21 PM

@Vendetta - Owen has the sh*ttiest agent in the biz. He should be in a lot more projects than he is.
holtlt writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 7:31:11 PM

Crowe seems fair for the role, but I expected somebody similar to Clint Eastwood, since Roland looks like him.
Vendetta writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 6:56:42 AM

I do believe, like most respectable people would, that Crowd is a truly talented and incredibly exciting actor. I just am a much bigger fan of the story and don't believe he has the demeanor. I atoll vote Clive Owen. I'm telling you, read a few pages of the books and picture him in the role.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 8:59:21 AM

Viggo would have been perfect for the part. The role requires someone who can shed weight and look sickly while still maintaining an air of intimidating confidence even when sometimes pushed to the brink of insanity. Viggo has done that several time already in his career (most notably in The Road), plus he's played characters that he could really pull from to create the perfect Roland (ie Aragon, Nickolai from EP, and Tom Stall). Viggo can handle just about anything you throw at him accept comedy.

I hate to say this, but the only other person I could see in this part would be Brad Pitt. The guy tends to play extremes well, and he looks the part. He can get a little robotic with his delivery sometimes (like Keanu Reeves) but that wouldn't really be out of place for someone with Roland's aristocratic knightly background. He's a long shot but still a much better choice than Russell Crowe, at least for this role.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 7th, 2012 at 3:27:21 AM

Gotta weigh in here. Don't know if I'd say this is as an inspired a casting choice as RDJ was for Stark, but it is an interesting one I haven't even thought of. Thought Viggo would have been my only choice, but if Crowe can lose a little weight, I think he'd be perfect. Such a huge franchise doesn't seem to be something Crowe likes to go for, but if he committed to it, it could really kick ass. He can meet the physical demands of the part, but if he brings a bit of his Beautiful Mind and Maximus smarts into things it'll round out the character nicely. Roland's not just pure death with two sixguns; he's also a tactical genius, even if he does tend to lack imagination. It's gotta be someone who can be a thug with a brain and, ultimately, a conscience. Crowe could pull it off, I have no doubt.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved