WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Billionaire Making Real-Life "Jurassic Park"

Posted: August 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Billionaire Making Real-Life "Jurassic Park"Submit Comment
Back in May, we heard that Australian real estate billionaire Clive Palmer was planning to build a replica of the Titanic and have it ready for its maiden voyage in late 2016. It will sail from England to New York, the same path the first Titanic was taking.

And now comes word that Palmer is also planning to clone a dinosaur from DNA, similar to the events in the "Jurassic Park" franchise. The plan is to create a dinosaur and have it be up on display at his Coolum Palmer Resort in the Middle East.

When approached about his dinosaur plans, Palmer didn't deny the story, stating that he will be holding a press conference in Brisbane on Friday. Hopefully he'll use that conference to clear things up and reassure everyone that he won't make the mistake of cloning a T-Rex.

Source: SunshineCoastDaily


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 8:59:59 PM

Will never happen. Just another man with mucho money mugging for the media.
paulodelrey writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:07:31 PM

wutttttttttt
vincere01 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:13:33 PM

He is doing it all for tail. Plain and simple
Slimer42 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:17:06 PM

OMG! The basis for Jurassic Park 4
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:25:52 PM

Why would he clone anything but a T Rex?
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 10:01:49 PM

Good god. Not only is this story OLD, it's a f*cking RUMOR, one Palmer has disavowed.

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/palmers-jurassic-park-plan-extinct-20120731-23bvr.html

The Sunshine Coast Daily reported on rumours that the mining magnate plans to clone a dinosaur from DNA, so it could roam free through a Jurassic Park-style area at his Coolum golf resort.

It was reported Mr Palmer had been in deep discussion with the people who successfully cloned Dolly the sheep.

But a source close to Mr Palmer rubbished the suggestion today.
Advertisement

"It's absolutely ridiculous," the source said.

However, Mr Palmer is expected to reveal highly-anticipated redevelopment plans for his luxury Coolum resort on Friday.
cress writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 11:15:45 PM

Hey, Mr. Billionaire... Clone Natalie Wood. That's a ride I would definitely pay a lot for. Just don't make it a water attraction.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 11:24:32 PM

@cress... lol.

What kind of wood doesn't float?

Answer: Natalie.
The Tall Man writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 11:50:13 PM

Will he offer a "coupon day"?
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 12:54:37 AM

This scene still stands the test of time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkotneW-1dM
WV-Films writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 1:28:58 AM

This is kinda guy who puts diamonds on satellites and cuts people in half under a moon laser.
Kurskij writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 3:01:22 AM

Aaaaaand Mink said it.

it's called WorstPreviews for a reason.
Freshman writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 6:59:49 AM

Thought so.

If it sounds too good to be true, it's more likely horsesh*t.
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 11:58:42 AM

This guy sounds like some rich bitch with diamonds on the soles of her shoes...

HIT IT!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-I_T3XvzPaM
JakeVermont writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:56:38 AM

For your information:

Those dino species that have evolved into birds could be retro engineered back to their Dinosaur form by switching on and of the right HOX-Genes ;-) first tests with chicken turned feathers into a prefeather scale form and they were able to form a snout and claws.
Hox genes define our Phenotype so it is possible to evolve birds backwards.

But since the TRex got extinct the only possibily to create one would be by Genetical Programming. And maybe 100 years away from that.

Seen it in a doc*mentary once.

;-)
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:25:16 AM

Yes. It's called How to Build a Dinosaur, from the BBC.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZMQOe9RQ4Y
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:26:31 AM

NO, that's not the right one. Damn it.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:35:43 AM

Maybe this one:

http://dvice.com/archives/2011/06/paleontologists.php

TED. But only 16 minutes. Not sure if this is the one. No mention of HOX genes, but then I only skimmed it. Somewhat boring.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:38:10 AM

http://www2.macleans.ca/2009/08/20/the-quest-to-build-a-dinosaur/

http://www.livescience.com/17642-chickenosaurus-jack-horner-create-dinosaur.html
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:43:54 AM

http://phys.org/news/2010-11-key-genes-insight-evolution-dinosaurs.html
JakeVermont writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 8:57:42 AM

Maybe I mixed things up a little, I listened to a biology lecture once since they are not far away from the technology departments on campus and the professor war talking about hox genes and some experiments they did on fish and their morphology. That was 4 years ago :D sorry I dont know much about genetics but it fascinates me to see the advances we make.

And I think it is obvious that one day we'll be able to program oder describe a living organism in a higher programming language that finally gets compiled to a genetic sequence. Then we can ressurrect dinosaurs and develop dragons or unicorns or cave trolls ;-) whatever you can imagine.

and society will scream "moral, moral, ethics, ethics!"

If we did learn something from Jurassic Park then to set out new organisms on islands ;-)
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:02:38 PM

The way I see it, one day we'll have a library of genetic building blocks and the various rules that can be used to combine them. Once he we have total sequence capability, once we know how and why genes code for this and that, and how all the permutations of genotypes give rise to the various phenotypes, not only will be able to reconstruct dinosaurs but pretty much every other earth organism, along with unknown transitional forms as well, plus pretty much any organism we see fit, such that not only will we be able to model future ecosystems, we will be able to model the life that would be best adapted, life that doesn't exist, hasn't existed, and finally, at some point, with the aid of vast computational capabilities, we will be able to build pretty much any form of life allowable within the regime of known, possible physics, such that we can look at a star a billion light-years away, deduce its chemical composition, its possible planetary companions and THEIR chemical makeup, and construct life that would, could exist their, life not necessarily similar to earth life.

In fact, 'scientists' just recently simulated an entire bacteria, computationally:

http://www.bioflukes.com/blogs/146

And there's this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lZ8AIfwcKn0&feature=relmfu

Which is rudimentary of course, but a cool step in the right direction.

So making a 'chickensaurus' is a cool idea, but conceptually primitive, as all they are hoping to do is isolating dormant genes that code for vestigial phenotype components, and then turning them on. More interesting then would the suppression of existing phenotype features, like say a particular claw morphology, and the substitution therein of some more 'primitive' form. Thing is, they have no idea what's encoded and what's not, and quite obviously, there's no indication a chicken's DNA is as complex as, say, a velociraptor, thus, there's no way to say if a chicken, or any other bird for that matter, has within it's DNA enough to make anything remotely approaching a true dino.

Seems to me then they're just hoping to play Frankenstein with a LEGO set missing most of it's pieces.

Anyway, my dream is total permutation fabrication. Nature's ultimate LEGO set, i.e., the ability to build, with the aid of vastly advanced computational assistance, pretty much any object, organic or otherwise, as pulled, culled, from the cosmic paradigm. 3D printing, meta-matrials, genetic programming and bioinformatics are just, imo, the infancy of that dream, and at some point, a convergence will occur. Or so I hope, but I won't live to see it regardless.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:03:37 PM

their=there.

POS website.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:04:05 PM

...and other grammatical errors.

*sigh*
cress writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:11:42 PM

Mink- I like your idea of designing life for other planets. I've had similar ideas, but none with the depth of knowledge you have for the subject. Question: do you think its possible to begin small scale terraforming from just sending probes to other planets. These probes would land and release various new agents into that system, and this would happen over several decades. So even if man is
hundreds of years from making it to another world, we could already be manipulating said world now for future mans arrival. And as the level of AI increased, structures and systems could possibly be in place by the time man lands there. Thoughts?
cress writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 6:23:31 PM

And who's to say that we aren't already doing that? I have often thought that a lot of tech may have been around for decades in higher circles, only released to the masses much later. NASA and other agencies linked to NASA could be doing who knows what every time a shuttle went up.
JakeVermont writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 2:53:23 PM

@Mink:

thats an interesting idea. I guess the future will seem limitless to mankind. I cant imagine what humans will be able to do in a thousand years or more.

I'm reading "Physics of the future" by Michio Kaku right now. Maybe you should check it out ;-) it gives a little peak what to expect in the next hundret years. And everything is based on stuff that scientists are already working on so it's not a scifi book. I can really reckommend it.

@cress:
machines making other planets habitable. that will a normal scenario one day. By the end of the century we may have stations on mars and the moon. Once we control fusion the question of energy and money will vanish.
I'm sure what could do so much more even today but the question is always "Who pays for that?"
JakeVermont writes:
on August 5th, 2012 at 2:54:35 PM

*that

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved