WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Confirmed: Bill Murray NOT Returning for "Ghostbusters 3"

Posted: August 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Confirmed: Bill Murray NOT Returning for "Ghostbusters 3"Submit Comment
When Bill Murray first got his hands on the "Ghostbusters 3" script, he immediately turned down the chance of returning for the new movie. But soon after, he hinted that he may reconsider if the script gets a re-write.

Soon after, Dan Aykroyd confirmed that a re-write was happening. But despite that, the actor has now revealed that Murray will definitely not reprise his role. "We've got a brilliant new writer on it and we'll be passing the torch on to a new generation," he explained. "We're working on it to make it just right to satisfy our fans. I'm confident we'll be in production in the next year."

When asked if Murray will be back, Aykroyd replied: "No, I can tell you he won't be involved. It's sad but we're passing it on to a new generation. 'Ghostbusters 3' can be a successful movie without Bill. My preference would be to have him involved but at this point he doesn't seem to be coming and we have to move on. It's time to make the third one."

Source: Metro


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:01:00 PM

This will be a failure without bill

and

Who cares if Bill is turning it down
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:01:18 PM

So, the guy who made the first two films worth a damn isn't returning? Hmmm. Smells like success to me.

Just reboot the goddamned franchise already.
cress writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:04:00 PM

"It's time to make time third one."

No, no its not Dan. No one wants this. Maybe 20 years ago, sure. But it safe to say that Ghostbusters fire cooled a long time ago. And I still think Murray will at least make a cameo.


KillerCOck writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:10:18 PM

I'm f*cking shocked! haha!
vincere01 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:11:31 PM

I think IF this movie makes it to greenlight status, murray will want in. But its a big if to start. So lets see the green light and studio handing them boatloads of money first
Slimer42 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:15:53 PM

Honestly only Dan Akroyd cares what Bill Murray has to say. Just say he and Dana moved far away and have never been heard from again
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:21:16 PM

No surprise here...Akroyd just couldn't crack the plot for a solid (f*ck epic, reminiscient, or even blockbuster) flick but I still say the greatest obstacle is who will fill the iconic GB shoes & to make 'em memorable enough money to continue said franchise for which Akroyd doesn't have a good track record...BLUES BROTHERS 2000, anyone?

Murray was right to stay away...I'm disappointed but I understand.

Good luck with the project, Dan, you'll need it.....
cress writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:32:33 PM

As long as they get Annie Potts to return, then I'm game. I mean, she really was the glue that held those films together.
OneTime writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 9:38:03 PM

i dont believe you.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 10:44:43 PM

Mink- agreed, as much as I hate to say it, reboot the f*cker.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 10:58:34 PM

^^Yep. And there's an easy way to do it if they decide to tie the reboot into the old. Just use Peter's baby from the second film. He'd be in his twenties now, perhaps failing in life, marriage/romance on the rocks. Write Peter out as dead/disappeared.

So the son maybe stumbles into the now condemned/dilapidated/abandoned firehouse. GB packs perhaps in a storage vault, Ecto 1 looking bad under a white tarp, Slimer haunting the place. Come up with a villain, and a reason for the villain to want to hurt the son. Maybe he's interested in Peter but settles for the son instead. College buddies or work colleagues recruited. Son has a new purpose, get's his life back et cetera.

Anyway, vague impressions for a story, but I can see a lot of it my head quite clearly, visually. Lots of room for improved VFX, and the introduction of a few new 'good' ghosts to pester the new gang and Slimer alike.

Make it a father/son film I guess, because the first two films had that aspect, so this one should too.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 10:59:34 PM

I meant the first two had a familial warmth, not a father/son thing.
telur writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 11:09:23 PM

just reboot it

don't do sequel

i even not born the first 2 so i don;t that old man comeback or not
boogiel writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 11:16:47 PM

It's gonna be sh*t movie. The last movie is 23 years old, it's way too late for a sequel.

james236 writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 12:21:28 AM

I'm still trying to get over Tron: legacy, Indiana and the crystal skull, and wall street 2. f*ck this
pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 12:21:38 AM

I wanna reboot Donna Dixon
Johnnyb writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 12:47:29 AM

A complete failure without Peter, but at the same time nobody cares about this one. Too long has passed since the last one....
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 2:02:00 AM

This is way overdue and has gotten too long in the tooth. I don't give a sh*t what happens to this.
Quidd writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 2:47:05 AM

I was obsessed with Murray in Ghostbusters as a kid. This will be extremely disappointing for me if he does not sign up.
Doc Gonzo writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 3:47:09 AM

Jesus f*cking Christ let it die already or what Mink said
Master Thought writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 4:58:15 AM

"Yep. And there's an easy way to do it if they decide to tie the reboot into the old. Just use Peter's baby from the second film."

Mink, the baby wasn't Peter's son, idiot. It can't really be a father/son movie if a) the kid isn't even his and b) Bill Murray isn't going to be involved at all. Your idea sucks, genius.

I know a few years ago there were talks of a younger cast playing the same characters in a reboot. At this point, that seems like a better idea if Hollywood is hellbent on making a Ghostbusters movie.

Nothing will ever beat the original, but that's life I guess.
Venom1970 writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 5:30:06 AM

Ghostbusters was ok for its time, but honestly its very dated stuff. Prefer a reboot without the humour!!! Full on horror, make slimer a p*ssy eating celluloid ghoul that f*cks its victims to death. Now that would be cool
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 3:58:39 PM

*sigh*

I was wondering who would pick up on the fact the kid wasn't Peter's child. And it of course had to be one of the hateful loser *ssholes, naturally, who has a serious case of envy with people obviously smarter than him or, more likely, her, which is why the pretentious loser calls himself 'master thought'. Whatever.

Anyway, I was talking to someone about the idea, and they said Weaver's character just showed up in the suburbs of Cybertron with a child in that flick, and it wasn't Peter's, even though the two would have been bumping, or so you'd think, after the first.

Well, color me confused. I haven't seen the movie in twenty years, and there's a reason. It's a piece of sh*t. And now knowing that the child wasn't his, and she was just running amok in that flick with a baby from some previous marriage, well, f*ck me, who the hell cares?

I any case, the idea stands, just doesn't have to be the baby from Ghostbusters 2.
Mudders writes:
on August 3rd, 2012 at 8:29:12 PM

bill murray has alreday said that he didnt even enjoy the second one as much as the first....so why would he think the 3rd would be better

good move bill....these "passing it on to a younger generation films" just sound sh*t and are just an excuse not to think of something new,except to remake a story without remaking the story....

at least i know what i mean....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved