WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Vertigo" Tops "Citizen Kane" as Best Film of All Time

Posted: August 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Vertigo" Tops "Citizen Kane" as Best Film of All TimeSubmit Comment
For fifty years, Orson Welles' "Citizen Kane" has been known as the greatest film of all time, according to the British Film Institute magazine, called Sight and Sound, which has been polling critics once a decade since 1962. But "Citizen Kane" has now been beaten by Alfred Hitchcock's "Vertigo."

Made in 1958, "Vertigo" received very negative reviews when it was first released. Over the years, critics have changed their minds, calling the film "a masterpiece." As a result, in 1982, the movie landed in seventh place on the Sight and Sound poll. And every decade it has been improving, losing to "Citizen Kane" by just five votes ten years ago.

This time, the 846 critics who participated, voted "Vertigo" ahead of "Citizen Kane" by 34 votes. Check out the Top Fifty list of the magazine's best of all time below and let us know if you agree.

1. Vertigo (Hitchcock, 1958)
2. Citizen Kane (Welles, 1941)
3. Tokyo Story (Ozu, 1953)
4. La Regle du jeu (Renoir, 1939)
5. Sunrise: a Song for Two Humans (Murnau, 1927)
6. 2001: A Space Odyssey (Kubrick, 1968)
7. The Searchers (Ford, 1956)
8. Man with a Movie Camera (Dziga Vertov, 1929)
9. The Passion of Joan of Arc (Dreyer, 1927)
10. 8 ½ (Fellini, 1963)
11. Battleship Potemkin (Eisenstein, 1925)
12. L'Atalante (Vigo, 1934)
13. Breathless (Godard, 1960)
14. Apocalypse Now (Coppola, 1979)
15. Late Spring (Yasujiro, 1949)
16. Au hasard Balthazar (Bresson, 1966)
17. Seven Samurai (Akira, 1954)
17. Persona (Bergman, 1966)
19. Mirror (Tarkovsky, 1974)
20. Singin' in the Rain (Donen, Kelly, 1951)
21. L'avventura (Antonioni, 1960)
21. Le Mepris (Godard, 1963)
21. The Godfather (Coppola, 1972)
24. Ordet (Dreyer, 1955)
24. In the Mood for Love (Kar-Wai, 2000)
26. Rashomon (Akira, 1950)
26. Andrei Rublev (Tarkovsky, 1966)
28. Mulholland Dr. (Lynch, 2001)
29. Stalker (Tarkovsky, 1979)
29. Shoah (Lanzmann, 1985)
31. The Godfather Part II (Coppola, 1974)
31. Taxi Driver (Scorsese, 1976)
33. Bicycle Thieves (De Sica, 1948)
34. The General (Keaton, Bruckman, 1926)
35. Metropolis (Lang, 1927)
35. Psycho (Hitchcock, 1960)
35. Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce 1080 Bruxelles (Akerman, 1975)
35. Satantango (Tarr, 1994)
39. The 400 Blows (Truffaut, 1959)
39. La dolce vita (Fellini, 1960)
41. Journey to Italy (Rossellini, 1954)
42. Pather Panchali (Ray, 1955)
42. Some Like It Hot (Wilder, 1959)
42. Gertrud (Dreyer, 1964)
42. Pierrot le fou (Godard, 1965)
42. Play Time (Tati, 1967)
42. Close-Up (Kiarostami, 1990)
48. The Battle of Algiers (Pontecorvo, 1966)
48. Histoire(s) du cinema (Godard, 1998)
50. City Lights (Chaplin, 1931)
50. Ugetsu monogatari (Kenji, 1953)
50. La Jetee (Marker, 1962)

Source: BFI, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 9:25:13 PM

Strangely enough, no 'The Dark Knight' anywhere in there. Just saying.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 9:26:32 PM

Once upon a time in America is not even on this list and the godfather is?f*ck off ya c*nts.

not even pulp fiction or dirty dozen
30YoVirgin writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 9:41:34 PM

@Bando

I just logged in to say that surprisingly I absolutely agree with you, Once Upon A Time In America is far much superior than the overrated The Godfather
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 9:47:50 PM

Most lists are bullsh*t. this one is no exception.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 10:07:52 PM

thanks bro.just to let you know theres an uncut version with extra footage coming out on bluray in the future.

and check out the 3hr film blood in blood out as well.
Zeroguy writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 10:35:03 PM

Wtf. The Searchers is an overblown Joh Wayne sh*t fest.
And vertigo is a great film but nothing compares to Hitchc*ck's other films like Diap M for Murder or Rope.
And it's nice to see an Ozu film so high up on the list.
And IMO, the wrong Tati film is up there.
Whitelock84 writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 10:36:09 PM

Wait, no 'Casablanca'?
Zeroguy writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 10:37:03 PM

Also WP it's Kurosawa, not Akira, for a last name.
Plus where's a Leone film outside of his work with Eastwood. Post Eastwood-Leone is some of the best stuff out there.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 10:45:23 PM

is it bad that i've only seen 2 of those?

godfather and 2001: a space odyssey. But, I have Psycho and Apocalypse now somewhere among my movies and i've always wanted to watch Taxi Driver and Vertigo.

I'd personally vote films like Pulp Fiction, Drive, Alien, The Shining, One flew over the cuckoo's Nest and Rear Window as some of the greatest films ever made.. but that's just me :P
Zeroguy writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 10:46:20 PM

I'm sorry but Pulp Fiction doesn't deserve to be anywhere on this list. And Dirty Dozen is a sh*te film. If anything Wild Bunch, Cool Hand Luke or the Great Escape should be up here.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 10:55:18 PM

Really surprised to see David Lynch's Mulholland Drive on there, that was an awful movie. If anything I would replace that with Blue Velvet.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 11:01:39 PM

No Avatar? JC is in tears.
boogiel writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 11:04:47 PM

Oh thank God. I was so afraid it was going to be something stupid like Twilight or Harry Potter.
Johnnyb writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 11:06:55 PM

@minkowski:

you are not so wrong I though same, also Blade Runner, Halloween, Alien, The Exorcist and Shawshank Redemption are missing..... Seems that all the movies that are here, are only masterpieces until 2000, nothing else, weird!!!!!!
Dekead writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 11:21:27 PM

Wtf are all these titles?
coldplayesence writes:
on August 1st, 2012 at 11:50:12 PM

No The Shining, Pulp Fiction and no The Good, The Bad and The Ugly?
LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Get serious already and stop the f*cking nostalgia behind. In ten years the guys that voted for those movies are gonna be either dead or really dead and then, we're gonna have some NEW great movies.
Avirex writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 12:18:54 AM

I love film too much to ever place them in some half assed pretentious numbered list. Each film that's ever resonated with me is memorable for different reasons. They shouldn't be pitted against one another. Its like picking the hottest bitches in the world. Each one is sexy for different reasons and desirable based on my particular tastes at that particular moment in time. Confucius say.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 12:32:06 AM

and shawshank redemption lol
bandolero999 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 12:50:57 AM

"And Dirty Dozen is a sh*te film"

uh no that's insulting one of the manliest movies in the world.but you do compare yourself to Michael cera and call yourself a loser and youre name is zeroguy.sounds a bit EMO to me.

Pearl Harbor is a sh*t film,along with running scared,fast and the furious,anything with 50 cent.dont put Dirty dozen in that category please or the souls of bronson,Marvin,borgine, Cassevetes will haunt you in your dreams.FOREVA

Quidd writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 12:57:27 AM

I think they need at least one young person on this board.
rockkillers writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 1:03:36 AM

No recent movies? Just goes to show how far down the totem pole movies have fallen.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 1:04:33 AM

MegaForce didn't make the list?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1NpZxn860M
rockkillers writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 1:04:37 AM

I think Heat should be on this list. It's my all time favorite movie.
rockkillers writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 1:05:08 AM

It's the movie The Dark Knight wanted to be.
rockkillers writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 1:10:04 AM

I like your choices TanMan32123. How could any list like this not have Alien? One of the greatest movies of all time, ever.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 1:18:41 AM

yea HEAT is not even there as well.but Dark Knight has a higher rating on IMDB than Heat.
rockkillers writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 2:13:34 AM

I like TDK but i agree with mink Heath's death is the reason for the high rating.
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 2:38:06 AM

Vertigo is a masterpiece,no doubt,best scene of the movie by far:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgBQyhrQJJo
MovieQueen87 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 2:52:01 AM

Honestly, though "Vertigo" is a decent movie, it's overhyped. I think this survey is a bunch of bull****
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 2:52:29 AM

Thanks RockKiller

Honestly though? for a film made in the 70's alien was a f*cking masterpiece.. Horror wise, Effects, Make up, Writing and acting lol
ollos1986 writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 3:03:52 AM

What about braveheart, terminator 2, the last samurai, scarface
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 4:27:13 AM

Like I've said before...who gives a f*ck about this list of the "whats", when the "whys" are so much more interesting...
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 5:06:00 AM

These kinds of lists are all about opinions and like arse holes everyone has one.

Some just stink more than others ...
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 5:26:21 AM

BTW... #28. Mulholland Dr.?! Really?!!

I think someone got a Dirty Sanchez to have that movie placed there...

I think they were reading more into it than what there really was....
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 5:37:03 AM

Ugh, so many films here can suck my balls. It's all the Emperor's New Clothing. Someone important said it was good and now everyone is following. Sure, Vertov and Eisenstein is important for some technical advancements but as movies they're pretty much sh*te. And Godard's Breathless? Don't even get me started on that motherf*cker.
Kurskij writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 6:14:36 AM

La Jetee is there for the first time and probably because Chris Marker is gone.
Kurskij writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 6:23:25 AM

Ah, it's Sight and Sound. Read an article where one of their authors debated whether Citizen Kane will be dethroned by either Vertigo or Le Regle du jeu. And here it is.

No Badlands? No Once upon a time... (both of them)

And Bresson's Balthazar instead of Pickpocket?

No Diaboliques, no Wages of Fear but an overload of Godard.
Kurskij writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 6:34:41 AM

And yeah, Breathless is a solid movie but it's only achievement (Along with superior 400 blows) is f*ckstarting French New Wave.

French New Wave being 1 great movie per 10 pretentious borefests where people smoke, give dim-eyed looks to sh*t and talk hipsterish.

Also, No Cranes are Flying, no, yeah, Heat.

They seem to forget that good movie is not necessarily an old movie, Heat inspired as many directors as Melville (who's not even there) who inspired Mann. Go figure.
Bullit writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 7:41:00 AM

Mulholland Drive??? Can somebody explain to me what the film was about? Especially the ending as I still, to this day, didn't understand anything about it. People teold me: it's Lynch for you. Well f*ck him and his twisted sick mind.

And where is Papillon? The Deer Hunter? Ben Hur? Raging Bull? Barry Lyndon? It's A Wonderful Life? Gladiator? What's Up Doc?(I know but it's funniest movie ever), Monster's Ball? ANd many others that shoudl be on that list. #35 a Belgian film? Seriously?
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 12:26:48 PM

Someone here REALLY digs French New Wave cinema...
Bullit writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 12:59:10 PM

@Mink: it was kinda fresh to watch the French Wave at the time and many great directors like Spielberg, Scorsese and others mentioned or actually studied how Jean-Luc Godard (he's Swiss btw) or François Truffaut were making their films; it's the origin of true cinema along with the Italians like Fellini and De Sica. I watched all their movies in the 70's and '80's and it's a pure art to me but they were never blockbusters. Today I wouldn't be so keen to watch them again. Well, perhaps Fellini would be the exception. Fritz Lang was also great.
QUIGZ writes:
on August 2nd, 2012 at 2:57:50 PM

for who ever gives a sh1t, my personal fave goes to The Last Unicorn
bane writes:
on August 4th, 2012 at 12:07:51 PM

you can admire those
but can you enjoy them ???

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved